BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 16/03/1999

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 16/03/1999

BBB has determined that Interlock Industries (Alberta) Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Interlock Industries (Alberta) Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Complaint Information

For a full report of complaint activity for this company , please access the report from the BBB of Mainland BC as it is based in the Vancouver area. This report is found at www.mbc.bbb.org.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Interlock Industries (Alberta) Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
05/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
December 2011 roof installed. ******* and his crew walked off job (dispute between           ****** and ******)left ****** to finish.
March 2013 roof leak in back north east dormer.
September 2013 ****** showed up and siliconed some of our roof shingles and put a few screws in. Had to be rescued  off our roof.
October 2013 ****** finally answered my call and informed me that a roofer/installer would be in touch with me.   
November 2013 still waiting for installer to get in touch with me.
December *** the roof installer came to our build walked around our property.  He informed me that he would be back In a week take the roof jacks that have been up since December 2011!!!  To date I am still waiting!!!

Desired Settlement
Still waiting for roof jacks and 2 by 10's to be removed off our roof.
Not satisfied with silicone job. Would like their Industry Best membrane installed to prevent any further leaks and damages to the interior. I am not satisfied with their fix and would like them to back their work. If another leak should happen are they prepared to pay for dames to the interior of our house?
Would like to have had the common courtesy of the regional manager to have contacted me from all the letters and calls that I have made.

Business Response
********* has contacted the *****'s and will attend their residence to address their concerns on either May 8th, 9th or 10th and will confirm the date when the time is closer.

03/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Signed a contract and payed a deposit on Aug 28, 2013 for a complete new roof and to fix a leak in the roof over one of the bathrooms. I had to phone their office in October 2013 to see what was going on and was told their product was backordered and had to wait until the end of November 2013 for the fix of the leak and the roof would be completed by the latest Christmas. The materials were delivered at the beginning of December 2013. Were were told the weather was not co-operating so we could not get our roof until warmer weather. In the meantime we arranged for someone to remove our old insulation and put in new insulation because interlock does not deal with insulation and all of a sudden there was issues with everything. It is now May 3, 2014 and the roof material is still sitting in my driveway and I received a phone call today from the regional installation manager ****** stating they were cancelling our contract and not doing the job.

Desired Settlement
I want my roof done and the leak fixed! But I know they won't do the job so I want the leak fixed like they said they would do back in Aug 2013 and I want my deposit back plus the six months interest that Interlock collected on my $6,000 deposit.

12/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband and I purchased a roof from Interlock Industries on September 19, 2007. The cost of the roof was $48,024.36 and included product and installation for our house and detached garage. Our salesman, Peter ******** showed us glowing customer testimonials and product testing that demonstrated a superior product that could withstand repeated blows with a ball peen hammer. The demonstration using the hammer was to simulate the force of hail in Southern Alberta. The pinnacle of *****'s presentation was the 50 year product warranty. Thus, the high cost of this roof was well balanced by the fact that it could outlast a normal, asphalt shingle roof by about 3 times.

Product warranty states it does "not cover damages of any kind resulting from... hail damage (except in the case of splitting, cracking and perforation from hail stones measuring 1 and 1/2 inches in diameter or less which is covered by this warranty)"

My garage roof sustained unrelated damage following a wind storm in November 2012 as a result of a downed tree. Interlock was contacted to advise of the damage and it was requested that I forward pictures of the damage so that repair could be planned. Extensive picture documentation was forwarded December 2012. I had a contractor lined up to repair the damage and was advised that my warranty would be voided if I had anyone work on my roof. I was advised that I would be contacted by their installer ****** who would plan and execute repairs. I heard nothing until I contacted ****** ******, Installation Administrator, April 26, 2013, to determine why no one had contacted me. I was advised that the delay was due to inclement weather. ****** advised me ****** would be in touch.

When I did not hear from the ******, I tried calling ******. Her manager, ****** *********, Installations Manager for Western Canada, answered and I explained my concerns. ****** seemed genuinely concerned that my repairs had been forgotten and planned a visit to assess the damage himself. He came out as planned and provided a quote for the repairs. He advised me to have my contractor repair the structural damage ASAP as his roofing personnel would not do the repairs until the roof was safe. I expressed my frustration regarding being told previously that my warranty was void if anyone did any work on my roof as I could have had this completed in December 2012. He agreed this was an error and advised me to get the repairs done. He guaranteed that they would make the roofing repairs a priority. While he was at my place, I noted that there was sporatic, cicular areas of paint loss on both the garage and house shingles; presumably from hail strike. He told me that he had never seen that before but was unable to go up on the roof to assess the damage due to the rain that day and safety issues. He assured me that ****** would assess when he comes out to do the garage repairs.

Prior to ****** coming to my property, on July 23rd, 2013, a severe hail storm came through our area. My roof sustained tremendous loss of paint as a result. I immediately notified ****** who agreed to come out to my property to evaluate the damage himself. He advised that hail is not covered and that this sounded like an issue for legal services. An appointment was made August 9th, 2013, for ****** to come to assess damages. ****** called me shortly after (late July)to advise he was ready to do the repairs to the garage roof. I let him know ****** was coming out to assess damage and that it made no sense to do any repairs to the garage roof if more extensive repairs were required by the paint loss.

****** no showed the appointment August 9th. He did not let me know he would not be coming - no one did. ****** called me later that day to let me know he would come out August 9th in the evening to assess damage. He advised me that ****** did not come because hail damage was not covered. ****** submitted a report to Interlock describing the loss of paint and the extensive damage. He advised me he felt this was surface/paint failure and an issue of quality.

As per the requirements of the product warranty, I submitted a claim on August 12, 2013. It was sent registered mail to the address stated on my warranty. It was sent within the 30 day window following the extensive damage July 23rd. I have never been contacted by Interlock Industries as a result of this claim.

