BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/07/2012

A.R.O. Plumbing & Heating Inc.

Phone: (403) 236-0123Fax: (403) 248-4855View Additional Phone Numbers10B 416 Meridian Rd SE, CalgaryAB T2A 1X2 Send email to A.R.O. Plumbing & Heating Inc.View Additional Web AddressesGoogle+

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/07/2012

BBB has determined that A.R.O. Plumbing & Heating Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered A.R.O. Plumbing & Heating Inc.'s rating include:

  • 48 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised A.R.O. Plumbing & Heating Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 48 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

48 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues12
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service30
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 48

Additional Complaint Information

BBB contacted the business on June 10, 2015, as we have been receiving a number of complaints regarding no written quote being provided, and a delay in a technician arriving. BBB asked for a response by June 19, 2015. The company responded and addressed the issues and are working to improve their communication with consumers. Since working with the business, BBB has noticed a drop in the number of complaints received.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

19 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A.R.O. Plumbing & Heating Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 13
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 19 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (48)
06/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I hired A.R.O. Plumbing & Heating Inc. on March 24th, 2016 to help unclog my house's sewer drain which at the time was beginning to back up.

Once onsite after arriving an hour past their two hours appointment window, they spent a few hours making an absolute mess of my laundry room as they attempted to power auger through the blockage.

$870 later, I was still left with a blocked drain and was recommended to schedule a follow-up with a camera inspection of my sewer line.

After learning that City of Calgary handles these kind of emergencies, I called them and they had an emergency crew over shortly afterwards. The crew managed to clear the blockage within 30 minutes with no mess and free of charge. They also did a follow up the week after as part of a preventative maintenance plan, once again with no mess and free of charge, and they are booking me for a free camera inspection as well.

After witnessing the thoroughness of what the City of Calgary managed to complete, I am very dissatisfied with the services I paid for.

I also believe that I was taken advantage of financially given my current situation at the time. My daughter was being treated at the hospital and was soon to be discharged the following day, leaving me with very little time to deal with the emergency. When I called A.R.O. Plumbing & Heating Inc. looking for someone to deal with the blockage, they were unable to provide me with a quote or any rates. The technician also wasn't able to provide me with any form of pricing until they were about to perform the next segment of their work, leaving me with very little room to negotiate.

I have made a significant effort to contact A.R.O. Plumbing & Heating Inc. to discuss my dissatisfaction and hopefully reach some kind of settlement. Of all of my attempts, I have yet been able to chat with a manager regarding this issue.

March 29th, 2016 @ 1:15PM - Initial email requesting to discuss the subject matter.

April 5th, 2016 @ 9:04 AM - Called. No managers available. Left message with operator requesting to talk with someone.

April 6th, 2016 @ 10:14 AM - Called. No managers available. Left message with operator requesting to talk with someone. Reminded them of my previous call and had them confirm previous message.

April 7th, 2016 @ 2:08 PM - Called. No managers available. Left message with operator requesting to talk with someone. Reminded them of my previous call and had them confirm previous message.

April 8th, 2016 @ 9:21 AM - Called. No managers available. Requested direct contact info for a manager but was denied. Left message with operator requesting to talk with someone. Reminded them of my previous call and had them confirm previous message.

Desired Settlement
I would be satisfied with a refund of some considerable amount given that A.R.O. Plumbing & Heating Inc.'s work was unsuccessful.

I have also had a chance to research some more rates around the city now that my daughter is back from the hospital, and the majority of business are offering the same services for significantly lower rates. This leads me to believe that I was taken advantage of financially given my daughter's crisis and having to deal with a blocked sewage emergency concurrently.

Business Response
Good afternoon *****,

Thank you for sending us this customer's comments.

As with all of our customers, our technician made sure to walk this customer through the entire process of their appointment.

From his comments, we appreciate that this customer appears to have been experiencing a difficult personal situation at the time that he encountered his plumbing problems. In order to ensure that our customers feel comfortable with the work that is performed in their home, our technicians always ensure to inform the customers of their options and pricing up front. Our technicians will only proceed with the tasks that the customer has instructed him to complete, which means that the customer remains in control of their entire appointment.

As was the case with this customer, the only work that our technicians proceed with is that work which is outlined on the invoice and discussed with the customer before proceeding. At the end of the appointment, the customer did acknowledged on his invoice that he was satisfied with the work, price, and condition of the home.

