BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/07/2014

XLNC Furniture Inc.

Phone: (403) 291-9562Fax: (403) 263-2257Bay C 2020 32 Ave NE, CalgaryAB T2E 6T4 Send email to XLNC Furniture Inc.Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/07/2014

BBB has determined that XLNC Furniture Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered XLNC Furniture Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised XLNC Furniture Inc.'s rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on XLNC Furniture Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
01/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We ordered a sectional sofa and an accent chair from XLNC furniture in September 2014. We have had many problems since then.

1. The company did not contact us as the delivery date approached. We eventually phoned them and they let us know that it would not be arriving on time.

2. When the furniture did arrive, the two pieces of the sectional were not correct - rather than making an L shape, they made a straight line when connected. The delivery men left the wrong pieces in our home and garbage and packing materials all over our front lawn.

3. In addition, we had ordered a green chair and were delivered a blue one. We have asked about this and were told no "this is what you ordered".

4. The wrong pieces stayed in our house for 6 weeks.

5. When the new piece was delivered the delivery men knocked our wreath on the ground and kicked another item off our front step. They wrecked one wall of our newly-purchased and newly-painted home and damaged another. They also set up the sofa incorrectly. The first time we sat on it the two pieces separated. In fact, it is not possible to line up the two pieces so that they were flush with each other.

6. We emailed the company immediately. They did not respond so we eventually called them and were advised that the manager was away. The sales person arranged that a technician would come after Christmas to look at it.

7. However, every time we sit on the couch, it cracks and the frame bows significantly. Upon further inspection it became clear that the delivery men failed to install a leg in the centre of the couch. We had asked them if there should be another leg when they delivered the couch but they said "no - just like this". As a result, there is damage being done to the frame of the couch every time we use it.

8. The company has been less than helpful and generally refuses to acknowledge the poor service and product quality that they have delivered. We have asked for compensation for our time, the inconvenience and the damage and they have not responded to any of those requests.

Desired Settlement
As we are not confident in the quality of product and service from XLNC, we would like to have the furniture removed and our money refunded. We would like additional compensation for the damage done to our home.

Business Response
In response to BBB case # : *******, Please see below our response to the 8 items listed by the customer. Our response is in numbered consecutively in the order of the customers.

1. XLNC Furniture contacts customers when furniture arrives. It arrived in the usual time of 4-8 weeks for custom orders(customer ordered Aug 30th and it was delivered Oct 11th to the customer).

2. The manufacture did send one wrong piece. When we were notified by the customer, we reordered it immediately and it was agreed mutually that the pieces would remain there for use until the replacement was received.
On our invoices (that the customer signs on date of purchase), it is clearly stated that the customer is responsible for garbage removal.

3. The fabric cover for the purchase chair was chosen by the customer from the picture shown on the manufacturers website. The chair arrived with the described material as ordered.

4. As stated in number 2 and 3 above, we reordered the correct piece and asked the manufacture to rush the production. We received it at our store within 3 weeks, contacted customer immediately and the customer chose to have the delivery 3 weeks after our initial contact. They were too busy to receive it earlier so we had it in storage for an additional three weeks.

5. Firstly, any damage a delivery company creates is the responsibility of the delivery company. They are not hired by us, only arranged by us as an additional service to the customer. They deliver furniture to the inside of the house only and are not required to do setup or assembly nor remove packaging. The customer also signs a delivery slip. Any damage should be recorded on the copy they signed. Nothing was mentioned. However We advised the delivery people of the customer complaints of damage to the interior of the house and asked that they contact the customer re their concerns. As it appears on this complaint form they have not done this. We will contact them again to resolve this issue.
Secondly, As relates to the brackets not aligning, we contacted the customer and it was agreed upon that the technician would be sent out after January 2nd to inspect. We were advise by the customer that they would not be home during the Christmas holidays.

6. As above, arrangements were made.

7. Via this complaint form, this is the first we hear of the center leg missing. Again it is not the responsibility of the delivery people to install. Upon receiving this complaint form, we have asked the manufacture to courier the center leg to us and as an additional service, we will have it installed upon inspection of the brackets. In the mean time we suggest that the customer ceases to use that side of the sectional until this leg is installed to prevent permanent damage to this piece.

8. As with all customers, XLNC Furniture strives to do everything possible to provide the best service. Errors due occur with customer orders from time to time which can cause delays. This is why it is written on our invoice NOT A PROMISED DATE. Arrangements for delivery were made immediately upon receipt of furniture. Unfortunately one piece was wrong. When informed by the customer, we immediately contacted the manufacture for replacement and they rushed production. It was delivered to our door within 3 weeks. The customer choose for us to hold the new piece for an additional three weeks before requesting delivery. When we were contacted about brackets not aligning, we arranged for an inspection at the customers residence as per their timeline. We were not aware of the center leg issue until now via this complaint form, but we will provide and install during the inspection. During the inspection of the brackets, any required parts and service will be completed at no charge as it will be covered under the manufactures warranty.
As relates to compensation for damages, we have again contacted the delivery company to resolve this issue with the customer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture Retailers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/03/2014Business started: 21/06/2013
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2013, SK

Business Management
Principal: Sumit Arora (Owner/Manager)Shyam Jangra (Owner)
Business Category

Furniture Retailers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for XLNC Furniture Inc.

Bay C 2020 32 Ave NE

Calgary, AB T2E 6T4

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • Bay C 2020 32 Ave NE 

    Calgary, AB T2E 6T4(403) 291-9562

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*XLNC Furniture Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Furniture Retailers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.