BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 27/05/2009

Riteway Moving & Services Ltd.

Phone: (403) 714-7483Fax: (855) 301-8621View Additional Phone NumbersBay 1 & 2 2221 41 Ave NE, CalgaryAB T2E 6P2 Send email to Riteway Moving & Services Ltd.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Riteway Moving Calgary is a full service agent of the Allied Van Lines. Riteway offers office moving and installation services, as well as local and long distance moves. Free visual estimates in Calgary and surrounding area

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 27/05/2009

BBB has determined that Riteway Moving & Services Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Riteway Moving & Services Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Riteway Moving & Services Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
11/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I sent Riteway an Email on Monday November 11 and got no answer not even an acknowledgement, I understand that a knick here or there may happen in a move but this was a bit much, the movers were very disrespectful of my house telling me I should have had slippers for them to wear so they didn't have to take their shoes off and that in other peoples houses they were allowed to leave them on, its winter and muddy and wet of course their shoes need to come off. below is the email I sent:

"Hello,

I had two movers in my house on Saturday November 9th moving us into our BRAND NEW HOUSE, It was not made clear about the below travel charge (what that covered) it was not voiced to me over the phone.

I was not made aware that I had to also pay for the time they took to eat, the amount of time they took standing around and chatting, also being on their phones, probably totalled 30 mins. They finished moving us at 4:03 but decided to stand outside and chat until 4:07 so they could charge me for the extra half hour which I was also not aware of until 4:07 that day (this is a joke I could understand if I go 15 minutes over but not 5). This stuff should be brought up as soon as they get to your house. They wouldn't let me see the paper work until after they were done moving.

When they did hit the walls (and they did) they looked over to see if I was looking and then never mentioned they hit anything. I have attached pictures of the damages; one of the walls was hit so bad it took the drywall right down to the metal (corner finish). They weren't even going to write the damages down, also spoke to a supervisor who was incredibly rude and wasn't willing to do anything to rectify any of these issues.

I looked forward to a quick response and the retribution to the huge disappointment in service. I used you guys 4 years ago and told everyone how good you were, after this experience I would not recommend Riteway to anyone."

I also attached pictures of the damages in the email.

Desired Settlement
I would like some retribution for the damages in my house and I would like that half hour reimbursed to me, I find it unfair they can charge me 30 minutes when their staff stop to chat till 4:07!!

Business Response
$50 is refunded to client and is confirmed by client towards the resolution

07/02/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hi,

I have several complaints relating to the move itself as well as the customer service following the move. I will go ahead and list my complaints in point format to be brief:

1) I locked my cat into a room where there was nothing to be moved out of to keep her out of the way of the movers. I informed them of this and asked them not to let her out (moving out of an apartment, all the doors leading outside were open). I went to take some things to my car, came back and was simply told by one of the movers "The cat's gone". They'd let her out and made no effort to respect the lengths I had gone through to allow them to keep the doors open to the building. One of them finally decided to assist in finding the cat, resulting in a loss of about 30 minutes of moving time.

2) Upon arriving at the house I was moving into, the immediate reaction upon seeing the basement that we needed to move things into was 'that this was not possible'. We had previously moved full couches and beds into the basement ourselves, and knew this was possible. We informed them that they would need to remove the door to the basement and things would fit just fine. This was ignored.

3) After forcing a couch into a spot where it got jammed and dented one of the walls in the house, they came and got me to show me that the couch *could not* be moved into the basement. I reminded them, again, that the door needed to be removed. This resulted in about a 30-45 minute argument where I was told that I was being unreasonable. After removing the door, and after I had to tell them how to move the couch, it went into the basement without any problems at all...something that should have taken 3 minutes.

4) The same thing re-occurred with the box spring to my bed. The movers insisted that it wouldn't go. Another 20-30 minute discussion where they continued to argue that they refused to be liable. They even threw out the comment that they didn't understand why I didn't buy new furniture and just throw all that stuff out. Not surprisingly, once my sister and I took over (again), the box spring moved into the basement without issues. Throughout both arguments, the movers consistently started talking in their native language and made it very clear that they were speaking very unkindly about us, their customer.

