BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/08/2011

A. R. Wright Plumbing and Heating Ltd.

Phone: (403) 243-7010Fax: (403) 720-707611 4504 1 St SE, CalgaryAB T2G 2L3 Send email to A. R. Wright Plumbing and Heating Ltd.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/08/2011

BBB has determined that A. R. Wright Plumbing and Heating Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A. R. Wright Plumbing and Heating Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A. R. Wright Plumbing and Heating Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
07/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Furnace heat exchange replaced on March 11, 2014. Item cost to be refunded once received from manufacturer.

Desired Settlement
Value of heat exchange, about $1,000.

04/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Customer service is appalling - see attached chronology of events regarding having a new cartridge installed in a shower fixture - it has been over FOUR MONTHS without resolution.


AR Wright - Chronology

late November 2013 - no hot water in master bathtub/shower - less hot water in other upstairs bathtub/shower - called AR Wright re whether a new hot water tank is needed.

Dec 4, 2013 - message from AR Wright - can come Dec 6, advise of serial number and model number of existing hot water tank by tomorrow. My husband provides the information.

Dec 6, 2013 - new hot water tank installed (*****)- cost $1,202.25.

Dec 7, 2013 - still no hot water in master bathtub/shower - left message for AR Wright to call me.

Dec 9, 2013 - AR Wright calls - probably a blockage in the line because the hot water tank was changed - I say, no, it existed before then - they say the cartridge probably needs to be replaced - take a picture and email it to them with the message 'can anyone identify the brand of this fixture?' When I got home from work, I took the photos and emailed them to AR Wright as requested. **** ******** replies later in evening, saying it looks like ***** - can stop in and confirm if I need.

Dec 10, 2013 - emailed **** - advised that *** installed the fixtures for the previous home owner and they gave him fixtures they purchased online (he thought), likely European in origin - not sure where ***** stuff is made - if someone could come by with a ***** cartridge, that would be great - shall I call and schedule an appointment?

Dec 11, 2013 - called AR Wright - ***** not in yet - told that ***** needs to talk to **** - will call me this morning when he (*****) gets in. No response.

Dec 12, 2013 - called AR Wright ******* - told that they sent the pictures to both reps in town for ****** and ****** - waiting to hear back from them - I asked them to keep me advised.

Dec 16, 2013 - emailed AR Wright - starting to have same issue with fixture in other bathroom upstairs - tap has to be turned almost all the way to hot to get warm water - may very well need two cartridges or two new fixtures - please advise where you are at in locating the cartridges. **** ******** replies asking for my address and contact number; says he will search their system for any information. I reply with the information.

Jan 3, 2014 - called AR Wright ******* - explain my frustration with waiting to hear, no one letting me know what is going on - he says it will cost me $160 for someone to come out and look at the fixture - I say that's better than waiting another 3 weeks plus to hear from someone - appointment scheduled for Jan 6.

Jan 6, 2014 - **** here - took apart master bathtub/shower fixture and took pictures of all - will order parts - don't use until then - will take about a week.

Jan 20, 2014 - emailed AR Wright asking for update - no response.

Jan 22, 2014 - called AR Wright (female) at 8 am - ***** is away until Tuesday - ***** has access to the general email though - she will talk to him when he comes in and get back to me - re running toilet on main floor, will make appointment for tomorrow - will charge as one call even if can't install the cartridge upstairs at the same time - will call me back. No response. Called AR Wright again at 4 pm (same female) - she hasn't talked to ***** - puts me on hold - he sent the photos to the manufacturer and is hoping to hear back tomorrow morning - the manufacturer needs their order number and they don't have it, as ***** is away.

Jan 23, 2014 - **** here to repair toilet on main floor - asked him to order 2nd set of cartridges for 2nd bathroom upstairs - he writes this on his copy of the invoice for the toilet repair - they think the fixture is ***** ******* - had to order from the manufacturer - can take 3-5 weeks to come in.

