BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Canton Region and Greater West Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Access 2 Communications, Inc.

Phone: (800) 561-1110 Fax: (800) 341-2931 View Additional Phone Numbers 225 Technology Way, Steubenville, OH 43952 http://www.bulldogsecurity.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company states they are a manufacturing distributor of remote car starters and security systems.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Access 2 Communications, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Access 2 Communications, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Access 2 Communications, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 14, 2007 Business started: 05/17/2007 Business incorporated: 09/01/2008 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brett Barta, C.E.O. Ms. Bonnie Difilippo, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brett Barta, C.E.O.
Customer Contact: Ms. Bonnie Difilippo, Operations Manager
Business Category

COMMERICAL PRODUCTS WHOLESALE & DISTRIBUTOR AUTO ALARMS & SECURITY SYSTEMS

Alternate Business Names
Alert Automotive Bulldog Security
Industry Tips
Refunds and Exchanges

Additional Locations

  • 225 Technology Way

    Steubenville, OH 43952 (800) 878-8007

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 878-8007(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 0n 7/29/14 the dual fuse block for my remote starter model #RS82B caught fire under the dash of my 1994 Ford Thunderbird. I have had this unit installed in my vehicle for 4+ years and never had an issue until the 29th. Normally I only use the remote start with heat during the winter but on this day I stopped to get gas and AFTER I was done pumping I put the cap back on and closed the cap cover. As I walked towards the store to pay for my gas I pushed the start button and the car started as normal, I did have the A/C on in the max position. I continued into the building got 2 drinks from the coolers and went to pay. There was one person ahead of me and I was in the building maybe 5 minutes. When I returned to my vehicle and opened the drivers door I saw an orange flame on the fuse block for the starter unit (4 red heavy gauge wires). I got the flames put out and immediately yanked the fuses out and threw them across the parking lot severely burning my finger in the process. I have used this remote start unit with the A/C on a few times in the past for the entire 15 minute run time without any issues. All electrical connections were made as close to the ignition switch as possible as the installation directions indicated. This unit was not installed with the T-harness. The 2 fuses were the original 25 amp clear fuses that the unit was shipped with as I have never had to replace the fuses. I did however return to the gas station to retrieve the 2 fuses that I threw across the parking lot. I have not removed the remote start unit from my vehicle as of this date.The above is a copy of the email (included photos) that i sent to bulldog security customer service on July 31st 2014 and as of today 8/8/14 i have not received a response in this serious matter.i understand that my unit is out of warranty but due to the nature of the issue i would expect a prompt response if the company values their customers and products.

Desired Settlement: after failing to respond to this serious issue i would consider an upgraded replacement unit for compensation due to the fact that there was little damage done to my vehicle and being that i also received minor but personal injury in the process of putting the fire out and disabling the remote start unit

Business Response: Good Day, We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with your remote car starter. After reviewing the images sent, and the year make and model of your vehicle, it was determined the cause of the toaster effect is due to the 1990’s design of the F**** ******* *** ******* heater blower circuits. It is well documented that this particular design of blower motor from Ford will after, (age, corrosion etc..), draw upwards of 60 amps of current upon the initial startup. We have documented several vehicles that the control panels melted without remote starters installed due to the increase in the blower motors current. Our remote starters have the strongest rated top mounted relays to activate the vehicles accessory circuit. Your particular vehicle requires two or more wires to activate the accessory circuit for air and heat. We will be more than happy to provide you with an upgrade unit of your choice but with conditions that you follow our technicians instructions for wiring the accessory circuit. We will provide a diagram in a separate email. We will also provide our head techs contact information for any questions concerning installation of your remote starter. Thanks & Regards, Access 2 Communications 800-561-1110 Ex. 2116

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 1******** and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. I will be glad to follow any advanced instructions to avoid this problem in the future as i was unaware of the blower circuit issue. I would like to try out the deluxe 500B unit. I have created an email address specifically for this situation witch is bar****************** for further communication regrading mailing addresses and any other information that needs to be exchanged

Regards,

******* *****


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried now for 3 months to install this product however I have been unsuccessful. I have been told the original product sent to me was the wrong one and also another time the transponder was not working, all of which I have replaced and other problems arise. I have been more than cooperative with this issue trying many different tactics but now I am looking for a return. I have contacted the sales department a few times as instructed for a return, unfortunately instead of my request he has also given tech support, which has not worked. I am looking for a return not tech support at this time.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for a refund.