****** ****** called me in August to arrange for ****** to repair the garage damage. I advised her I had submitted a warranty claim regarding paint loss. She told me I should expect to wait a long time for any answer.

My garage roof is still without weather protection and shingles. I have yet to hear from anyone about resolving this.


Desired Settlement
http://ebindr*******************************************************b.jpgI would like to be treated with respect and I would like to receive the product and service promised to me in purchasing Best Roof.

Interlock has handled the damage to my roof, from garage/tree damage through to paint loss, dismissively and without any regard to property damage or customer service. When purchasing this roof, we were misled regarding the ability of this product to withstand southern Alberta weather, thus, we purchased a very expensive roof expecting it to out-perform all rivals. Our salesman convinced us to spend more money on a color upgrade - with the expectation that this roof would be in service for 50 years and could withstand repeated impact with a ball peen hammer.

I am not concerned with pitting as a result of hail. I am extremely dissatisfied with the appearance of the roof due to loss of paint. The product, as it was sold to us, is not as promised. I expect Interlock to stand behind their product and replace this roof due to product not meeting the performance claims of the company.

Business Response
Interlock will be attending ****** **************'s residence to obtain a sample shingle for testing.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
I was contacted Tuesday evening (October 22, 2013) by ****** ******** of Interlock Industries. ****** informed me that he would like to send someone out to my place next week to remove 2 shingles so that they can be sent to the company who does the coating for Interlock. He assured me that 2 new shingles would be installed in their place and that if there is coating missing, Interlock will replace my entire roof, both house and garage. He said that if I could wait until spring, he would like to install their newest product that will be available at that time.

I informed him that I had hired my contractor to install a weatherproof carpet to protect the repaired sheeting on my garage roof until the roofing issue was resolved. I requested that this be inspected when the shingles are removed next week so that I can have some assurance that my garage is indeed protected until spring. ****** agreed this was reasonable and would be done.

Although not articulated in my discussion with ******, I expect that the shingles that are selected to be sent will be the one's showing the greatest coating loss and that all repairs/replacement of the roof will be done at no cost to myself including reimbursement of the cost of the weatherproof carpet.

Interlock's response to my complaint is brief. I would appreciate confirmation of my understanding, as documented here, in writing.

Final Business Response
Interlock Industries has been in contact with ****** ************** to infor her that her roof has been approved for replacement in the spring. We also inspected the garage and everything looks fine. If any problems occur please contact the office for assistance.

10/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We contracted Interlock Industries (Alberta) Ltd to install a new roof on our house on August 30, 2011. The new roof was finally installed in December of 2011. The salesman who came to the house made several statements regarding the quality, installation and warranty of the roof. He stated that we would not have anything more than "dimpling" from golf ball sized hail or lower. He stated that the warranty meant that if there was a problem with the roof, Interlock would replace the roof. He also advised us that if we later required "snow guards" that they could be installed afterwards and were included in the price of the roof.

Our home was struck by several large hailstones on August 12th, 2012. The largest hailstones were less than 2 cm in diameter, very much less than "golf ball sized." When I visually checked the visible areas of the house and garage roofs, I noticed several large dents in the roof. As well, I noticed a number of scrapes on the garage roof that must have occurred during installation and were definitely not related to the hail. We requested an inspection by Interlock to ensure the roof was not going to leak, and to investigate the scrapes on the garage roof. As well, at that time we expressed interest in getting snow guard installed.

We have contacted Interlock repeatedly and regularly in order to have an inspection done. The best that we have received is an informal inspection of one half of the house and the garage all done from a ladder. This was done on June 4, 2013 when we agreed to pay for the installation of snow guards. The installer said he could not do the inspection, despite what I was told by Interlock. We paid $367.50 to have the snow guards installed, the same number of snow guards that are included in the base price of a roof. Despite repeated phone calls and emails, we have not had a proper roof inspection and no resolution to our complaint that the coating on the shingles of the garage roof were compromised by improper installation, work done by Interlock.

Desired Settlement
Conduct a full inspection of the house roof to ensure that it has not been damaged by hail.

If the house roof has been damaged, to repair any damage without cost, as per the verbal explanation of the salesman.

To replace the entire garage roof with new shingles due to improper installation that has compromised the coating of a number of the shingles.

To refund the cost of installing snow guards ($367.50) that the salesman stated could be installed at a later date, without mentioning any possible cost.

To ensure that in the future, either salesmen are properly instructed on the limitations of the Interlock Lifetime Limited Warranty (a warranty that is not sent to the purchaser until after installation) and properly convey that information, or that the warranty is changed to expressly cover all hail damage without the need for the homeowner to make an insurance claim.

Business Response
Interlock has contacted Mr. ***** and is in the process of setting up a day and time for a full inspection.

06/17/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/03/1999Business started: 01/01/1997
Contact Information
Principal: Mark Wenzel (President)Customer Contact: Martin Piatocha (VP of Installation) Joe Bader (Regional Sales Manager) Burkhard Forrer (Customer Service) Rodney Kucharski (Regional Installation Manager) Ida Nevin (Accounts Payable) Scott Plumptree (Media)
Business Category

Roofers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Interlock Industries (Alberta) Ltd.

210 3750 46 Ave SE

Calgary, AB T2B 0L1

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 210 3750 46 Ave SE 

    Calgary, AB T2B 0L1(866) 588-7663

  • Bay 4, 5524 - 1A Street SW 

    Calgary, AB T2H 0E7

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Interlock Industries (Alberta) Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 588-7663
  • (888) 766-3661 - toll free
  • (866) 237-0180 - number outside of Calgary

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (403) 255-9002 - Joe
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.