BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 16/08/2011

Paradise Bay Hot Tubs & Billiards Superstore Inc.

Phone: (403) 640-4011Fax: (403) 640-40126201 Centre St SW, CalgaryAB T2H 0C7 Send email to Paradise Bay Hot Tubs & Billiards Superstore Inc.View Additional Web AddressesTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 16/08/2011

BBB has determined that Paradise Bay Hot Tubs & Billiards Superstore Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Paradise Bay Hot Tubs & Billiards Superstore Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Paradise Bay Hot Tubs & Billiards Superstore Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
10/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

In October 2013 my wife and I bought a Coyote Hot tub from Paradise Bay in Calgary. It was delivered on November 2. As it was tipped from the trailer to the trolley a crunch was heard. After the tub was placed onto the cement pad and unwrapped the reason for the crunch was discovered. The panel had a crack. The person in charge of the delivery took a photo with his phone for warranty purposes I was told, as did I with my camera. I took several photos of the truck, hot tub being assembled (cover) and the crack. The photos were all processed in Light room to secure time and date. Months went by with no action being taken on the part of Paradise Bay. We merely assumed it was because they were waiting for winter before replacing the cracked panel. When nothing happened we mentioned it to store staff while purchasing supplies for the hot tub. The staff said they left a note for the person who was responsible for such things, since he/she was not available. We did not get a response. Since that time I have completed the on line request three times, we have called and left a message and we have sent an email with our concerns. We have even chatted online with ****** Spa customer relations (****). There was no response from Paradise Bay. On August 12 (*****) responded to an email asking me to call him to set up a time to replace the broken panel. The date was August 20, 2014. No one showed up on that day or in the weeks to follow. On September 5 my wife sent one final email to *****. To date on September 28, 2014 we have not even received a response.

Desired Settlement
Panel replacement.

Business Response
Paradise Bay agrees to replace the panel. We can send a delivery person from the store to replace the panel this week. Unfornunately our delivery manager has been working in the field for a few months and communication is not where it should be. If you need to conatct a manager from Paradise Bay please email ****@*************.com

02/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I purchased a brand new ********** ****** ***** Hot Tub from Paradise Bay on February 15, 2013. When the unit was delivered, and energized, the Hot Tub would not run. The company sent out a tech who diagnosed a topside control, and 2 Weeks later he returned to change it. The jets would work, however the lights did not. Since then, they have been out here 8 times, and sent 3 different techs to work on the hot tub. After the tech leaves without success, I would call ***** at the store, and he would say that he will call clear water and call me back. I waited a month and a half one time, called... "Oh Sorry, I forgot" I talked to another guy named ***** one day who said he was the service manager. I told him that the snow was going to fly again, and we needed to get this resolved. He said for sure, and ordered again some other part. He called about three weeks later and said "Your Part is In". I said "OK", and he said "Well what do you want to do?, Are you going to come pick it up and put it in?". I am not a hot tub tech, nor do I plan to mess with something I know nothing about. He then told me that they were like Christmas Tree Lights, and they would have to replace the light strand. They said I would have to drain and move the hot tub to do this, or pay them to do it. I paid them to move it in, and remove the old one, and now they want me to pay to execute a service issue that stemmed from a defective product from day 1. They called back, and were going to have 3 guys in the area, so there would be no extra charge. I drained the tub the night before for the appointment. The guy showed up the next day with a different part, and knew nothing about the light strand. The guy was not the regular tech that had been here, he took the panels off and was testing something with the light strand. Now inside the tub, there are two holes where the caps for the lights have fallen off. When people get in the tub, the water now leaks down the two holes inside the tub. I talked to a guy named ***** the other day, was told that ***** doesn't work there anymore. He said he was going to call clearwater, and call me back in half an hour, and a week later, still have not heard from him. We are almost 1 year later (and most probably expiring warranty), and still dealing with this issue that has been since day 1. To date, the lights still ***'t work. I paid $11,623.90 for a Hot Tub that has now been pieced together. We had an existing hot tub before, which was old, and had a heater go. We travel alot, and that is why we opted to buy a new tub, as we didnt want service issues while we were away.

