BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/07/1993

Arpi's Industries Ltd.

Phone: (403) 236-2444Fax: (403) 236-83456815 40 St SE, CalgaryAB T2C 2W7 Send email to Arpi's Industries Ltd.Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Arpi's Industries Ltd. provides heating, plumbing, ventilation, air conditioning, duct cleaning and air quality solutions. Arpi's is a Premier Lennox equipment dealer however we service all makes and models of equipment.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/07/1993

BBB has determined that Arpi's Industries Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Arpi's Industries Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Arpi's Industries Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 5 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
04/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Friday, March 11, ARPI's installed my new ****** Air Conditioning unit. They finished, test ran it, and left at about 5:30 PM. Unfortunately I paid for the installation at that time.

After they left I opened the electrical disconnect box outside to check and make sure it was still in the run position, and as expected it was. When I tried to close the disconnect box it was catching on something and would not fully close. I tried a couple of times, and finally had to get on my knees and look at the underside while closing it to see the lock tab was turned to the side. I opened the box and grasped the tab between my finger and thumb, and it came right out.

Clearly the tab was not properly secured in place, but where it attaches was under the protective cover where the live wires come it.

It was after office hours so I called ARPI's the next morning at 10:33 AM. It was a Saturday and they were only open for calls for repairs. So I left a message for the installation department about the problem with my new install. I was told that someone would call me back on Monday morning.

There was no call so I called ARPI's at 11:36 AM on Monday. They took a message about the defective disconnect box and told me someone would call me by the end of the day.

There was no call again, so I called ARPI's at 8:43 AM on Wednesday. The girl wanted to take a message for them to call back and I complained that I had done that twice with no promised call back, and asked how this time would be different. After putting me on hold for a while she came back on the line and booked an appointment for the following Tuesday.

The ARPI's salesman called me 10 minutes later, and said I had done it wrong, and should have called him directly. I said I was surprised that I should not call the ARPI's office for problems like this and he said it was not, and that I should call him directly. He said he had cancelled my appointment and that the installer would be coming sometime that day to have a look. I asked what time so that I could be here, and he didn't know and so had to call me back. He would come at the end of the day after 4 PM so I am glad I asked otherwise I would have been waiting all day for him to come.

The installer arrived here at 6:30 PM on Wednesday. He opened the disconnect and removed the wire cover and that was when we saw the defective rivet which was supposed to attach the lock tab to the disconnect box. The installer commented that he had not seen a defect like that on these boxes. He said that the salesman would call me that week to let me know when it was going to be replaced, and he said I didn't need to be there if I left the breaker off.

Meanwhile, I got an email from ****** saying if I did a review on ARPI's that I would be entered for a draw for $500 prize. So I did a review and gave 3/5 describing the multiple calls I made to ARPI's and no returned calls, and that they need to put a process in place to ensure that problems like this get responded to.

On Tuesday, March 22, the salesman called me. He said the installed had reported that the disconnect box had been tampered with, and that I had to pay to have it replaced. All questions were replied with that the installer had reported it as tampered with. He then told me that even though it was tampered with, that they would replace it for free if I change my review. He laughed when I said it looked to me like this was a blackmail attempt. I refused and said it was defective like the installer said the previous Wednesday, and that I want it replaced. He called his manager and called back and said I had to pay. I told him I would be making a complaint to BBB, and he said fine.

I went and opened the disconnect box and looked again, and took pictures. It is definitely a defective rivet, that appears to be over compressed and the metal head on appeared to be squished away when installed with too much pressure, and without the head the tab came off. Either that or it was a defective rivet. The lock tab that came off is not bent or scratched in any way, and if the tab was removed from a correctly installed rivet then the box or the tab would show some evidence of it. I cannot see how they can say it was tampered with but I could not get any answers other than that is what the installer reported so that is just how it is.

I summary, I discovered the problem shortly after they left, but it was after hours. I called them the next morning about it, only 17 hours after they finished the install, and now I am being told that someone had opened the disconnect, removed the cover and exposed the live wires and either drilled out or filed off the rivet head which is difficult to access. I cannot get any discussion other than the installer reported it as tampered with, and that is all there is to it now.

I believe this is a retaliation for a review that they didn't like. And they were hoping to use bully tactics to get that review changed.