Business Response: ****** of company has advised they have spoken to the customer and are waiting on him to provide final details needed to issue the credit. 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/7/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have am having problems with my Bulldog Deluxe 500b security/remote start system. When I press the remote the car will not unlock or start. I e-mailed customer service and spoke to a ******** who replied back saying that I would have to call tech support on the issue and gave me an extension number. I called left a message and two days later no response. I e-mailed Mr. ***** again asking him if tech can call me and he gave me another extension. I called and left a message with new extension number and again a day later no response. Called again the next day and tech support answered told them the issue they said you have to call customer service. E-mailed ******** and a couple hours later he called back I told him the problem I am having and that the remote was bad and I am still under warranty. He asked for the date the unit was bought which was November 2012 he said that I was out of warranty. I told ** ***** for the remote I have a two year warranty which on the back of the manual. He told me that ******* *as kaput and that there is only a one year warranty on everything; and If I want the remote repaired it will cost *** and it will take 3 weeks or on the ******* website there is new remote for ***** that I will receive in a week. Access 2 Communications is using the ******* name to sell its security/remote start system and selling the same security/remote start system that I currently own that they should honor all of their ******* warranties.

Desired Settlement: I would like the warranty to be honored and the defective remote to be repaired or replaced.

Business Response: Good Day, Spoke with customer and sent a new remote on 1/17/2014. Called him today to see that all was ok. He said that apparently the replacement got damaged in transit. We are sending another to him today. Regards, A2C

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tried several times to register my product purchase for warranty on the companies web site. Each time it comes back with an error and statement to try again later. Company never answers the phone as others have indicated. I should not have to leave messages to simply register my product for warranty. Also missing decal to install under hood and have several questions regarding incorrect installation documentation to which I would rather discuss on phone than try to e-mail. All they have to do is answer the phone!!!

Desired Settlement: 1. Want my product registered for warranty.2. Want the under hood decal not sent in package.3. Want to speak to technical support about conflicting installation data.

Business Response: Good Day!! Customer was contacted on 12/6/2013. All questions were answered and warning sticker being mailed today along with self addressed envelope for his warranty registration. Thanks & Regards, A2C

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: shortly after installing my product I heard my vehicle begin to crank as if it was trying to start. soon the engine started, while the starter was still engaged. I quickly ran downstairs to unplug the freshly installed product. to my surprise within a matter of 5 minutes the product already failed. I did some research online to see if this was a common problem. while it didn't seem my problem was common, it was clearly evident that the customer support was clearly lacking.review after review they all said the same thing that they couldn't get ahold of a real person on the phone.so now I have a defect product no customer support and they left me high and dry.this product falsely advertises unlimited technical support.however they only work from 9 to 5 it take two hour lunch break even during office hours the call would straight go to voicemail or prerecorded message saying sorry we missed your call.well they have the sorry part right because they haven't made much of anything else it is from my experience in the experience of others I cannot believe the Better Business Bureau give them any kind of a rating other than poor.as a matter of fact I challenge the Better Business Bureau to get ahold of a real person on the phone. normally I would consider this to be a fault of my own, but do to the overwhelming number of reviews that are the same as my own experience...I'm going to have to chalk this one up to them.seriously no apology will restore my faith in you.but you still have a chance to make this right.I expect more from an American company.lastly please change your ways do the right thing.

Desired Settlement: all I'm asking for is quality control , for people to answer the phones and a replacement unit for my defect product. Rs1100 remote starter.

Business Response:

Good Day,

I was at SEMA with little to no internet access and didn't receive this until 11/11/13.  I called and reached his voicemail in which I left a message for a return call with my ext.  I also sent an email.  Called again on the 15th and left another message.  To date, I have not gotten a response.   Just called again.....got v/m and lft another message.  We inform the status once I gotten a reply.

 

Thanks & Regards,

**********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

*********** **** 


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my car starter installed by an auto tech. I called and spoke with the tech support and they said to have the auto tech call to figure out the issue. The auto tech called and stated that the main unit doesn't workby leaving a message to their tech support and never recieved a call back. I took matters into my own hands and spoke to customer service about the issue. I was told by them, "all of their products are 100% functional and that they never send out any defective products." Well, it is obvious that my unit is defective.

Desired Settlement: I request a full refund including the $****** that I paid to had it installed and the cost of postage.

Business Response:

Customer was contacted on 10/24/2013.  A new unit was sent next day air.  Customer took it to their installer, he installed it and customer replied to me today saying that all is working correctly.  We were thanked by the customer for responding so quickly in resolving the issue.

 

Thanks & Regards,

****** * ***

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a keyless entry system from Bulldog Security. Once I got under my truck I realized that I was in over my head so I simply wanted to contact Bulldog Security to ask if they have any certified technicians who will install it for me for a price. I have called just about every phone number I can find related to this business, I have left messages, and I have even emailed once. Its been weeks and I am still waiting on a response from someone (ANYONE) at the company. I decided to check their BBB rating and noticed that everyone who complains here gets a response. Apparently this is easier than answering the phone.

Desired Settlement: I would like it if Bulldog Security would simply return a phone call. I dont believe that any customer is asking too much when they expect a call back from a company who just had money put into their pockets by the customer. If a phone call cannot be returned, I would like a full refund of the product I wasted my money on.

