BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

European Tile & Stone Installations Inc.

Phone: (403) 217-9425Fax: (403) 217-3584View Additional Phone NumbersPrivate Address, CalgaryAB T3H 4X1 Send email to European Tile & Stone Installations Inc.http://www.europeantileandstoneinstallations.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

European Tile & Stone Installations Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for European Tile & Stone Installations Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on European Tile & Stone Installations Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/15/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In March 2013 we obtained an estimate for tiling our kitchen floor and back splash. We proceeded on the basis of the quote and the job was completed in April 2013. Numerous times, ET&S indicated there was a 1 year warranty on their work.

We suggested that they use Epoxy based grout in the kitchen, and the assured us that their grout was sufficient, less expensive and would wear well. However, before the job was finished some of the grout was chipping out between the floor tiles. They repaired this at that time when we pointed it out.

We called them to in March 2014 to repair the tile grout which has again been chipping out in several places over the year. We had waited until this point to maximize the warranty repair, since the grout had been chipping out all year long. **** said they would come and repair the tile grout if we paid them $300. I refused, since I felt this was a warranty issue. At this point **** said that the warranty was no longer in effect since the original estimate had been done a few days prior to my call (even though the work had not been completed until April 2013).

Note that there were a number of additional issues we wanted to raise with **** and **** when they came to the house, but we were not afforded that opportunity. These problems were noted after final payment, since we were out of the country when the job was completed and paid:
During the project, our deck surface was damaged by the tile cutter and/or abrasive product used in cementing or grouting. This became obvious once the snow had cleared from the deck a few weeks later.
* During the (winter) project some plants were killed in our garden where **** had tossed some water/grout product
* The carpet on the top stair which meets the tile is ruined with large amounts of grout on it and requires replacement.
* The tile on the floor and the back splash is not smooth: there are visible deviations of 1-3 mm everywhere in the work.
* Many areas of the feature tile on the back splash are not installed straight.

Desired Settlement
We would like sufficient funds to remove the floor tiling and replace it with proper grouting. We estimate this to be $4000.

Business Response
All This Complaint is not true !!! the work it was done great ! and completed ! the owners of the house has told us that they really love our work ! they was in Calgary all the time , untill we finished the floor !!! they was only out of town only on the back splash project, but there parents was in the house, managed the kitchen back splash project only. and as since the above house owners come back to Calgary, they call us to say Thank you ! All The Tiles Look Great !!! and we always clean up ! in every project !!! always we have been very caerfull, and we Respect great deal all our customers Homes !!! we put out in one one empty corner that has no plands, the work water , we always empty this in the safe corner yard soil,because we respect there home, and we don't want to empty in there sink or in there toilette , because can gait fladed ! This project has been done over a year, and we do not offer any waranteed any more ! is only 6 months to a year. we do not know this type of complain??? after all this time. ??? this never happen to anybody before. we use top Quality materials, Top Quality Installation !!! we always Care about our work ! this is why we have so many Happy Customers ! as since this home owners call us one time before ,we was there for them to change some tiles that they dint like. after this they was all happy with all the rest., and they told us we will tell all our frends the quality work you guys do !!!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
I called **** in March 2014 to discuss the floor tile grout issue. The attached file shows that the job was not a year old when that call was made.

European Tile must have us confused with some other client - we have not told any of our friends that we are happy with this job.

There are photos in the attached file to substantiate my claims.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Renovations, Kitchen & Bathroom Design, Landscape Architect/Design Companies, Floorers, Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication, Commercial Construction Companies, Tile Sales, Tile Restoration, Natural Stone Suppliers, Stone Setting Companies, Tile & Marble, Slate Companies, Bathroom Remodelers, Ceramic Tile Companies, Home Renovations-Exterior, Home Improvement Builders, Floor Coverings & Installation, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, General Contractors, Design & Build Contractor, Kitchen and Bath Designers, Landscape Designers, Landscapers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 16/06/2006Business started: 08/02/1978Business started locally: 06/09/2003New Owner Date: 06/09/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2003, AB

Contact Information
Principal: Nikitas Papanikolopoulos (President)
Business Category

Home Renovations, Kitchen & Bathroom Design, Landscape Architect/Design Companies, Floorers, Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication, Commercial Construction Companies, Tile Sales, Tile Restoration, Natural Stone Suppliers, Stone Setting Companies, Tile & Marble, Slate Companies, Bathroom Remodelers, Ceramic Tile Companies, Home Renovations-Exterior, Home Improvement Builders, Floor Coverings & Installation, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, General Contractors, Design & Build Contractor, Kitchen and Bath Designers, Landscape Designers, Landscapers

Products & Services

This business provides installations and repair to ceramic tile, marble, porcelain, stone installations on floors, walls, kitchens, bathrooms, pools, fireplaces as well as any commercial, residential renovations and/or construction.

Hours of Operation

Seven days a week

Service Area

Serving the greater Calgary area.

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*European Tile & Stone Installations Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (403) 891-3635 - cellular
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Renovations

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.