BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 17/01/2012

The Design Studio Inc.

(403) 453-2083Private, CalgaryAB T2C 5J3 Send email to The Design Studio Inc.Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


The Design Studio Inc, is a family owned Interior/ Exterior design and Renovation Company. We offer numerous services to give our clients the ability to enhance their homes. Contact us Today!

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 17/01/2012

BBB has determined that The Design Studio Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised The Design Studio Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on The Design Studio Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/17/2014 | Read Complaint Details

To whom it may concern;

Re: design plans for porch roof/weather covering for back deck.

On April 30, 2013 I approached this business to design plans for a new outdoor roof type covering for our back deck. I brought in pictures of the former roof structure (was not safe or 100% functional), the existing base structure, and clearly outlined our project wishes and difficulties.

I clearly asked the owner *** if her business was capable and interested in the project and they replied yes. It was verbally agreed The Design Studio would provide 2 sets of plans - from 2 different views; it was agreed originally the plans would be completed by June 2013, and we agreed on $500 for the price for the project plans. $577.50 was charged to my credit card on April 30, 2013.

We provided a copy of our property report for the business to use for design purposes.
We provided pictures, and access to online images of the project location, and picture examples of structures to help guide design.

We met twice in office to discuss, and we met in June 2013 at our home to view the project. At which time I offered more funds to complete the roof plan to which *** declined the need for more funds.

On August 4, the business emailed an image "idea" to which I replied with questions and received no response from the business. I called the business and was told that with the recent floods in June and lengthy clean up, their business was very very busy and unable at that time to address the project.

To date we have not been provided with any plans, not even a draft of plans for the roof structure.

The company did offer to also include a planting plan for the property at no additional cost. One proposed/draft landscape planting plan was provided, that plan was not completed either. Again via email in May 2013, we reiterated that the roof structure was the focus and priority.

On *********5, 2014 I sent the business the following email:

"Hello *** and *********.

I hope this email finds you all well over the winter. I wanted to follow up with you folks by requesting a refund of the $577.50 payment processed by your company last April 30, 2013. Given the length of time that has passed ****** 30, 2013 to present), with no response to my communication, and no project plan results, my husband and I will be seeking the services of another company; likely an engineer to design the roof structure. I think the project and the main focus of your company are just not the best fit. Please contact me if you have any concerns with this request.

We wish you all well in 2014.


***** ******"

To which I have not received a response.

The business has failed to provide the product/service as promised.
The business has not responded to communication regarding the project.
The business has not responded to a proposed resolution; we are not comfortable accepting further "service" on this project.

I am seeking the help of the Better Business Bureau as our attempts to resolve the issue as consumers has failed.


***** & ***** ******.

Desired Settlement
As stated in our email to the business we are requesting a refund for the funds provided of $577.50 on April 30, 2013 as no product was provided.

As stated above, we are not comfortable accepting further service from this company.

We sincerely hope for a simple resolution to this issue. A refund will enable us to move forward to complete our delayed project. Our back deck is virtually useless without this structure due to exposure and weather.


***** & ***** ******.

Business Response
We met ***** on April 30th as discussed.
I informed her the Design Fee was $550 + GST. Which brings us to the $577.50.
She gave us her credit card at the studio and saw then what the cost was.
I did not over charge her.

On May 23rd, we gave ***** ****** two sets of drawings from our Design program 20/20.
She replied "Wonderful Looking Drawings".
Then went on to describe how she liked the Front Yard - in detail as well as the Back Garden.

As ***** and her husband **** are doing the work themselves and they already have pre-existing deck, we went to their home and discussed how the roof would be.
***** rejected everything we were telling her. She does not want to add this structure to her home as she doesn't want to pay the City for the attachment.
We spoke numerous times with them regarding this structure.
I do believe she is looking for Engineered Drawings, which we do not do.
Ours is merely a concept. I did show her what the plan would look like when she was in the office with ********* and myself.

*** and I then went to there home once more to discuss this structure that ***** wants.
We left feeling like **** (her husband new exactly what he had to do to build this).
We had said that if we could get one of our crew out there to walk **** thru this we would.
When she called the office, I indicated that our crew were helping out with the flood and could not come out there.
Keep in mind they are building this themselves. She did
offer to pay me more money, but for what?
As I indicated before, when we were at their home discussing how to build this structure to ****, he said he understood what he had to do. We were therefore done.
They had drawings. Please see attachments.

Yes, we did review all of her ideas on *****, but she would have to demo her entire deck to have what she wants and she is not willing to do this.

Last week, ***** and her husband showed up at our new office and we discussed in detail what we could do for her and what we did for her. We even said we would do another drawing for her, removing railings, stairs and arbour that is there. Her husband definately understood what we were trying to tell her. At this time, I had no idea that they had filed a complaint against us. They never let on that they had.

We are not in the habit of taing advantage of our clients. ***** received exactly what we told her we do. She is asking for something which we do not do and we told her that. *** also went out of his way to contact one of our other clients who is an engineer and described the deck and arbour they have and he agreed with us, that yes, this whole structure has to come down. It is hard to try and retro-fit something that really doesn't work at all.

When they were in the office, her husband was trying to tell her, that yes *****, The Design Studio is right in the way this whole structure has to be. She wants all the pretty arbours that are on house, but doesn't want to get water on herself when she is sitting under it. I suggested a large umbrella, one that has a heavy base, no doesn't want that. She wants to sit out there in the winter months and have no snow to remove on her deck. Again, we would love to design the right structure with deck included, but again, she doesn't want to pay for this. She wants the best on a small budget.

At the present time, with her filing this action against us, and not being upfront when they came in,I will not be designing anything further.

***** *******

01/21/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Interior Decorators, Kitchen & Bathroom Design, Landscape Architect/Design Companies, Bathroom Remodelers, Home Renovations

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 19/09/2011Business started: 01/09/2010
Type of Entity


Incorporated: September 2010, AB

Business Management

The owners of this company previously owned Urban Design.

Contact Information
Principal: Janet Farnham (President/CEO) Stephanie Coyston (Owner) Rob Farnham (Owner)
Business Category

Interior Decorators, Kitchen & Bathroom Design, Landscape Architect/Design Companies, Bathroom Remodelers, Home Renovations

Products & Services

Renovations, Interior Design, Furniture Making, Re-upholstery, Landscape Design and Construction, 3D Designs for Kitchen and Bathroom Renovation, Custom Cabinets, Flooring, Painting, Back Splash, Ceiling Work, Base boards and Casing, Hunter Douglas

Service Area


Photos & Videos


Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

6 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Design Studio Inc.


Calgary, AB T2C 5J3

To | From


1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Design Studio Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Interior Decorators


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.