Although our technician followed all procedures properly, we recognize that this customer does not appear to have had a satisfactory experience with our company. Our company appreciates all of our customers and for this reason we would offer this customer a refund of 10% from his original invoice.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
A 10% refund is unsatisfactory. That doesn't even cover the cost of incidentals after your technician left the premise.

The surrounding hallway carpet was soiled during the auger process, and the linoleum flooring in the laundry room is also stained and damaged by the sewage brought up during the activity (see attached photo).

The condition of my laundry room was never brought to my attention by the technician before signing off on the invoice; I discovered the damage the following weekend once my daughter was out of intensive care at the hospital.

Yes, I did agree to the cost of the services at the time since I was already on the hook for $100 after I allowed your technician to enter my property and flush a toilet to "verify" a backed up drain. This amount by the way was never mentioned by the operator on the phone when I booked my appointment, nor were they able to quote me on an estimated cost for the procedure.

The reason I am expecting more than 10% back on the invoice is that I spent nearly $1000 on services that did absolutely nothing to resolve the drainage problem on top of the damage that was never brought to my attention before signing off. I would agree to a 50% refund given these circumstances.

Final Business Response
Good afternoon *****,

Thank you for forwarding this customer's comments to us.

As was the case with this customer, the only work that our technicians proceed with is that work which is outlined on the invoice and discussed with the customer before proceeding. At the end of the appointment, the customer acknowledged on his invoice that he was satisfied with the work, price, and condition of the home.

Although our technician followed all procedures properly, we recognize that this customer does not appear to have been satisfied with his experience with our company. Our company appreciates all of our customers and we always do our best to work alongside our customers if any issues do arise.
We believe that our work order invoice accurately reflects the work performed at this customer's home, while the customer believes that he should receive a refund of 50%. In the interests of customer relations, we would be willing to go half way and split the difference, providing a refund of 25% from the original invoice.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will settle for 25% as I am running out of patience dealing with this debacle.

05/24/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I sent the following email to the company on February 19, 2016. I had been trying for weeks before that to get them to put in the warranty claim but was unable to connect with a manager (always in meetings or not in the office). Finally when I said I was planning to go to the Better Business Bureau they did give me an email address to send my request to. Up until then all they would do was take a message.

Here is the email trail, they never replied but I do have confirmation that the original email was read. I also followed up with phone calls.

From: *** ***** mailto:****************
Sent: Monday, March 7, XXXX X:XX AM
To: '***************************
Subject: RE: Warranty Claim for work done on Hot Water Tank at **************** SW

I plan to register a complaint with the Better Business Bureau tomorrow (Tuesday, March 8), if I don't get an email back today with information regarding the warranty claim.

*** *****

From: *** ***** mailto:****************
Sent: Thursday, March 3, XXXX X:XX PM
To: '***************************
Subject: RE: Warranty Claim for work done on Hot Water Tank at **************** SW

Hi,

Could I please have an update on the Warranty Claim?

Thanks,

*** *****
C: ************
H: ************


From: *** ***** mailto:****************
Sent: Friday, February 19, XXXX X:XX PM
To: '***************************
Subject: Warranty Claim for work done on Hot Water Tank at **************** SW

Hi,

There was work done on a Hot Water Tank at **************** SW that is still under warranty; I have confirmed it is still under warranty.

Serial Number of heater: ***********
***** ********** SERIES 10 (**** ****)

The A.R.O. Work Order Invoice: *****, Date: January 16, 2016
I think the Part replaced was: ***-Gas Valve & Burner Update (***) ******-***

The original install of the Hot Water Tank was A.R.O. Work Order Invoice: XXXXX, Date: June 27, 2012

Attached are pictures on the make and serial number.

Is there any other information you require? Please provide me with information on how long it will take to process this request.

Thanks,

*** *****

Desired Settlement
The settlement I am seeking from A.R.O. Plumbing & Heating Inc. is for them to put through the Warranty Claim. The total cost of work done on the Hot Water Tank under warranty was $663.34. The technician was onsite for about 1 hour.

Business Response
Good afternoon ******,

Thank you for sending us this customer's comments.

Our company has assisted this customer in submitting an application for her manufacturer's warranty. The warranty refund that the customer is looking to receive will be assessed / issued directly by the manufacturer.

As discussed with this customer, as soon as we have received confirmation of the manufacturer's assessment, we will inform the customer immediately.

