BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/07/1993

Arpi's Industries Ltd.

Phone: (403) 236-2444Fax: (403) 236-83456815 40 St SE, CalgaryAB T2C 2W7 Send email to Arpi's Industries Ltd.Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Arpi's Industries Ltd. provides heating, plumbing, ventilation, air conditioning, duct cleaning and air quality solutions. Arpi's is a Premier Lennox equipment dealer however we service all makes and models of equipment.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/07/1993

BBB has determined that Arpi's Industries Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Arpi's Industries Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Arpi's Industries Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
05/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had a problem with our water heater (noticed on Sunday April 20). The pilot light would not stay on. Changed thermal coupler by myself. When disassembling burner unit noticed previous install had cross threaded nut on pilot tube where it enters the control valve. On re-install of burner was able to properly thread flange nut for pilot tube. On lighting pilot light gas smell was noticed.
Called Arpi's for advice, spoke to technician on the phone and advised him of what ive done already. He advised it require an inspection and that repair would be included in the 2 hr visit he was scheduling. Technicians ethnic accent was extremely difficult to understand on the phone.
Once here technician confirmed there was a leak (which i already knew) and said someone would call first thing in the morning about replacing the whole burner unit. I was also quoted a price for a new tank which i verbally ok'd. I was anxious to get the issue resolved as we needed hot water. The technician was unprofessional in his conduct. Leaving a mess by knocking over all my tools stationed nearby(did not even attempt to clean them). He seemed to be in a rush to leave... so much so that he had to come back later that night , ringing my doorbell after 10pm as he had figured out he mischarged me by $100 and needed to charge me again.
The following day I waited until 11:30am. no one showed up at the house, no one phoned. I phoned and spoke to ***** in residential service department. She told me she would phone back. I received a call back shortly before 2 pm that went to voicemail. ***** asked me to phone her back on this XXX-XXX-XXXX. I called back and left a message on that number right away. I tried calling back that number multiple times throughout the day with no answer each time.
It is now Wednesday and we have had no hot water for 4 days. I have given up contacting Arpis due to their poor handling of our emergency request. Obviously this is not a priority for them. I would like an explanation from the service manager and a refund for the full amount that I paid.

Desired Settlement
I would like an explanation from the service manager and a refund for the full amount that I paid.

Business Response
My Name is **** ******, I am the Residential Service Manager for Arpi's Industries Ltd.I have followed up on this complaint with Mr. **** *******. Our Service tech did not follow our proper proto call of emailing any outstanding issues left from on call to the office to be followed up on immediately the following Business day, as a result this call was handed from 1 CSR to anther and not seen to completion. I have issued a FULL credit to Mr. ******* and apologized for any inconvienec we may have caused him and his family. The Company's policies have been reviewed with this teach and will continue to be monitored and reviewed.

06/13/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
June 6, 2014 Arpis performed $405 maintenance service on furnace and damaged electronic air filters which would not function after service. Called back July 25 to fix air filters and charged a further $125 diagnostic for air filter which no longer work.

Desired Settlement
Refund of diagnostic fee and replacement cost of air filters damaged by Arpis ($334.69)

Business Response
On June 6, 2014, Arpi's performed a precision tune-up on the furnace, air conditioner and humidifier. In addition, Arpi's rewired thermostat (note this service was not charged and in fact was offered free to the customer). No work was performed on the electronic air cleaners *******

On July 8, 2014, Arpi's returned at customer's request to address the sparking of the ***** Arpi's replaced the **** with 5" wide pleated filters and charged for these services.

Arpi's has no documentation identifying any work done on the **** that would indicate that ****'s caused any type of damage. There is no evidence to suggest this.

Therefore, it is Arpi's position that the costs are fair and no refund will be provided.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
In January 2014 Arpis was paid $1,427.21 to replace the thermostat which they said was defective, so the thermostat re-wiring was not a "free" service as they claim. Further Arpis was called in a few days later because the new thermostat did not fix the problem and the furnace motor was replaced at additional cost.

Prior to June 6, 2014 and the Arpis service, the furnace air cleaners were working. Arpis' technician was specifically informed before leaving the air cleaners were making abnormal noise, but he left anyway.

On July 20, 2014, the AC condenser tray overflowed and flooded the basement. This was obviously not properly cleaned and serviced as claimed in June. In addition to cleanup, part of the basement carpet need to be replaced.

So after paying Arpis over $1850 for the above work in 2014, Arpis was specifically requested to fix the problem they caused only to the air cleaner units on June 6th and further charged us $334.69 which included $125 diagnostic for the non-functional air cleaner unit which was a result of their service.

