BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central & South Alabama

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/19/2001

Avery Auto Sales, Inc.

Phone: (256) 835-8897Fax: (256) 825-5055View Additional Phone Numbers1126 Snow St, OxfordAL 36203-1213 Send email to Avery Auto Sales, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/19/2001

BBB has determined that Avery Auto Sales, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Avery Auto Sales, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
05/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Avery's auto sale sold me a car that had a bad motor in it. I had the car for less than 30 days and it started giving me problems. Then a week later it broke down on me completely, and the guy who sold me the car said he would get car fixed for free if it gave me any trouble. So now I'm gonna lose my job. Because they won't fix it like they said they would. The guy wouldn't let me buy a warranty for the car so that shows me he knew the car wasn't fixed and he knew what was wrong with the car before I bought it. So they can make money off of me.

Business' Initial Response
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:
****** ****** PURCHASE A 2006 DODGE STRATUS ON 11/29/2012. HE MADE HIS PAYMENT ON 1/02/2013 AND SOMETIME AT THE FIRST OF JAN-2013 HE BROUGHT IT BACK BECAUSE OF A MOTOR PROBLEM. THE CAR WAS BOUGHT AS/IS, BUT MR. ****** AGREED TO PURCHASE A MOTOR PAY FOR HALF OF IT AND LET MR ****** PAY FOR THE OTHER HALF AND CHARGE IT TO HIS ACCOUNT.
****** AUTO SALES WOULD BE ALSO RESPONBILE FOR HAVING THE MOTOR INSTALLED.

Business' Final Response
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN,

I DONT KNOW WHO HE GOT HIS INFORMATION FROM BUT THIS DID NOT GO ON HIS CREDIT. I DO NOT KNOW WHO HIS SISTER IS, BUT ALL I KNOW IS THEY ARE JUST TRYING TO MAKE TROUBLE FOR OTHER PEOPLE.

THANKS
MRS. *****

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/22/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
07/31/2012Problems with Product / Service
12/12/2011Problems with Product / Service
01/27/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/15/2000Business started: 08/01/1999
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1999, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lester Avery (President)Ms Shelia Avery (Contact/Office Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers the sale of used auto.

Alternate Business Names
Avery Annex, Avery Automotive
Industry Tips
Used Car Tips
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Purchasing a Car Online
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Avery Auto Sales, Inc.

1126 Snow St

Oxford, AL 36203-1213

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1126 Snow St 

    Oxford, AL 36203-1213(256) 835-1120

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Avery Auto Sales, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (256) 835-1120

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (256) 241-2130
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.