BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

DriveTrain Automotive SuperCenter, Inc.

Phone: (205) 333-9944Fax: (205) 330-06462540 Skyland Blvd E, TuscaloosaAL 35405-4331 Send email to DriveTrain Automotive SuperCenter, Inc.http://www.drivetrainautomotive.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

DriveTrain Automotive SuperCenter is Tuscaloosa's Complete Automotive Repair Shop. We provide great service and pricing on mechanical and collision repair. We also are an authorized U-Haul dealer.

BBB Accreditation

On 03/26/2015 the accreditation was suspended due to failure to respond to one or more customer complaints filed with the BBB. The matter will be reviewed by the BBB's Board of Directors at its next meeting on 04/16/2015.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on DriveTrain Automotive SuperCenter, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
11/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They installed a refurb engine but failed to attach the EGR sensor which melted.
The engine in my 2007 Ford Taurus seized as I was driving from Franklin, TN to my mom's in Demopolis, AL on Sunday, Sept 14th. It seized outside of Tuscaloosa and Drivetrain Automotive SuperCenter towed it to their shop. I paid them in cash at that time $132.99 for towing and the diagnostic check. They quoted me a price of $2459.99 for a refurb engine with a 2 year warranty. This included installation. Invoice# 6606 dated 9/14/2014. They required 1/2 down and on 9/16 they were paid $1280.00. Receipt# 260902. Engine was ordered and installed in car. Car was ready for pickup on 9/20 and the balance of $1179.99 was paid then. Receipt# 260917. I left Tuscaloosa and headed back to Franklin, Tn. I got approximately 25 miles from home when the check engine light came on. I took it to Advance Auto Parts who did a diagnostic check that came back with a P1406 code error. That meant the EGR hose was not connected. When they looked at the EGR it was not only not connected, but it had laid against the motor and melted. I called Drivetrain Automotive SuperCenter daily asking who was responsible for not connecting the sensor. They said it was the warranty people and gave me their number to call. I called the warranty people and they said it wasn't their issue. They said the shop should have double checked everything and done a diagnostic before giving me back the car. Had they done that they would have seen the EGR was not attached. I have been calling Drivetrain Automotive SuperCenter daily and been given the run around daily. Today, Sept. 29th I was told they were not going to reimburse me for the part and it is my problem, not theirs. Seriously...is this any way to run a business?

Desired Settlement
I would like the $77.24 refunded to me that I had to spend to buy a replacement EGR sensor and wire pigtail. This is for the parts alone. I am not asking to be compensated for what it cost to have these items installed on my car. I have the receipts where I purchased the parts and the melted EGR sensor should proof be needed.

Final Consumer Response
DriveTrain Automotive SuperCenter, Inc. reimbursed me for the parts I had to have replaced. This claim has been resolved to everyones satisfaction.

02/17/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bad service, Slowest mechanics ever, Lied to several times, Charged for materials not used
We were out of town & blew a radiator hose on my truck, It was raining so we stopped there to let them look at it. I told them the bottom hose blew but the still charged me 59.99 to tell me this, The boy said it was split in the middle & had to be replaced ( Lie # 1),They said no one had a hose & it would have to stay the weekend,I told them I would leave w/ it then, All of a sudden they found a hose near by,( Lie #2) After waiting 3 hours the Slow mechanic comes out & says they sent the wrong hose, I told him to let me see my hose & it was a small split right at the radiator, Told him to just cut it off & put it back on. I could have done this in about 10 minutes myself, Two & a half hours later its finally done, Cost me 223.50 to have my own old hose put back on my truck, To top it off they charged me 43.48 for 2 gallons of antifreeze Which I knew was Lie # 3, b/c I saw the boy getting water from the sink & putting it in my truck,I asked the receptionist about this & she said he checked two gallons out of their "cage". When I got home I tested the antifreeze,Trucks not even protected to 32 deg F, The Only antifreeze in it is what was in the motor during the work, Very Sorry Service!! Exactly the way you expect to get ripped off When you break down in a Strange area & don't know anyone!

Desired Settlement
I want my 43.48 back for the Antifreeze they charged for & didn't put in my truck, & Also in the future Treat people in a bind a Little fair!!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********************@gmail.com

Thank you for taking the time to address and communicate your dissatisfaction and concerns with the service you received as a customer of DriveTrain Automotive. We greatly appreciate that you have brought this situation to our attention and have every desire to respond to your issue with the hopes of regaining your trust in our company.

