BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1984

Adamson Ford, LLC

Phone: (205) 271-4700Fax: (205) 271-48991922 2nd Ave S, BirminghamAL 35233-2002 Send email to Adamson Ford, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1984

BBB has determined that Adamson Ford, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Adamson Ford, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service11
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Adamson Ford, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
02/23/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
bought a 2013 ford escape on January 15, 2015 and waa sold a warranty that was supposedly a ford warranty. powersteeeing mod went out.
bought car on 1-15-15 car powersteering module goes out and and service manager at ********r ford in **** alabama talked with *********** and ecplained the situation and he told *** that that was not a ford warranty that they jad sold us and *** replied well i cant help you. .. i would like to het my money back and they Adamson Ford come and pick up their vehicle

Desired Settlement
i paid 662.50 cash and i would like it back and they take their car back

Business Response
Mrs. ****** no longer own the 2013 Ford Escape, has returned the Vehicle to Adamson Ford, no further action will be taken.

General Sales Manager,

**** *******

07/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
4/11/14 took my truck to Adamson because it was running rough. 4/15 they said I need a new engine ($5220).I took it elsewhere and it was a simple fix.
On 4/11/14 I took my 2004 Ranger (only 130,000 miles) to Adamson to see why it was running rough. On 4/15/14 Adamson (*** ***** contacted me and said coolant was leaking into engine and showing up in exhaust and they thought the engine block was cracked and to fix it I should get a whole new engine at a cost of $5250. I the took the truck to ** ****** who quickly identified that the incorrect spark plug was in cylinder 3 and they cleaned the fuel injector. They performed a compression test, scoped the engine and tested the exhaust and confirmed the engine was sound... no cracks/leaks. After this minor repair the engine runs and idles smoothly. The total cost was $325. I've been driving the truck for three days now and have no more issues. I was appalled that Adamson tried to get me to buy a new engine when it was not necessary. On 4/17/14 I met/spoke with Adamson Service Manager (Santos) and gave him copies of all my expenses related to this matter (Adamson charged me $120... ********** ****** charged $370 plus $325 from ** ********* total = $815). I asked Adamson to reimburse me all of these expenses because of their incompetence but mainly because I suspect bad faith on Adamson's part.

Desired Settlement
Because of what I believe to be bad faith on the part of Adamson Ford, their attempt to get me to purchase a new engine for my truck for $5250 when it was not necessary and to show them they cannot get away with this type of business practice, I am requesting that all of my expenses related to what should have been a minor truck repair be reimbursed to me. The total expenses add up to approximately $815 ($120 charged by Adamson, $370 charged by ********** *** ****** and $325 for the repairs performed by ** ******* which should have been done by Adamson during the four days they had my truck). I have given copies of the receipts to ************** Manager at Adamson.

Business Response
Adamson Ford did not do any repairs on Mr. ****** ******* vehicle. We only did a Diagnosis test. Adamson Ford did offer the customer a refund on he Diagnosis test, which he refuses to accept. Will not refund rental bill or any other bill on customer vehicle.

Service Manager
***** ******

06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Adamson Ford Dealership reused to refund $1,000.00 down payment for a vehicle sold with damages and never possessed by customers.
May 27, 2014

To the Management of Adamson Ford,
This letter of complaint and intent is pursuant to a sales disagreement between Adamson Ford, and ************************
On Tuesday May 20, 2014 we requested a refund of $1,000.00 given as down-payment for the purchase of a 2011 Regal Buick. The reason for the request was the result of our decision to postpone the purchase of a vehicle at this time. We never took possession of nor were we completely satisfied with the 2011 Regal Buick.
The 2011 Regal Buick was damaged with a chipped windshield, scratches on and under the bumpers, and a dent in the under panel of the right-side passenger door.
The salesman, ************** told us that we would be refunded our $1,000.00 down-payment by 12:00 p.m. that same day. However, after leaving the dealership, we received a call from *************** the used car manager, who very rudely told ********* that "a refund would never happen and he will bet his job on his word."********* also said, in addition to the $1,000.00 down-payment we owed a restocking fee of $1,600.00 and he needed to know where to send the bill. ******* insisted that the restocking clause is on the contract. However, we could not find such a clause after thoroughly reading the contract.
After receiving such an abusive and inconsiderate phone call from ********* we called to speak to ************** the general manager. We were told by the receptionist that '************* was unavailable and we could leave a voice message. ****** never returned our call.
We also called to ask for the owner,*****************. The front desk said ********** does not have a voice mail but we could leave a message with the front desk because ********** does come into the office occasionally. Within ten minutes after leaving a message for***********, ****** ************* the used car manager, called again and said; "We will never, ever see, or talk to****** and anything we had to say needed to be said to him or*******
Shortly afterwards my wife received text messages from the salesman **************** that said; "If I had a clue you couldn't afford it I would not have waste my talents on getting approved." He also stated in another text; "never exchange money before having made a solid decision." He text again; "just my opinion."
My wife asked********** via text; "If you knew we should not have given them our money why didn't you tell us."
In addition, the sales contract is invalid because both customers did not sign the contract personally. On Friday May 16, 2014 Mrs. Hall was not present to sign her name. However,********** after being urged by ********************** assistant per*********** signed************ name in her absence and was told by *********' "no one will find out." Earlier ******** was not present when ********* went in to sign and was urged to sign ********** name in his absence and was also told the same. This action is fraudulent and misrepresents the integrity of ethical business practices.
Furthermore, it is our intent to contact ******************** and pursue this matter in the ******************************************** if our $1,000.00 refund is not received within seven (7) days from the date of this letter. We are filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau ********************************************.
Adamson Ford will never have our patronage as customers or advocates as the result of this unfair and degrading treatment.