Thanks again,



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
The reason I filed a claim with the Better Business Bureau was that I had not received written or verbal confirmation that A.R.O. Plumbing & Heating Inc. had submitted my manufacturer's warranty claim. I still haven't received any information directly from them. From their reply here it looks like they have submitted with warranty claim. I will not accept the response for the business until I actually get a refund for the warranty work. It sounds like that will come from the manufacturer. With a bill of $663.34 for work done on a Hot Water Tank under warranty and labour of about 1 hour I would expect to be getting over a $400.00 refund even if they charge $200+ for labour. I will reply when I get the refund with the amount.
NOTE: Work was done on January 15, 2016.

Final Business Response
Good afternoon ******,

I appreciate you keeping on top of this for ourselves and the customer.

Our accounts department was just notified this afternoon that we have finally received confirmation from our supplier that the customer's warranty application has been assessed and her credit has been issued. We will be in contact with the customer later today to inform her.

Again, we appreciate your efforts in keeping both ourselves and the customer informed and we are glad to have been able to get this resolved for our customer.

Best,

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
On May 18 I got a Credit on my Credit Card of $117.08. Thought I may get something in the mail but I haven't as of today. So after all this the part cost $117.08 and I was charged over $500 for an hour of labour. There is probably not much I can do about being overcharged; so this compliant can be closed.

12/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The morning after having a new hot water tank installed I decided to transfer the instructions from the side of the tank to my filing cabinet. When I removed the instructions from the tank I was shocked to discover that they were covering a considerable dent.
It appears the tank must have had some rough treatment, and I am concerned that there may be internal damage.
I am also concerned that should the tank fail the warranty will not cover the repair because the failure will be attributed to external damage and not manufacturing defect.
When you buy a new tank you expect it to look new. I am planning to move in the next few years and any buyer will certainly question how good the tank could be with such a dent.
I contacted ARO Plumbing immediately (within 24 hours of installation), and was told that a Manager would call me to discuss but no one has.

Desired Settlement
1. Exchanging this tank for an undamaged one.
2. If it can be determined through inspection, or dismantling, that there is no internal damage then I need something in writing to the effect that there is no internal damage and the external damage will in no way affect the warranty. In such case there should be some compensation for the extremely poor visual appearance of the tank.

Business Response
Good afternoon,
Thank you for sending us this customer's comments.

As with all of our customers, our technician verified and checked that all work performed and materials supplied were left in satisfactory condition upon completion of the appointment. When the work was completed, the customer confirmed that all work and materials were left to their satisfaction, as indicated on the customer's invoice.

We do realize that after almost a month has passed since the work was performed, it is nearly impossible to ascertain how or when any damage may have occurred.

That being said, we can assure the customer that any superficial damage that may have occurred to the tank does not affect neither the warranty with our company nor the manufacturer's warranty, nor will it affect the operation of the tank.

If in the future the customer has any issues with the operation of the tank, he can feel free to contact our office and we would be more than happy to book an appointment for him.

However, having been in this industry for over twenty years now, our company appreciates the value of all of our customers, and for this reason we would offer a refund of 10% off of the original invoice.

Please have the customer contact our office and we will process their credit.
Thanks,


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A.R.O Plumbing & Heating Inc. (********************************) was called in by the tenant in ************** Dr. SW on Apr 15, 2014 due to the clogging of 2 toilets.
I went to the house and met the plumber, *****. He told me that 2 new toilets were required as the old ones can not be unclogged. It was charged at $595 each with total amount of $ 1288.09. I paid immediately before he even started the work. Scan of the Invoice is available if required.
Two hours later I was told via phone that both toilets were replaced, everything worked fine. I was so busy that time and made a mistake not to verify his statement.
Since then the tenant didn't pay and refused to let me into my rental property. It took couple of months on court to evict them. Until Oct 30, 2014, I finally got into the house and found out the tank lids can't be placed because the toilets are too high to fit into the existing furniture in the bathroom. Both toilets are not sealed on the floor, bolts are not cut off and capped. Photos are available if required.
From Nov 9 to 15, the company cancelled the scheduled appointments 7 times. Eventually a plumber came and told me to tear down the furniture in the two bathrooms. He said this isn't their responsibility as long as the toilets can flush. I was astonished to hear that in order to fit the wrong size toilets, client need to tear down the furniture. I refused his solution and left a message to the supervisor.
Four days later, on Nov 19, I got the call from the supervisor, *****. He tried to make me believe the 30" high toilets installed are the only standard toilets in the market and suggested me to tear down the furniture as well.
In fact the toilets installed are Proflo PF5112 series 1.6 GPF which assembly height is 30". The price on Proflo website is US$120 (we paid $600 with labor). I talked with the plumber specialists in ********* and ****, and was told in the current market, both 28" and 30"are standard toilets for 1.6 GPF tank, and both match *** and **** standard.
Then I phoned the company and left the message on *****'s phone about my finding on Nov 20 and 24. Whatever he didn't answer or call me back until now.
Here I ask BBB's help and really appreciate that Albertan have BBB's support all the time.