Desired Settlement
Replace the defective disconnect box with a new one that is free of defects. This must be done by appointment, and I insist on being there to QC the work afterwards.

Business Response
We would like to resolve this issue to ensure the box is safe. It does have a cover on it however we would like to visit the site again and can then better determine the condition of the rivet as well. Ultimately the box will be changed out as per Mr. ******** request. We would like to collect the original box back for our own inspection. We will make a telephone call and set an appointment with Mr. ***** to resolve this. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
On March 31, 2016 at 8:34 AM **** called, who identified himself as a manager at ARPI's. He asked if we can set up a time for them to replace the disconnect for me. I said yes and proceeded to raise some concerns I had about getting fair and honest warrantee support from ARPI's in light of the events leading to this BBB complaint.

I discussed my major concern with him. No other company will warrantee ARPI's workmanship, for example if a copper pipe weld cracks and leaks coolant. So can I get fair and honest warrantee support in the future from ARPI's in light of what has happened here, or will I hear that I somehow altered or tampered again?

He assured me that I would get fair and honest treatment in any future warrantee issues.

He told me that if the air conditioner does not appear to be running up to my expectations this summer then I should call and they will come an look it over, at no cost as part of warrantee, and fix any issues that are found.

He has put in my file that I get a free air conditioning annual checkup / tune up next spring (which they normally charge for), and that I only need to call and schedule it next spring. This check up will ensure it is operating correctly, all pressures are correct, and the system is fully charged with coolant, and they will do corrections as required. He said he was doing this because they want to earn back my confidence & trust in ****'s.

****'s booked the replacement at a mutually convenient date and time.

***** arrived on time the morning of April 1 to replace the disconnect. After opening it up, I asked ***** to show me any evidence of tampering on the disconnect and he could not show me any, not even later after completely removing it and examining it closely. There was absolutely no evidence of mechanically removing the rivet top that either of us could see. No scratches in the paint, no cracked paint from bending pieces, and no other secondary evidence of drilling out or filing off the rivet head.

I examined the new REPLACEMENT disconnect and the rivet on the lock tab ALSO appeared to be half squeezed away - certainly not what I would call a properly installed rivet that I have seen on any many other products. After thinking about it, and examining it a second time I accepted the replacement because, even though I think over 50% of the steel has been squeezed away, I thought there was enough metal there to hopefully not fail, but I do expect warrantee support if it does fail. I have attached a file with 3 pictures, those pictures are:
1 - Original Disconnect with defective rivet
2 - Replacement Disconnect with rivet partially squished away
3 - Picture of how a rivet should look
The third picture is not of a disconnect, but is a rivet on something entirely different, but it shows what a rivet should look like.

My original conclusion remains the same - the rivet was defective, and now the replacement disconnect also had a similarly defective rivet, but not as bad. And based on the pictures I included, I am confident anyone reading this will also have the same conclusions.

In my opinion, the manufacturer has an incorrect riveting process that needs correcting. I urge ARPI's to follow up with the manufacturer like they say they plan to. ARPI's should also examine all disconnects for this defect, and I think should reject any disconnects with anything other than properly formed rivet heads.

I also strongly recommend that ARPI's review their processes to ensure that this kind of thing does not happen again. I am still in disbelief that ARPI's forced me to make this complaint to get fair and honest warrantee support.

I consider this matter resolved to my satisfaction providing that ARPI's lives up to the two agreements made with me:
1. ARPI's will provide honest and fair warrantee support on the unit. I expect to never again hear that I tampered with, nor altered the system. This includes the partial rivet on the replacement disconnect.
2. ARPI's will do a full check up / tune up next spring at no cost to me. I understand that I will have to call ARPI's and book it.

05/13/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On approximately March 12, the Arpi's project manager presented me a full quote. We agreed the unit would be installed at the side rear of my home, and agreed that I would an additional $200.00 plus GST for additional copper pipe necessary to install at this location.

On March 17, Arpi's installed a new air conditioner unit in my home. The installers stated that the planned install location would not be ideal due to the proximity of natural gas lines. The installers and I agreed to place the unit at the front side of my home. The installers stated that installation in the new location would not require the additional copper pipe. The installers performed the work and did not install the copper pipe. I provided my credit card information for billing and asked the installers that since the pipe was not installed to please ensure the $200.00 plus GST was removed from the quote. The installers agreed to inform the project manager about removing the cost.

