BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/12/2013

Hollywood Imports, Inc.

Phone: (205) 979-5120Fax: (205) 824-43071472 Highway 31 S, BirminghamAL 35216-3607 Send email to Hollywood Imports, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/12/2013

BBB has determined that Hollywood Imports, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hollywood Imports, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hollywood Imports, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
06/02/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hollywood Imports lied to me repeatedly to get me into their door and then knowingly continued to lie to get me to purchase the vehicle.
On 3/14/14 I contacted Hollywood Imports about a 2007 Audi A4 Convertable. Over the next 8 days I had numerous discussion with the sales person, ** ******* on the vehicle as I would be coming from out of state to purchase. Throughout the emails and phone conversations I was informed that the car was in great condition, no issues, all was great. The vehicle would be inspected before I flew down and have an oil change done, all written in emails to me. On 3/22/14 I flew into Birmingham and was picked up by the salesman, ** ******** When I first inspected the car, I was surprised to see that the window in the convertible top was de-laminating. The salesman said they would take care of it. That he hadn't noticed to tell me. We go to start the car and the battery is dead. I was told that they had just put in a new battery and something must have been left on overnight to cause the drain. We drove a couple of miles and the check engine light came on, and I was informed that this was due to the jump. The owner then cleared the issue off the computer. I drove it by myself and headed straight over to a car dealership service center where the only thing they could do was run a diagnostic. They did and said that it was possible that the check engine light came on due to the jump. I went back and purchased the vehicle. Repeatedly, I was informed that there was nothing wrong with the car. I left at 4pm on 3/22/14 and drove to ****** and arrived at 4 am on Sunday 3/23/14. That day I drove the vehicle very little. The next morning, Monday,3/24/14 I had to jump start the car. It drove well and I took it to a service center that specializes in Audi's. They inspected it and told me all the things that were wrong, and there were a lot, such as 3 CV boots torn, heater hose was leaking, both motor mounts leaking and HAD to be replaced, oil everywhere in the engine. They said that if the car had been inspected like it was supposed to have been, any mechanic would have seen the faults. By the way the car needed to be jumped for the shop after sitting for 5 hours. They recommended a quality battery replacement over the discount battery that had been installed. I sent a copy of the estimate to Hollywood Imports on 3/25/14 asking them to either cover the costs of the repairs or buy the vehicle back from me. I was informed that they would do nothing. They had already given me money and would not give anything else. The money they gave was for the convertible top repair which was listed in the contract. The answers I received were basically you purchased this AS IS. Your issue, not mine. During this time, I purchased a brand new battery. Over the next two weeks, the car would be dead every morning. I would have to jump it every time the car sat for more than 4-5 hours. It took numerous hours and an additional $400 to locate the problem through a service center. I had the car for 3 days and new there were issues, they had the car for months and they said all was fine with no issues. They have yet to make any attempt to contact me or resolve this issue. I had a demand letter written, but being from out of state, it carried no weight. I can only say that they lied, and betrayed the trust of their customer. Through their dishonesty, they have lived up to the typical sterotype of a used car company. They are not to be trusted or believed. I am out over $2500 dollars within the first week of owning this car that was supposed to be great with no problems.

Desired Settlement
I would prefer that Hollywood imports pay all of my bills for this Audi up to this date4/25/14. I can provide a detailed list and receipts for all expenses relating to fixing the car so that it is safe to drive. The total is currently, $2,548.38 The only other alternative is that Hollywood Imports buy back the car for the selling price to me as well as all expenses plus my tax title, and inspecting fees.

Business Response
HOLLYWOOD IMPORTS
May 14, 2014

Complaint Activity Report Case **********
****************
******************
**********************
**************

Dear **********
We received your letter, case number ******** that was submitted to the Better Business Bureau on April 29th, 2014. In response to your letter, you purchased a pre-owned 2007 Audi A4 with 59541 miles on May 22nd, 2014 from Hollywood Imports. Hollywood Imports is a reputable Dealership and stands behind their vehicles with integrity and pride. Upon purchasing the 2007 Audi A4 you had the right to have an independent third party inspection prior to taking delivery. You requested that the vehicle be inspected.************ conveyed the information from the inspection back to you and you made the trip to purchase the vehicle. You agreed to purchase the vehicle As-Is and Hollywood Imports conveys its entire inventory As-Is. You were offered an extended warranty, which you purchased. You also agreed to and signed a document concerning the following issues:
Replace or repair convertible top
Check and repair battery drain electrical problem
Check and repair cause of check engine light
The above issues you acknowledged and were compensated by check in the amount of $1,100.00. You also understood that the compensation was final. The following documents were signed by you when you purchased the 2007 Audi A4, Addendum To Bill Of Sale, Buyers Guide, We Owe, ****** and *********.
You stated in the claim that you have had the vehicle, which you purchased checked out and were told of several problems with the vehicle, which will be expensive to repair. All paperwork/documents, which you signed, were explained thoroughly at the time of purchase.
As stated above Hollywood Imports is a reputable Dealership, which stands behind their vehicles with integrity and a code of ethics.

