This business is not BBB accredited.

Cunningham Energy, LLC

Phone: (304) 344-9291 Fax: (304) 344-9290 3230 Pennsylvania Ave, Charleston, WV 25302 http://www.cunninghamenergy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is an oil & gas exporation company and producer.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Cunningham Energy, LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cunningham Energy, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 10, 2013 Business started: 01/01/2008 in WV Business started locally: 01/01/2008 Business incorporated 03/10/2008 in WV
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ryan Cunningham, Managing Member Ms. Danielle Boggs, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Danielle Boggs, Operations Manager
Principal: Mr. Ryan Cunningham, Managing Member
Business Category

OIL & GAS EXPLORATION & DEVELOPMENT

Service Area
WV, OH, IL, KY & TX

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3230 Pennsylvania Ave

    Charleston, WV 25302 (304) 344-9291

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/20/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April of 2015, I was solicited by ***** ***** via cold call regarding a potential investment endeavor offered by Cunningham Energy, LLC. During my initial consultation, I was given information that was tailored to the expectation of anticipated returns following an investment into the company’s oil ventures. The supplemental information included subscription agreements for each project. This information encouraged me to invest along with expectation of lucrative returns. As records show, I made an investment with the company which, including costs incurred, totals $14,750.00 in loses. I was informed that the company had previous success and I would see a return on my investment within a relatively short amount of time. Sadly, that time has now exhausted and I am demanding answers as I have given the company more than enough time to validate your expected returns.

Desired Settlement: Refund my money.

7/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/13/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2010, I was solicited by representatives of Cunningham Energy, LLC to make an investment in the company. I was given information tailored to the amount of oil and/or gas that was expected to be produced and procured. I was enticed into getting involved with Cunningham Energy, LLC because I was told that my investment would go towards oil wells and promised payouts within one year. As records show, I made several investments with the company which resulted in losses totaling **********. After being called several times and being told that the opportunity to make profit was promising, I believed I had made a sound investment. Please note that I was over 65 years of age at the time of my initial investment.

Desired Settlement: Refund my money.

11/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2011, I was solicited by representatives of Cunningham Energy, LLC to make an investment in the company. I was given information, including geologist reports, tailored to the amount of oil and/or gas that was expected to be produced and procured. I was enticed into getting involved with Cunningham Energy, LLC because I was told that my investment would go towards oil wells and promised payouts within one year. As your records will show, I made two separate investments with your company which resulted in losses totaling $35,980.00 (Thirty Five Thousand, Nine Hundred Eighty Dollars and Zero Cents). After being presented with supplemental information, testimony from geologists, and the working premises for the investment, I believed I had made a sound investment. Please note that I was over 65 years of age at the time of my initial investment.

Desired Settlement: Refund my money.

Business Response:

In regards to the recent customer complaint that you received, it is important to note that Cunningham Energy values all of its programs' participants and takes their concerns very seriously.

Cunningham Energy program participants own working interest in oil and gas wells and participate in drilling and/or re-works, depending on the particular project. Throughout all Cunningham Energy's projects, Cunningham Energy tries to ensure that all participants are informed and communicated with regarding progress and completion. Once a project is completed and producing all participants receive distributions or revenue proportionate to their participation. Unfortunately, some projects do not produce to anticipated levels and as a result, returns are lower than hoped.

Oil and gas investing is widely recognized as "speculative" and all of our participants understand that returns and production results may vary and may not be as projected and/or anticipated. In order to offset lower than anticipated production and revenue, Cunningham Energy has eliminated operating fees on particular projects and wells. In all instances, Cunningham Energy ensures that any production and revenue is distributed to a project's participants as evidenced by the distribution check attached to the aforementioned complaint.

While Cunningham Energy understands the frustration of an underperforming project and/or well, Cunningham Energy cannot nor has ever guaranteed a project's production and/or return. We are always willing to discuss a participant's concern and address any issues that can be addressed in a reasonable manner.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond. 

10/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November 2011, I made two investments with Cunningham Energy, LLC totaling $67,563.00. I was solicited by ***** ****** *** ***** ******* of Cunningham Energy, LLC. I was enticed into getting involved with Cunningham Energy, LLC because I was told that my investment would go towards oil wells and promised payouts within eight months. After being presented with testimony from geologist *** ******** and pictures of the plant, I believed I had made a sound investment. Unfortunately, I have not received a return on my investment. As you can see, I am displeased with the way my investment has been handled and the companys lack of interest in righting the wrongs that have taken place. As I have given the company adequate time to provide returns on my investment, the lack of progress is unfortunate but not an excuse. I demand my money be returned to me.

Desired Settlement: Refund my money.

Business Response:

In regards to the recent customer complaint that you received. it is important to note that Cunningham Energy values all of its programs' participants and takes their concerns very seriously.