The cost of the copper pipe was not removed from the quote and the full price was billed to my ***** I contacted the Arpi's project manager several times in March and April. Each time, he stated that I will be refunded for the $200.00 plus GST. As of now (May 7), Arpi's has not credited my *****

Desired Settlement
Refund of $200.00 plus GST ($210.00) to my ***** or as cash.

Business Response
The refund of $200 plus GST was on the account as of last week. The credit card is being processed shortly. I trust this file is closed. Thank you ****. ******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received the full $210 refund on my Visa on May 11. Thank you for resolving this issue.

01/18/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a Lennox AC unit from Costco (Arpi's) on July 10, 2015. At the time of purchase I was told it came with a cover, brackets and a thermostat. When it was installed on July 17th, they did not install the thermostat or the cover. I had to call them and they came back to install the new thermostat, however, they said the cover has been ordered and will be here shortly, that was 4 months ago. A few months later, we turned off the AC unit and turned on the heat only to find out the heat was no longer working on the furnace Arpi's worked on. I called them and they sent a technician to test the furnace and said the blower had to be replaced, but will not do any work to it unless I paid them upfront. I knew the blower wasn't the issue as there was air coming out of the vents. I called in another company to come test furnace and found out that the circuit board had been fried; I paid for them to replace the board.

I still owed Arpi's about $700 from the original bill, but I was waiting until I received the cover. Just recently they have threatened me to send my bill to a collection agency, I told them I was willing to pay for it. Due to the damages to my furnace we agreed I would pay them $538.45. When I asked when the cover would be here they said it was ordered and will be delivered once it arrived. I told them to please give me a date when it will arrive and I will settle the bill then as I did not feel comfortable paying for something I had not received yet. They had a different agenda and threatened me again that they will send this to a collection agency.

Desired Settlement
I was willing to settle with them at $538.45 with a cover for my AC unit. At this point I will pay them for 50% of the final bill of $731.26, providing they deliver the cover.

Business Response
We would like to clarify that the air-conditioning installation was originally quoted to sit on a pad. While on-site, the customer requested we eliminate the pad and have the unit installed on rails instead. That was completed and normally attracts an additional minimum charge of $185 +gst. Please note that we waived this change order.

Our installer, ****, did not install the CS5500 thermostat, and this was later corrected. We apologize for this oversight. We clearly acknowledge this shortfall and have installed the CS5500 thermostat as per the quote and agreement. We apologize for that inconvenience.

In our attempt to settle this project, we have repeatedly requested a copy of the other company's invoice that the customer hired to repair his furnace. This has not been provided.

We would like to also highlight that the air-conditioning cover would have been an additional charge. In our attempts to negotiate a settlement, we were going to give this away for free but the customer did not follow through as agreed. There is no notation on our paperwork indicating that an air-conditioning cover was originally included with the project.

We have made sincere attempts to resolve the customers concerns and did believe we had an agreement. Unfortunately, nothing has come to fruition. Therefore, we had no choice but to turn the full amount over to the collection agency. We appreciate and value the BBB's complaint process however all efforts to conclude this project with the customer have been exhausted.

We request payment in full of $731.26 excluding an air-conditioning cover as this was never part of this amount.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
On December 8, a copy of the invoice for the repairs done to my furnace was sent to ****'s, ***** replied to that email and **** brought of up that I bounce in conversation we had on the 10th. When I inquired about the brackets at the time of purchase, I was not told they were extra and the sales person said there was a cover included, he even showed me a picture of it.

I have tried to be fair, I was more than willing to settle this but they had a different agenda. **** and I came to an agreement December 10th. That same day ***** sent me an email saying they had ordered the cover and will here soon but demanded I pay for the bill. I did not feel comfortable paying for the remaining balance until the cover arrived.

I am more than willing to settle this, I'll pay for $365.63 with a cover.

Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

Final Business Response
Please refer to our original response and our position does not change. We reiterate, no invoice was provided. An estimate & proposal for repair work was provided, No invoice was ever provided. We request payment in full of $731.26 excluding an air-conditioning cover as this was never part of this amount. We have made sincere attempts to resolve the customer's concerns but the file has been turned over to a collection agency.