Sincerely,

******************** **************

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a $1,000.00 cash refund given to Adamson Ford Dealership as a down-payment for a car deal never finalized in the correct way. The car was damaged and should not have placed on the lot for sale before repairs were made.

Business Response
**************** has been given a $1000 refund. Adamson Ford apologizes for any inconvenience may have cause customer.

***************

08/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I never received a carfax and about a month ago began having major problems with the car, tried to trade and was informed car had been totaled.
purchased car 7/2011 a 325i bmw 2006. *********** was our sales rep at the time. We also worked with ************* and ******************. Car price around $21000. We asked for a carfax and never received one. They kept dancing around the situation. It took us about a week to make the deal final and it was after 10pm when we finaly signed the contract. So just getting off of work and ready to get two cars we were ready to take our cars home. ***** even had to drive one of our cars to our home due to we had no one to drive the car we came in. The BMW began have problems around the beginnig of the year, brakes, front and back, the water pump, navigation and radio went totally out a month ago. Around this time we decided to try to trade the car in due to all of the problems we were having. The dealer came back and informed us that the car had been in a bad accident and that it was disabled and had to be towed away from the scene. We were in total disbelief and in shock. We contacted Adamson west and was told what do you all want us to do. ************* stated that he had just started there and wasnt aware that we didnt get a carfax. He at first said yes we did give you all a carfax, and after researching he discovered that one was not given. He then stated that he would trade our car in and it has been over a month to so call "look for the right vehicle. We feel that this isnt fair due to we have been stained with a car that isnt worth $10000 now due to the damage. No dealear wants to even offer no more than $7000 for this lemon. We feel that we should get a compatible car to what we have not be down graded for something we were not made aware of. We would have not signed a contract if we had known that car had been damaged. We feel like we are not a priority and have spoken to other customers that have also not received a carfax and found out their car was also in an accident. This is very unprofessional and we should not have to be wait until the right car comes along. We feel that we have been scammed. And deserve to be placed in a car, really the day we came to speak to Chris. Everyday we just about call and we're told, we havent found anything yet. We feel like we are being brushed off from a very serious matter. We would like our money back or a replacement vehicle. And would hate to pursue this matter that could have been resolved.

Thanks,

Kindest Regards

Desired Settlement
We would like a replacement compatible vehicle with a carfax.

12/15/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
07/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sold a car with keys that don't even unlock the doors and intermittently cranks the car.
2008 Nissan Maxima purchased on 4/22/2014 and as I tried to leave the lot with the vehicle it would not crank. I alerted the salesman ***** ******** of this issue before driving off the lot and after a few tries the car started and was told that it was the remote sensor to the car. ***** said that I would have to take the vehicle and keys to a Nissan dealer to fix the issue. After taking the vehicle to ***** ****** and received paperwork from ***** ********* service department that I needed correct keys cut and the remotes reprogrammed. I called Adamson Ford and spoke with **** the sales manager and let him know about the key issue and he said to bring the car back to have someone look at the vehicle. After bringing the car back to Adamson Ford, no one looked at the vehicle and ***** ******** gave me his card to take over to *** ***** ****** to have the keys fixed and that *** ***** would send Adamson Ford a purchase order. I took the vehicle to *** ***** ****** on 4/30/2014 to have the keys issue resolved. After having both keys fixed, Adamson Ford is refusing to pay for both keys and stated that only one key was supposed to be fixed. I've been waiting at *** ***** for over 4 hours now waiting for Adamson Ford to authorize the purchase order by **** the Sales manager who has yet to contact *** ***** with authorization. *** ***** then tells me that both keys and the reprogramming would cost $500 and the dealer does not normally send customers to other dealers to handle situations like this and should have fixed this issue during the vehicle inspection before selling the vehicle. Adamson Ford does not provide quality used vehicle inspections and want to try to pass *** the cost to the customer after purchasing a vehicle when this should have done by the Adamson Ford. I've missed an entire day of work behind all of this and wouldn't have if Adamson Ford did their jobs of fully inspecting the vehicle.

Desired Settlement
To replace both keys to the vehicle at no cost to the customer.

Business Response
Mr. *** ******* took it upon herself to have two sets of keys cut and programmed she never gave Adamson Ford the opportunity to make a decision. Adamson Ford paid half of the bill this is all Adamson Ford will pay toward the keys.

Michael *******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The car was purchased on April 23rd and **** ******** was notified about the keys before leaving off the lot. **** of Adamson Ford was notified on April 26th about the keys being incorrect after having the vehicle inspected by ***** ******* I was requested by **** to bring the vehicle in and did so on Monday April 28th. I asked for **** but was approached by **** ******** and was given his business card with the following instructions: 1. Take the car to *** ***** to have the keys fixed 2. Have *** ***** send Adamson Ford the purchase order. The keys were cut and 2 fob's were programmed by *** ***** on April 30th. Adamson Ford had 5-6 business days to resolve the issue and the paper work I have that is time stamped and dated can't be refuted! So no, I do not accept the response from Adamson Ford.

03/10/2015Problems with Product / Service
07/11/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/11/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/01/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1955Business started: 01/01/1955
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Israel (Owner/President)Customer Contact: Julia Wesley (Contact) Mike Gargone (Car Sales) Santo Rivera (Service)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

This company offers automobile sales and service.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Adamson Ford, LLC

1922 2nd Ave S

Birmingham, AL 35233-2002

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1922 2nd Ave S 

    Birmingham, AL 35233-2002(205) 271-4700

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Adamson Ford, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.