BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 18/07/2007

Crystal Creek Homes Inc.

Phone: (403) 254-6499Fax: (403) 256-1911View Additional Phone Numbers6010 12 St SE, CalgaryAB T2H 2X2 Send email to Crystal Creek Homes Inc.FacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 18/07/2007

BBB has determined that Crystal Creek Homes Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Crystal Creek Homes Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Crystal Creek Homes Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/17/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased an Estate home with Crystal Creek Homes in February of 2014. After the signing of the contract to purchase and providing an $86,000.00 deposit, we found that the entire process from start to finish with the builder was extremely flawed. Moreover, plenty of errors and lying occurred throughout the build, to the point where we lost complete trust in the builder, and were extremely disappointment in the decision that we made to purchase this million dollar home with Crystal Creek Homes.

The sales representative was extremely mis-leading and unprofessional in her interactions with us, we were rarely communicated to, unless we approached her. It was to the point where if we were not hounding her for communication, we would not hear back at all. The possession of the home was moved at least three or four times, purchased in February of 2014 we were told that this home would be ready for move in January of of 2015. In the end, we took possession April 1st, 2015. Further and documented, the sales rep. noted the errors and stated that if we wished, she would personally pay for the errors. We found this to be a disturbing tactic to not only acknowledge all of the errors in the home, but to also essentially blame her employer. In the end Crystal Creek Homes did nothing to assist us with the errors, and alas, the house was built with them in place.

What is more stunning, is that we did contact the owner ****** ****** about all of the issues we were having throughout the build. We have documented proof/evidence (via email) of his unwillingness to help out our situation with his company. He asked us how he could help, we let him know, and then he went silent. There were missed or cancelled meetings with him, we had one short call at 7am in the morning, the only time he could give us. Again, just as stunning and documented, was his acknowledgement of the "incompetence" in his own staff!! I am not sure if he thought that would make us feel better, it did not, it made us worry more that nothing would ever be resolved.

Given all of the above issues, the reason for our complaint is not the process was horrific or that the sales representative lied numerous times, or that the owner ****** ****** does not care about his clients or his staff...the reason for our complaint is what we have experienced following the possession of our home.

When we moved into the home April 1st, 2015, we immediately realized that we were moving into a home that was 75% complete, full of poor craftsmanship. We did have a walk through that we signed off on, knowing that there were a ton of areas that needed to be completed. What we did not know at the time of the walk through, was the unbelievable amount of deficiencies that this home had/has, it would have been impossible to note this at the time of the walk through. Living in the home for the past 30 or so days, we are stunned at the careless craftsmanship, moreover, absolutely in disbelief that the builder has had ZERO correspondence with us in respect to resolving all of these issues. Again, we believe that the owner (documented) has simply collected his money from us, and now has left us to fend for ourselves.

Based off of new home warranty, we had a "Trades day" scheduled, were my wife took the day off of work to stay home. It was on this day that the builder was supposed to fix errors in the home, instead, all they did was try and complete some of the missing components of our home (incomplete areas). It was a complete waste of a day, nothing was done.

Fast forward to today, they have still yet to complete missing components of our home, we have holes in the wall left by them, its all atrocious and very stressful for my family considering that we paid $967,000.00 for this home.

I am listing off the deficiencies in the home.

Deficiencies:
-study: hole to be drilled in floor for door
-wall oven: black ooze around glass
-gas range: caulking? Supposed to be fit perfect, not caulked