12/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In the summer of 2011, we purchased an air conditioning unit from Arpi's. We paid a premium to get the quietest unit available. A couple of years ago, we had to pay to get the unit turned around because our neighbour was building a fence and we would no longer be able to access the panel to the machine as the machine was too close to the fence line. We paid to have it moved. Last month, we decided to put our house for sale. In the process of getting an RPR for our property, we were told by the City of Calgary, that our AC unit was too close to the property line. We contacted Arpi's to ask them why they would install a unit that wasn't compliant with the city's bylaw. Arpi's told us it was our responsibility. They are a company who specialize in installing AC units everyday. This bylaw was in place way before 2011. At no point was I ever told that my unit was not compliant (not when they initially installed it and not when they moved it). There was room to move it closer to the house. Had we been told that it was not compliant, we would have told them to put it closer to the house. We asked Arpi's to move our unit at no charge. Begrudgingly and without advising us, they came and shimmied the unit a couple of centimetres (after we had specifically told them how many centimetres the city wanted it moved to meet the bylaw). They didn't move it enough. So we called them again and they said that in order to move it the 15 cm we were told by the city, they would need to charge us (and they did!) $519.75. We felt like we were being held hostage. We needed to move it if we wanted a compliant RPR and the city wouldn't approve the RPR without the unit being compliant. Arpi's says that they put the unit where the existing connections were. That is true. But it is a fact that they installed the unit too close to the property line when they could have done it right the first (and second) time. We had a deck built a couple of years ago (in a different area of the yard) and the contractor made sure that he was within the property line (we didn't have to tell him how to install his deck so that it was compliant). The workers that came to do the move agreed with me that the unit should have been installed right the first time. The guys said, and I quote "I'm here to do the job right this time". We don't believe we should have paid to have it moved.

Desired Settlement
We are asking to be reimbursed the $519.75 that we paid to have the unit moved.

Business Response
Arpi's was hired over four years ago to provide and install an air conditioner. We were to utilize and hookup to existing lines that were provided by others. Arpi's did not choose the location but rather hooked up to the existing lines. It is unfortunate that due to a new fence and the eventual sale of the property that a Real Property Report identified a bylaw constraint. Ultimately it is the homeowner's responsibility. We realize this is not the answer that this customer wanted but it is our position.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
As a company who installs AC units, we believe it should be part of your practices to install units to be compliant with the city bylaws. You should have installed the unit (with the existing line) to be at least 20 cm from the property line, as per the by-law. We believe this oversight shows a great lack of professionalism and our position stands that we should not have to pay for the relocation.

Final Business Response
We realize this is an unfortunate situation for the Homeowner. It is not industry practice to require Real Property Reports for installations (even if they are not hooking into existing lines).
Many years ago we were hired to install an air conditioning unit to existing lines. We fulfilled that contractual obligation which passed the appropriate City by-laws as they relate to the HVAC industry. There are so many variables here and it's an unfortunate situation. Has the neighbors property been bought/sold again? Was there an arrangement with the previous owners about the fence and property line? Was the original fence compliant, was the new fence moved or compliant? These questions come to mind but they are not relevant to the installation done by Arpi's. The unit was installed and hooked up to existing lines and performed appropriately for many years while the customers still lived at the property. Once again, we fulfilled our obligation and the charges that the homeowners paid were fair and appropriate for the work performed.

10/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had an a/c unit installed on my furnace in 2009. Having the basement finished now and discovered Arpi's had never pulled a permit or had the electrical work inspected. Talked with them (not the manager as he wouldn't talk with me) and was told that the manager said they would pull the permit but since its been so long I would have to pay for $380 for it to be done. As far as I'm concerned I believe that all should have been done by them to begin with (especially the inspection).

Desired Settlement
A permit pulled and inspection done at no cost to me.

Business Response
As we communicated to Mr. ****** when he contacted Arpi's earlier this month, we can certainly process a permit for this installation. Regretfully there would be a charge as indicated to him. Mr. ******'s comments above indicate a charge of $380. However, we would invoice him $300 plus gst. We apologize for any inconvenience but due to the age of the installation, we are unable to confirm what transpired.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
According to the city of Calgary what transpired is a permit or inspection was never done for the work performed. I finally found my reciept from where it was purchased and the date it was purchased was july/2010. Regardless of when it was done the permit was not pulled before the work was started and the inspection was never completed after it was done. Both are required to be done by the city.