Feb 3, 2014 - message from **** - take a picture of the fixture (tiling etc.) - says they are having a little issue right now - we might have to replace 'them', but send me that picture a.s.a.p. Texted the photos when I got home from work and asked **** to call me - no response except "thanks".

Feb 4, 2014 - texted **** - asked him to call me at work today. No response.

Feb 5, 2014 - called AR Wright ******* - **** was to call me, but was sick yesterday - will have him call me - told him I am at home the rest of the week - dealing with 2 ****** faucets so not quite sure ... will talk to **** and call me back. **** ******** calls me back, apologizes ++, knows they dropped the ball - not a ******* not ***** ******** not ***** - will come by this afternoon, take apart and see what he can find out. **** comes out in the afternoon, long talk, will talk to some people, not today, later this week. May not be the cartridge but won't know that until they try it - could be a problem in the line, as both upstairs bathrooms affected (etc.).

Feb 10, 2014 - message on my voicemail at work picked up (from Feb 5), from ***** looks like we're going to have to replace those faucets, because even with the cartridges, what I think is there's just, something with the faucets, I don't know if the cartridges are gonna do it, and how long it's gonna take to get these things - ******** been working on it for...ever, but the only thing is we're talking about tile work and everything, so give me a call when you can and let's talk, okay?

Feb 18, 2014 - emailed **** asking him to let me know where they are at on this problem. **** replies that they have found some cartridges and will have them later today. I reply, asking when they can come over and install and, if necessary, do the work on the line if the new cartridges do not solve the problem.

Feb 26, 2014 - emailed **** asking to have someone call me to arrange the work that needs to be done,

Feb 27, 2014 - called AR Wright (*****) - thinks the cartridge they have is the wrong one - it is a ***** ******* - I say I was told they already ruled that out - ***** is looking for one - trying ****** - I thought they already checked ****** as well - he says no - will have ***** call me when he gets in. No response.

Feb 28, 2014 - sent this chronology to ****, explaining that I am beyond frustrated and my patience is at its breaking point - have not reported to BBB out of respect for him - someone needs to be the point man on this issue (i.e., quit passing me from ***** to **** to yourself to *****) and take the lead on getting the problem resolved.

Mar 1, 2014 - **** emails that the supplier wasn't correct and they were given the wrong parts - asks me to look at email link between **** and *****, they think it is a ****** faucet - ****** has 2 set screws just above the lower thermostatic knob. I reply that I can't say for sure but there are the 2 set screws, attach a photo.

Mar 6, 2014 - phone call from *****, asking if ***** or **** can come over tomorrow to look at the trim - I say yes, before 12:30 pm - he will talk to them & call me back.

Mar 7, XXXX - XX:XX am - ***** calls to say ***** is on his way over. I meet with *****. He takes more photos of the fixture, takes the face plate with him - on his way to the supplier now - no parts ordered yet, because they wanted to be sure - told him this was frustrating, as I replied to ****'s email almost a week ago - also told him that when **** took apart the fixtures Jan 6 we discussed that the taps in the bathroom sinks were ****** and wondered if the tub was the same - he will get the parts ordered and have ***** call me - asked if I could just deal with him from now on (explained my frustration at being passed **** person to person) - he will call me. ***** calls ~2:30 pm, says he sent the pictures to ****** in Montreal - people at **** 98% sure it is ******, but double-checking - will have ****** ship to AR Wright rather than have **** order it - will be faster - may ask them to ship by air, as it is a small part, so shouldn't cost much. I brought up the fact this may not be simply a cartridge issue, and want to have the correct people here to fix the problem if installing the new cartridge does not solve the problem. He was not aware of the possible blockage issue, he will talk to **** about it.

