BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/07/1990

Brookfield Residential (Alberta ) LP

Phone: (403) 516-5861Fax: (403) 231-8960View Additional Phone Numbers4906 Richard Rd SW, CalgaryAB T3E 6L1 Send email to Brookfield Residential (Alberta ) LPView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/07/1990

BBB has determined that Brookfield Residential (Alberta ) LP meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Brookfield Residential (Alberta ) LP's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Brookfield Residential (Alberta ) LP

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
08/21/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
01/15/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a home from Brookfield in late 2013. I was shown a box of approximately 10 motion-activated light switches for wall on/off for lights. I was told I could have them and that they would be left in the same house I was buying. I took one. When I took possession of the house a short time later, the switches were removed from the downstairs closet near front door. I have tried for almost 2 years to get my switches back, with no success. I have talked to different representatives of Brookfield. My latest contact was at the new Ontario Ranch model homes with representatives. Next, I e-mailed Brookfield around 2 weeks ago, still no response.

Desired Settlement
I really like my home, and I like the company, I just want my motion-activated switches I was promised, that's all. It is just a fairness issue. I was promised the motion activated switches, but I have been trying to get them for almost 2 years, without success.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ********** BuilderRep
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ******************************
In response to BBB Case#******* complaint re: motion-activated light switches. After full review of our records in regard to this home we did not find anything in writing from the homeowner either in Service Requests or in any other files regarding motion-activated light switches or light switches in general. It is our company policy to have all service requests put in writing therefore we cannot comply with this request.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
I was offered the motion activated switches just before I moved into the home, then they were removed. Several employees of Brookfield knew about my concern, including "***," ********* and others knew this from the beginning, as well as other employees and neighbors with whom I shared the above issue.

04/08/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company has ****, *********, stiffed a family with a newborn with defective and damaged products and just provide lip service and aggravate and annoy people so they will go away. They are as low as they come for the thousands of hours weve wasted trying to repair our HVAC system, leaks, damaged plumbing, shotty workmanship etc etc.

Desired Settlement
New HVAC system as the AC was inoperable from day one and the furnace has been damaged and the humidifier keeps plugging up with gypsum powder.The installation was deficient and polluted weve had ductwork that keeps filtering after 3 cleanings. Our front stonework is cracking and discoloured and the entire frontage needs re-doing. The windows have snow in the babies room from improper installation after they were smashed by vandalism pre occupancy.We want our time and aggravation looked after as I literally have 100s of emails and thousands of hours invested in wasted time. Weve had to pathetically deal with 10 personnel of Brookfield and all they do is play games.

I have a file so big I need a 3 GB of info including photos, videos, emails, recordings and work orders.I have had to insist they bring in different companies as their trades *** and pretend like they are doing something. I would like to see other homeowners on this street get involved as Brookfield should be ashamed for how many **** they tell including how no one else seems to have any issues, but Ive now talked to others in the area who are so fed up they want to sell.

This is a garbage company that only cares about money and shareholders its obvious. They have been given every chance to corrrect the defects and deficiencies and made things worse and then dont respond and then ***.

We have a newborn child and am fed up having to disrupt her life with stressed out parents and time away from her rearing.

Business Response
Brookfield has been in the home many times.
The internal items noted were fixed, we were in as late as 1.5 weeks ago and to our knowledge everything has been fixed except the seasonal items.
I have met with the owner myself and he had agreed (also in email) that the seasonal would be dealt with when the weather allowed.
There are 4 items to deal with on the exterior. We have a New Home Warranty concilation planned for April 8 during which the homeowners complaints will be addressed and we are bound by the outcome of that.
The seasonal will be addressed at this conciliation as well.
If there are any questions, please let me know.

10/06/2014Delivery Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Land Development , Condos, Real Estate Developers, Home Builders

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/10/1990Business started: 01/01/1958
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Glen Anderson (Construction Manager) Brian Brown (Controller - Alberta Housing) Darrell Cox (Construction Manager-Single Family) David Harvie (Sr. Vice President, Planning & Marketing) John Olson Wayne Prokopetz (Vice President, Housing) Roxanne Rothery (Accounts Payable Supervisor)
Business Category

Land Development , Condos, Real Estate Developers, Home Builders

Alternate Business Names
Brookfield Residential Properties, Brookfiled Homes - Calgary Single Family, Brookfiled Homes - Calgary Multi Family
BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBB Identification Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Brookfield Residential (Alberta ) LP

4906 Richard Rd SW

Calgary, AB T3E 6L1

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4906 Richard Rd SW 

    Calgary, AB T3E 6L1(403) 231-8900
    (403) 231-8999
    (403) 516-5861

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Brookfield Residential (Alberta ) LP is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (403) 231-8900 - Land Division
  • (403) 231-8999 - Brookfield Homes
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Land Development

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.