BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Sunshine Landscaping

Phone: (403) 999-5296Fax: (403) 500-1030Private Address, CalgaryAB T3K 5R7 Send email to Sunshine Landscapinghttp://www.sunshinelandscaping.ca/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Sunshine Landscaping is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Sunshine Landscaping's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Sunshine Landscaping's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Sunshine Landscaping

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
10/09/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I requested a spring clean up package booked for May 2 (fertilizer, aeration, trim and power rake). The week before, the contact called and asked if his crew could come earlier. He sent them on the Tuesday or Wednesday night and they didn't arrive until 9 p.m./ They spent 25 minutes in in the yard. I went down to check on their progress and the cheque I left on the door was gone. The lawn was in shambles. The aeration was only done up one side of the lawn, they didn't touch the entire east side of the house, and the bags of cuttings were just left on the driveway. They left huge patches of dead grass, I am assuming from the fertilizer, and took the cheque without leaving a receipt. I have called and left messages on four occasions, and also contacted them through the website to no avail. I just want my money refunded. I feel completely taken advantage of, and I can't bee live that they have an A+ rating after experiencing their complete lack of regard or communication.

Desired Settlement
refund, or if they are not giving a refund, I want the job that was promised completed.

Business Response
Hi ***,

This is ******** and I am writing this response as my husband ****** was in a horrible car accident and is still in the hospital awaiting release next week.

I apologize for what has happened in your yard and when the accident happened we basically closed the doors till we knew if he was going to pull thru. We haven't even answered the messages as we had more pressing issues.

I could arrange for a long time worker of ours to redo the aeration and also do a fall fertilizer for you to make up for your experience. Sorry it has taken so long to get back to you.

Thank you,

******** ****
Sunshine Landscaping

11/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After our meeting with ****** on 7th ***, 2015 at our residence (***************************), my wife and l agreed to award the landscaping and fencing of our property to Sunshine Landscaping.

Beginning appears to be a good business relationship but as soon as deposit was made, we started chasing ****** to come start the job. We had a lot of back and forth on this and the job was not completed before l travelled back to UK.

By and large, the job was unsatisfactorily done while l was away and the pressure on my family to pay up the balance made me wired a transfer to complete the payment.

Upon arrival, l inspected the job done and as part of the unsatisfactory job done, the fence eat up into my neighbours property as reported. My neighbour sought the services of the city to affirm his claims and the marking showed that the fence was not positioned to precision.

All efforts to get ****** down and make amends proved abortive. He not responding to my calls and not replying to my mails.

I went to make complaint at the police station and l was advised to try this and or a civil court.

Desired Settlement
$13,860 as full settlement of come back to do a proper job.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscapers, Snow Removal Service - Commercial, Home & Yard Maintenance

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 18/05/2010Business started: 24/03/2005
Contact Information
Principal: Trevor Ober (Owner)
Business Category

Landscapers, Snow Removal Service - Commercial, Home & Yard Maintenance


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sunshine Landscaping has received 2.1 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of C.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview
LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sunshine Landscaping is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Landscapers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.