BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 25/02/2004

Action Auger Canada Inc.

(403) 204-6010 ext 101View Additional Phone Numbers3638 Manchester Rd SE, CalgaryAB T2G 3Z5 Send email to Action Auger Canada Inc.FacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 25/02/2004

BBB has determined that Action Auger Canada Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Action Auger Canada Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Complaints have been received by the Bureau regarding pricing issues. The Bureau does not process or report complaints that may reflect buyer's remorse.We recommend getting at least three quotes for any plumbing or mechanical work in order to assess the average industry charge.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Action Auger Canada Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Jan 7, 2014 we had a leak in our basement. A tech came to our house to diagnose and fix the problem. The tech replaced a frost free tap and informed me that the problem was fixed. On June 17, 2014, I identified the same leak in our basement. Upon further review with my insurance adjuster it was identified that the pipe leading to the frost free tap had a leak. The initial problem was not identified and fixed in January. I called the company to fix the pipe and work out a solution to fix the damage caused by the pipe leaking for 6 months. The owner is not taking responsibility for not fixing my initial problem and advised me I need to seek recourse from the insurance company.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have all the costs covered to replace the damage caused by the leak.

Business Response
****,

I am sorry to hear about the leak in your home and the damages it has caused. However as per our phone conversation, when we were out to your home in January, the technician noticed an obvious leak coming your frost free hose bib and found no other leaks at this time.

Five months later you called us and asked to come back out as the leak we repaired five months ago was still leaking and now causing damage to your home. We sent our technician back out to assess the problem and determined there was in fact, a leak that was creating damage. That leak however was not pertaining to any work that we had done. The work we did when we were out there was to the frost free hose bib, which we replaced. The new leak was on a pipe further up, leading to the frost free hose bib and completely unrelated to the work we had done. Our technician fixed your new leak at no charge to you.

After assessing the problem and determining that the new leak was not pertaining to work that we had done previously, we are not responsible for the new leak in your home and cannot be held accountable for the damages done to your home and the cost of those repairs.

To put this situation into perspective, it is similar if you had your car's tires replaced by a mechanic. If your engine blew up five months later you would not take your car back to the mechanic wanting your entire engine replaced. Although they might have looked at the engine then and noticed no problems, additional ware and tare may have occurred in those five months to cause the engine to blow up. It is similar to this situation. We noticed and fixed a problem on the frost free hose bib and checked for other issues but we cannot be held accountable for new leaks or issues that could happen at a later date.

If you have any questions or would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me directly. I apologize for any inconvenience and frustration this has caused you however I hope this letter will help us come to a better understanding about the current situation.

Sincerely,

**** ******


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
I do not agree with your assessment of the situation. To use the same car example given, the issue I have is your technician came to fix a problem and did not do this. I am not convinced that I needed a frost free tap replaced. The assessment from my insurance company was that the leak appeared to be leaking for months. It is like calling you for an engine leak and you gave me new tires.
After seeking outside counsel I now realize this will be costly for me to pursue elsewhere. It's unfortunate that me the little guy losses out to the big company because the cost to pursue outweighs what is right. My only recourse now is to continue to share my experience online and through word of mouth. My hope is that no one in my network is placed in the same situation and they choose a different service provider.

Final Business Response
****
As stated earlier we are sorry to hear about your leak. In January when our tech came to your house your problem at the time was clearly a frozen frost free hoes bib. You may recall seeing the split in the hoes bib itself. As this is what the problem clearly was at that time this is what we fixed. Many things can happen to a plumbing system in the span of five months as there are thousands of parts and pieces that make up a plumbing system in every home that is built.
I can appreciate your frustration with the leak that you had in your home. I am not immune as a plumber to leaks, as we recently had a major leak in my home and we had to replace the ceiling in my daughter's bedroom.
It saddens me to hear that due to a leak in your home that happened five months after we were last there and that was totally unrelated to the original problem that we fixed, you feel you need to put our company down in your circle of influence. Our goal as a company is to not only have satisfied customers but to do such a great job that they use us again and again. Based on our correspondence I don't feel that we have achieved this with you. To hopefully correct the situation could you please provide me with at least two quotes to fix the problem the leak has caused. Upon receipt of these let's talk to see if we can come to some agreement of a shared cost to take care of the problem.
Sincerely ***** ****
President Action Auger

03/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a frozen water line so they came in on Monday (Feb 24) afternoon and replaced all the old heat tape on the lines. The promised we would have water before they left. When they left we still had no water. Today (Thursday) we still have no water. We called their offices on Tuesday to get them to look at their work. They came on Tuesday and admitted (his name was *****) to another plumber I brought in to look at the work, that the work was shoddy. I took pictures before they arrived of the un-taped lines, exposed main water line in 4 places, the water meter was not taped, tangled tape (fire hazard).Our other plumber has now fixed the work.
Product_Or_Service: Plumbing
Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Because they failed to deliver the work that they promised, I want our money back.

