BBB Accredited Business since

Harris Battery Co., Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (330) 874-0205 Fax: (330) 874-0416 View Additional Phone Numbers 10708 Industrial Pkwy NW, Bolivar, OH 44612 http://www.harrisbattery.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Harris Battery Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Harris Battery Co., Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Harris Battery Co., Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 06, 1991 Business started: 02/01/1979 in OH Business started locally: 02/01/1979 Business incorporated 10/13/1982 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Christopher Harris, President Ms. Jennifer Renner, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher Harris, President
Business Category

BATTERIES-STORAGE-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS BATTERY SUPPLIES SOLAR ENERGY EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS SPLIES/PARTS ELECTRICAL POWER SYSTEMS (RESIDENTIAL & COMMERICAL) - BACKUP SYSTEMS WIND ENERGY SYSTEMS BATTERIES-STORAGE-RETAIL BATTERY CHARGING EQUIPMENT


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new motorhome on 7/1/2014. I an getting ready for a trip and tried to turn the lights and refrigerator using the marine battery that powers the system. The battery would not work so I took it to an auto parts store and had it tested. The printout showed that the battery failed to charge after 2 hours and that the battery had to be replaced. As I could not find any Harris battery dealers in the area, I took the battery to Wal-Mart and got a replacement which was much cheaper than the auto parts store. The battery price was $81.67. I called **** who is the coach manufacturer and they told me to call Harris battery. I called them on 3/30 and they told me that a printout from an auto parts store was not sufficient. A more thorough testing was required. The representative said that a battery store could do the more complete test. The battery in question was Harris part number ******. Since I no longer had the battery and did not have a different type of test done, Harris battery could do nothing for me. As a retired Wal-Mart management associate I find this avoidance of corporate responsibility due to their advanced requirements for a simple battery replacement a very poor business practice.

Desired Settlement: I feel I did due diligence to replace this battery. I did not realize all this testing had to be done and that only battery dealers could perform the more detailed test. I have already spent more than 1 1/2 hours as well as the price of the battery of $81.67. I had to do this on a Saturday and neither **** nor Harris had their help lines open on Saturday. I would like Harris battery to reimburse me for $81.67.

Business Response: Harris Battery warrants its products against manufacturer's defects only.  The warranty does not cover abuse, neglect or discharge.  Harris Battery’s Limited and Conditional Warranty Statement as well as RMA Warranty Claim Form are available at ***************** and accessible at any time.  As the claimant
did not retain the battery it is not possible to determine the reason for the perceived failure.  Due to the claimant’s failure to follow the warranty claim procedure outlined in the above referenced documents, as well as the inability to provide the data necessary to determine the cause of the perceived failure, the claim has been denied. 

11/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Harris 27D170 RV batteries failed to hold charge. Took delivery of new RV in Feb 2014, and after several months, batteries (2 12 volt batteries in parallel) were unable to hold a charge. Numerous contacts with Harris and a series of battery charges following their technical advice were unable to restore battery performance. After submitting warranty claim form, I was informed that the evaluation of my submitted voltage readings and charging activities ruled out a factory defect and therefore my warranty claim was rejected.I have been assured by the RV manufacturer (**** - model ****) that the RV was manufactured and delivered to the dealer (******* ***** ** ******** **) shortly prior to my purchase, and storage of the RV with uncharged batteries was highly unlikely (the batteries should have arrived from Harris fully charged - storage of a discharged battery for a long period of time does contribute to battery 'sulfating' leading to a failure to hold charge, but this should not have been at all likely in this case).I've had 11 years of experience with RV batteries and their care and maintenance, and have not until now had a new battery failure. Clearly, in my opinion, a latent flaw or preexisting condition in one of the batteries caused or contributed significantly to the battery failure.My warranty claim rejection was based on the Harris claim that the mode of failure was not a manufacturing defect, but Harris did not offer the possibility that the batteries in question may have been held at the factory for a lengthy period prior to delivery to the RV manufacturer ****, nor does either battery indicate a date of manufacture.I therefore believe that my RV was delivered with batteries that contained a latent flaw or other preexisting condition that should have allowed a valid warranty claim.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of the cost to replace the failed batteries with equivalent batteries. Lacking this, posting of this complaint against Harris Battery Company.

Business Response: In reviewing the warranty claim, Harris Battery determined that the batteries did not fail due to manufacturer's defect.  It is our experience that failure as detailed in the claim is the result improper maintenance.  As a courtesy, Harris has elected to provide reimbursement for the purchase of replacement batteries due the inability to determine where the lack of maintenance occurred - equipment manufacturer, equipment dealer, or end user.

 
*** *****, Manager of ****** Sales, reached out to the end user on 10/24 and advised him to purchase replacement batteries and submit to our office for reimbursement.    


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Harris Battery Co., Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)