Desired Settlement
I want a new tub that works properly, not had every component changed, or my money back, and have them come and pick this relic up.

Business Response
The service department will contact the client and schedule service. As per the clients own signature "access to all the panels on the spa for maintenance or repairs". We will work wth this client to minimize any expense. The warranty on the spa covers the failing light controller as well as 1 hour labour to replace it, it also covers the mini lights in the shell under the same warranty. ***** (Service Manager) at Paradise Bay will contact this client and try to arrange the service. Paradise Bay has all the respect possible for this client and feel terrible that the lights have been failing. We have been assured by the manufacturer ********** Spas that the replacement components should solve the problem once and for all. Paradise Bay will work on this clients behalf to make sure that the warranty terms are honoured by the manufacturer. Overall this has been a reliable product unfortunately the light controls have failed and the overall access to the entire spa has hampered some of the service work. Paradise Bay ensures that all work that is appoved under warranty will be carried out at no charge.

11/18/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

On *** 5th , 2012, went into Paradise Bay to price and review different styles of hot tubs. Talking to a salesperson (*****) we priced out the style we liked, and the "home show" discount was applied in the sales order. We explained that we were moving and unsure if the hot tub would fit where we were thinking of placing it and that the landscaping had to be re-done due to a failing retaining wall. A note "subject to measure" was printed on the sales order. He told us that in order to hold the "home show" pricing, we would have to put a deposit down. The transaction of $2000 was made.
In June 2012, before the move from Calgary to Wizard Lake, Ab, we did speak to ***** and informed him that the measurements were fine, however, the yard wouldn't be ready for July/August delivery. We were still waiting on quotes from contractors to complete the work. We explained that we were still interested in purchasing a hot tub, but the timing may not work. ***** assured us that the pricing and delivery dates were negotiable, and not to worry because they won't build it until we were ready.
In August 2012, ***** contacted us inquiring about the sale of the hot tub. We told him that we would have to discuss it further because the quotes came in and it turns out there should be engineering done due to the slope of the yard. The contractor also recommended that the work be completed during winter months. We informed him that we may not be able to commit at this time.
In October 2012, I contacted ***** to discuss the options. I informed him that we wouldn't be able to commit at this time, as the work to be completed on the yard would likely be a two year project. It wouldn't be fair on either end to carry $2000 on the books for a long period of time. He told me it wouldn't be a problem either way, and that the pricing would still be the same in 2 years. If we decided to hold the pricing, they would honor it without the deposit being refunded. In the event we wanted to cancel the order, he would "fight to get the deposit back" - a discussion he would have with the manager, but talk it over and let him know. I called back a week later and left a message for ***** to return my call.
I emailed ***** in December 2012 explaining that we would prefer to have the deposit back, as we just wouldn't be able to commit at this time. I didn't receive any response. In January 2013, I tried to call again. ***** was on days off, so I left a message.
In February I called again, but ***** was on holidays. I spoke to **** - the manager. I gave him a quick version of what all has happened, that we would like our deposit back, and that ***** wasn't responding to my inquiries. He told me ***** was due back in 10 days they would discuss it and call me back. This was the first time **** had been aware of anything. **** also mentioned that if we had explained the situation up front to *****, why a deposit was taken? I told him that ***** wanted a deposit in order to hold the "home show" discount pricing. **** noted that this wasn't their usual practice. Deposits were made to hold pricing, and sent to the manufacturer to hold "volume" pricing, for confirmed orders. I waited for a call back, and didn't receive one.
I called again March 7th , 2013, but ***** was on days off, and **** was out due to bereavement. I called again March 12th , 2013, and spoke to *****. He said our file was on ****'s desk, but they hadn't discussMed anything. He said **** was in a meeting and that he would have to call me back. I called ************************** who builds the ***** Spa hot tubs based in Thorsby, Ab. I spoke to ****** and she informed me that she didn't have an order for "******" in the queue at all. She would call Paradise Bay for more information and call me back. I didn't receive a call back from ******. About two hours later, ***** did call back, and told me that the deposit was non-refundable. I read the sales order where it notes customer satisfaction, and cancelled orders would be subject to a re-stocking fee. He told me the restocking fee would be a percentage of the full sales order value. I told him that there was no financing in place, no order placed with the manufacturer, and that this sale was contingent on our landscaping being completed; therefore the sales order was null and void. He apologized that he couldn't help me any further and I informed him that I would be contacting ****.
I called to speak to ****** three days later, and she put me through to ****** as she had called Paradise Bay and spoke to ****. She wasn't sure why the deposit couldn't be returned, as it doesn't affect anyone's bottom line. ****** asked what the model was and checked the system history again. She said they had delivered a similar hot tub to Paradise Bay in June, but there were no other tubs of that style currently on order for Paradise Bay. She noted that she doesn't always get customer information. I explained that the one delivered couldn't have been for us, as delivery would be from Thorsby, not Calgary. She said she would call Paradise Bay again to see if she could assist in getting the deposit back for us. I haven't received a call back.
On March 27th , 2013, my husband drove down to Paradise Bay in Calgary, Ab to discuss face to face to get the deposit back. ***** the sales person was on duty and working, and **** was away on vacation. After a 10 minute discussion with *****, he had informed my husband that he could not refund our deposit money, and that **** had instructed him that this is their final decision regarding our refund and there was nothing he could do. My husband got rather upset with ***** regarding the deposit and passed *** his contact business card for **** to contact him within 5 days, and if he did not get a return call we would be following up with Visa and potentially legal action...... We still haven't heard anything further from anyone at Paradise Bay.
We have tried to work with Paradise Bay and I feel that they haven't given us any co-operation. I also realize the timeline of events is extensive...but with both me and my husband travelling and working full time - it is hard to communicate throughout working/store operating hours. The end result is, they have $2000 and we have nothing in return. They have offered for us to purchase something else in the store for the same amount, but are refusing to refund the deposit. I feel this is very unfair, just to make a sale.