Desired Settlement
I didn't get correct service, was over charged, and was misleading around, with A.R.O Plumbing & Heating Inc. I ask that either the company replace the toilets with 28" assembly height, or full refund so I can get a qualified plumber to fix the problem.

Business Response
Good afternoon,
Thank you for forwarding this customer's comments.
Having been in the industry for over twenty years, our company understands the value of providing a satisfactory experience for each of customers.
As with all of our customers, our technician walked this customer through the entire process and thoroughly discussed the recommended work and prices in detail with the customer before proceeding.
Our technician ensured to receive authorization from the customer before proceeding with any of the work. Our technician only performed the tasks that the customer approved, and everything was performed and charged exactly as described in the customer's invoice.
We do realize that the original installation of these fixtures has been altered to accommodate the customer's specific situation, as per the customer's request. It appears as though the customer has changed his mind and is now requesting to have the products and /or installation changed and/or modified.
Unfortunately, it is not possible to return these products, being that they had been supplied and installed almost a year ago, but we would be happy to work with the customer to come to a satisfactory resolution at a discounted price.
If there are any questions, please feel free to contact our office.
Thank you again for your time,


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
They didn't tell me that they didn't install the tank lids, cut off the bolts and seal the tickets, even the technician met me and got my pre-payment. As he knew I'm the ladloard. Is that making sense getting the approve from the tenants, who didn't care about the landlord's property, instead of telling the landlord? As the pictures, everyone understand the toilets were not fitting in the furniture which has been built for ten years.
The work was done on April 15 and the company got the notice on Nov 1 as we finally got the house back. It's half year and the toilets are life warranted.
Here I believe the company just ignore the real customer as they know they don't compete their work correctly, and don't have the credit to resolve the problem they made.
A business can grow up with good service, and then change to bad when they get more clients. 20 years in the industry doesn't mean they did the work correctly now. *************************************************************


Final Business Response
Thank you for sending us this customer's comments. We appreciate any feedback that our customers *** wish to provide us regarding their experience with our company.

In regards to this customer's comments, the work that is being discussed was agreed to, authorized, and completed almost a year ago. As indicated on the customer's invoice, both our technician and the customer agreed that the prices and options were fully explained to the customer before any work was performed, and that the technician only performed the work that the customer approved. Our technician and the customer also indicated on the invoice that the work was performed exactly as described to the customer and as written on their invoice, and that the work was completed to the customer's satisfaction.

We appreciate that this customer appears to have changed his mind regarding his preferred plumbing solution, although both our technician and this customer mutually agreed to the current solution. Although all of our procedures have been followed correctly, our company has been in business for over twenty years and we realize the value of every one of our customers. For this reason we are willing to work with this customer and offer a discounted price for the installation of the products he now prefers.

Best,

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
As the company's response, I believed they points to two "customers". The customer, who agreed the prices and paid for it, is me, the landlord. The customer, who thought the work was performed exactly, is the tenants.
As we talked before, the technician didn't tell me, the landlord, the tank lids can't be put on, no sealing, no bolt cut-off. I was told the work is done by the technician and the tenant via phone. As I trusted them so I didn't go to check.
No words for this company, if it think it can do this kind of cheating forever.

05/12/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am emailing because I had a plumbing company install a new hot water tank in December 2012 and at the time I was verbally told that I had one year on parts and labour. Fast forward to November 8th 2014, where I had the Units control part and burner assembly part(s) fixed due to failure. I contacted the manufacturer about it cause I had called around to many plumbing companies asking what warranties came with hot water tanks a lot of hot water tanks have 5-6 year parts warranties etc. Upon further investigation from the plumbing company speaking with a man named *******, I was informed my tank only had 1 year on parts and labour as he told me the tank itself only had 1 year on the parts from the manufacturer and they covered the labour for a year. So I called the manufacturer and passed along the serial number to my tank and was informed it does have a 6 year parts warranty. I also emailed them and got the same response back to solidify this. It has cost me just over$2200 for installation of new tank.. removal of old and to fix it now and I'm frankly not to happy about it.

