BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 15/05/2012

C & J Construction Ltd.

Phone: (403) 277-1455Fax: (403) 277-1376Private Address, CalgaryAB T3K 4P4 Send email to C & J Construction Ltd.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 15/05/2012

BBB has determined that C & J Construction Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised C & J Construction Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on C & J Construction Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Removed and replaced concrete garage pad and driveway(at a significant cost in 2013). After time multiple hairline cracks appeared on garage pad and driveway. Called many times in 2013 and 2014 to enquire about the issue and for someone to come and take a look. Wanting to be proactive to see what could be done before the situation worsens as it is. For some strange reason they refuse to return my call. Management claims I have a 3 year warranty on materials and workmanship which means very little if their customer service practice does not allow for them to call.

Desired Settlement
A phone call and visit to monitor the situation and repair as required.

Business Response
On July 15,2014 called customer on both numbers provided and left a message on both numbers to call me back. Customer called back and an appointment was set up for Wednesday July 16 @ 1 pm, for us to meet and go over Customers concerns with his concrete garage pad and driveway.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
Met with management on July 16. Discussed concerns with concrete. Stated a letter will be forwarded in approximately 2 weeks as to the companies position and commitment. A solution to repairs was discussed with a completion date before or around the end of August.

12/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Concrete foundation in garage is not straight. In Winter, all thawed snow from cars goes to one of the front corners of the garage and stays there (insulation and wooden supports there, are wet all the time).
I called them many times, they just keep promising that they will come and fix it, but over a year later I'm still waiting...

Desired Settlement
Level the concrete foundation

Business Response
Case #XXXXXXX

We have attempted to contact this customer with no respose so far.The original problem this customer had was repaired. This complaint is about a new problem. When contact has been established we will then repair the new problem.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
This is not a new problem, I complained about this problem over a year ago and they were here to check that and they said they will fix it, and they never did. I talked to them today. They said she they will make an appointment soon to see what they can do.

12/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
C&J installed a new driveway in the summer of 2012. In the spring of 2013 I noticed flaking of the concrete in one area. I spoke to the company in early spring and they advised to call back, I believe June. A subsequent call was made and '***' attended. His first question was "did I apply salt" no I didn't. He also pointed out two other areas that required attention. The concrete nearest the road way had risen and a large crack at the right front of the driveway. The result of that meeting was that they would repair the damage in July 2013. By mid August no further word had been received. I called the company in mid August and was advised someone would be in touch. Two weeks later I had not heard from them and called again early in the week of Sept. 2nd. I was advised someone would contact the week of Sept. 9th. Nothing further has been heard!

Desired Settlement
I wish to have the subject areas properly repaired!

Business Response
Case# XXXXXXX

This job was repaired on 10/23/2013.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
While the areas of flaking and cracking were patched the raised area next next to the curb was not addressed.

09/10/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Concrete Contractors, Garage Construction Companies, Foundation Contractors, General Contractors, Construction Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 13/09/1996Business started: 20/11/1996
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1996, AB

Contact Information
Principal: Joseph Lyttle (Owner)Customer Contact: Joan Lyttle (Manager) Eric Gruenke (Sales)
Business Category

Concrete Contractors, Garage Construction Companies, Foundation Contractors, General Contractors, Construction Companies

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*C & J Construction Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Concrete Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.