BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/30/2009

BHAMBROKER.COM

Phone: (205) 716-1269Fax: (205) 716-12402224 4th Ave S, BirminghamAL 35233-2304

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/30/2009

BBB has determined that BHAMBROKER.COM meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised BHAMBROKER.COM's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on BHAMBROKER.COM

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
01/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dispute re: condition of a used *** purchased in 8/2014 requiring significant repairs. Not respodning to my emails with proposals to share costs.
I purchased a 2007 *** X5 for my daughter from this dealer in August 2007. Interior and exterior were in good/fair condition. Test drive revealed no major issues. I did not have the car checked by a mechanic. Purchased that day and took delivery a week later.

Interior issues included a broken seatbelt (which was repaired) and an upholstrey issue with the inside door handle (which was shoddily repaired). Interior cleaning pre-delivery was not as promised and was unsatisfactory.

One month later (9/25/14) the car would not start in the morning. When the day heated-up, it would occasionally start. When I got it started, I took the car to **************** to assess. They determined it had major isses with the oil filter housing and cooler gaskets (leaking), both vanos solenoids (shorting), and the fuel pump relay (shorting). Total cost of repairs was $1,433.

*** dealer also identified what should have been an obvious issue with the rear suspension system. Both rear suspension air bags were malfunctioning and needed replacement (estimated cost of $1,100). The pump to these was functioning to level them when the engine was ignited, but when parked, the tail end of the car was sitting only inches above the rear tires. This problem persists today as I did not have it repaired since I planned on bringing this up with the used car dealer and have them share in the repair costs.

The owner of the company repeatedly referred me to another employee to handle the problem. This employee indicated a mechanic he knew would fix the suspension problem for $700 and that they would split the cost with me. I emailed the owner of the company to tell him this was not acceptable and that I expected their company to stand behind what they sold and participate at a higher level in the cost of this repair or share in the cost of the first one.

I emailed the owner on 10/31 and had this exchange (in summary):

***

Mr (********),

I spoke with (********) about following up with you. He informed me and showed me where he emailed you on 10/1, 10/10, and today. I am concerned that you may not be getting his emails or that they are going to your spam. Shall I resend?

(********)

***

No, I am getting these. What I am not getting is an acceptable answer. Would rather hear from you if you own the company.

All I have heard is the same offer to go in halves on about a $700 secondary repair for a pre-existing issue with this car (the air bags on the rear suspension system). That is fine and well and generous, but I am already $1,400 invested the other repair that was the bigger issue (the solenoids and oil filter cooler gaskets). Being told that is not your problem because someone else already fixed it is just not acceptable.

I have been told more than once that you paid someone else to do a vehicle inspection and that these problems were not present. I'd frankly like to see that report and understand the extent to which they investigated these specific problems rather than having your guy pass the buck to someone else.

I'm just asking you to stand behind what you sell and that you participate in some way in the repair for the first problem, which as you recall, rendered the vehicle basically useless for about a week since it would not crank in the mornings once the weather turned cooler and the oil thickened after sitting overnight. If you refuse to do that, then you should at least take responsibility for the entire repair of this continuing problem rather than splitting this with me. I think that is fair.

Thanks,

(********)

***

I resent this email requesting an answer on 12/2/14 and again on 12/18 and 12/22. Owner has not responded to any of these requests.

On top of all this, the air conditioning system now sounds like a *************** at times.

Desired Settlement
For starters a call back or reply to my repeated emails to discuss my proposal on how we are going to deal with this would be appreciated. I assume you expect that from your member companies at a minimum.

My request is for Birmingham Broker to assume the entire repair costs for this latest issue (aproximately $700 based on what the used car dealer's employee quoted after his conversation with a mechanic he knows) and have their mechanic inspect the air conditioning system to determine what is wrong with it. I am already $1,400 in on a car that supposedly had undergone a "Pre-Purchase Inspection" with *************** a month or so before.

I fully understand the inherent risks of buying a used car and that some dealiers are just not reputable, but I have purchased others in the past from more recognizable names in the industry (2009 BMW for my son from ****** in 2012) and have not had issues like this before.

I have two more kids who will turn sixteen in two and four years, and I am certain I will be back in the market for similar purchases in the future. Obviously this dealer will not be my first choice at those times based on their disregard for my time and their lack of willingness to stand behind what they sell.

Business Response
Although we do not feel obligated, we value good customer relations. It was my fault for my lack of direct response with **** and I am resolving relations now. We have fixed his vehicle as an act of goodwill.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto & Truck Brokers, Consignment Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/30/2009Business started: 05/22/2008
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Craig Westbrook (Owner)
Business Category

Auto & Truck Brokers, Consignment Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers auto and truck dealer services, car locating services, car broker services and auto consignment.

Alternate Business Names
Birmingham Broker
Industry Tips
Used Car Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for BHAMBROKER.COM

2224 4th Ave S

Birmingham, AL 35233-2304

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2224 4th Ave S 

    Birmingham, AL 35233-2304(205) 716-1269

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*BHAMBROKER.COM is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto & Truck Brokers

Used Car Tips
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.