Sincerely,
*****************

****************
President
*****************
***********************
********************
***************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First and foremost, the $1100. check that was given was for the replacement of the convertible top ONLY. It was not for any other issues as they responded. On their We Owe document it states "Check to cover new convertible top $1,100." It does not state anything else as they mentioned in their rebuttal. Another Lie from them. It was wrong of me to take their word that the check engine light was due to the battery being dead. I trust people at their word, which apparently does not mean anything at Hollywood Imports. It still boggles my mind that their inspector was so incompetent as to have missed leaking hoses, ripped CV boots and dry motor mounts. I guess I should expect that with all the other lies that were told to me to get me to fly down and see the car. I specifically asked if the convertible top was in good condition and was informed it was. Only upon seeing the vehicle, that the glass was delaminating from the top. Another lie, one of many. The owner twisted my words in his response, that I had the vehicle checked out and was fine. I had the electrical checked out because that was all that could be done that day, and that report came back ok, only because the owner of Hollywood had previously cleared any issues off to cancel the check engine light that was supposedly caused by the dead battery. Hollywood Imports is living up to the stereotypical viewpoint of a Used Car Lot. They take no responsibility and hide behind the As Is warranty. I believe as do the trusted mechanics that serviced this vehicle two days after I purchased it that Hollywood was well aware of the issues and hid that knowledge knowing that with me being from out of state, there would not be much I could do. I do not accept their response and find their business practices to be misleading. When a person makes their business inquiries in an honest and earnest manner, they expect to be treated as such, rather than be mislead and lied to. I did purchase an extended warranty from Hollywood only to find out that not a single item that needed to be fixed would be covered. After that I tried to cancel the warranty through their salesperson. I never received a return call. I finally had to call the warranty company up directly to cancel, which I did. The warranty company sent Hollywood a check for MY refund on the 17th of April. As of the 20 May, Hollywood has yet to send the money back. Another example of the honest dealings that this company lacks. You would think that if their salesperson is telling so many lies as to get a sale and to bring the name of your company under dispute that as the owner you would try to make the issue right by the customer. As I said before, based on their action, that I believe this is the standard way of practice for this company. Lie, cheat, mislead, and do whatever they can to close the deal and then hide behind the AS IS Warranty. As a final word, I take Offense that Hollywood Imports uses words like, reputable Dealership, and that they stand behind their vehicles with integrity and a code of ethics. I do not see them standing behind their vehicle in any way.

08/02/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Salesman Charge me a different price for the car that had been listed. He tried to hide and lied about the hole deal. He was very un ethical. This
I found the car on line at Hollywood Imports for 18995 which was on the dealership site. I called and did a credit application with the Sales Manager named **** and he said he got me approved but it would take 4150 down. I said ok what was the term and the car note going to be. He said under 500.00. When I went to pay the deposit the numbers didn't add up he said it would take me 72 months to pay off the car so I went home later and used a car finance calculator to see how much I was going to pay for
the car. Again it didn't add up correctly.So I called **** and ask a simple question what was the price of the car. He tried to go around answering by giving me a bunch of numbers. Finally he said your financing 17000 or so including taxes and delivery etc. I said how is that possible if the car is only 18995 and Im paying 4150 down. He admitted to taking the price of the car up saying at first I was not paying cash so I couldn't get that price. Which was not true the site does not sat these are wholesale cash and carry prices on the cars. Then he says he had to take the price of the car up cause he had to pay the bank 3000 for the loan which really didn't make any sense. So I called a lawyer and explained the situation and he said what happen is a dishonest salesman takes the price of the car up and gets the loan approved by the bank and keeps the over payment of the car once the bank pays the cost for the car. So he actually took the car up about 3000.00 and plus the 4150 I would have paid down he would have pocked the difference of both leaving me to pay more for a car and he basically lying to the bank on the price they are supposed to pay for the car. Very Dishonest I wonder how many people did not catch on to this from this Sales Manager of the dealership. I wonder if the owner is in on it or doesn't even know what the sales manager is doing. I called but he keeps telling me the owner is not in and that he is out of town and he doesn't know when he will be back. All I want is my desposit of 500 returned and I go to a more honest dealership.