Mar 18, XXXX - X:XX am - called *****, asked what's going on - he will check and see if he's gotten an email back from the company in Quebec. I ask if the part has been ordered yet - he's not sure, because they want to make sure it is ******. I tell him that if the part hasn't even been ordered yet, I will go ballistic. He understands my frustration. I say I don't think so, it's been three months. He did not know that (??!). Says he will call them in Quebec and call me right back. ***** calls back ~10:30 am, says it is probably ****** but is it a 22, 32 or 42 valve? Needs picture of the back of the cartridge to confirm. I told him **** took photos of everything - no, need photo of back of cartridge - can take out and reinstall. After further discussion he says he will have them send all 3 instead of frigging around further. He will ask them to ship out all 3 sizes, by air. Will let me know when he hears back - if they don't call him, he'll follow up, later today or tomorrow.

Mar 31,2014 - still no word from AR Wright.

Desired Settlement
I want the issue resolved immediately, and at A.R. Wright's sole expense.

Business Response
I understand our customers frustration and I apologize for the delay. Problem is, we did not install these faucets, therefore we have no way of knowing what brand they are. They are not marked any where. We think we have finally narrowed them down, but the problem is there isn't any parts in Alberta. Manufacturer is in Quebec and they are not responding to my calls. Last conservation I had with them was that it could be one of three models. I asked them to send me all three by air and I would pay for them. I have not heard back from them since.

We are meeting the customer tomorrow , Friday April 5, to try and figure something out.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
I do not "accept" the response in terms of accepting that the matter has been resolved. An employee of this business did install the original faucets, though he was employed by another company at the time - I told the business that over four months ago, and on more than one occasion. Regardless, even without a name on the parts, how long should it take a PLUMBING BUSINESS to "identify" a fixture? Four months (and counting) is absurd. The business "narrowed it down" to a particular company over a month ago, and STILL did not even ORDER the parts until after I filed this complaint. Moreover, the company they narrowed it down to was previously suggested by me to their employee in early January - it is the same manufacturer as the faucets in the sinks in the same bathroom! I understand (as of this morning) that the business has now ordered the parts, but I have heard this at least twice before, without resolution, so I would like to keep this complaint active until the matter is actually resolved.

Final Business Response
We received the parts for the faucet and have installed them. Everything is working fine and there was charge to the customer.

PS: Our dispatcher had called and left a message for the home owner to call us. We wanted to book an appointment for me to go to the home. This was in the AM of Monday March 31. We did not hear back from the home owner.

We did not receive a notice from the BBB until Tuesday @ 6:10 Am on Tuesday April 1.

Thanks
*****

06/07/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Furnace Repair, Furnace Cleaning, Furnace Sales and Repair Services, Boilers-Sales & Service, Water Heater Dealers, Drain and Sewer Cleaners, Plumbers - Commercial, Heating Contractors, Kitchen & Bath- Plumbing Fixtures

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1984Business started: 01/01/1984New Owner Date: 21/06/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2007, AB

Contact Information
Principal: Wayne Stewart (President)
Business Category

Plumbers, Furnace Repair, Furnace Cleaning, Furnace Sales and Repair Services, Boilers-Sales & Service, Water Heater Dealers, Drain and Sewer Cleaners, Plumbers - Commercial, Heating Contractors, Kitchen & Bath- Plumbing Fixtures

Products & Services

Commericial & Residential Plumbing & Heating Service Company, complete with Sewer Camera, Drain Cleaning Equipment and Power Flusher. Renovations, Furnace Retrofits and Repair. 24 hour Emergency Service.
GPS Tracking in all Trucks, Computerized Dispatch work orders.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMTue: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMWed: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMThu: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMFri: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PM
Service Area

Calgary and surrounding area

Industry Tips
HIRING A PLUMBER

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A. R. Wright Plumbing and Heating Ltd.

11 4504 1 St SE

Calgary, AB T2G 2L3

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 11 4504 1 St SE 

    Calgary, AB T2G 2L3(403) 243-7010

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A. R. Wright Plumbing and Heating Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

HIRING A PLUMBER
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.