BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Hi-Tech Construction Ltd.

(403) 889-4656Private Address, CalgaryAB T3J 3S4 Send email to Hi-Tech Construction Ltd.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Hi-Tech Construction Ltd. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hi-Tech Construction Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hi-Tech Construction Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

A contract for garage construction including stucco finishing was signed April 9,2014. The stucco has still not been completed. Numerous emails have been sent on my behalf to ********* ***** regarding the stucco getting completed. In each email he makes a promise to have it done by "next" or "end of the week". These emails have been going back and forth since mid summer. There is alway an "excuse" as to why it was not completed. Initially when the contract was signed, he told me the project could take up the 6 was to have stucco completed.
Not only this, the workers left scrap materials and empty boxes behind for me to dispose of. In the contract it clearly states they would do cleanup. The workers ruined numerous personal items of mine that where in the yard or garage while doing the work. They broke light bulbs and did not replace or clean up broken glass.

Desired Settlement
It was agreed upon that I would pay for the work done after it was completed. To date, I have NOT yet paid for the stucco. I want the stucco completed and cleanup done prior to the snow falling. In his last email to me, ********* ***** stated he will be leaving the city on November 1st for a month. I want the stucco done prior to that date. I have told him that I want financial compensation for my time, as I could have easily hired someone else to complete the job sooner and the time it has taken me to clean up after his workers. He did not comment on this request.

Business Response
The stucco company just did the first two layers of cement and haven't done the last finished coat yet

I have hired the new company to finish up the rest of the work which will be done with in a week from now

I apologize for the delay that happened to this project and any inconvenience that occurred to customer due to this

I am wiling to give 500 discount for this delay

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
I contacted the business on Nov 7, 2014 via text and email, stating all remaining work would be completed by another contractor. The failed to respond to my numerous attempts to contact them. They are well aware I no longer want them to complete the work.

Final Business Response
I would like to Apologize to customer and would love to finish up the work for her.
If she haven't got the work done, please let me know right away so I could go finish up the rest of the work.

There was some disturbance in my work last year that's why I wasn't able to finish up the rest.

Please let me know if I still have a chance to keep my trust and go finish up the work

Industry Comparison| Chart

Garage Construction Companies, Home Renovations

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/10/2013Business started: 06/02/2013
Type of Entity


Incorporated: February 2013, AB

Business Management
Principal: Gagan Kalsi (Owner)
Business Category

Garage Construction Companies, Home Renovations


1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hi-Tech Construction Ltd. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Garage Construction Companies


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.