Final Business Response
We would be pleased to process a permit application for Mr. ******. The charge would be $300 + gst ******* by credit card. Unfortunately, this is a chargeable item. If Mr. ****** would like us to proceed, we can certainly have this expedited quickly . We apologize for the inconvenience.

09/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
June 6, 2014 Arpis performed $405 maintenance service on furnace and damaged electronic air filters which would not function after service. Called back July 25 to fix air filters and charged a further $125 diagnostic for air filter which no longer work.

Desired Settlement
Refund of diagnostic fee and replacement cost of air filters damaged by Arpis ($334.69)

Business Response
On June 6, 2014, Arpi's performed a precision tune-up on the furnace, air conditioner and humidifier. In addition, Arpi's rewired thermostat (note this service was not charged and in fact was offered free to the customer). No work was performed on the electronic air cleaners *******

On July 8, 2014, Arpi's returned at customer's request to address the sparking of the ***** Arpi's replaced the **** with 5" wide pleated filters and charged for these services.

Arpi's has no documentation identifying any work done on the **** that would indicate that ****'s caused any type of damage. There is no evidence to suggest this.

Therefore, it is Arpi's position that the costs are fair and no refund will be provided.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
In January 2014 Arpis was paid $1,427.21 to replace the thermostat which they said was defective, so the thermostat re-wiring was not a "free" service as they claim. Further Arpis was called in a few days later because the new thermostat did not fix the problem and the furnace motor was replaced at additional cost.

Prior to June 6, 2014 and the Arpis service, the furnace air cleaners were working. Arpis' technician was specifically informed before leaving the air cleaners were making abnormal noise, but he left anyway.

On July 20, 2014, the AC condenser tray overflowed and flooded the basement. This was obviously not properly cleaned and serviced as claimed in June. In addition to cleanup, part of the basement carpet need to be replaced.

So after paying Arpis over $1850 for the above work in 2014, Arpis was specifically requested to fix the problem they caused only to the air cleaner units on June 6th and further charged us $334.69 which included $125 diagnostic for the non-functional air cleaner unit which was a result of their service.

Arpis performance around our furnace service work in 2014 has been very unsatisfactory and the resolution requested was only the "tip of iceberg" of recent shoddy practices by Arpis.


Final Consumer Response /* (****, 11, 2014/09/16) */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Air cleaners were working before ****'s service and we're not working by the time ****'s left.
Cleaning of the air conditioning condenser tray during servicing was unsatisfactory as the drain tube was plugged and resulted in flooding in the basement.
****'s was called back to address a known problem for which ****'s charged an additional fee $150 troubleshooting fee to tell us what we already knew - the air cleaners were not working.

Final Business Response /* (****, 13, 2014/09/24) */
As originally stated, there is no evidence to suggest that any damage was caused by the actions of ****'s technician.

The original call on June 6, 2014 was for a tune-up of the furnace, air-conditioner and humidifier. There is no notation or comment of any work or damage to the electronic air cleaners. The company has no reason to suspect any equipment failure or damage was the result of the company's actions.

On July 8, 2014, ****'s returned at the customer's request to address the sparking of the electronic air cleaners (****). ****'s replaced the **** with 5" wide pleated filters and charged appropriately for those services.

We have no additional evidence to provide and maintain that the costs are fair and no refund will be provided.

06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called to arrange Arpi's to come out and do a Spring maintenance package in May 2014. The girl I spoke to on the phone asked me a series of questions that led me to believe she knew what she was talking about such as how many furnaces I have (2) and what kind they were (******). I explained that we needed a particular kind of filter and she said it wasn't a problem, she had our filters in stock and would send them with the repair guy. She quoted me $500 and said it would take 3-4 hours. The repair man showed up on the day of and got to work, 3 hours later he came up and said he couldn't complete the job because he didn't have filters, my husband said we had indicated this on the phone while booking the appointment, the repair guy said no one gave them to him and that he would have to drive across the city to get them and left. I called Arpi's and spoke to a lady who ******* when I told her the story and confirmed that they were still sitting at the Arpi's location, she then asked me what I wanted her to do about it and said she would pull him from the job. I called back to speak to the manager who talked the whole time I was talking and in the end just said yah, sorry, that sucks. When the repair guy finally returned with the filters 1.5 hours later and finished the job, our bill was $800 not $500 as quoted and the time was now 5.5 hours not 3-4 hours, mu husband missed a full day of work. When he asked the repair guy why the price had changed he said he didn't know. The only positive thing I have to say about Arpi's is that the repair guy who showed up was great. Professional and polite and apologetic about not having the filters. I'm a business owner myself and I really take exception to the misquoted price, it's shady and bad business practice. What should have happened was the repair guy or a customer service person should have called myself or my husband and indicated that we had been misquoted and that there would be additionally charges. No one likes to make that call but when you own a business man up and do it, don't just randomly assume that it's totally fine for you to spend an extra $300 of customers money.