Business Response:

Good Day,

I spoke with **** upon receiving his inquiry and guided him to where to find an installer from our website.  He was satisified with our help.  My apologies for forgetting to convey the outcome sooner

Thanks & Regards,.

**********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to call them everyday, does not matter what time I call always put on hold. I am deaf and I can't take return calls without a relay operator. I have a 2007 **** **** with the deluxe 500 remote starter kit, and I am having probelms with it not starting my truck I have to tap the antenna sometimes and then it will work.

Desired Settlement: Whatever it takes to fix it, it is supposed to have a lifetime warranty

Business Response:

Good Day!!

What time can this customer call us today between 1:30 & 530p.m. (EST)?  Have hime call ************ *** ****.  FYI, we try to catch each live incoming call but if we are responding to another customer  at the ame time, it makes it rather difficult to catch them all.  However, we do always return the call.  We will have someone waiting for his call but do let us know what time.

 

Thanks & Regards,

****** *************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *******

 

They contacted me by email and I am dropping this complaint. Thank you *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My problem: Purchased bulldog keyless entry 6 months ago and keyless remote stopped working. Battery replaced to no avail. Obviously defective.Have contacted access 2 communications about 10 times by phone. Every time I call during normal businnes hours I can never talk to a person, I am only routed to a voicemail mailbox. I leave a thorough message explaining my problem and leaving my contact info. I have not received a call back in over a week. The prerecorded message says I will receive a call back within a day.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking replacement of my keyless remote with a new working one.

Business Response:

Good Day,

I spoke with him today and issued a Return Authorization Number to send the defective remote in to us so that it can be replaced upon arrival.  Just an FYI......I have a fax machine in my office that often rings but no fax comes thru.  It happened today & I went over to the machine to see what number was dialing in.  I wrote it down & called it...........it  is this same phone number.  We are investigating to find out where this problem originates so that it can be corrected.  Sorry for any inconvenience this has caused.

 

Thanks & Regards,

****** *********

Access 2 Communications

************ *** ****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased a remote car starter, had it installed by a tech. to find that it does not work like it is to, product states up to 800ft away to start vehicle I have to be within 30ft or it will not start, took back to tech that installed it, he added lenght to ant., how ever does not help, I called the company several time around the 15-18 of Dec, waiting on line to never getting a person to talk with , I left my name and number as they said they would call back within 24hrs, to never getting a call, I tried several other times to make contact to just sitting on hold, today I also called to sit on hold , left name and number, also sent to message on computer to them to call me. I contacted my credit card company and file a complaint with them also. I have called around 6-7 times to never get to speask with anyone , they have 2 numbers for tech support and i have tried both to get the same results.

Desired Settlement: I request a full refund including the 100.00 that i paid to had it installed and the cost of postage.

Business Response:

Good Day,

We have been in contact with ***** several times.  Sorry for not responding to the first request but was waiting from a reply from ******  We've sent a new module & remotes with the hopes of that correcting the range problem.  His installer originally added an extension to the antenna which will do more harm than good for getting better range.  Our units are calibrated with the length of our antenna so any modifications to the antenna will not help.  We sent a new wire harness which includes the antenna that we feel will correct the problem.  ***** was told that we will assume any additional charges by the installer to replace the harness.  Am waiting for a reply from***** to see if this corrected the range issue.  Will advise as to the outcome.

Thanks & Regard,

****** ********************* ******** ************ *** ****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** ******


 

***** ****************** *************************** ***** ******* ******** *** **** **** ** *** *****Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB serving Canton Regional and Greater West Virginia.

Well what they had me do did not work Lol .   They said they could give me back the money or I drive to their office and have one installed by them  they can't figure out why they have not worked  they want to see what the problem is.

Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE DROID


 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ******

 

***** ****************** *************************** ***** ******* ******** *** **** **** ** *** *******************Subject:

OK.  I ending up have to take the truck to their shop in Steubenville   they checked things they said and due to me being a fireman I have switch boxes and fire radio along with a siren box  they said that was interfere ing  with it  I do buy that cause myself and the tech that I had install it disconnected all of those and it still did the same thing.  So they put their deluxe model in and for now it is working . It is to get up to a quarter mile range . How ever I don't think so Lol. It is working for the distance I need it to   thanks for all your help I have never done this before nor have I been that mad about something and could not get help. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was given one of there keyless entry products as a gift and it was supposed yo be simple hookup as it turns out you are required to have three other relays to install in order for it to work right. I finally got them all in at 20 dollars a peice and there is something wrong with box but all they will do for you is charge more money to fix problem or may exchange if receipt with it but you have to take out of vehicle and send back in which could be three weeks but having wires hanging in your dash is alright in their eyes. They dont want to work with you only tell you what they will do which is make more aggrevation and charge you more money.

Desired Settlement: Just want new module without having to tear out of car and wait one to three weeks to get back.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The customer advised the BBB that the matter was resolved to his satisfaction by the company.

10/24/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/21/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/29/2011 Delivery Issues
10/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1