BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/07/2014

The Garage Door Depot - Calgary

(403) 366-7911View Additional Phone Numbers5918 5 St SE #9, CalgaryAB T2H 1L4 Send email to The Garage Door Depot - CalgaryFacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/07/2014

BBB has determined that The Garage Door Depot - Calgary meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for The Garage Door Depot - Calgary include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on The Garage Door Depot - Calgary

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 9
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 9 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a new garage door, special ordered with a top of the line opener. The door tracks were installed crooked and the door crooked and would not close at top, and the opener incorrect as well. The main shaft was installed bent with middle support bearing missing. The exterior door seal was put up crooked and missing a 3 foot section on one side. Hinges installed crooked and no pilot holes before forcing large lag bolts threw bracing. Bracing was split and never reported, instead extra holes, not factory, were created.
I sent a list of problems of at least 10 distinct concerns with many pictures. This included a picture of the installation manual unopened. I asked that a different more experienced installer come and re-install my door correctly.
I also explained that I am personally employed as an installer, different product, however same required knowledge and skills, including reading and following manufactures installation guide.
I received a reply saying that I need not be concerned about their installer's not reading installation manuals because they do installs everyday and they want to schedule the original installer to come back and check.
Unfortunately, the original installer never finished the install and never cleaned up or even had to remove old door! All apart of the package deal.
And I paid immediately! My bad.

Desired Settlement
I have since re-installed the door correctly and took many more photos while doing this.
The door hinges cannot be adjusted as the way they have been originally installed. Door sections have extra holes because of wrong positioning of hinges. Unless new panels and new framing were to be completely replaced, not much more can be done.
I have had to replace exterior seal as well.
At this time, I want my installation fee refunded!
Or, maybe they would like to replace the damaged door panels, replace hinges correctly, come pick up all the debris from the old door and replace my split wood framing. If the door installer used the manual, then this is what I would have received!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******** VP & Owner
Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************************
Dear BBB & Complainant,

All apologies for our delay in responding. We just received the Second Notice moments ago (via mail). No First Notice was received.

Details: Back on January 25, 2015 the complainant emailed our company which outlined his displeasure of the installation of his door package. We readily responded on January 26, 2015 with the following

"Good Afternoon *******.
I am glad you are generally pleased with the door. I apologise for the things you are not 100% satisfied with. I would like to schedule a time that I can come by with ****, the technician that installed your door, (he would like to join me), so we can go through your list of deficiencies one by one with you. I will state that our technicians do not require the use of the manuals as they install these doors and openers all day, every day, so please know that there was no need for concern there. Please let me know when you are available.

Kind Regards
**** *******, Vice President"

and had no response. We then followed up with the same email on January 28, 2015 - still to no avail.

Please know, our commitment to customer service is unwavering and this **** most certainly be rectified to the Complainants satisfaction.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Garage Doors & Openers, Garage Door Repair, Garage Organizers, Floors - Garage

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 30/07/2013Business started: 01/03/2005Business started locally: 28/01/2011
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2011, AB

Contact Information
Principal: Rob Miller (President)
Business Category

Garage Doors & Openers, Garage Door Repair, Garage Organizers, Floors - Garage


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Garage Door Depot - Calgary has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 9 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Garage Door Depot - Calgary

5918 5 St SE #9

Calgary, AB T2H 1L4

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5918 5 St SE #9 

    Calgary, AB T2H 1L4(403) 366-7911

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Garage Door Depot - Calgary is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (855) 366-7911
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Garage Doors & Openers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.