Desired Settlement
I want the deposit of 500.00 I paid refunded.

04/09/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/23/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The 2009 **** ** I purchased at Hollywood Imports has a burned exhaust valve. I feel they knew this and did not disclose defect at the point of sale.
My wife is the owner of a 2009 **** *** As I was traveling from ******* on the way home on 28 September, I drove thru a low dale at normal speed, the EPC light and the check engine light came on. The next day, I went to the dealer in *********** AL to get this checked out. They kept it over night to perform diagnostic test, compression test and leak down test. I was told the exhaust valve is burnt and I should replace the engine per **** technical assistance instructions and the cost will be $12K. In turn, I said, "what are you talking about get a new engine. This car has 70K miles and is out of warranty less than 12 months." I don't understand how a car of this caliber and expertise could not run properly to at least 150K miles. I do not have $12K to spend on a new engine on a car that is worth $20K. I am not done paying for this car. I have only had it for 1 ½ years. I would like for someone at **** to contact me to explain why I would need to replace an engine on a $40K car at 70K miles when I bought it, it had only 36K miles.

The service manager of ********** **** also tells me on 29 September, "since the car has no history of repairs or records at ***** we don't know what happened to this car before you bought it here for the 1st oil change." I furthermore asked if there was something I could have done to prevent this and the service manager stated, "No." I found this harder to believe that I am in a car that has less of a life span than a **** ****** A **** ****** I was expecting to enjoy the benefits of traveling in an **** for many years. I wrote an email to **** to request and explained my situation on 30 September. I called them on Wednesday 1 October, told me "they must stick with what the dealer has said. He is the primary judge of the car and we are unable to do anything about it. You should accept the 10% of off labor and parts for this car. You can also think about purchasing a used engine to lessen the expenses." I said, "why am I to blame for Audi making a bad engine?" We went back and forth for about 30 minutes. I gave the scenario to the Audi of North America employee, "if you have a 1976 **** Pinto, A 1994 Nissan Sentra and a 2009 Audi A4, which one do you think would be on the road today?" He gave the answer, "with the correct maintenance, all of them." I said, "honestly you don't believe that. I would certainly think the 2009 **** ** would be on the road, but it's not. It's parked inside my garage gathering dust."

I reached out to Hollywood Imports in Vestavia Hills, AL (Birmingham), the car lot where I bought this car, several times in the last week ******** *** & *** I have not received any clear answers as to the repair history before this car was sold to me. During our initial conversation, the owner or someone in charge, told me it was against the law for them to share the repair history with me. I was told during our second call, we don't keep records from May 2013. Now that I have had three conversations with them, I am being told we had a flood and lost most of our records. I asked, "you only keep paper records?" He said "yes, by the way we would not keep records that long." I don't believe either story, but hopefully the attorney general or someone can get some answers and obtain this work history. I don't think Hollywood Imports would have made a sale without a strict trial or due examination of this vehicle before selling to me. I feel that Hollywood Imports knew there was something internally wrong with this car and sold it anyway because they bought it and had to sell it. There has to be a repair history when they noticed the defect and that is what I am in search for at this time from Hollywood Imports. Did they sell this car to me and not disclose this information? It is against the laws of Alabama to sell a car to a consumer without disclosing certain information. If they knew this car to be faulty, they should replace the engine.

Desired Settlement
To whom this concerns,

I ask myself, what will induce me to buy another **** or have anything nice to say about **** or Hollywood Imports based on the way I have been treated? I was told, since I was not the original owner or product any repair history before my 1st oil change, **** could do nothing for me. Hollywood Imports states they have not responsibility in the matter.

The manufacturer of the $40K piece of scrap metal in my garage has laid the blame on me, the consumer. So basically, **** has built a defective product, Hollywood Imports sold this car knowingly with a defect and I have to pay for the defect because I am not the original owner and is 12 months out of warranty. Does **** or Hollywood Imports plan to square this deal? I am not asking for anything out of the ordinary. I only want what I thought would be a car that would last me at least 5 years. I am not a rich man. This is very disheartening especially to my wife, who has to drive her old car. She is driving her old ****** with 197K miles and **** can't make this right. I only want **** and/or Hollywood Imports to make this right with a new engine. Someone has to know about this car before it ended up in my garage with a burned exhaust valve and did not disclose this information. I only want to know who is going to repair my car: Hollywood Imports or **** of ***** ******* or both, but I believe I did everything in my power to keep my car serviced and running properly.

