BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 18/03/2009

Academy of Learning Computer & Business College

Phone: (403) 526-5833Fax: (403) 526-4376115 3030 13 Ave SE, Medicine HatAB T1B 1E3 Send email to Academy of Learning Computer & Business CollegeFacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 18/03/2009

BBB has determined that Academy of Learning Computer & Business College meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Academy of Learning Computer & Business College's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Academy of Learning Computer & Business College

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The Academy Of Learning advertises itself as a well reputable, recognized Computer & Business College.

My experience with this school has led me to believe it is anything but reputable.

Upon initial contact with the school, I sat down with their "Admissions Advisor" and discussed my chosen career path. After choosing two specific programs that each contained courses beneficial to my professional development, I proposed enrolling in individualized courses versus choosing a specific program. Their "Admissions Advisor" agreed that if I wasn't concerned with obtaining a diploma and merely wanted to upgrade my skills, choosing individualized courses would be the best way to do it.

My funding source for this training was with AB Works, a government training program that all schools are familiar with.

After leaving the office with a price quote, a few days went by when the Admissions Advisor contacted me and stated that it would be best for me to choose a specific program as that would be my best chance to be approved with my funding source. I agreed so I chose one of the two programs. I also stated that if I was having to choose a program then I should be given credit for courses or skills within the program that I had already acquired through other schools. I was told the Academy of Learning will only allow a student credit or recognition for courses already taken if the student pays to challenge a test and passes *** The Academy of Learning will only then issue a course credit which allows a student to take additional courses and not give him/her a reduction in their program cost. The additional courses is not part of your program outline nor is it required to obtain the diploma for that program.

This was upsetting to me as I had to pay to challenge a test for skills already paid for and acquired with other schools.

I met with the "Admissions Advisor" a second time to fill out the necessary paperwork to submit for funding. I was given the impression that this source of funding was often flexible with the school and we could easily adjust additional courses if need be.

After leaving the office I was presented with a job offer and I put the application on hold. One week went by and the job fell through so I proceeded with the funding application.

The funding source came back to me a few weeks later and stated that the course was approx. $1100 more then the amount they allow to be funded. Funding limits and guidelines is information that the Academy of Learning admissions advisor should have known when completing my application. I once again contacted the Academy of Learning and requested that I be given credit for courses already taken to reduce the program cost amount so it could get funding. They refused my request to issue credit to reduce the cost of the program.

I then requested that the Academy of Learning change my application to the second program that I had initially chosen as it was a lesser amount and funding could then get approved. They then all of a sudden denied my entire application and entrance to the school. They stated that I did not have the skills, training or work experience to be allowed into my second program choice. They also stated that "due to my indecisiveness they couldn't in good concise allow me into their school".

First of all their Admissions Advisor failed to even verify my prior work experience to see that I do in fact qualify for the second program of choice. She had a copy of my transcripts which shows that I do in fact have relevant training in this area already.

I stated that I did not agree to her decision with not allowing me into the program or their school as her information was incorrect. I then requested she recheck her information prior to the matter being escalated to management. She passed *** matter to the Academy of Learning customer service rep. in Edmonton who I was having to re explain the entire situation to. She passed ** off to corporate office in Toronto after seeing how upset I was with having to reiterate all the information. I received a phone message form the Toronto office although due to the tone in her voice I chose not to respond. They were clearly wasting more of my time without wanting to offer any solutions.

After a week went by my family offered to pay the additional course cost. I then contacted the Academy of Learning and requested they proceed with my initial application. They failed to respond.

Upon initial application with the Academy of Learning, all parties were informed that the funding deadline was April 1, 2014. Not only did the Academy of Learning waste 4+ weeks of my time, they may have also ruined my chances to meet this deadline and funding worth several thousands of dollars.

Desired Settlement
Either finish completing my application so I can receive funding and acceptance into the initial program, or compensate me for the damages due to the loss in funding from the delay and practices of The Academy of Learning.

The damages for loss of funding is $45,000 for just the tuition and and cost of living funding. Hardship has not yet been calculated into this.

Business Response
***** ********* has applied for funding through Alberta Works to attend Academy of Learning as he has been accepted in our Web Design program. Alberta Works is a provincial funding program that assesses eligibility for financial support and suitability for chosen college program.
During the enrolment process, Mr. ********* inquired into more than one program option. It is required to be accepted into a specific program with specified program dates before a funding application can be submitted.
The college is waiting to learn of the outcome of Alberta Works' assessment or Mr. *********'s application.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
After the long delay from the Academy of Learning, Alberta Works had to change the start date of the Web Design program. When meeting with the Admissions adviser ****** ***** from the Academy of Learning, she had completed my application in January and entered the program start date of March 10, 2014 for the Webdesign program. It is clearly past March 10 and Alberta Works said it may be another four weeks before I hear back about my application. Regardless, the four+ week delay from the Academy of Learning is costing me $500 a week just for the cost of living. If I do not get approved before the April 1 deadline, It will have cost me alot more.($45,000+).

Entering a second choice program on an application is mandatory.

The Academy of learning should be compensating me as they delayed and interrupted my application when refusing me to their school in the first place. I am requesting $500 a week compensation starting March 10 until such time that I start the program.

