BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central & South Alabama

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1988

Med Center Mazda

Phone: (205) 226-0929Fax: (205) 271-2058

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
01/04/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/07/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: The service tech diagnosed a small leak in my transmission. I paid $400 to have them fix the leak. 2 months later I am having the same problem.
Now, they are saying I need a new transmission after I have paid them to fix what was a small leak. They want to charge me $4100 for a new transmission. I feel they are responsible for my transmission. They keep asking me to trade in my car, but they know they are the reason my transmission is bad.

Initial Business Response
The customer's car came in on 4/4/14 with a complaint of transmission fluid leaking and a clunking noise on accel. We diagnosed a transmission pan leaking and motor mounts needing to be replaced for the clunk. We replaced two mounts and ordered a third. Two days later, the customer returned and we replaced the ordered mount and resealed the trans, stopping the leak. On 6/12/14, 2 mos. and 2100 miles later at a mileage of XXXXXX, the car returned with the check engine light and traction control warning lights on.(No trans leak reported) Tech diagnosed the warnings and test drove the vehicle. The transmission had severe shift shock indicating an internal failure. The car also had codes for a cam position sensor and the timing chain was noisy. We priced all of these items and recommended that due to the high cost of repairs, that we would recommend considering trading the car rather than putting more money into the car.

The trans concern was obviously a separate issue from the leak we repaired earlier. We are in no way responsible for the trans issue. The customer had been in 3 times in 2011 and 2012 and spent a total of 103.00, declining recommended repairs on two of three visits. The total amount spent on the 2014 issues is 369.75 on 4/4/14 for two mounts, and 478.40 for the 4/7/14 trans reseal and installation of the last motor mount which was ordered on 4/4/14.

All that being said, we are not unsympathetic to the issues the customer has, and will be glad to offer, in addition to whatever trade the customer agrees to with Med Center, an additional allowance of 400.00. This is approximately what was spent on the trans reseal on 4/7/14. We do not feel we owe a refund or other compensation beyond that.


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The important issue is the transmission leak. It should be noted that in their response they failed to note that I informed them that the transmission fluid was low again on 6/12/14. This was diagnosed by another mechanic at ***** that the transmission fluid was low on 6/11/14. This is why my car was returned to Mazda because they performed the transmission repair just 2 months prior to repair the leak. Since the transmission fluid was low it's apparent that the transmission leak was not repaired properly. Therefore, it's obvious to note that if the transmission fluid is low it can cause an internal transmission failure as the Mazda dealership diagnosed

Final Business Response
Response:

While we are not here to dispute the customer's recollections of the last visit, there are several facts that need to be restated.

The car was not written up for a leak on the last visit, in fact the car was written up for the "check engine light on, and also that the traction control light had come on" The service Advisor does not recall any mention of the customer stating that there was still a leak or that the customer had taken the car to Midas the day before for additional diagnosis.

Secondly, when the vehicle was dispatched to the technician,(a Mazda Master tech who had performed the leak repair 2 months prior), he checked the records for what he had done on the prior visit. He checked the trans for leaks, found none and found that the fluid level was normal. He then proceeded to test drive the car, finding the erratic shift, and flaring between shifts.

So what happened?
There are numerous causes for the shift issues. The most likely is that the trans is just simply failing. We do not have any history on how the trans has been maintained over the 10 years and XXXXXX miles the car has been in service. Were fluid changes ever performed? We simply do not know, but do know that will have a bearing on the life of the trans.
There could also be electronic problems or foreign material sticking valves in the transmission. Any of these would indicate replacing the unit.

What WOULD have been apparent on the 6/12/14 repair order, IF a leak was still present, is documentation of a second attempt to repair that leak.

Finally, this question has to be raised. The customer initially brought the car in for the complaint of a transmission fluid leak. We repaired that and test drove the car. No additional symptoms were noted at that time. Would not the vehicle have exhibited the erratic shifting at that time if the fluid leak had caused internal damage as the customer is asserting is the cause of the present concerns? If the trans was simply low on fluid both times, logically the trans should have behaved the same both times, which it did not.

We have no problem standing behind our work, and standing on the side of the customer in situations where there is a gray area.
In that spirit we initially offered to extend 400.00 additional assistance on a trade, we will also offer that 400.00 as a discount towards a transmission replacement if that work is done here.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My trust level for the Mazda dealership has significantly decreased. It is disturbing that they would be willing to refund the $400 that I paid to have the problem repaired initially. If the problem was repaired initially and did not result in low transmission fluid, it's highly likely that the transmission failure would have not occurred. Also, please remember that there was no functioning problem with the transmission when my car was brought in to have the transmission leak repaired. The transmission leak was initially diagnosed by the Mazda dealership. It seems oddly convenient that your Advisor, ****** does not remember me telling him that the mechanic from Midas said the transmission fluid was low again. I would definitely expect more than $400 compensation in repairing my transmission, as the initial price quoted for my transmission was over $4000. It seems more reasonable to me that Mazda would be willing to replace or rebuild my transmission, and I would be responsible for the cost of the labor.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.