Desired Settlement
I would like the deposit refunded and an apology for their lack of compassion ** our situation, and being negligent.

Business Response
This complaint is completely invalid. Paradise Bay ordered and paid for $19000 dollars worth of product in good faith as per the contract.

Paradise Bay called to arrange delivery of this product as per the dates requested. At requested date the customer informed Paradise Bay that thier house was running behind. After numerous attempts to deliver the product the client informed Paradise Bay that due to costs associated with work on their house that they could not take delivery and wished to cancel. As per the contract "All sales final. No refunds on sales or deposits"

Paradise Bay has offered this client the ability to use their deposit at a future date to fulfill the contract. Paradise Bay incurred significant expense based upon the contractual obligation as set forth in the contract in order to be ready to fullfill delivery expectations.

Paradise Bay could have chosen to enforce the contract with legal action and pursued the balance of $17734.75 but has refrained from this action at this time. Paradise Bay could have charged a 25% restocking fee for the order in items $4933.68 plus storage charge but refraned from this action at this time.

The contract that the client filled out is very clear that the deposit is not refundable. Even though Paradise Bay is not contractully obligated as a good faith gesture Paradise Bay has agreed to honour the deposit on a future purchase.


Industry Comparison| Chart

Spa, Hot Tub, Sauna Companies, Steam Bath Equipment Suppliers, Game Suppliers, Billiard Equipment Suppliers, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 11/08/1992Business started: 01/05/1992Business started locally: 15/11/2006New Owner Date: 05/04/2006
Type of Entity


Incorporated: October 1997, AB

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald (Pete) Morissette (President)
Business Category

Spa, Hot Tub, Sauna Companies, Steam Bath Equipment Suppliers, Game Suppliers, Billiard Equipment Suppliers, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas

Alternate Business Names
Paradise Leisure Products

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Paradise Bay Hot Tubs & Billiards Superstore Inc.

6201 Centre St SW

Calgary, AB T2H 0C7

To | From


1 Locations

  • 6201 Centre St SW 

    Calgary, AB T2H 0C7(403) 640-4011
    Fax: (403) 640-4012

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Paradise Bay Hot Tubs & Billiards Superstore Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Web Addresses


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Spa, Hot Tub, Sauna Companies


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.