Desired Settlement
My desired resolution would be to have the warranty honoured properly. I have ABSOLUTELY no problem with the labour that was done. The technician was here for about 45mins to an hour. So we'll say an hour. Now on a bill that is $663 I'd like to think the technician showing up costs $36.75 and I'd say labour and testing of system go nowhere over$150-$200 so I'd like to think my parts being $400 maybe more are probably in line with what I'd like back as the warranty is covered.

Business Response
Thank you for forwarding this customer's comments to us.

Our company has assisted this customer in applying for a refund according to his manufacturer's warranty. The warranty refund that the customer is to receive will be assessed and issued directly from the manufacturer.

As discussed with this customer, as soon as we have received confirmation of the manufacturer's approval and the credit has been issued, we will inform the customer immediately.




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
I would if they would respond to my emails and msg I have left . No communication with this company between them and their customers (me) . Why am I going through the manufacturer for refund on parts they most likely over charged me for to begin with as well.

Final Consumer Response
yes they refunded me 120

Final Business Response
I appreciate your understanding regarding my recent absence.
In relation to this customer's comments, our office has already been in contact with the customer regarding the form of refund and have processed the completed refund as of May 1st.

If you have any questions, feel free to contact us.

Page 1 of 3
05/16/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
the tech wanted my visa without knowing the price said he was finished the job. My son and I had told him there was roots and nothing was done. spoke with the manager wanted to charge me additional $395 for roots
how could have the tech provided the quote to tenant and not know what the charge to my visa was after the job was completed. accepting payment before completing the job.

Desired Settlement
they did half the job therefore only half the payment

Business Response
Good afternoon *****,

We are unable to locate this individual in our customer database.
This individual has either mistaken us for another company or has not provided us with the relevant information to look up their file.

If you do receive clarification from this individual, we would appreciate your letting us know.

Thanks,


Consumer Response
Hello

The location of the house is **********************.

I paid with my credit card and it had my name on it ***** *******
Thanks

Final Consumer Response
Hello, thanks for the invoice. Can you tell me who called aro plumbing and who gave the approval for the work as this not indicated on the invoice. I was in Florida and my son arrived after the work had commenced. Again when I spoke with *** on the phone he did not know the price and my son was not there on site. *** had to contact the office for pricing. Please advise

Final Business Response
Good afternoon,

Thank you for sending us this customer's comments.

As with all of our customers, our technician made sure to walk this customer through the entire process of their appointment.

In order to ensure that our customers feel comfortable with the work that is performed in their home, our technicians always ensure to inform the customers of their options and pricing up front. Our technician spoke with both the customer and his son, explaining the work and options before proceeding, as indicated by the name and signature on the invoice.

As was the case with this customer, the only work that our technicians proceed with is that work which is outlined on the invoice and discussed with the customer beforehand.

Best,

03/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This business has been terrible to deal with. We had them fix the furnace in the workshop at my Dad's house. The work was completed but the furnace unit had issues and stopped working within a week. Since then we have setup 6 different service calls to have the tech back out to look at the issue. So far in those 6 separate scheduled calls the tech has not shown up once. Each time an excuse is given, another job is taking longer than we thought, tech is sick today, we over booked the jobs ect. We have literally wasted hours waiting for these people and they never bother to come. They also rarely even bother to call to say they are running late or can't make it at all.

Desired Settlement
I would like someone to actually show up when they schedule, fix the problem they have already been paid to fix and to stop wasting my time by scheduling calls and never showing up

Business Response
Good afternoon *****,

After receiving these comments, we have searched our system and we cannot find any record of this customer in our files.
If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to reach out.

Best,


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
As explained in the complaint it was for my Father's house. SO it would not be under my name but if they bothered to read the complaint or look up the last name they would have found it.

Final Business Response
Good afternoon,

We appreciate the comments that this individual is sending to our company. We understand that the work he has mentioned has been performed at a location other than his own.
Our company has been in business for over twenty years and provides service to customers all across Alberta. Having been around for such a long time, our customer database has become quite extensive and includes many customers with the same surname. If this individual could provide our company with the details of the homeowner/invoiced customer (name, address, or work order invoice number), then we can review their information and will gladly respond to their concerns.