5) After the move was complete, the workers took 20 minutes to fill out the paperwork and stood around talking at my expense. I was charged fully for this time. When I went to write down my disputes about the damages and time, I was told I couldn't by the mover. He only allowed me to put a comment 'To be discussed' when I said I would follow up with his supervisor on the following Monday.

6) After going through my things and starting to unpack, I noticed that they didn't reassemble the desk in my office. Nor were the bolts and screws anywhere to be found. That desk is now scrap because I have no way of putting it together. Other damages were found throughout the house that they didn't point out at the time.

7) Upon following up with *** at ******** I was assured this would be investigated and I would received a follow up the following day (May 27th). I did not receive a follow up and called multiple times without any return calls. I sent an email on June 5th stating that if they weren't willing to discuss this issue with me directly that I would be getting the BBB involved. I had hoped to resolve this with them privately. I still have not received a response.

Clearly - several things went wrong here and has resulted in hefty expenses on my part to repair damages, overcharged in time, and lost time chasing these people down to get responses.

Desired Settlement
I would expect, at a minimum, that 2 hours of the move be refunded to me for the time spent arguing with me (without just cause) and for breaks, stops and work delays that I am not responsible for.

I would ideally like to see my work desk replaced at their expense, as well, but would prefer to see the final invoice for my move adjusted down in time.

Business Response
One of the movers need to use the washroom and cat moved out.
At new place movers told you that basement is tight fit and wall will be damaged if they try to take couch downstairs. You told movers, not to worry about damages and just take the couch downstairs.
For door removal, it is not our job as of liability issues. For door removal, when movers were removing it just by taking pins out, you told them to unscrew the hindges and then when they put it back, you had issues with door allignment and blamed movers for door damage.
Even after door removal couch didnt went downstairs and they had to leave couch outside. Movers did send me picture for couch stuck in staircase and also movers called the office before putting couch outside.
Same thing happened for the box spring, movers notified you that as of tight fit box spring will cause damage to walls if they try to force it in.
Movers had to inform client if items cannot fit in or will cause damage if forced to move.
Movers send pictures to the office at 3:29PM and was not done until 4PM, but on actual billing they charged you till 3:15PM. So, how movers over charged you or wasted time in finishing paperwork.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
My complaint does not relate to damages - it relates to lost time. With the exception of one couch, all other items fit without ANY issues, however, my sister and myself had to explain to them how to angle furniture. They intentionally wedged that furniture for the purpose of sending pictures to 'prove their point'. I'd be happy to show you pictures of the box spring and couch in question in the basement WITHOUT damage, which is what we told them would be the case. My problem is that they spend well over 2 hours complaining about the process, being rude and disrespectful to a paying customer. I fail to see how it is MY job to tell your movers how to get furniture in and out of a house, safely. This seemed very basic. In addition to which, the fact still remains that they didn't reassemble the desk in the office, and the hardware (bolts, screws, etc.) are nowhere to be found (nor did the movers mention that this was not reassembled, they just left it). That desk now needs to be replaced. This service was completely unacceptable.

Final Business Response
Time was stopped at 3:15 and thus not billed for an hour for which movers were trying to get couch downstairs and then bring back up, even though movers clearly mentioned to client that it will not go to basement. So, if client decides to give it a try, how did the movers wasted time. We can offer $100 refund towards resolution in addition to an hour not charged earlier on move date.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
While I acknowledge that the $100 is better than nothing at all, it doesn't even come close to covering the lost time and the cost I had to incur to replace the desk in my office that the movers are most certainly responsible for (not only did the not re-assemble it after disassembilng it, they never returned the screws/bolts to me to re-assemble it myself). If I hadn't had to replace furniture as a result of the movers, I would have accepted the $100, but, that doesn't even cover the cost of a new desk.