Desired Settlement
I want them to honor the original price and get their staff some customer service training.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** ******* ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ***
Contact Email: ***********@arpis.com
I do have to apologize that our tech did not have the filter size that the consumer gave to our CSR over the phone in his van.Our procedures have been ammended that will help prevent this from happening in the future, The filter size and style that was given ended up being the wrong one that would have necessitated the Service tech returning back to our shop even if he had them on board. Please see the attached hand written explaination from our tech on site. These filters and their installation costs have already been discounted from our attached flat rate pricing sheet.We also serviced her 2 humidifiers and replaced her pads which we did not charge her for. I feel we have treated this consumer as fair as possible given the circumstances.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
The tech told my husband when he went back to get the correct filters they were sitting out for him, I had given the girl the correct size. The original price was $500 so they obviously DID charge us for the humidifiers and pads since we paid $800. I will never use Arpi's again and will continue to let people know about my experience. I believe it was **** who I originally spoke to and then called my husband to say he was going to do "something" for us. This is a waste of my time.

Final Business Response
In an attempt to maintain a GOOD relationship with our valued customer I am prepared to offer her a FREE Fall Precision Tune-up (PTU) on both of her furnaces in Fall. If she is willing to accept this please have her call me to arrange this. I know it was not myself that she spoke to earlier, as I was not in Town during this period in May. I am willing to work with her in the future by offerring her these 2 FREE PTU's. I hope she is as well.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I appreciate the offer but I'll go elsewhere. I've been burned by your company twice now, I would be foolish to let it happen a third time but I do appreciate you taking the time to hear my complaint. Thank you.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating Contractors, Furnace Repair, Furnace Cleaning, Furnace Replacement, Furnace Sales and Repair Services, Boiler Part Suppliers, Boilers-Sales & Service, Boiler Dealers, Heater Cleaning Repair Services, Water Heater - Tankless, Hydronic Heating, Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers, Water Heater Repair Stores, Plumbers, Boiler Repair Cleaning Companies, Air Conditioning Companies

Additional Information

top

Arpi's Industries Ltd. was a recipient of the 2011 BBB Business Ethics Award in the Large Business Category. Business Ethics Awards are given to recognize trustworthy busnesses and organizations that display ethical leadership in our community.

BBB file opened: 05/12/1983Business started: 01/06/1963
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1963, AB

Contact Information
Principal: Julie Berdin (President) Phil Laprairie (Manager) John Senycz (Service Manager)
Business Category

Heating Contractors, Furnace Repair, Furnace Cleaning, Furnace Replacement, Furnace Sales and Repair Services, Boiler Part Suppliers, Boilers-Sales & Service, Boiler Dealers, Heater Cleaning Repair Services, Water Heater - Tankless, Hydronic Heating, Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers, Water Heater Repair Stores, Plumbers, Boiler Repair Cleaning Companies, Air Conditioning Companies

Products & Services

Arpi's offers 24 hours emergency service and competitive rates, performing furnace and air conditioning repairs, new installations, hot water tank replacements (and "on-demand" or "tankless" water heaters), ductwork design and fabrication.

Hours of Operation

24 Hr Emergency Service; Monday to Friday 7:30am to 5:00pm; Saturday 8:30am to Noon (Parts Dept. Only); Closed Sundays and Holiday Weekends

Service Area

Calgary and Area

Industry Tips
HIRING A PLUMBER

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Arpi's Industries Ltd. has received 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 5 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

6 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Arpi's Industries Ltd.

6815 40 St SE

Calgary, AB T2C 2W7

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6815 40 St SE 

    Calgary, AB T2C 2W7(403) 236-2444

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Arpi's Industries Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating Contractors

HIRING A PLUMBER
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.