BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 30/04/2009

ARTE Group Inc.

Phone: (403) 640-4559Fax: (403) 259-3735View Additional Phone Numbers4300 5 St. NE, CalgaryAB T2E 7C3 Send email to ARTE Group Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Residential and commercial roofing and siding. Metal cladding and composite panel installation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 30/04/2009

BBB has determined that ARTE Group Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised ARTE Group Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on ARTE Group Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
07/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have advised Arte Roofing in writing on numerous occasions (June 1/15, June 9/15, June 22/15)of clearly visible workmanship issues (deficiencies) with my roof replacement they completed in May 2015. This correspondence is complete with detailed descriptions and pictures. As of today's date, the items remain outstanding and there is no response from them.

Desired Settlement
Properly correct the workmanship issues to my satisfaction.

02/27/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ARTE ROOFING WAS SENT TO US BY OUR INSURANCE COMPANY AT THE TIME TO DO HAIL DAMAGE REPAIR. MY HUSBAND HAD BEEN IN TOUCH WITH THEM SEVERAL TIMES TO TIDY UP AND COMPLETELY FINISH THE WORK, BUT THEY HAVE NEVER DONE SO. A NEW SUPERVISOR CAME (DON'T RECALL HIS NAME) FROM ARTE ROOFING REPLACING THE FORMER SUPERVISOR TO THE HOUSE TO COLLECT PAYMENT, AND WAS AGGRESSIVE. HE SAID THE WORK WAS DONE, AND THAT EVERYTHING WAS GOOD TO GO EVEN THOUGH I HAD POINTED OUT THAT THERE WERE STILL PROBLEMS THAT WERE NOT RESOLVED. HE INSISTED THAT ARTE ROOFING WOULD GET THEIR GUYS OUT TO COMPLETE THE WORK. IT HAS NOW BEEN SEVERAL MONTHS PASSED, AND NO WORK, NO CONTACT FROM THE BUSINESS HAS BEEN RETURNED. MY HUSBAND HAS LEFT SEVERAL VOICEMAILS, AND I LAST E-MAILED THEM LAST WEEK INDICATING THAT IF NO ONE REPLIES, I WOULD BE SEEKING INVOLVEMENT FROM THE BBB.

Desired Settlement
TO COME AND COMPLETE THE REMAINING WORK THAT WE RIGHTEOUSLY PAID FOR. THERE ARE STILL DAMAGES TO THE HOUSE FROM THE HAIL DAMAGE. PICTURES WERE TAKEN AND SENT TO THE ADJUSTOR AT *************** INSURANCE, AND STILL NOBODY FROM ARTE ROOFING HAS REPLIED OR STOPPED BY TO FIX WHAT WE HAVE PAID THEM FOR.

12/02/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our home was damaged in the August 2012 hail storm.

My insurance claim was approved (an **** estimator viewed my property with our Insurance Adjustor). I asked for an estimate and signed a contract to have my roof replaced rather than repaired.

A contract was signed and credit card number for the deposit was provided on August 7th, 2013. (my card has not been charged).

After numerous promises to me and subsequently to my Insurance Company of when the the work would be completed we have not had any work on the roof performed by ****.

Desired Settlement
I need the work done before the it snows.

Business Response
We have already spoken to the client and confirmed are schedule with him , and apologized for any delay in the repairs to his home.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
This is yet another promise from ***** Frankly, it is one of many made to both us and our Insurer. I spoke to our Insurer yesterday and they were shocked the work still was not completed.

**** did "confirm we are scheduled" as outlined, they just have not been able to provide us with a date.

They did send someone out to patch our roof yesterday, while I appreciate this my fear is it will allow them to further delay the replacement of the roof.

Until they commence and finish the work they were contracted to do I will not be satisfied.

Final Business Response
We last spoke with the client on approximately November 7th regarding the status of the work that we have been contracted to complete. During this conversation we confirmed that we are still attempting to get a cedar shake crew to complete the work requested, but at this time we have been unable to get a crew to complete. During the conversation with ***** he confirmed that he had a leak from the roof that he was concerned about. We dispatched our service technician the day after the conversation with ****; when he attended he found the leak to be coming from the flat roof area near the sloped cedar shake roof and completed a repair.

We have subsequently spoken with the insurance company over the progress of the file, as it was not just the roof that we were contracted to complete. We have completed the painting work on the insurance scope, and was billed by our painter on the 2nd September 2013. At this time we are still carrying the cost for the completed painting work, whilst we are trying to get a cedar shake crew. Originally in the insurance scope of work we to complete various shake repairs, as it was determined by the insurance adjuster that the roof did not receive enough damage from hail to warrant full replacement. During the recent conversation with the insurance company, the adjuster was looking to have the file re-assigned to another contractor to complete the scope of work that the adjuster had written; when the insurance adjuster was made aware that the scope of work for the roof had changed from repairs to a full replacement the adjuster understood the difficulties of being able to get a crew, and he advised that he probably wouldn't be able to re-assign the file as none of the other contractors on the insurance companies preferred list did shake roof replacements.