-kitchen: Quartz 2 different colours
-doors are all blotchy/rough, Especially in low/dusk light
-nick in master bathtub
-landing: light is facing the wrong way. Long pieces need to be facing the window
-mudroom closet door (right) sticks out/not flush
-master French door window covering broken (same issue as pre possession walkthrough) - Ply Gem called and is comming
-kitchen nook pendant lights not aligned with each other
-bump out light switch is incorrect, should be one double not two singles/incorrect location
-paint on hardware and mirror in master bathroom
-guest toilet room bad paint job, still see the grey base coat
-stickers left on light fixtures in dining room...On the decorative chrome
-front door paint is grainy/very patchy and needs a second coat
-large stain on front step by pillar. Thought it was water but it's not.
-brown stain in seal on master bathtub by faucet
-painting is very bad throughout the house, patchy, discoloured and sloppy especially on edges
-nick in stairwell wall (paint)
-nick in ****** bedroom wall (paint)
-door handle is crooked on balcony at kitchen nook. Doesn't sit properly, it's down turned
-mudroom bench improper filled mark.
-fan in master make extremely loud sound after being in use for 10 mins.
-grout at master tub is not nice
-casing at master tub has weird white streaks
-plugs in master are not symmetrical across from each other
-main light and pendants in master bath turns on incorrect switches, they are reversed.
-main bath: nail pop in ceiling, chip in casing (upper) bad/rough paint job on left wall of mirror
-master bedroom/bathroom lights are two different colours
-kitchen: window sill and painting around it shows a lot of marks
-interior painting: has been taped off and is extensive!
-interior columns and casings are all pretty much scratched and need to be sprayed (picture)
-master ensure mirror is not cut to fit size, large gaps in either side look messy
-flashing on right side of house is falling off (top front beside bedroom)
-white streaks in master ensuite quartz
-master balcony railing missing a bolt
-hole in powder room ceiling by light This is absurd. There's a hole in this bathroom!!!!!
-screw missing in guest bathroom door
-crack in garage roof fixture (view from ***** window)
-"overspray" on bonus room window
-damage to wall/casing during blinds install on stairwell
-seal missing from kitchen sinks both We cant use our SINKS!!!!
-potential damage to under sink cabinetry due to missing sink seal
-trim edge unpainted on deck exterior window left side
-wavy metal exterior "trim" on entire house, not flush with home
-bonus room blinds don't function properly
-front entry paint trim sloppy
-scratches in front of main bath tub
-master bath tub rough and scratchy
-dripping sounds in master bathroom. Happens daily without anything turned on. Can't figure out where it's coming from
-improper repair to stairwell post by bonus room (picture)
-bumpy stairwell railing to basement (wood is not smooth)

We have contacted the service department at crystal Creek Homes at least five times (documented) and to this day, NO ONE has responded back to us. Nothing is being done.

What makes it even worse, is that this builders new show home is being built literally a five minute walk from mine. How is it that they can complete a show home in less than three months, with concrete poured in the drive way (we have gravel), and leave the massive amount of issues in our home?

I believe that not much will be done by this builder to help us, I do have the ability to force them a bit though. I have hired a lawyer, have made a complaint with new home warranty program of ******* and will be filing this complaint with the BBB. My hope is that something is done to resolve this, at the very least, my hope is that no on ever has to go through what we are going through and have gone through with ******* Creek Homes. I can also say that I know that within our area, there are at least three other clients of there's that are just as upset. They will also be filing BB complaints.

Thank you

Desired Settlement
We are seeking that the issues and deficiencies outlined above, along with the missing components of our home that are supposed to be done pre-possesion and as outlined in our complaint are looked after through a scheduled time line. We understand not all can be done right away, that is not what we are seeking. We are seeking a response from the builder and a time line of when the work will be done. These are all warranty issues, they are governed by law to correct these issues. So far, zero response by them.

Business Response
***Document Attached***
My understanding is that this customer documented his defects at possession (see attached) and these items have been addressed as of todays date. Despite the unprofessional text messages sent to our employees containing threats and foul language we maintained our contractual obligations to complete this home above industry standards, see attached energy guide rating. We have also on many occasions received messages from the clients stating the outstanding quality of the workmanship, see attached. We will continue to meet our contractual obligations despite our strained relationship with this client. Thank-you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Since the opening up of this file, the company has hired a new Service Manager. She has been thorough and easy to work with in respect to our requests to have a properly completed home, sans deficiencies. This said, there are still numerous issues with this house and based off of their own staff members views/comments (Service Manager & Construction Manager) the house is not complete and not to standard. They both have stated the poor craftsmanship in the home, and both have stated they are embarrassed that we have had to go through this with them.

The list of deficiencies have not all been addressed.

I an still a bit taken a back by the lack of understanding/responsibility from the owner, threats and foul language are probably common place, especially considering what clients are paying for in respect to the product, what they go through through the process and what they get as a product in the end.I am not sure what he would expect? Clients are not going to sit back and let things happen, business doesnt work that way, we've paid for a product, we expect to receive what we've paid for, period.

As a business owner myself, I would never let the client get to that level of un-satisfaction.

The texts from us praising the craftsmanship were attempts at encouraging continued behavior, our hope was that some encouragement and praise would elevate the opportunity to have our work completed and proper.

At this point and time, I accept the response from CCH, and we'll continue to work with the new Service Manager to complete the deficiencies. If at any time we feel that our list is not being or will be completed, I will exercise the opportunity to re-open this file.

Thank you,


Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/12/2006Business started: 01/01/2004
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2004, AB

Business Category

Construction Companies

Alternate Business Names
Crystal Creek Homes
LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Crystal Creek Homes Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (403) 312-4357
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Construction Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.