I have not driven this car since being told the engine would have to be replaced or had anyone touch it other than a qualified **** technician since ** ********** I don't plan on allowing anyone to touch this vehicle not authorized by **** to do so. I only want a new engine placed in my wife's car. According to the **** technicians, the only thing that can be done for my car is a new engine. I would like Hollywood Imports to purchase the new engine and **** to install.

Lit by the light with assistance,

**** *******

08/02/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hollywood Imports sold a car I beleive they knew to be faulty, then refused to help remedy the, very expensive, problem
I traded in my motorcycle, worth $1500 ****** **** ***** trade price) plus $10,450 cash for a **** **** ****** * with ****** miles on 14 May 22, 2013. I test drove the car, which was brought to me, still running, having just been brought back from an oil change at the nearby ******* *** ****** & Service Center. During the test-drive I notice a very minor rattle on the front left hand side of the engine. I asked the salesman, *******, about the noise and he told me that the mechanic that had serviced the car said it was "probably just a loose heat shield". In hindsight this should have rung alarm bells but I took him at his word. Once the deal was complete I drove back to my home in **********, some ** miles away. Just before I got home ******* rang me to ask where the helmet was for the motorcycle but his opening words were "did you make back ok?"; again I picked something up in his tone that rang alarm bells, as it did not seem purely small talk and I booked the car into the BMW dealership for a check the following day.

I am a ************************ on an **************** with the **** and had assumed (another mistake) that ** law was similar to ** law (it is in most respects); at home there is a law similar to the lemon law that says a product 'must be fit for the purpose that it was sold' and I thought that if I spotted any problems quickly there would be some kind of recourse against the seller - so I was keen to discover any problems quickly.

The BMW dealer looked at the car on 15 May 22, 2013 and recommended I take it to the m********** in *********** Al, which I did on 16 May 22, 2013. Eight miles away from the *********** the car lost all power and I coasted to the side of the road on the ****** *** towed the car to the dealership. After a few hours of inspection, the **** dealer told me that I needed a new clutch, transmission and flywheel plus associated ancillaries; the dealer said that once they had got the car up on a ramp, they could see that the clutch had obviously been leaking for a while, something the mechanic that had changed the oil immediately before sale to me would have seen. The cost of repairs was estimated at $6955. I had been in contact with Hollywood Imports throughout the day and asked them to take the car back and return my money and motorcycle. I sent Hollywood a copy of the estimate for repair and they have not returned my calls since.

I have contacted********* who has told me there is no recourse under Alabama law and my best hope is to shame Hollywood Imports into doing the right thing, as I have no doubt now that they were fully aware there was a problem with this car. Their own Facebook page states" All of our vehicles are thoroughly inspected". Even if they refuse to take the car back or cover the cost of repairs, a token offer to cover some of the costs would seem fair

Desired Settlement
Ideally a full refund. Failing that, a contribution toward the cost of the repairs, at a level that is deemed fair by BBB

Consumer's Final Response
I believe that Hollywood's statement that "The vehicle was in good quality when purchased and the necessary repairs were taken" is untrue and that they knew of a preexisting problem; hence, the trip to replace the oil etc immediately before I arrived for the test drive. The MINI dealer stated that any mechanic would have been able to recognize the problem, once the car was lifted up, as the transmission fluid had been leaking for a while. I believe that they filled the car with just enough transmission fluid to get me of the car lot, safe in the knowledge there was no legal comeback - very shoddy practice indeed. Their lack of concern after the event is also testament to their lack of interest in customer satisfaction. A shoddy company, their claim to be "reputable" is accurate; unfortunately that reputation should be for underhand dealing and their "code of ethics: is a joke.

09/18/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/03/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/02/2006Business started: 10/02/2006
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2006, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Schefano (President)Ms. Molly Fielding (Vice President of Marketing)Ms. Tina Viljoen (Office Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company sells pre-owned vehicles.

Industry Tips
Used Car Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hollywood Imports, Inc.

1472 Highway 31 S

Birmingham, AL 35216-3607

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1472 Highway 31 S 

    Birmingham, AL 35216-3607(205) 979-5120

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hollywood Imports, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Used Car Tips
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.