BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southern Alberta & East Kootenay

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 16/03/1999

Merry Maids of Calgary (SW)

Phone: (403) 252-8977Fax: (403) 252-8944202, 7720 Elbow Drive SW, CalgaryAB T2V 1K2 Send email to Merry Maids of Calgary (SW)

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 16/03/1999

BBB has determined that Merry Maids of Calgary (SW) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Merry Maids of Calgary (SW)'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
01/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: My senior citizen in-laws kindly gave us a gift of a three and a half hour cleaning at a whopping rate of nearly $400. The cleaners were supposed to clean everything from top to bottom of our 1400 square foot house. I had to go to work and was unable to stay and supervise the work. I'm assuming because I was not there, the cleaners felt they did not need to clean anything but to vaccuum lightly and clean the bathrooms. Floors, dusting and a thorough vaccuum was never done. The floors were left filthy with salt and remnants of snow. When I complained to management, I was told that because I was not a regular client I would not get the service to clean the areas properly, nor would I get any money reimbursed. This company essentially took consideration in exchange for work that was never done. They also had no problem taking money from elderly people living on a fixed income. Not only is this illegal, its downright disgusting business practices and shameful.

Initial Business Response
December 3rd, 2013


Better Business Bureau
#350, 7330 Fisher Street SE
Calgary, AB T2H-2H8

****** *********


Dear ******:

I called ******* **** November 18th to follow up on the work done Friday, November 15th. The customer expressed concerns that - the floors and baseboards had not been done, a mirrored cabinet in the front entrance had not been dusted or the floor underneath it and that we missed dusting between a cable box and DVD player that was over the fireplace in the bedroom.

I indicated that first time, one time or occasional work is charged hourly we do our best not to miss anything in the time we have available. But, if something is overlooked it would not have been charged for because no time was utilized to do it. No discussion of a specific resolution was requested by the customer and no subsequent correspondence followed.

Based on her perception of the customer's home ******* ****** (the purchaser) agreed to a budget a gift of three hours with a team of two. The girls did as much as three hours would allow and *******'s credit card was charged out at $115.00 x 3hrs = $345.00 plus GST ($362.25)

I do not believe that the house was intentionally under valued but, I am just as confident that the team delivered full value for the time that was spent and agreed to.


Best regards,



***** *******



Customer Care Manager
Merry Maids of Calgary SW




Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
I'm not satisfied at all with the response and am not at all surprised in the shirking of responsibility this respose has outlined from the manager of Merry Maids. **** was informed in her initial conversation with ***** that three hours was a must as a minimum to request a cleaning. My mother-in-law had initially only wanted two hours and when she was told this, she agreed to it, although she did say that she felt pushed and that ***** was very rude and condescending to her. We have had cleaners at our home before and they managed to do the entire house flawlessly in an hour and a half and charged much less to do so. As this was a gift from our in-laws, they did not know who we had used before and so they went with a name who was familiar to them. We now completely regret doing so. Again, these are senior citizens that were bullied into paying for more time than they had wanted. I think the practice that Merry Maids have shown and the ethics they have displayed are extremly troubling.

Final Business Response
See attached

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

01/28/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

House Cleaners, Cleaning Services, Wall Cleaners, Maids and Butlers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/02/1999Business started: 01/11/1998
Contact Information
Principal: Mary Mulligan (Owner/Manager)
Business Category

House Cleaners, Cleaning Services, Wall Cleaners, Maids and Butlers

Industry Tips
Spring-Cleaning? Know What to Keep, What to Discard and When
Storm Clean-up Schemes Cause Additional Heartache

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Merry Maids of Calgary (SW)

202, 7720 Elbow Drive SW

Calgary, AB T2V 1K2

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 202, 7720 Elbow Drive SW 

    Calgary, AB T2V 1K2

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Merry Maids of Calgary (SW) is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.