Much attention and investigation has been given to this matter. After comparing your description of the events and detailed accounts from the employees involved, I have found disagreements between the two. With acknowledgement of your discontent and unhappiness- I do agree that avoidable errors were made. However, I assure you they were not intentional, as I hope to explain below.

The first issue brought to our awareness is your opposition to the $59.99 diagnostic charge. As mentioned, you had assumed that your "bottom hose blew" when you initially brought your vehicle to our shop. While we would like to save time and energy by trusting what each customer believes is wrong with their vehicle, it cannot be done. Thousands of dollars and hours would be lost on both ends if we fixed every vehicle based solely on our customers' assumptions instead of allowing our highly experienced, trained and certified technicians to figure out the exact problem and repair needed. We perform a diagnostic and personally inspect every vehicle out of good faith towards our customers. The $59.99 charge is for the time and labor that our technician, Dustin, spent looking at your vehicle to determine the issue and repair(s) needed.

After ********* inspection, he found that your radiator hose was blown (as you had suspected) and that it was "split in the middle and had to be replaced". Whether the nature of the damage was poorly communicated or misunderstood, the information relayed to you was not a lie. The radiator hose was split in the middle. It had separated and the split ran through the middle of the hose (parallel) rather than simply across it (perpendicular). The hose was actually damaged at the end connecting to the motor and had originally blown due to the stress on the system. Because of the stress on the hose and the direction of the split, Dustin was afraid that we would send you out of our doors only to break down once more for the same reasons. This is why he suggested that the hose be removed and replaced entirely instead of simply cutting away the damage and putting it back into place.

I will admit that having the wrong hose sent to us was a serious issue and delay of time (yours and ours). Unfortunately, I cannot pinpoint where the fault lies in that error. Regardless of whether the wrong hose was ordered by us or delivered by ********** I can promise that it was by accidental mistake. As with any business, our employees-and the ones from whom we order parts- occasionally make errors. Although we frown upon these blunders and take extreme care to avoid them, I realize that they do happen and ask for your understanding as well. We did not knowingly order the wrong radiator hose or have any intent to lie to you regarding its availability.

The antifreeze removed from our supply closet inventory was used in your vehicle. As you remember, you had already put water in your truck to make it to our shop in the first place. The size of your vehicle's motor requires a large amount of antifreeze and it would take more than 2 gallons to replace what you had previously lost. This is why you found that the truck was not protected to 32 degrees when you tested it. We did charge you for the 2 gallons of antifreeze used and should have explained that more was needed to regain the amount previously lost. I apologize that this was not explained and that you were not given the option to purchase more antifreeze.

Lastly, your discontent involving the "slow mechanic" and any confusion regarding his conduct has been taken care of. While ****** diagnosed your vehicle, the work was completed by a newly hired mechanic. He is no longer an employee of DriveTrain Automotive and I am sorry for your experiences with him. We truly do value your honesty concerning the actions of our staff. I admit our failure to recognize the need for his removal sooner.

I am extending our sincerest apology for the unsatisfactory customer service you received at our shop. We understand that every vehicle is a great asset to our customers and aim to treat each as we would our own friends and family. Opportunities to gain your trust were missed by our lack of detailed communications with you and failure to meet your expectations.

Again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your feedback, as it will assist us in making changes to becoming a better business. It is my goal to take all action required to prevent this problem from occurring again. Please accept our apology and know that we have focused our attention and efforts on making sure to consider your concerns in our company's future actions.

Thank you,


******* *****
Administrative Assistant
********** Automotive ************ ****
XXX-XXX-XXXX



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
You just proved my point, You say that ****** found my radiator hose split in the middle? The middle would be half way between both ends, If this is True, How did they Finally cut off a couple of inches & put it back on the radiator?? As for your 59.99 Diagnostic, I was parked out by the road in your front yard, He walked out, I said its split right there & he said yep that's it. As for the anti freeze, I walked back to your shop 6 or 7 times while you slow Mechanic, was filling my truck, He was filling a greasy old anti freeze jug in the sink & walking over to my truck & pouring it in, There were No new Anti Freeze jugs anywhere around! This is why I asked the owners wife if she was sure it was put in my truck. Keep your money, If I broke down in front of your business tomorrow, I would Walk to any place that would treat me fairly, Much less waist 5-1/2 hours of my time. By the way, I saw you rip off a guy from Texas on a Uhaul car hauler trailer while I was waiting, After he paid 500.00 to rent the trailer he found the lights wouldn't work, He asked to swap for the car dolly out front & you told him it would be the same 500.00. He asked me if everyone in AL treated people like this, ( Very embarrassing) Keep it up, what comes around goes around!