Thanks,

01/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On November 15, 2015, ARO Plumbing and Heating Inc. did work on the humidifier for ******* ****** located at ********************** SW residence. The work entailed, inspection of the humidifier as well installment of a supply valve (attachment 1). The service provider guaranteed humidifier to be fully functional post service. The service costed $426.00, however, the humidifier is still dysfunctional. Mrs. *** has attempted to contact the company numerous times but the company has not responded to any complaints.
Further, the customer found the valve costing only $7.99 from **** (attachment 2) and the inspection lasted 30 minutes. *****, Mrs. *** would like to challenge the quoted invoice.

Desired Settlement
To resolve the problem, I would appreciate a refund on the invoice.

Business Response
Good morning ******

Thank you for sending me this customer's comments, I really appreciate it.
We are unsure about why this customer contacted the BBB. We had arranged an appointment with this customer to have one of our technicians come out and review the work that was done, but for some reason the customer had cancelled the appointment and did not return our manager's follow up call. If the customer wishes, they can contact our office and we can send someone out.

Although our technician has explained that more work was required, the customer stated that they had a friend they could use for this work. If this customer does have issues with any work we have performed, we would be happy to send a technician out in order to discuss and review the situation. Our company strives to keep in touch with all of our customers, and we apologize if for any reason we have overlooked any of this customer's calls. Our company appreciates the value of all of our customers, and for this reason we would like to offer this customer a 10% refund from their original invoice.

Thanks,


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
ARO plumbing was called to fix my humidifier. Upon arrival the tech installed a water intake valve and said the humidifier is good to go and is working. He guaranteed that the humidifier is would work great after being asked to confirm. For this work I was charged close to $500 and I found that the humidifier was in fact NOT working. I called ARO again and they sent a different tech, who informed us that there will be another $600 charge to replace the humidifier completely. At this point I cancelled the appointment and called a handyman friend who fixed my unit. A 10% refund is ridiculous for work that was never done (fix my humidifier!)

Final Business Response
Good afternoon,
I appreciate you sending us this customer's comments. After reviewing the customer's response, we have again verified with our technician and everything was performed according to policy and procedure.
Having said that, we appreciate all of our customers, and for this reason we would still offer this customer a refund of 10% from their original invoice.
Thanks,

01/12/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On October 29, 2015, my water tank leaked and I needed someone to come out to repair it. When I made the service call, I notified ARO that my water tank was still under a free replacement warranty. This was confirmed by *******************. (the water tank manufacturer) and I asked for a quote for their services. The service call lady at A.R.O. informed me that the dispatch fee would be $36.75 and the technician would quote me the price before proceeding with the work.

The technician arrived at approximately 1:30 PM on October 29, 2015 and checked out the water tank. He told me the fee to remove the tank and put in a new one would be $99.99, plus the dispatch fee of $36.75, plus GST. He told me that he was going to buy a new one and install it and that I would only be paying for the actual water tank. I told him that the tank is still under warranty and he needed to go back to ****** and ****** (water tank wholesaler) to honour the free replacement. He went to his truck indicating that he would have to call his boss, came back and told me that he can do that but I would still have to pay them for the tank, as the wholesaler warranty needed to be dealt with the company completing the installation, and not the homeowner. He said it would be fully refunded as soon as they (A.R.O.) received the refund from the manufacturer.

During the installation, the technician notified me that the style of the tank had been changed and he needed to perform some alterations on the tank's pipe. This would cost an additional $145.00, bringing the total to $281.75 plus tax. I gave the go ahead for that amount. I also told him that I needed to run for an appointment at 4:30 PM and told him to proceed with the job. He finished the job and started writing his invoice. When he was done with the invoice I did a quick look (not in detail) and asked him if the price of a new water tank had a cost of $1,995.00. He said he had no idea of the exact cost of the tank, as it is charged to the A.R.O office and he just put in as what he is told by his office personnel (***) and this is a normal cost for a water heater at this size. He assured me again that the office will be doing the warranty on my behalf and those monies would be refunded back to me as soon as they receive the money from the manufacturer.

When I got back home from my appointment and looked at the invoice again, I noticed that he did not note anything on the work order invoice description which indicated that I would get a full refund for the water tank. I read the invoice where he indicated the work performed was under the item (amount of $1,995). This made this additional fee seem as if it was part of the job and there was no mention about the cost of the water tank. As the new tank was purchased by A.R.O. I had no proof that they did a free warranty exchange. I called the technician at approximately 6:30 PM and asked him about the invoice and he said that everything will have to be dealt directly with the office as he had dropped off the truck and all the paper work was not with him, as it was still in the truck.