Cunningham Energy program participants own working interest in oil and gas wells and participate in drilling and/or re-works, depending on the particular project, throughout all Cunningham Energy's projects. Cunningham Energy tries to ensure that all participant, are informed and communicated with regarding progress and completion. Once a project is completed and producing all participants receive distributions or revenue. proportionate to their participation. Unfortunately, some projects do not produce to anticipated levels and as a result, returns are lower than hoped.

Oil and gas investing is widely recognized as "speculative" and all of our participants understand that returns and production results may vary and may not he as projected and/or anticipated. In order to offset lower than anticipated production and revenue. Cunningham Energy has eliminated operating fees on particular projects and wells. In all instances, Cunningham Energy ensures that any production and revenue is distributed to a project's participants as evidenced by the distribution cheek attached to the aforementioned complaint.

While Cunningham Energy understands the frustration of an underperforming, project and/or well, Cunningham Energy cannot nor has ever guaranteed a project's production and/or return. We arc always willing to discuss a participant's concern and address any issues that can be addressed in a reasonable manner.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond.

9/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2010-2011, I made two investments with your company totaling $20,000.00. During the time that I made my investments, I spoke with several representatives, however I mainly corresponded with ***** *******, ***** ******, and ***** **********. During every conversation that I had with these men, I was solicited to reinvest. I asked several times when I would begin seeing returns and majority of the time, your company and its affiliates evaded the questions and pushed me to reinvest. I declined without hesitation every time. I was promised a return of my full investment within 9-12 months. Thereafter, I would be making profits in the form of dividends and distribution checks. To date, I have received one check for $17.66 which was received on March 31, 2015, four years after my investment was made.

Desired Settlement: Please refund my money.

Business Response:

In regards to the recent customer complaint that you received, it is important to note that ********** Energy values all of its programs' participants and takes their concerns very seriously.

********** Energy program participants own working interest in oil and gas wells and participate in drilling and/or re-works. depending on the particular project. Throughout all ********** Energy's projects, ********** Energy tries to ensure that all participants are informed and communicated with regarding progress and completion. Once a project is completed and producing all participants receive distributions or revenue proportionate to their participation, Unfortunately, some projects do not produce to anticipated levels and as a result, returns are lower than hoped.

Oil and gas investing is widely recognized as "speculative" and all of our participants understand that returns and production results may vary and may not be as projected and/or anticipated. In order to offset lower than anticipated production and revenue. ********** Energy has eliminated operating fees on particular projects and wells, In all instances. ********** Energy ensures that any production and revenue is distributed to a project's participants as evidenced by the distribution check attached to the aforementioned complaint.

While ********** Energy understands the frustration of an underperfOrming project and/or well, ********** Energy cannot nor has ever guaranteed a project's production and/or return. We are always willing to discuss a participant's concern and address any issues that can be addressed in a reasonable manner.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

RE: Final Request for Repayment of Investment

I have made several attempts at contacting your company in an effort to resolve issues I have had regarding the investment that I made with you company. You have failed to respond to any of my formal complaints, with the exception of a generic response sent to the Better Business Bureau.

I sent you two letters on two different occasions detailing my involvement with your company, the funds that I invested, and the lack of production or follow-through on your company's behalf. All of my correspondence was received but your company and its owner failed to correct the wrong doing and offer any sort of aid in the explanation of what you company has done with my money.

I've filed complaints with several state and federal regulators and will send in additional documentation following your receipt of this letter.

As stated in your response to the Better Business Bureau, your company has sent me ONE dividend check in the amount of $17.66 (Seventeen Dollars and Sixty Six Cents) which was received in March of 2015. I have been an investor with your company for five years and the only return on my investment has been a nominal amount of less than one percent of the money that I've invested. As stated in my first letter to your company, I was informed by your representatives that I should recoup my entire investment plus dividends in one year's time. Now five years later, l have only recouped $17.66. Your company should be ashamed of behavior and misuse of my funds.

Your representatives encouraged my investment with promises and expectations that were hard to pass up. However, all the information supplied to me by your representatives and company have informed me that you run a business based off misrepresentations and lack of concern for your investors well-being. As an accredited investor, i am well aware that oil and gas ventures can be hit or miss, however, any company with a track record proving failure after failure in their production and projects should be willing to return a large portion of an investors funds to right the wrongs made my their misjudgments and incorrect data.

It should also be noted that in March of 2015, ********** Energy was sued by ******** ******* II, LP for failure to drill the wells they signed leases for. This information leads me to believe that your company may not have ever drilled wells, or that you drilled in part and then kept investor funds for yourself. Your failure to respond leaves me no choice but to assume you've made very little to no attempt at actually drilling and producing significant amounts of oil and gas.

I am now asking for the return of my investment with the one dividend check subtracted. Your company, due to his misrepresentations and false promises, owes me $19,982.34.

Regards,

***** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cunningham Energy, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)