12/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
21/10/13
Complaint by e-mail:
We contacted RIteway for the move saying we had a 1300 sq foot condo and washer, Dryer, Fridge, Stove to move. Quote on the phone was 1200 but as attached the quote given was 1600. They picked everything up on the Friday supposed to deliver it the Saturday but didn't show up until Monday.
I had contacted them trying to get a number for the full amount but they didn't send me anything until that morning an hour before they arrive (Iwas at work my Wife was home). They showed up wanting 3600 refusing to talk about it and refusing to unload of course until we paid, otherwise they would take everything back to Calgary.
Weigh Bill reciepts I believe were falsified as the times were incosistent with travel time from our house to the scale (attached)

Desired Settlement
Return of funds that are owed to us, and a report against them or charges pressed. I doubt I'm the first or last to be scammed.

Business Response
This move was booked over the phone details provided by ******, none of the appliances were mentioned. On load date, there were 5 appliances in additional to the household goods. Movers notified ****** about the weight and higher charges as of appliances. ****** told movers that she is aware that final cost will be subject to actual weight. Payment is required upon arrival before delivery, ****** authorized Riteway to charge the visa we have on file and it got declined. Riteway office notified ****** about card decline and requested for optional payment method. ***** phone was switched off on move date, so ****** arranged another payment card.
****** was provided with original weight scale receipts on move date which ***** declined and requested for weight scale receipts. Email was sent ot ***** for weight scale receipts along with weigh scale charges to show date and time stamp. Please see the attached booking confirmation that was sent to *****/******, and it is clearly mentioned that final cost will be based on exact weight and weight scale receipts will be used to calculate the weight.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
The 5 appliances were mentioned on the phone as I was in the car with ******* as we were driving, the lady we were speaking to had to go and ask someone in the back about the weight, after this 1200 was the verbal amount given.

When the goods arrived they wanted the 3600 in payment and I had transfered money to ******* expecting it to be around 2000 (quote was 1600) as per quote. She didn't have enough money and there was an arguement because Riteway refused to try the card saying ***** was on the contract not *******. Finally they tried it but as the amount was 2000 more than the written quote I hadn't transfered enough money onto the card, btw it was ********** not ****.

Riteway threatened returning to calgary from the start even while refusing to try my card and even trying to refuse alternate payment. The holder of the Alternate credit card had to argue with them over the phone to accept.

On emails with Riteway I had asked for scanned copies of weigh receipts (which I believe were falsified) and was refused by Riteway who now stated the contract was for ******* not *****. After 5 days of argueing on emails and telling them I was contacting BBB the weight bills finally came.

The quote was out by $2000

Final Business Response
Client was provided with estimate based on the description over the phone and not firm quote. In estimate send by email it was clearly mentioned " Final cost will be based on exact weight (minimum 2700 lbs), packing service, additional services and valuation declared. Weight scale receipts will be used to calculate the exact weight. Budget assumes normal access at origin and destination "

Again in booking confirmation under notes it was clearly mentioned that final cost will be based on actual weight. On move date ******* was advised by movers of excess weight and she acknowledged it and signed the estimate and paperwork. On delivery date ***** phone was switched off as per *******. ******* was provided with Original weight scale receipts on delivery date which ***** declined and asked for weight scale, which later were sent to his email. This move was by the weight and the excess weight was because of 5 appliances never addressed at time of inquiry over the phone.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The 5 sppliances were brought up in the initial conversation.

Quote was based on this.

Weigh scale reciepts times show they were falsified.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving and Storage Companies, Office Movers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/06/2008Business started: 01/05/2008
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Satbir (Sam) Virk (Owner/President)
Business Category

Movers, Moving and Storage Companies, Office Movers

Products & Services

Office and Residential Moving, Full Packing Service, Warehouse Storage
Local and Long Distance Moves

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 03:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

Riteway offers an 80% refund on packing material purchased from them for the customer to do their own packing into. Boxes must be returned to Riteway in good condition within 60 days of the date that Riteway performed move.
There is no refund applicable to boxes that are part of a Riteway performed packing service.

Alternate Business Names
Riteway Moving and Services, Riteway Movers, 1392635 Alberta Ltd.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

4 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Riteway Moving & Services Ltd.

Bay 1 & 2 2221 41 Ave NE

Calgary, AB T2E 6P2

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • Bay 1 & 2 2221 41 Ave NE 

    Calgary, AB T2E 6P2(403) 714-7483
    (185) 549-6668 ext 3

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Riteway Moving & Services Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (185) 549-6668 ext 3
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.