Arpis performance around our furnace service work in 2014 has been very unsatisfactory and the resolution requested was only the "tip of iceberg" of recent shoddy practices by Arpis.


Final Consumer Response /* (****, 11, 2014/09/16) */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Air cleaners were working before ****'s service and we're not working by the time ****'s left.
Cleaning of the air conditioning condenser tray during servicing was unsatisfactory as the drain tube was plugged and resulted in flooding in the basement.
****'s was called back to address a known problem for which ****'s charged an additional fee $150 troubleshooting fee to tell us what we already knew - the air cleaners were not working.

Final Business Response /* (****, 13, 2014/09/24) */
As originally stated, there is no evidence to suggest that any damage was caused by the actions of ****'s technician.

The original call on June 6, 2014 was for a tune-up of the furnace, air-conditioner and humidifier. There is no notation or comment of any work or damage to the electronic air cleaners. The company has no reason to suspect any equipment failure or damage was the result of the company's actions.

On July 8, 2014, ****'s returned at the customer's request to address the sparking of the electronic air cleaners (****). ****'s replaced the **** with 5" wide pleated filters and charged appropriately for those services.

We have no additional evidence to provide and maintain that the costs are fair and no refund will be provided.

06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called to arrange Arpi's to come out and do a Spring maintenance package in May 2014. The girl I spoke to on the phone asked me a series of questions that led me to believe she knew what she was talking about such as how many furnaces I have (2) and what kind they were (******). I explained that we needed a particular kind of filter and she said it wasn't a problem, she had our filters in stock and would send them with the repair guy. She quoted me $500 and said it would take 3-4 hours. The repair man showed up on the day of and got to work, 3 hours later he came up and said he couldn't complete the job because he didn't have filters, my husband said we had indicated this on the phone while booking the appointment, the repair guy said no one gave them to him and that he would have to drive across the city to get them and left. I called Arpi's and spoke to a lady who ******* when I told her the story and confirmed that they were still sitting at the Arpi's location, she then asked me what I wanted her to do about it and said she would pull him from the job. I called back to speak to the manager who talked the whole time I was talking and in the end just said yah, sorry, that sucks. When the repair guy finally returned with the filters 1.5 hours later and finished the job, our bill was $800 not $500 as quoted and the time was now 5.5 hours not 3-4 hours, mu husband missed a full day of work. When he asked the repair guy why the price had changed he said he didn't know. The only positive thing I have to say about Arpi's is that the repair guy who showed up was great. Professional and polite and apologetic about not having the filters. I'm a business owner myself and I really take exception to the misquoted price, it's shady and bad business practice. What should have happened was the repair guy or a customer service person should have called myself or my husband and indicated that we had been misquoted and that there would be additionally charges. No one likes to make that call but when you own a business man up and do it, don't just randomly assume that it's totally fine for you to spend an extra $300 of customers money.

Desired Settlement
I want them to honor the original price and get their staff some customer service training.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** ******* ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ***
Contact Email: ***********@arpis.com
I do have to apologize that our tech did not have the filter size that the consumer gave to our CSR over the phone in his van.Our procedures have been ammended that will help prevent this from happening in the future, The filter size and style that was given ended up being the wrong one that would have necessitated the Service tech returning back to our shop even if he had them on board. Please see the attached hand written explaination from our tech on site. These filters and their installation costs have already been discounted from our attached flat rate pricing sheet.We also serviced her 2 humidifiers and replaced her pads which we did not charge her for. I feel we have treated this consumer as fair as possible given the circumstances.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
The tech told my husband when he went back to get the correct filters they were sitting out for him, I had given the girl the correct size. The original price was $500 so they obviously DID charge us for the humidifiers and pads since we paid $800. I will never use Arpi's again and will continue to let people know about my experience. I believe it was **** who I originally spoke to and then called my husband to say he was going to do "something" for us. This is a waste of my time.

Final Business Response
In an attempt to maintain a GOOD relationship with our valued customer I am prepared to offer her a FREE Fall Precision Tune-up (PTU) on both of her furnaces in Fall. If she is willing to accept this please have her call me to arrange this. I know it was not myself that she spoke to earlier, as I was not in Town during this period in May. I am willing to work with her in the future by offerring her these 2 FREE PTU's. I hope she is as well.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I appreciate the offer but I'll go elsewhere. I've been burned by your company twice now, I would be foolish to let it happen a third time but I do appreciate you taking the time to hear my complaint. Thank you.