03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Shady mechanics
2/21/2014 my car was towed back home from their shop with parts missing and the motor broken down parts on seat. No one was supposed to break my motor down, only paid for diagnosis.

Desired Settlement
Motor back the way it was upon shipment to their business.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *******************
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ******************************
********** called in and asked us to tow her vehicle because it would not start. We towed the vehicle to the shop and did a diagnostic. The engine on this vehicle was no good and we advised the customer that she would need a engine and the cost to repair her vehicle. She said she did not have the money so we even went the extra mile to try and help her secure financing to cover the repair cost. She came in and filled out the papers for the financing and was unable to secure the loan. The customer then requested that we tow the vehicle back to her home until she could pay to get the vehicle repaired. There were no parts removed from her engine, and the motor was already bad when we got the vehicle. That is why it would not start in the first place. Drivetrain Automotive takes pride in giving our customers the best service we can. We believe we went over and above to try and assist ********** with her automotive repair needs. She even called in and settled the bill with her credit card, and is now trying to get this payment reversed and not pay for the services she received. It is the position of Drivetrain Automotive that this customer has been treated fairly and that we have done nothing to warrant this complaint or her attempt to stop the payment for the services that we provided her.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
IT'S funny how the sides of a story differ. I contacted Drivetrain because I went into ******** with a check engine light on my truck. The code read, camshaft sensor the truck did start, it was running rough. I paid Drivetrain to tow, run a diagnostic, and give me the results. Three different mehanics gave me three "quotes." I paid to have my truck towed to a different shop where t I was told by that shopowner the ********** told him my engine was gone. I decided from then to just bring it home. And when it got here, my coils on my motor were on the seat, and my blower that connects to the motor was missing. You contacted me on 02/26 and asked if you could bring the blower back and recconect the coils. I told you to lay it on the seat and good buy. I have you on tape and I have pictures of the missing parts w/ the police I called. Stop Lying, oh by the way my truck is running and I paid 200 dollars for new plugs and wires. What was your diagnostic?2600. Right! Oh yea should I pay you for a diagnosis that say" engine needs repairing." So what if the credit didn't go through.

Final Business Response
Sounds like a lot of "hear say" to me....
"the mechanic told the truck driver who told the owner".... We did what we were asked to do. We diagnosed the repair need of this vehicle, and our Tech's found it needed a motor. The customer claims that it is fixed with plugs and wires, and if that is the case then why did NONE of the other 3 Tech's she said looked at it find that all it needed was a tune up either? I do not know what this customer had done to get her vehicle running, or if it is even really running, but even if it is it does not mean that our Tech's did not diagnose it right and that it does not still need an engine to be fixed correctly. You have stated your side of the story...we have stated ours...we stand by our diagnosis and recommendation.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup, Towing - Automotive, Auto - Fleet Service, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/08/2013Business started: 05/24/1991New Owner Date: 02/01/2011
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2012, AL

Business Management

This business was first in operation as Drivetrain Specialists, Inc. and was incorporated in Alabama in May of 1991. In February of 2011 the business came into new ownership and in April of 2012 incorporated in Alabama as DriveTrain Automotive SuperCenter, Inc.

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Shannon Hall (President/Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Zach Knight (Service Director)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup, Towing - Automotive, Auto - Fleet Service, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company is a auto body shop and collision center providing services, such as, auto glass and window tinting, towing, car detailing, tires and alignment, etc.

Hours of Operation

7:00 - 7:00

Alternate Business Names
Drivetrain Specialists
Industry Tips
Auto Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for DriveTrain Automotive SuperCenter, Inc.

2540 Skyland Blvd E

Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-4331

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2540 Skyland Blvd E 

    Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-4331(205) 333-9944

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*DriveTrain Automotive SuperCenter, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • https://www.facebook.com/drivetrainautomotive?ref=ts&fref=ts
  • https://twitter.com/drivetrainauto
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Auto Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.