I called the A.R.O. office right away and was informed that the owner, ***** ******, is the only person who could handle the matter, and the only way to contact him was through messages. I left three messages that evening and several more the next day (October 30, 2015) but I never received a call back.

I went online to investigate reviews of this A.R.O. Plumbing & Heating Inc. and found online reviews that this company was famous for "scamming" people. According to my research, they have had 43 complaints in the last 3 years with the Better Business Bureau. At a rate of 2.8/10 reviews at Homestars.com. Most of these complaints were that the customers were over charged for their services.

I went to the A.R.O. office on Friday, October 30, 2015 (before their posted closing time of 4:30pm) but the doors were closed and installed with mirrored glass, so I was unable to talk to anyone. When I was leaving the location, one of their service trucks pulled in and a man came out and went into another truck with their company logo on it. He looked like a supervisor type of person, so I went and asked him if he was *****, or how I could get a hold of *****. He said he was not ***** and left the parking lot. I then went home and searched for him on ******, found him in ******+ and it was this man's photo that came up with his name.

Although I do not dispute the charges of $36.75 for the service call, and $245.00 for the re-piping work, I am trying to get confirmation from A.R.O. that I will indeed be reimbursed for the payment of $1,995.00 for the warranty-covered unit. They have not responded to my numerous requests to discuss this matter.

Despite of the numerous messages left to the owner between Oct 29 to November 3, I faxed a letter to ARO demanding a phone call to discuss this matter. The owner returned my call on November 4 and insisted that their price is always supply and install. I mentioned to him that I have confirmation from the wholesaler that the refund of the tank had been processed and had credited the amount to the credit card that was used. The owner said he will confirm and will refund only the money that they received and credit back to me. He also insisted that the warranty exchange is a favor he did to me. The water tank total comes to $566.56. However, ***** has still overcharged me for an "installation" fee of $1,995.00 which had not been discussed at any point during the performed service.

Desired Settlement
Reimbursement of the unspecified "installation" fee of $1,995.00 which was incorrectly designated as the cost for the warranty-covered water tank unit.

Business Response
Good afternoon,

Thank you for forwarding this customer's comments to us.

As with all of our customers, our technician ensured to explain all of the pricing and options to the customer up front before he proceeded with any work. Our technician only proceeded with the work that the customer approved, and only charged for the tasks performed. The customer acknowledged on their invoice that they were satisfied with both the work performed as well as the price of the invoice.

Our company offers warranties on products that we supply and install. The original hot water tank at this customer's home was neither supplied nor installed by our company. We are unsure why this customer did not contact the company who had originally supplied and installed her existing hot water tank.

Our technician explained to the customer up front the price to supply and install a new hot water tank, which the customer approved. Our technician also explained to the customer that we would submit an application to the manufacturer on her behalf and whatever amount the manufacturer awarded would be reimbursed to the customer (which has been completed, as noted in the customer's response). In regards to the amount of the reimbursement, our company has no control over how a manufacturer evaluates a warranty application. If the customer would like further information in this respect, they can feel free to contact their hot water tank manufacturer directly.

Best,


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
The technician did not explain the pricing and options with me accurately prior to proceeding with the work. He explained that removal and installation would warrant $99.99 and an additional $36.75 would be charged for his dispatchment. The new tank also required a new pipe which would cost $145.00. The services he provided, not covered by my warranty policy, would therefore total $281.75, plus tax. He never mentioned any additional installation fees attached to this job. I was lead to believe that the entire cost of the water tank would be refunded to me through my water tank manufacturer later on and that I would be paying the technician for a few hundred dollars. Upon completing the installation, I inquired about the startling $1,995 invoice fee and asked what the fee was for. Verbally, the technician told me that the $1,995 amount was the price of the water tank, which would be reimbursed to me later on through my warranty policy. However, he had written additional services on the invoice's description which implied that it would be charged as an installation fee, not a supply fee. He led me on to believe that I would be paying an installation and dispatch fee of $281.75, plus tax and that the water tank fee ($1,995) would be reimbursed to me later. In actuality, he charged me a dispatch fee ($36.75), a tank removal and additional piping fee ($99.99 and $145.00, totaling $245.00), and an installation and supply fee ($1,995).

I was overcharged an amount of $1,723.83 as the actual cost of the tank was only $594.89. This overcharged amount was not disclosed to me by the technician as a service fee and instead was passed off as the water tank unit's price.

