BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/17/2011

Gilmore Ford

Phone: (334) 365-2272Fax: (334) 351-01811825 E Main St, PrattvilleAL 36066-5505 Send email to Gilmore Ford

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/17/2011

BBB has determined that Gilmore Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gilmore Ford's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Gilmore Ford

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Improper charge for service related issue that was not resolved properly
On June 24, 2013 I brought my vehicle ***************** to Gilmore Ford in*********** Al. due to my convertible top not closing. I was advised by the service center that my motor for the top needed to be replaced and the cylinders required to operate with the motor were no longer functioning. I was advised by the service center parts for the cylinders were only available by salvage and the estimate provided to me was in excess of $1,000 dollars. I called another shop in**************. and was advised to bring the vehicle there for a diagnostic. I called Gilmore ford and advised I needed to pick up the vehicle to take it to another service area. I was advised Gilmore ford needed at least an hour to put my car back together. I arrived in 10 minutes from my work place in*********** and was provided my vehicle. I was also charged a fee of $85.00 to do the diagnosis of this issue. I was given a discount ******************************. I took my car to the*********** location and advised the motor was fine that operated my convertible top and the cylinders did need replacing and they were available with warranty. I paid $ 492.00 for the total repair. I have owned ford mustangs since 1984 and have never been so insulted or treated with such malice as I was with Gilmore ford. The service center fabricated my repairs and charged me for service that was not done.

Desired Settlement
refund of my charge for a diagnostic not completed as well as the inflated falsified service repair. *************************************************************

Business' Initial Response
We are very sorry that *********** had a bad experience in our Service Department. His advisor, ************, is new to the automotive industry and is in on the job training. ********* should have explained to *********** that the Genuine Ford Parts for his convertible top were not immediately available and would have to be ordered, unless he wanted refurbished parts. The price that ********* quoted *********** was for Genuine Ford Parts installed. That price was $726.99 plus tax. The price for refurbished parts would be slightly less, and they were readily available. The price quoted included four hours labor, the standard for that operation.

In order to diagnose this problem, the technician, ************** had to remove the back seat and both rear interior quarter panels. This took him at least an hour. ********* told *********** that it would take an hour to get the vehicle ready for pick up in an effort to under promise and over deliver. The hour diagnostic charge is for the act of determining what is wrong with the vehicle not for putting it back together when a customer refuses service. ************ was informed from the beginning that there would be a diagnostic fee which is applied to the repair if work is done at our shop.

We absolutely did not falsify ************* repair order, nor have we ever knowingly falsified anyone's repair orders. We feel that the quoted price was fair for all parties. And, we assert that the diagnostic which *********** paid for was completed.

We are willing to refund the $80.75 that *********** paid as a gesture of goodwill.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Business' Final Response
Once again, we are sorry for the experience that *********** had in our Service department. We hope to use this experience as a training lesson and hopefully avoid anyone else in the future having this experience.
We have prepared a check for the refund of************** diagnosis fee of $80.75. The check is numbered ****** and will be mailed no later than ********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/13/2007Business started: 01/01/1964
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1978, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charlie Wall (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Mike Frakes (Office Manager & Comptroller)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company is a ford auto dealer.

Alternate Business Names
Long-Lewis of the River Region
Industry Tips
Used Car Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gilmore Ford

1825 E Main St

Prattville, AL 36066-5505

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1825 E Main St 

    Prattville, AL 36066-5505(334) 365-2272

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gilmore Ford is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Used Car Tips
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.