BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/10/1987

Castle Maintenance Services

Phone: (403) 250-5172Fax: (403) 204-3051

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
05/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When I last had my furnace cleaned I was encouraged to purchase a permanent filter for $217.00. I understood that if I didn't find it worked to my satisfaction there would be no problem returning it - customer satisfaction was important. I found that my house was much dustier with this new filter so I phoned Castle Maintenance. The manager said it was unusual to have a complaint on this product but someone would come out and check it. A fellow came and found everything was normal. I let him know I wasn't happy with it and wanted to return it. He took it away, gave me a regular filter and requested that I phone the office which I did that day. The manager said he would phone me back. He didn't . I phoned the next week, the manager said he would phone me back, he didn't. On the 4th call I was told there was no refund, so I said I would take the filter back. This all started October 1st and more than 10 phone calls later the manager (very politely) keeps telling me he will call me back. First it was the bitter cold snap and they were very busy, I understood that, but the weather has not been a factor for a few weeks now. It has now been another two weeks since I last spoke with the manager who assured me he would call me right back....to date nothing.

Desired Settlement
I would like an apology for the treatment I have received when in good faith I really believed that the manager would follow-up as promised. Additionally I would like the filter that I paid for returned or else a refund in full.

Business Response
In regards to Ms. ****** we took the filter at her request she then asked for it to be returned but we had recycled it that day
We can provide another at cost if she would like?

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
When purchased I was told that if I didn't find the filter satisfactory "no problem we want our customers to be satisfied" . No mention of a 'no refund' policy, no mention again when I called to say It wasn't working nor when they came to look at the filter and I said I don't want it. I phoned the manager that same afternoon and told him his service fellow had taken the filter - at my request yes, but - he could have told me then there was no refund and the filter would not have been recycled or at least I could have made an informed decision. He told me he couldn't talk to me then but would call me back. I kept getting the same message each time I called.

10/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On December 11, 2013 the workers from Castle Maintenance came to check on my furnace and informed me that a new scroll cage was needed for the noise it generated. On December 12th, when they came to put the new scroll cage on, they had great difficulty to put it in and started to hammer it on strongly. I was concerned but they said it should be okay. After a few weeks when I went to the furnace room, I noticed loud clunking noise so ******, who was a service manager came on February 24th and May 22nd subsequently trying to fix the problem. He told me that the workers had misdiagnosed the problem initially and suggested that the motor's shaft was defective, so to solve this problem, a new motor should be installed.
I then contacted another company to test both the drum/wheel and the motor to find out exactly what was wrong. After these components were tested, I was informed that the motor's shaft was okay and nothing was wrong with the motor. However, the drum/wheel was so badly damaged that it was beyond repair. It was so out of balance thus causing the assembly to shake so much that it was causing the loud clunking noise. The band was also broken, barely holding on with the screws and its components flew into the motor and they had to be removed from it. The wires in the furnace was also cut and some were missing.
On June 24th, I contacted ******, the service manager about how they failed to resolve this problem with my furnace. As I was telling him about this problem, he was uncooperative and hung up the phone. I then faxed a complaint to the store manger on June 25th about this problem and left a message on their phone to call me back when they received the letter. However, I never received a call back. I left a voice message two more times for them to call me back, on June 26th and July 22nd about this issue and they never returned my call.

Desired Settlement
The settlement I am seeking is to have a full refund of the costs charged to me for the service and the parts.

Business Response
09/09/14
Hi good evening
We attended this client in good faith.
We went to her home several times and each without any service charges.
Each time we left her furnace was working fine and once we could see or hear anything what so ever , we really put a lot of time into her and she was told by our service Manager on our last visit that we would not be attending her anymore we consider the matter closed and wish her all the best but are not refunding a part that was faulty and needed to be changed.

