BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 15/07/2009

Fast Friendly Careful Moving Company

Phone: (403) 921-9955Fax: (403) 274-5333PO Box 52052, CalgaryAB T2E 8K9 Send email to Fast Friendly Careful Moving CompanyFacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 15/07/2009

BBB has determined that Fast Friendly Careful Moving Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Fast Friendly Careful Moving Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Fast Friendly Careful Moving Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 8
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 8 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
04/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contract total cost at completion of move on March 15, 2014 was added incorrectly and I was charged and paid for 4 and 3/4 hours instead of 4 and 1/4 hours. Contract copy clearly shows start and end time to reflect 4 and 1/4 hours. Contacted business by phone March 17, 2014 and confirmed overpayment based on incorrect calculation. Was told refund of $77 would be sent in mail to new address. Did not receive anything in mail after two weeks so contacted business via email address provided on website April 2, 2014 with standard reply received indicating to call business. Called April 7, 2014 and was told that someone would come by the evening of April 8 and drop off refund amount. No call was received or individual from company came by. A second email was sent on April 10, 2014 to follow up and received same standard reply back to call company. Email sent on April 10th was clear in that if no reply or resolution was received by company by April 11th end of day I would proceed with BBB complaint as calling company has provided no resolution thus far.

Desired Settlement
Refund amount of $77 to be mailed to address provided by end of April 2014.

06/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hi, I am disgraced by this company and how they ripped me off. I called and talked to *******. He gave me a quote of 149/hr, and I told him it was a 2 floor walk up that I was moving to, I didn't have a box spring or mattress, no couch, gave him the list of what I did have and he quoted me 4 hours no problem and he said it would cost 600 plus GST so I booked them.They arrived at 2 and his brother told me that they have to charge me a half hour before and after delivery. I didn't agree and told him I wasn't told any such thing and had to leave the relationship I was in back to my place. So he put my time at 1:30pm. They moved my stuff into the truck by 4:00pm. Then they kept my stuff over night because they were tired, which I said was okay, but wasn't happy about it.They said they would be there by 9 and arrived at 10, then proceeded to move my stuff in. Just before they were done, they held my tv, monitor, and air conditioner. His brother came up and did his figures and said it cost 916. dollars. I borrowed 700 and had a friend run me over 200. I told him all I had was 900., so he says that's okay.I have the bill and they over charged me by 1.5 hours, and charged me for travel before and after the job.
Product_Or_Service: Moving
Account_Number: No number on it

Desired Settlement
I would like my 270. dollars back. I was given a quote by ******* and 3 guys moving my stuff, that knew I had only 700 due to quote given, then holding my expensive items until I paid was dirty. Charging me travel before and after when that wasn't stated is wrong.

Business Response
first i would like to say we are very fair of what we charge.at no time did i ever give an exact quote to any customer.i told her the price is 149.00 per hour plus travel time before and after the move. this is charged by every moving co. Mrs. ******* was being forced out of her home by a domestic dispute and because of that nothing was packed properly. we were moving lots of garbage bags and many loose items.it is these items that take extra time to move espesicaly going up 4 stair cases. because of her situation we worksd faster than normal my men were actually running up the stairs to get the move done as fast as possible for her.she agreed to the move in the next day . the customer did not complain about the fast way we completed her move because she knows how fast we worked for her.because she had alot of items is the only reason her move took the time it did.we always do a great job for our customers and because of this we are fair of what we charge.we even only charge her 30 minutes back from airdre instead of 45 minutes.i am sorry but there can be no refund of amount paid.thankyou ****

Consumer Response
In response to movers statement:

Firstly, there wasn't a quote ever for travel time especially before they start the job. To say you charge someone 75. dollars before you do anything is ludicrous.
Secondly, my friends and I packed everything previous to them arriving. I didn't previously state but we also helped them move out stuff, funny how that wasn't considered.
About the garbage.....the garbage bags were my clothes which I always have put into garbage bags to move and they know they weren't garbage!
Lastly, my place is 2 flights of stairs not 4 and I stated that for the quote. These movers insisted that they were exhausted due to previous moving jobs that day and wanted to deliver my stuff at 9 the next day. As per my previous letter, this company took advantage of a bad situation where I was being abused and needed to leave.
I stand firm and would kindly like my 270 back which was way over the quoted amount. I would even settle for 200.

Thank you,

********


Business Response
This is purely a case of sour grapes, and a clear cut case of someone who couldn't afford to hire professional movers, yet did anyway.
Our services were rendered, in a top notch fashion, as with all of our customers...
We tend to our clients needs, to the tune of over 100 per month... And our reputation is outstanding.
Further more... We are always clear of all travel time and fuel surcharge, in the very first phone quote (without fail)...
To say that we are not... Is completely faulse ...
We stand firm on our high standard and our outstanding reputation.
This client only wishes for financial gain, and is trying to smear our reputation to achieve it.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving and Storage Companies, Moving & Storage Company, Professional Movers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 14/03/2006Business started: 01/05/2005
Business Management
Michael Harris (Manager/Owner)
Business Category

Movers, Moving and Storage Companies, Moving & Storage Company, Professional Movers

Products & Services

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fast Friendly Careful Moving Company has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 8 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview
LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fast Friendly Careful Moving Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.