10/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have contract, product, estimate, service and installation concerns and they have threatened me to pay by Sept 5, 2013 or they will put a lien on my home. I requested they remove it and i pay nothing as was not installed properly, nor product information provided prior and nor a breakdown of material and labour as requested.

Desired Settlement
They can remove unit or I will and they can pick up from front lawn and I do not owe them a penny for what I have had to go through to date. In all fairness, offered a 50/50 split but am not happy with their threat and response that i have to pay 80% and they will take furnace. It is not fully installed nor operating since July 23 since they made unreasonable requests of me removing and replacing all my gas lines to hook up. City inspector came by and said that was not necessary.

Business Response
30/09/13
Response from business by e-mail:
Hello Ms. *******.

I am responding to the email that you sent to ****** on Friday, September 13th, 2013. In the interim since your email to ****** on August 1st, 2013, we have spoken on the telephone numerous times about your project. As you are aware, we have forwarded this file to our lawyers for further handling. For the benefit of your files and the parties copied here, I will summarize what we discussed.

The last time we talked I had given you a price for removing the furnace and duct work. In fact, the price was actually a discount on the original project to assist you. This price was a discount of 20% of the entire job cost and Arpi's would recycle the metal and attempt to re-sell the furnace as "used".

I also discussed with you that we would come back and re-install the duct work if you were keeping the house and not tearing it down. Arpi's would be invoicing the labor to remove the ductwork and re-install the ductwork. You were not 100% sure that you be tearing the house down and then said maybe you should wait so we discussed payment for our job. This is when you said you did not want to do anything at this time including paying for the job. Unfortunately, not paying for the project was not an option that we were willing to accept. As a result, we turned the file over to our lawyers who placed a Builders' Lien on the property as it was 43 days after our installation. You also stated "I will see you in court", and unfortunately this is where we ended our conversation. We attempted to fairly resolve this with you over numerous conversations without success.

We will not be making any arrangements as per your notice below. We will however, endeavor to proceed with work that you instruct but will need payment for previous work before commencing. If you wish to make payment arrangements, please contact me or our Credit Manager - *****.

Regards,


**** *********
Manager, Residential Division
6815, 40th Street SE
Calgary AB T2C 2W7
Main: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Direct: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Cell: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Email: **************@arpis.com


Consumer Response
09/10/13
e-mail from consumer:
Good morning **** and ******,

I will have your furnace and material on my driveway for you to pick up and remove off of my property on Saturday, October 12, 2013 between 11:00 am and 2:00 pm. Consider this your 48 hour notice to pick up your belongings. After that date and time, your equipment and material is no longer my responsibility.

I am not your storage facility and have requested removal of all in an email on August 1, 2013. And further requested you to arrange a time that works best for you to pick up and you have declined to do so. By the way, your men left my gas line open when they left the job on July 24, 2013 and I had to pay a contractor to cap it as this was extremely unsafe.

Regards,
** *******

08/27/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/20/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating Contractors, Furnace Repair, Furnace Cleaning, Furnace Replacement, Furnace Sales and Repair Services, Heater Cleaning Repair Services, Hydronic Heating, Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers, Plumbers, Air Conditioning Companies

Additional Information

top

Arpi's Industries Ltd. was a recipient of the 2011 BBB Business Ethics Award in the Large Business Category. Business Ethics Awards are given to recognize trustworthy busnesses and organizations that display ethical leadership in our community.

BBB file opened: 05/12/1983Business started: 01/06/1963
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1963, AB

Business Management
Phil Laprairie (Manager)John Senycz (Service Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Julie Berdin (President)
Business Category

Heating Contractors, Furnace Repair, Furnace Cleaning, Furnace Replacement, Furnace Sales and Repair Services, Heater Cleaning Repair Services, Hydronic Heating, Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers, Plumbers, Air Conditioning Companies

Products & Services

Arpi's offers 24 hours emergency service and competitive rates, performing furnace and air conditioning repairs, new installations, hot water tank replacements (and "on-demand" or "tankless" water heaters), ductwork design and fabrication.

Hours of Operation

24 Hr Emergency Service; Monday to Friday 7:30am to 5:00pm; Saturday 8:30am to Noon (Parts Dept. Only); Closed Sundays and Holiday Weekends

Service Area

Calgary and Area

Industry Tips
HIRING A PLUMBER

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

6 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Arpi's Industries Ltd.

6815 40 St SE

Calgary, AB T2C 2W7

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6815 40 St SE 

    Calgary, AB T2C 2W7(403) 236-2444

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Arpi's Industries Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating Contractors

HIRING A PLUMBER
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.