Regards,

********* *****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
The complaints against Castle Maintenance are that:
1. It did not identify and diagnose the problem accurately, i.e. the bracket holding the scroll cage was broken, thus creating the clunking noise.
2. the workers damaged the new cage by hammering it while putting in.
3.The service manager came twice but only able to keep the noise down temporary for a week to 10 days before the loud noise flared up again.
4. Told me that they had misdiagnosed the problem, that it was the motor that is the problem and now needed to be replaced.
I am just asking for the fair refund since the problem was not identified and fixed.
Thank you for attending to this matter.
Yours Sincerely,
***** *****


Final Business Response
in regards to ***** as I stated in our previous response we went back numerous times at no charge to her and last time we sent our service manager over
We told her we would not be coming back any more. I would be willing to refund a part of her bill , one hundred dollars at the most this is not any admission of poor service on our part but we want it done with.
This will be our last response to ***** we will not offer her any services at all in the future and now consider this matter one hundred percent CLOSED!!! If our offer of 100.00$ is not accepted she can pursue a refund with other measures.
If it is accepted let us know how to issue her the money. We would prefer to give it to the BBB and have you dispense it to her.

05/16/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had used Castle Maintenance in 2012 to clean my furnace. Summer called me a month ago inquiring about cleaning my furnace again and I asked how much it would be and it was $50 more than I paid last time, so I asked if I could get a deal because I had 2 properties that I needed done. Summer put me on hold to ask her boss if they could do that and after a couple minutes she came back and confirmed that they would do both properties for $250+GST. I then said I would get back to her with a date that would work. She ended up calling me again to schedule a day and since our last conversation I had talked with another furnace cleaning company who quoted me $250/furnace as their normal rate. So I asked her again if they would do a better deal than $250/furnace since I was getting 2 properties done. She said she didn't think they could do less than $250, but she was going to ask. I never heard back from her about it being less than $250/furnace, so I assumed that would be thd price. I scheduled the properties for today March 8, 2016 and when I saw the invoices they both said $299! I refused to sign the invoice because it wasn't the amount I agreed to on the phone! I would not have gone with this company if I was going to be charged $299/furnace! I called Summer because I figured the employees must've not been informed of our arrangement and she stated that she never told me they would do it for $250! I was shocked that she was acting like she didn't remember our agreement. She said I received 5% off as a deal, but that still is no where close to the price I was told prior to booking. I feel like they told me a price to get my business but then when it was said and done they charged what they wanted anyways.

Desired Settlement
I am asking that they honor the price of $250/furnace because that is what we agreed to over the phone and also why I went with them.

Business Response
I will do my best to respond as my assistant who would normally pull files and assist me with things like this is away because of surgery and now recovering paperwork and such are running slower than usual here as we have to pull hard copies and that's not even on site. Please provide phone number and full address.

03/17/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were told that it was going to cost $250 to fix our control panel and get our furnace cleaned since they were running a special and a technician was being sent out anyways. We agreed on that price and when the technician gave us an invoice, he inflated the price. We told him that it was not the price we were told and he said that he was there to do the job and left. We contacted the company and to no avail did not hear back from them and we forgot all about it. Suddenly we get a call almost exactly a year from when they came in and the woman and man who was whispering in her ear said that if we didn't pay for the whole amount by the next day, then they were going to send our bill to collections. The woman did not seem to care about the conflicting bill amount. My wife decided to call them back the next day to talk to the manager. The man she spoke with didn't clearly identify himself and instead turned around and started yelling at her on the phone. He threatened her and said that it was too late and wouldn't let her speak. She remained calm and said that she would take the matter to BBB. He continued to yell and demand who she was and who the matter was regarding. She gave her name and number and then hung up. He didn't even know who we were but insisted we pay the whole amount and didn't even ask why. She was very upset by the disrespectful and threatening tone. No one at the business is taking the time to understand what happened. We feel we have been scammed to paying more than what was confirmed.

Desired Settlement
We are happy to pay the amount that was confirmed, not the one written on the invoice after the fact.

Business Response
this is either a complete fabrication or a severe miscommunication as the cost of the board is more than that !!!! no one on our staff would claim a flat rate to service the furnace clean the vents and replace parts!!!! please forward full amount ASAP. late charges as stated on your invoice are being waved for you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
We tried to clarify with no avail. We only agreed to the extra work as it was stated over the telephone by a representative. $150 was for the motherboard which we agree with. There is no issue there. The issue was with the extra work that was quoted over the phone and the having the worker charge a higher fee saying it wasn't his problem. We clarified the amount prior to the work 3 times so there is no misunderstanding on our part. We feel that the employees and workers should have communicated together so that we are not paying for something we didn't agree to or need.

05/21/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have received numerous telephone solicitations and I have repeatedly asked to have my name removed from there call list.

They do not stop calling me.

