BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central & South Alabama

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/1996

Anthony Underwood's Automotive Sales

Phone: (205) 424-4033Fax: (205) 424-4032View Additional Phone Numbers4006 Bessemer Super Hwy, BessemerAL 35020-2407View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/1996

BBB has determined that Anthony Underwood's Automotive Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Anthony Underwood's Automotive Sales' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Anthony Underwood's Automotive Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
03/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: At the time of purchasing my car I wasn't offered an extended warranty. I have only had my car a few months and the transmission is going out.
2006 Mercedes Ck Class

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** *********, GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******************************
Ms. ***** ******* purchased her vehicle from ******* ********* Automotive December 27, 2012, more than a year ago. She contacted me about two weeks ago to inform me that she was having a problem with the transmission. I invited her to bring the car to our service department so that we could verify whether or not the transmission was the problem. Ms. ******* then informed me that she already had taken the vehicle to another service facility and the transmission was determined to be the problem. Because the vehicle was sold over a year ago, there wasn't anything I could do but work with her to get the transmission fixed at a discounted price. Ms. ******* then informed me that she was never offered an extended warranty at the time of purchase but when I pulled her folder, I noticed that she did sign the "Waiver of Service Contract" form. And when I told her that she could have purchased an extended warranty on the side outside of the financing of the vehicle, apparently Ms. ******* was knowledgeable of this option because she responded that she could not have afforded the car payment and the warranty payment although the warranty payment terms were only for 12-18 months. Because Ms. ******* has had the vehicle for over a year, we cannot give her another vehicle and we cannot fix her transmission for free. If Ms. ******* is willing, I would love to assist her in getting the transmission fixed at a discounted price.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ********* is telling a lie to cover himself and his business. I have not had my car a year yet. I am not the only person he have screwed over with those ragged cars. If I would have known all this about him and his business before I would have never purchased a car from him.

Final Business Response
Whether or not I am lying will be easy to resolve. I just need Ms. ******* to allow me to view her contract and other related documents she signed at the dealership and I will compare those documents with what we have on file for Ms. *******. If her documents are dated a different date than what we have on file then I would be glad to take a closer look at what we can do to compensate her. The documents I have with Ms. ******* signature are dated more than a year ago. I am deeply apologetic that Ms. ******* is experiencing transmission problems but the company has to have some permameters in place in regards to how long after the purchase of a vehicle are we required to bare the entire cost and when does it become the customer responsibility. Ms. ******* did have the opportunity to purchase an extended warranty which she declined by the waiver of service contract document we have on file with her signature. Even after purchasing the car more than a year ago, we are willing to work with her to reduce the cost of the transmission. But if Ms. ******* can produce company documents proving that she bought the car less than three months ago, I am more than willing to absorb a larger portion of the cost to repair the transmission. I am willing to meet with Ms. ******* next week to review her documents so that we can resolve this matter for her.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/07/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/19/1996Business started: 05/01/1994
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1994, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Underwood (President)Ms. Barbara Faison (Office Manager)Mr. Roderick Underwood (General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers preown auto sales & services.

Industry Tips
Used Car Tips
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Purchasing a Car Online
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Anthony Underwood's Automotive Sales

4006 Bessemer Super Hwy

Bessemer, AL 35020-2407

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4006 Bessemer Super Hwy 

    Bessemer, AL 35020-2407(205) 424-4033

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Anthony Underwood's Automotive Sales is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (205) 424-7004
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.