I was forced to contact your untrustworthy company because the original installing company did not have a technician available to complete the job for me, but I confirmed with the manufacturer that I would be reimbursed for the tank's fee if I had another company install it. They would process the reimbursement for the tank through the company which installed it and the fee would be given back to me through the installer. After submitting the application to the manufacturer on my behalf, your company reluctantly returned the warranty-covered unit's cost after I contacted the owner personally. When I asked about the reimbursement, the owner feigned ignorance and pretended that he did not already receive the amount being repaid for the tank. He did not want to return the money to me until I notified him that I had already received confirmation personally from my own manufacturer that they had distributed it.

Overall, this company has tried to rob me of substantial amounts of money through various tricks. The technician did not properly distinguish the installation and the supply cost to me prior to doing any work on my hot water tank unit. He tricked me by not breaking down the invoice and assuring me that the total sum reflected the cost of the tank, rather than explaining that the invoice partially reflected an installation fee which I had not agreed to. He took advantage of the fact that I was running late for another appointment later on which is how he managed to get me to sign an agreement that I was falsely informed about.


Final Business Response
Good morning,
We do appreciate this customer, as we do all of our customers.

We would like to clarify that our company did not install the original hot water tank. We do not provide warranty for any materials or labour that has not been supplied and installed by our company. We understand that this policy is typical in the industry. Any warranties etc. in relation to this hot water tank and installation would be dealt with through the original installer and/or the manufacturer. Our company has assisted the customer in processing the warranty through the manufacturer but is in no way responsible for the results of the warranty process.

Our company has been in business for many years and strive to maintain a good relationship with all of our customers, and for this reason we would offer a refund of $100.00.

If you have any further questions, feel free to contact our office.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
Although your company did not install the original water tank unit for my home, you were contacted and subsequently notified me that the new installation you would be doing was done so under my own company's policy.

The procedure was clearly discussed to ensure that at the end of the process, the amount I would be paying would be a few hundred dollars in installation fees, but the actual price of the water tank would be returned through my original company's warranty policy. Upon receipt of the invoice, I noticed that supply and installation of the water tank were compiled as one item and the technician feigned ignorance as to the exaggeration of this amount and passed it off as being only a supply fee.

Due to the foregoing, I feel defrauded and deeply disrespected by your company and disappointed that you will not be held accountable for your lack of transparency.

As a result I would not recommend your company to anyone for new business. In these slow economic times, there are many companies to choose from and I for one would choose a company that has a reputation of showing goodwill by not cheating their customers and then feigning ignorance of wrongdoing when confronted.

01/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Last Year called for leak under sink - result the plumber sold me a new garburator and taps (does not install a clean out at this time)
One month ago - Called Co. for sink backing up. Plumber comes out and says well if you had a clean out this would be easy but because you don't it took 2 hours and $700.00 later to auger the line (very roughly) 4.5 hours after scheduled appointment
Three weeks ago - notice a little water under the sink
Past Sunday - Container holding cleaning products is filled to the brim with moldy water.
Call the Plumbing Co,- does not show for scheduled appointment on Monday
Comes Wednesday morning - can not find leak says nothing is leaking takes apart pipes under sink tells us its another $180.00
We say no put it back together upon doing so the leak that wasn't there 5 minutes ago is now spouting water all over the floor
Says it was our fault as our cleaning products must have cracked the ptrap

Reschedueld

Desired Settlement
Refund for last service call

Business Response
Good afternoon,

Thank you for sending me this customer's comments. We appreciate your assistance in addressing this customer's concerns.

Since this customer filed her comments with the Better Business Bureau, our office had sent a technician out to evaluate her situation and they addressed her concerns. Our company always strives to work with our customers to provide a satisfactory experience. If any of our customers have any issues with the work we have performed, our office is only a phonecall away.

Best,

Page 1 of 7

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1994Business started: 01/01/1994
Contact Information
Principal: Jennifer Landry (Office Manager) Peter Landry (Owner)
Business Category

Plumbers

Alternate Business Names
Need-A-Plumber Canada
Industry Tips
HIRING A PLUMBER

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A.R.O. Plumbing & Heating Inc. has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 19 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A.R.O. Plumbing & Heating Inc.

10B 416 Meridian Rd SE

Calgary, AB T2A 1X2

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10B 416 Meridian Rd SE 

    Calgary, AB T2A 1X2(403) 203-0033
    (403) 236-0123

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A.R.O. Plumbing & Heating Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (403) 203-0033 - General
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

HIRING A PLUMBER
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.