Final Business Response
Points to clarify from the last response of the consumer:
- Academy of Learning Medicine Hat does not receive a set amount of money from Alberta Works, only tuition for programs delivered is paid for.
- Alberta Works grants funding to students for programs that are licensed, but does not grant funding for individual courses.
- Academy of Learning gives students credit for previous knowledge by allowing them to challenge exams for courses for which they feel they can achieve a 75% or better mark. This must be done in the first week of class. Credits are given for these courses and when the program is completed, students can take other courses which add up to the value of the courses challenged. These must be completed before the program end date.
-The consumer was allowed to start before any funding was received from Alberta Works with the understanding that all tuition would be forthcoming from both Alberta Works and the consumer, as Alberta Works did not cover the complete tuition value.
-The consumer was allowed to challenge the exams that he selected, and was provided with a course.
-The consumer knew that the remaining tuition payment was expected from him and a payment plan would be made for him to follow. At this time he made it clear that he did not plan to pay the remaining tuition, so he was terminated from the program.
-Alberta Works was notified and all money eventually received from them was returned.
-Academy of Learning did compromise by allowing the consumer to start the program in "good faith" that he would pay the remaining tuition and allowed him to challenge all selected exams and provided him with a course.
-The procedure for giving credit for previous knowledge by allowing for exam challenges and then providing courses for the this value is the same for all students including international and new immigrants.
-Academy of Learning cannot change the policy used by Alberta Works for determining acceptable programs and is not prepared to change its policy of giving credit for previous knowledge by allowing for exam challenges which has been in use for many years. Many students have been able to make use of this policy and have thus enhanced their programs with individualized course selection.
-No further compromise by Academy of Learning is possible as it is apparent that the consumer did not plan to pay the remaining tuition for the program enrolled in.

Final Consumer Response
Once again the Academy of learning fails to recognize the FACTS in this matter.

I had chosen the courses on January 6&7,2014 with their academic adviser ****** ****. 50% of the courses needed to bring my skills to a satisfactory level were in webdesign and 50% were in management.
At this time I was accepted into the school.
At this time both ****** and myself were aware of the April 1 deadline.
She was well informed Jan 6/7 that my school fees would be funded through Alberta Works.
It was her who advised me to change my chosen courses three days later.
At which time I chose webdesign.
She did not inform me that Alberta works only covers $15,000 on Jan 7 or on our next appointment the following week.

The soonest I was able to get an appointment with AB Works was Jan 20 although rescheduled to Jan 24 as I had secured employment.
Yes I delayed my application four days because of employment although compared to the three weeks in Jan. that the Academy of learning delayed my application and the four weeks in Feb. it's a pretty small comparison.
I resumed my school application when meeting with Alberta Works on Jan 24.
A week later Ab Works contacted me and stated my application would not be approved as they only fund up to $15,000.
That was three weeks wasted because of the Academy of Learning not informing me of these funding guidelines.
Communicating funding amounts, and guidelines fall under the duties of admissions adviser.
I contacted ****** about getting recognition for courses and skills I had already acquired which would reduce the course cost and get me approved for the program funding.
I was informed it would not be a financial reduction in the course cost if I proved I already had the skills but rather an academic credit for courses not even in my field of study.

I then requested to be put into the management program versus the webdesign as it would qualify for full funding.
The management program was part of the course load I initially signed up for on Jan 7.
It was one of the two programs that was on my application initially submitted to Alberta Works.
I requested that some of the courses I initially chose on Jan 7 be added to a new application for the management program as Alberta Works covers up to $15,000 and the management course was only $12,000.

On Feb 7 ****** denied my application entirely to the Academy of Learning school without any JUST reasoning.
By this time it was too late to seek an alternative school.

This caused yet another four week delay from the Academy of Learning.
It wasn't until I initiated this grievance that the Academy of Learning resumed my application.

After waiting for the Academy of Learning, Ab Works entered my application on March 6. An application that normally takes 4-6 weeks to process and which had an April 1 deadline.
On March 27, I had to contact all the parties involved in this ongoing investigation to initiate faster protocols as my program began on March 31. Luckily AB Works completed my application promptly.
It was completed within 3 weeks and they were able to get me into the program.

After 2 days in the school, I challenged and completed $1400 worth of courses that this school fails to give recognition for.
It was $1400 to prove that I already have these skills.
They have provided absolutely no value whatsoever for this $1400 in fees.

After 2.5 days in this school, the Academy of Learning has once again denied me admittance into their school.

Although they are receiving $15,000 from Ab Works for me to complete this program, they are still demanding more regardless of the mistakes and delays they made.

They refuse to take responsibility for the 7+ weeks they delayed my application, the extra expenses I had to pay from their delay, and further work and hardship they caused.

They fail to give recognition for the courses I have challenged and completed proving that I already have these skills.

I have been more than reasonable in my request that the Academy of Learning:

a) credit the $1400 worth of courses challenged to the difference in the course costs/ outstanding balance


b) credit $1500 towards the difference in the course costs/outstanding balance for the additional time, expense, and aggravation they caused in this matter with delaying my application .

I am having the school investigated for charging academic fees to students for skills a student already has. Students are not receiving any value for these fees the school charge as any additional course credit are outside of their program of study.

Furthermore I will be initiating legal proceedings against the school, their agents, and the gov. bodies that regulate the school.

This matter may eventually turn into a class action lawsuit.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Schools-Academic-Colleges & Universities., Correspondence Schools, General Business Services

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 29/09/2006Business started: 01/01/1996
Contact Information
Principal: Audrey Brattberg (Owner) DaLeann Briggs (Admissions Advisor)
Business Category

Schools-Academic-Colleges & Universities., Correspondence Schools, General Business Services

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBB Identification Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Academy of Learning Computer & Business College

115 3030 13 Ave SE

Medicine Hat, AB T1B 1E3

To | From


1 Locations

  • 115 3030 13 Ave SE 

    Medicine Hat, AB T1B 1E3

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Academy of Learning Computer & Business College is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Schools-Academic-Colleges & Universities.


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.