Desired Settlement
I want my name and telephone number removed from their call list

Business Response
As it can difficult to remove data from our list please subscribe to the national DNC list as our IT department removes all those registered with the agency as is our obligation.

This the only way for us to guarantee that he will not be called

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
1) My number is registered with the DNC Registry and has been since it opened.

2) In addition my understanding is if I ask to have my number removed it it the telemarketers obligation to have my number removed from their list.

I understand from an internet search that Castle Management just keeps calling and does not follow withthe DNC rules

Final Consumer Response
***Document Attached***
In addition to my last comments I checked with the DNC registry.

According to the CRTC I registered my number on Aug XX XXXX and it does not expir until 26 Sep 2016.

Please see attached.

05/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Castle Maintenance came in for a furnace repair in Feb 2014. They got the furnace running, but the blower blew all the time. There were numerous phone conversations with my tenant to them, with no satisfaction. In August I spoke with *********, sent him the invoice and did not hear back anything. Messages were left with no return calls. Got a different company in and found out Castle had replaced motor with wrong type, wrong size, hacked into door electrical system, and threw out materials that were not replaceable. Due to continuous blowing, the blower needed replacement as well. Total repair work would be over $3000. New furnace for $5500. I sent a letter to them by registered mail Sept 30th asking for a dialogue and compensation. I gave them until Oct 31st to contact me. There has been no contact made.

Desired Settlement
$525 for the invoice for the work completed in Feb
$261.45 for the investigation work into what the repair needed based on Castle's work
$3339.34 ($3714.14 to repair furnace, less $374.8 for replacing leaking condensation pan which they did fix)
Total: $4125.79 less $500 for getting the heat back on
Total damages seeking: $3625.79

Business Response
We changed their DC motor to AC at their request among other things ALSO at HER REQUEST as to get heat immediately and save her money .
They were told exactly what was going on and what would be involved to change it back , this can still be done. I tried to talk to her after she called me but was
Unable to reach her several times , if she wants this done we will.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
The invoice received had no explanation about the wrong motor being put in or that the motor needed to be changed. This information may have been provided verbally to the tenant, but at no time did I, ****** ********, receive this information. After trying to contact Castle in August, Sept, and Oct of 2014, I have received no phone, email or mail messages. A negotiation from Castle would have been better received in August, Sept, or Oct. With no response from them, I had no choice but to proceed with either repair or replacement of furnace before winter. The furnace has since been replaced. Due to the lack of professionalism and accountability, I would never accept an offer of work from this business. Financial compensation is the only solution at this point.

02/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contacted the company via email for vent cleaning.
The furnace was cleaned, but the vents were not cleaned. When I contacted *********, the manager, he tole me that my room mate had instructed his workers to only do the furnace cleaning. When I told him that I had wanted the vents cleaned, he offered to re book, but claimed that it would cost more than the $199 package quoted. i spoke to my room mate, who told me that he did not tell the men to clean the furnace and not the vents. When he called ********* later, he was told that he would be called back. This did not happen.

Desired Settlement
I believe he should honor the original price and complete the work as agreed..

Business Response
in regards to Mr ******* when we got to his house a man there said for us only to clean the furnace he said they didn't want the vent's cleaned so that is what we did later that day they called and said there had been a mistake and that he did want the vents cleaned and Mr ******* would be upset with him I said we can comeback and offered a small discount but not for the price they asked.
then Mr *******'s partner said that he did not ask for only the furnace to be done and that is a *** because Mr ******* was upset he even told me that the other man (I don't remember his name) screwed up (they used more colorful language than I am ) . we still will come back if desired but at full price. we are not in the habit of challenging people when they change their mind at the door as to what is being done (it happens all the time).

Regards

********* *****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
********* *****'s response is categorically untrue. I specifically said that I wanted the vents cleaned and my partner knew this. When the men arrived, they clearly had no clue as to what was to be done and communicated that to my partner. They created uncertainty, a craven tactic to be sure. As for the colourful language that ***** asserts was used, I can say that this is oure fancy. I subsequently had the work performed by a reputable company and as far as I'm concerned, want nothing further to do with Castle Maintenance.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating Equipment Suppliers, Furnace Repair, Furnace Cleaning, Eavestrough Cleaning, Window Cleaners, Pressure Washing Companies, Air Duct Cleaners, Duct Cleaning Companies, Chimney Cleaning Companies, Glass Coating Tinting Companies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.