Business Response

We came out and did a lot of work for you. I understand your frustrations regarding a piece of the line that was missed. Our technician was out there until 7:30pm and it was very dark under that trailer. I'm sure you can appreciate that everyone makes mistakes. You called our office the next day around 11:45am and you were informed that we would come out and correct the problem at no charge to you. When our technician arrived on site he offered to fix the job at no cost to you, at which point you declined as you had another plumber there that was going to correct the problem. Could you please provide us with the invoice from the plumber that fixed the issue?


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
On the 24th they attempted the repair work, the problem was they kept promising me that the water will be turned on before they left. I asked them ****** and *****) if we'd have water by the morning. They said yes. Next morning still no water so I called them and they said they would send someone out between 1 and 5. Another plumber ** ***** Ltd came to check out Action Auger's work. He found multiple problems. ***** came back that night and said ** botched the job and they would make it better. I said no because I couldn't trust them. My new plumber re-did the whole job at a cost to me of $945 whereas AA charged me $2800 and failed to deliver what they said they would.

Final Business Response
We would be happy to refund you the amount of $945.00 for the work the other plumber did. Please contact our office so we can do either a reverse on your credit card or we can write you a cheque. Please let us know what works best for you.

Thank you

10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was charged for work that we did not authorize to have done.
The appointment was booked in wrong, they where told it was a gas leak to the furnace and hot water tank, ask what the price would be, was told $66.95 to come out and identify the problem, then a quote of what it would cause to fix.
The Technician proceeded to inform us he could not find a leak in the furnace nor the hot water tank.
Without my or my Wife knowledge, or authorization he remove the control panel pulling out the burner, said everything was ok, and that he would put back together, came out a couple minutes later and told us he could not get the pipe back together, that it had shifted, and that we needed a new piece of pipe, I inquired to the cost of the pipe,
$66.00, and a $133,00 analysis fee.
I told him just to put the old pipe back on and leave it.
He refused, said he would not proceed until he was paid, and left, without putting our furnace back together and no heat.
He was unprofessional..
**************************************************************************************



Desired Settlement
I want my $133,00 back, I have no problem paying the dispatch and travel fee of $69,95
n the pipe for $66,00 the $133,00 was never brought to our attention until after he had the furnace taken a part,*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response
Our policy at Action Auger is that our technicians discuss all pricing with our clients and confirm approval of the job and price before beginning any work. As this was not done in this situation, we will be refunding the amount of $133.00 which was not approved by the client before the work was completed. We apologize that our company policy was not followed in this instance. It is our desire to serve each of our clients in the best way possible.

07/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues
12/20/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Drain and Sewer Cleaners, Furnace Cleaning, Furnace Replacement, Plumbers, Heating Contractors, Sump Pump Contractors

Additional Information

top

Complaints recorded in this company's report reflect complaint activity throughout Alberta.

BBB file opened: 14/05/2003Business started: 01/03/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2001, AB

Business Management
Principal: Ashley Halas (Office Manager)
Contact Information
Rodrigo Hernandez (Financial Manager) Brham Trim (Owner/President)
Business Category

Drain and Sewer Cleaners, Furnace Cleaning, Furnace Replacement, Plumbers, Heating Contractors, Sump Pump Contractors

Alternate Business Names
The Gentleman's Plumber
Industry Tips
HIRING A PLUMBER

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Action Auger Canada Inc.

3638 Manchester Rd SE

Calgary, AB T2G 3Z5

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3638 Manchester Rd SE 

    Calgary, AB T2G 3Z5(403) 288-1111
    (403) 648-0683

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Action Auger Canada Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (403) 288-1111
  • (403) 204-6010 ext 111
  • (403) 394-0444 - Lethbridge
  • (403) 553-3600 - Ft. McLleod
  • (403) 653-4445 - Cardston
  • (403) 223-0777 - Taber
  • (403) 625-2226 - Claresholm
  • (403) 627-4944 - Pincher Creek
  • (403) 485-6625 - Vulcan
  • (403) 646-0077 - Nanton
  • (403) 648-0683
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Drain and Sewer Cleaners

HIRING A PLUMBER
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.