As it stands we are still attempting to get a reputable shake re-roof crew, but have been unsuccessful to date; we will continue to pursue this path, unless **** would like to use another contractor to complete the re-roofing work. If **** would like to move forward with another contractor for the replacement of his roof, then this is something that we are willing to accept, and then it would leave the account for the completed painting work to be settled.

10/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
First time Arte roofers showed up for the neighbors roof quote they want to go up on our roof to go to neighbors roof because they did not had any tall ladder, told them no and they were not very happy about it. March 16, 2014 One of the Arte roofer knocked on our door and asked if they can use our power to run their compressor, told him no but he kept on arguing that it is going to be for only 3 to 4 hours, told him no again and he was not very happy and start saying something in his native language to other roofers. March 22, 2014 Heard loud stomping noise on the roof, went out side to see what is going on and saw one of the roofer was on our roof with shovel in his hand, asked him what the heck he was doing on our roof and why he is damaging our roof he did not say anything and when I started to take his pictures he came down from the roof and run away to his truck but I was able to snap few pictures including his truck license plate.Called the roofing company after searching their name on line for the phone number but no one answered the phone call so sent them an email via their website and reported the incident but never got any explanation from Arte Roofing for these incidents. Is this common practice for the Arte roofing if you don't let them do what ever they wants then they will trespass on your property and damage it.

Desired Settlement
Arte Roofing should be responsible and accountable for their choices and actions.

Business Response
From the notes that the claimant has made, it would appear that we have attempted to make contact on numerous occasions.

We have spoken to the claimant and attempted to make arrangements to meet with him to review his issues, however he would not meet with us and only wanted to converse via email.

When the initial complaint came in from the claimant our project manager attended the site we were working to review what indeed was happening.

The property in question is a duplex, and we were working on the adjoining property. It would appear that during the work some garbage fell from the property we were working on, onto the claimants roof. Our roofers went on the claimants roof to remove the garbage, hence the noise.

It would appear from the notes that the claimant did not want us on the roof, however the roofer took it upon himself to clean up.

We were not acting to maliciously damage the claimant property, but clearly acting with his best interests, by cleaning up after our work.

We had made previous attempts prior to going on the roof to make contact with the claimant only to be told no, and this has been confirmed by the claimant. We have a responsibility to clean up after our work

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
Their response is based on all ****, before they where saying no one went on our roof now they are admitting their roofer trespassed ** to our property and went on our roof with out our permission, it was a clear act of revenge by Arte roofing because I would not let them use my power supply to run their compressor and I would not let them use my roof so the can easily go on to neighbors roof to make their life easy and no one from Arte roofing made a attempt to meet me in person at the property to resolve this issue.


Final Business Response
The response that I provided are based on the content of the claimants initial compliant to the BBB and our project managers recollection .

Arte Roofing did not perform an estimate for the roof we were working on; we completed the work under an insurance claim. The claimants 1st issue is with Arte requesting access to his neighbours roof via his roof as the ladder was not long enough to reach the roof. This was not ARTE roofing, this was the insurance adjuster from the neighbours insurance company.

It is the claimant who has confirmed that we were on the roof in his first correspondence; I don't believe that we ever denied that we were on the claimants roof.

I am not sure what act of revenge the claimant is saying that Arte was trying to pursue. The claimant is suggesting that Arte should be more responsible and accountable for our actions and choices; this is what we were attempting to do when cleaning up after ourselves. If there had been debris from our roof installation left on a neighbouring property and our roofers hadn't have cleaned up after themselves then we would have been extremely disappointed.

One of our project managers attempted to meet with the claimant on site to resolve the issue; when the claimant would meet with him, he went to site to review for himself what was going on.





Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Lies and denial again from Arte Roofing, absolutely no one from Arte roofing tried to meet me in person to resolve this issue or gave me any explanations why their employees acted that way,
first group of people who wanted to go up my neighbor's roof through my roof were Arte roofing employees not insurance adjuster reason I know this because same people wanted to use my power supply to run their compressor to do my neighbor's roof, it is not common practice for good businesses to not have proper plan and tools to do their job right also good businesses don't trespass ** someone property and go to their roof with shovel and say they were cleaning up.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors- Commercial, Waterproofers, Siding Contractors, Roofing Consultants, Roofers, Home Improvement Builders, Gutter and Downspout Suppliers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/07/1982Business started: 01/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1980, AB

Contact Information
Principal: Boaz Shilmover (CEO, General Manager)Customer Contact: Ian Forbes (Complaint Contact) Michele Orom (Billing Contact) David Shilmover (President)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors- Commercial, Waterproofers, Siding Contractors, Roofing Consultants, Roofers, Home Improvement Builders, Gutter and Downspout Suppliers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for ARTE Group Inc.

4300 5 St. NE

Calgary, AB T2E 7C3

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4300 5 St. NE 

    Calgary, AB T2E 7C3(403) 640-4559

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*ARTE Group Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 770-2783
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors- Commercial

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.