BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central & South Alabama

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1984

Jack Ingram Motors, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (334) 277-5700Fax: (334) 260-7263View Additional Phone Numbers227 Eastern Blvd, MontgomeryAL 36117-2009

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1984

BBB has determined that Jack Ingram Motors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Jack Ingram Motors, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 16 complaints filed against business
  • One serious complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Jack Ingram Motors, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service14
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jack Ingram Motors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (16)BBB Closure Definitions
02/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Audi Q7 was at this facility on 05 Oct 12 for XXXXX miles maintenance including topping off fluids
We went on a road trip to Orlando on 26 Dec 12 and in Ocala, FL the check oil lamp came on. We stopped at the nearest gas station to check the fluids and sure enough the oil tank was pretty much empty. We purchased oil, filled it up and continued on with our road trip. There was never any signs of an oil leak. This is a $50000+ vehicle, only two years old, that I put in the trusting hands of a certified dealer. Every time this vehicle requires maintenance I drive 1 1/2 hours one way to make sure it gets the best quality care and then we end up with something like this?

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: xxxx xxxxxxx
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@jackingram.com
On 5 October 12, Audi Q7 (***********XXXXXX) arrived for a 15,000 mile service. This service includes an oil/oil filter change, and replacing the pollen filter. As part of Jack ******'s normal policy every vehicle has a multi-point inspection completed which includes topping of fluid levels and a visual inspection of the undercarriage and brake system. No issues were found during inspection process.

The first part of January we received a call from Mrs. ****** stating the oil light came on their vehicle and there was no oil in the vehicle. (Later husband stated he added 3 quarts of oil) The Audi system is designed to come on when the vehicle is 1 to 1.5 quarts low. At the time we completed the 15,000 mile service the vehicle had to have the correct amount of oil or the oil light would came on also when our oil is distributed it goes a metering system to gives us accurate measurements. I am confident we had the correct amount of oil in the vehicle.

Our concern is that the vehicle may have another issue, from an oil leak, crankcase ventilation concern to an oil consumption concern. We made Mr. ****** aware of these concerns with the request that the vehicle come back for an inspection. We would like to confirm the correct amount of oil is in car (having too much oil in an engine is just as harmful as not having enough). Mr. ****** stated that he would continue to drive the vehicle and return when he had time.

Jack ****** Motors did refund Mr. and Mrs. ******'s money spent on the service, not as an admittance of any fault but as pure customer satisfaction. Our business is a family owned business that has been serving the River Region since 1959. We value all customers whether local or out of town. Jack ****** Motors does not enjoy losing any customer whether civilian or military but fully understand Mr. and Mrs. ******'s concern. We look forward to hopefully seeing them in the future.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have an appointment with Jack ****** on the 15th of February to check the engine of the vehicle. If the fluids were checked and topped off as stated this incident 1 1/2 months after the service appointment would have never happened unless there is an oil leak, which there is no indication for.

As of today February 05 we have not received a refund for the service amount of $xxx.-. Jack ****** was made aware of this problem immediately on Dec. 26th and it's still not resolved.

We will keep the appointment on February 15th with Jack ****** to have the engine looked at, however if at that point our money has not been reimbursed and the issue is not resolved I will gladly hand this over to my attorney. If customers are truly valued and appreciated I would receive a returned phone call within 24 hours. Up until today I have not been able to speak to Mrs. xxxxxxx in person.

Business' Final Response
As stated in our response, there are a number of issues that could cause an oil minimum light to come on. An oil leak, crankcase ventilation concern, and an oil consumption concern to name a few of the common issues. We did not narrow anything down nor state that there was an oil leak; it could have been any of the listed items.
Once again, the vehicle had to have the correct amount of oil in the vehicle when it left our facility. If the oil level was low the check engine light and minimum oil light would have been on. In order to reset the service light the levels had to be correct.
Jack ****** Motors was in fault by not refunding the customer's money in a timely manner. Once this was discovered a refund was issued with a copy of the receipt mailed to the customer. We do apologize; the process to issue a refund has to be started in our accounting office which is not in the Audi Service building.
The appointment for 15 February has been confirmed. Jack ****** Motors will have our technician available to complete the process in a timely manner.
I have attempted to contact the ******'s. A voicemail message was left with no return call from the ******'s to me or my voicemail.

xxxx xxxxxxx
Jack ****** Audi
Service Manager
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/09/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/23/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/14/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 3
04/02/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
01/09/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/11/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Manufacturers & Distributors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/01/1984Business started: 01/01/1960
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Title Division
PO Box 327640
Montgomery, AL36132-7640
(334) 242-9000

BBB records show a license number of 03-00028-14 for this company, issued by Motor Vehicle Title Division. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2014. Jack Ingram Motors, Inc..

Type: State of Alabama

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1961, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Ray Ingram (President)Customer Contact: Mr. David Ingram (Gen Mgr for VW,Audi, Volvo,Porsche)Ms. Patty Cadell (Secretary & Treasurer)Mr. Laurens Pierce III (V. P./General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Manufacturers & Distributors

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers automobile sales, service, parts and a bodyshop.

Industry Tips
Service Contracts
Buying a New Car
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Jack Ingram Motors, Inc.

227 Eastern Blvd

Montgomery, AL 36117-2009

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 227 Eastern Blvd 

    Montgomery, AL 36117-2009(334) 270-6000
    (334) 274-4900
    (334) 420-7700
    (334) 420-9900
    (334) 270-8898

  • PO Box 240309 

    Montgomery, AL 36124-0309

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Jack Ingram Motors, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (334) 270-6000
  • (334) 274-4900
  • (334) 420-7700
  • (334) 420-9900
  • (334) 270-8898

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (334) 260-7289
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.