BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 20/11/2002

W & J Heating Ltd.

Phone: (403) 861-9390Fax: (403) 243-1798View Additional Phone NumbersUnit 14, 10 Wrangler Place SE, Rocky View CountyAB T1X 0L7 Send email to W & J Heating Ltd.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 20/11/2002

BBB has determined that W & J Heating Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised W & J Heating Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on W & J Heating Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
06/23/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
WJ Heating installed a new air conditioning system in our house on 7/XXXXX.In 2012 system already started to malfunction, compressor was running for long period of time and house didn't cool as fast. At the beginning of 2013 air condition stopped working at all, compressor was running all time and didn't cool the house at all. I called WJ Heating and technician came to recharge the system. Everything seemed fine for a week or so but then again the same problem occurred. We made another call and this time technician checked evaporator coil for leaks by injecting die. It was clearly visible the die was leaking out through the coil. We were informed that evaporator coil was leaking and needed to be replaced, it was to take approximately two weeks to get new coil. After tree weeks of waiting I called WJ Heating with question when the leaking coil will be replaced, it seemed nobody knew anything about that problem. After waiting for a few more weeks the president of the company called me with the explanation that this is almost the end of the season and coil will be replaced next year (XXXX)in April. Who would question this statement when it comes from president Mr. ****** *******. 2014 season came and again I had to call twice to make an appointment to replace the coil, every time I called it seemed nobody knew anything about this problem. Finally on May 14/2014 technician came and he didn't know anything about the coil replacement,he just simply injected the sealant to resolve this issue. We were all the time under the impression that new coil will be installed as per president statement season earlier. Nobody asked or informed us if we would accept this type of repair. When I called ****** to inform him that we are not satisfied with this type of repair he hanged up on me because "I was rude to him" and said that's all he will do to solve this problem. He didn't let me talk. He made a statement that the coil wasn't leaking but they injected sealant anyway just in case. My contract says I have 5 years warranty on labour and 10 years on parts. I paid full price for a new properly working air conditioning system and expect this to be solved to my satisfaction

Desired Settlement
Install a new, tested for leaks evaporator coil in the air conditioning system

Business Response
On July X XXXX we installed a new carrier air conditioner for mr ********. On Aug 23, 2013 he experienced a problem with the AC unit. The technician we sent out that day assumed it was a leaky coil. The call got carried over to May XXXXXX due to weather. On that day our technician (******) found a leak but it was not coming from the coil. He fixed the leak tested the unit and it ran good. We have never once denied this customer any service, we have agreed to fix the problem and i am assuming it is working good now. If it is not and the coil in fact had to be replaced I would have no problem doing that but it wasn't the case from our last service call. We care in to fixing the actual problems and not replacing random parts. If the customer would like us to come out again and do a follow up call with him I would have no problem doing that.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the respondents explanation, his response is full of inaccuracy and false statements. His technician came with the instruction to inject sealant into the A/C system. He didn't perform any leak tests before injecting sealant, if there wasn't a leaking coil then why did he inject the A/C system with the sealant? The technician found some residue of the die used from the previous years test. The results from the last years pressure test were shown to us by the previous technician who perform the test in 2013. He informed us that the coil needs to be replaced and will take approximately two weeks to get the part ordered. Unfortunately he doesn't work for the company any more. The president states that he never denied us any service, however we were without an A/C unit for the whole 2013 season because of this issue. The only service perform in 2013 was the test. After numerous enquires I was told that the coil will be replaced. Of course when I called a few weeks later after hearing no response from the company, nobody had any knowledge of the problem. I called again a second time several weeks later and again nobody had any idea what I was talking about. At the end of the 2013 season I received a phone call from the president of the company with an explanation. He said that the season is almost over and that the evaporator coil will be done next year in April 2014. He assured me that there is noting to worry about since my warranty is in good standing. As I wrote in my first email we want a new evaporator coil installed and an apology from the president for not adhering to his promise and disregarding the fact that this part was under warranty.

Sincerely

****** ********

Final Business Response
Once again we are in to fixing the actual problem at hand, just not replacing random parts, but if this is going to make the customer happy by replacing the part then we will do that to settle this claim.

09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
To whom it may concern:
I first contacted W & J Heating in ************** for help with a new control valve on my older model furnace. The *************** took down all the necessary information from me over the phone to order the part (make, model, serial, input, output, W.C. numbers, etc.) and said it would take a couple of weeks to locate the part and suggested a mid ****** appointment date and time for a technician to come to my house and install the required control valve. I rearranged my schedule in order to be home for the *********** appointment ************ and I called the company ******* after no one arrived for the scheduled appointment. The *************** said the technician was running late and that he'd be there soon. I asked if the technician had the required part and the *************** said yes. I waited another hour but had to go back to work so I arranged for my partner to be there to let the technician in when he arrived. No technician arrived. Instead, the *************** phoned to say that no technician would be coming because the required part could not be located. When I got back from work and learned of this message, I contacted the *************** to ask why he booked an appointment before ensuring the part was available and why he told me over the phone earlier that day that his technician had the necessary part when clearly this was not the case. **************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
I would like the *************** to consider this complaint in earnest and do the following:
********************************************************************************
2) Apologize to me **************************************************

Business Response
Unfortunately we have had difficulties finding the part required to fix the custoimers 50 year old furnace that the suppliers don't readily carry the parts for. We would recommend this individual to look at upgrading they're furnace so that they do not run in to these problems any more. ***********************************************************************************************************************************************************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furnace Repair, Heating Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 28/10/2002Business started: 01/08/2001
Contact Information
Principal: Jordan Derdall (President)
Business Category

Furnace Repair, Heating Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for W & J Heating Ltd.

Unit 14, 10 Wrangler Place SE

Rocky View County, AB T1X 0L7

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • Unit 14, 10 Wrangler Place SE 

    Rocky View County, AB T1X 0L7

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*W & J Heating Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (403) 861-0233
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Furnace Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.