BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/04/1989

Silverhill Acura

Phone: (403) 253-6060Fax: (403) 253-00775728 Macleod Trail S, CalgaryAB T2H 0J6 Send email to Silverhill AcuraFacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/04/1989

BBB has determined that Silverhill Acura meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Silverhill Acura's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Silverhill Acura

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
07/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I deposited 5000$ to replace my Acura MDX 2011 with a new model 2014. Before delivery date , I noticed that 2015 model is $2000 cheaper than 2014 model and asked dealership to either adjust price for 2014 model or I can wait to get 2015 model which is expected to come in the market within few weeks. The dealership refused to either give my deposit back or wait for a new model. I asked them the car has not left the dealership lot and I am willing to pay any reasonable fee for the time spent on making a deal and getting my remaining deposit back.
Product_Or_Service: Acura MDX 2014
Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want my $5000 deposit back with a willingness to pay reasonable fee for the dealer ship, if required.

Business Response
see attached file

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for your response. I don't think there was any element of allegation. The case could have better resolved with dialogue if fair and honest advise was provided at the first place. As you might have noticed from Silverhill response that I was a repeat client and had a good experience. The reason I put a large deposit down that I was serious and expected that as a repeat client sales person have any regard for us, not only selling the vehicle. As you can see from my emails, the only change I requested was change go interior color from ivory to black. Since they don,t have that color I was emphasized to change it to the one they have in stock. Is this fair and ethical or just a sales pitch. I was told that new model will come in September and now their letter shows it is available now. What to believe? The letter shows sales person spent 15 hours with us. There was no point on spending 15 hours if things are transparent. There was no rush from me as lease was expiring by year end and I could have wait for few months as new model is lower. In price. Our time is equally important as of them. Based on the response from dealership, I requested a quote fro 2015 model and availability and awaiting reply. I do appreciate the response from dealership. I called dealership to explain situation and find a mutual beneficial way out but was told to either take available vehicle or walk away from down payment. I offered to pay any time and material that they claim was spent on my order. As Silverhill mentioned that I am a repeat client and bought three vehicles from them, I personally have no conflict other than that I am not satisfied with the advice provided on a new vehicle. I will still prefer my refund and will consider Silverhill for my future vehicle. Regards

05/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In the early part of March, my wife brought in her MDX to get an oil change and to find out why her oxygen sensor light stayed on. She dealt with *** *** (Service Advisor). When my wife picked up the MDX, *** gave her a bill of over $5,000 worth of items that had to be fixed with the MDX. I found that very weird given we brought in our MDX before and never had these many issues. Based on the amount of issues they had, I thought I had GM vehicle. We usually bring the MDX in and deal with ***** which provides amazing service and seems to be much more honest than ***. *** never returns phones or emails on a regular basis. On March 12, 2015, I phoned *** to discuss the $5,000 worth of items he was telling my wife to fix and never heard a response. I emailed him on March 13, 2015 and finally got a response. On March 14th, I emailed back again to get further clarification of items he was mentioning to get fix and didn't here back from him until March 17th after I followed up with him. Acura sent out a survey about our experience and we filled it out. On March 25, 2015, we received a message from ******* ******* (Assistant Manager) apologizing for *** not being responsive. I emailed ******* the same day that ***'s excuse of not receiving my phone calls is not believable given my wife and I tried to call him and email him several times. She never responded to my email. On March 28, I wrote the following email to ****** which I never received a response back from her:

Subsequent to my email below, it seems as thought we are still experiencing issues with your service department. On March 26th, my wife brought in the MDX to get the timing belt, brakes, and oxygen sensor replaced based on agreed upon recommendations from ***. I had been in discussions with Pat over email and he mentioned if we got all the work done we would receive a discount. I went through the estimate in detail and agreed with packaging certain work together. When my wife got there, they handed her the estimate to authorize, which didn't include the discount. My wife reviewed it over and noticed it it was missing, showed the Advisor the email communication between *** and myself and questioned why it wasn't included in the estimate. I would like to know why this wasn't noted on the estimate when *** and I had already discussed this over email. I find that every time your advisors deal with my wife they try to take advantage of her.

When my wife went to pick up the vehicle on Friday, March 27th, she requested to view the signed estimate, in order to compare it to the detailed invoice she was handed with. This advisor said he couldn't find a copy and she requested to have it emailed to her. She hasn't received anything yet. I would like to know why he couldn't find the copy? How is that possible? It's reasonable for me to assume that SilverHill would have procedures/policies in place to ensure these client signed estimates are not lost. Please ensure I receive this signed copy.

In addition, I reviewed over the invoice that was provided and noted the following items which were not included in the estimate:

- Oil filter replaced - I just had a oil change done on this vehicle 2 weeks ago so I don't know why I would be getting charged for a change in filter. This also wasn't in the estimate. I find this unacceptable.
- Acura engine oil - Same comment as above.
- Washer Drain - This item wasn't in the estimate copy.
- Bolt Flange - This item wasn't in the estimate copy.

Also, could you please provide me with the service manager's contact info (email/phone)?

******* did not answer one of the questions that I had sent to her. Rather, she forwarded the email to ***. On March 31, 2015, I tried to contact *** and could not get hold of him once again to discuss why I was getting charged for parts and an oil change that I already did. I finally got hold of *** and he mentioned he would refund the difference back. I find that it is amazing how Acura dealership tried to take advantage of my wife my charging items that weren't relevant. That is what I would call almost criminal activity and which is why people don't trust dealerships. I asked *** and ******* for the email/phone of their manager and never got a response. When I finally got a response from ***, he gave me ******* email. I find that very shady as both of these individuals never respond. *** realized that I wasn't going to stop until he gave me the manager contact information and this is what he wrote:

I have forwarded your request to the Fixed Operations Manager **** ******* yesterday he is currently reviewing your file and will get back to you.

To this day, I have not been contacted by ****. Who even knows if he was reviewing any file?

Overall, this dealership says it believes in customer service. It seems that is a complete ***. I don't know if the management has changed here because the quality of service is horrible. They try to send out surveys to say that they believe in good service but truly they don't. They take advantage of woman and try to hide fees in the bill. In addition, when you ask for signed estimates they say they can't find them. When you try to contact them they never respond.

I am very surprised given we dealt with ***** in the past and had no issues.

Desired Settlement
I want to know how they can say they value customer service? I want my questions that were emailed above answered. I want to know why they think they can take advantage of woman? I want to know how to can you charge for an oil change that was done a week before? I want to know why doesn't individuals in manager roles don't respond?

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Fixed Op Mgr
Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************************

May 12, 2015


BBB Southern Alberta and East Kootenay
X XXXX X ****** **
******** ** *** ***


RE: Case # XXXXXXX


Silverhill Acura received the above referenced complaint and appreciates the opportunity to respond.

We sincerely extend our apologies to you for your experience on this occasion while servicing your vehicle at Silverhill Acura. We have reviewed all documentation pertaining to your complaint and we feel that there was unintentional miscommunication within our Service Department that resulted in the experience that you have shared.

At no time was there intent to alter the quotation from your initial service. It is imperative that any interaction with a client is properly documented by our service staff and this detail must be acquired when a client returns for past service recommendations. This oversight caused the additional oil change parts and flange bolt to be added to your invoice. This error was validated and a refund provided to you. At no time was this mistake intentional or in disagreement.

We sincerely apologize for any delay in communication between you and our Service Team. We value your time and do recognize the importance of prompt replies to any customer correspondence. Please know that we will review our current communication practices to ensure that your experience is not repeated.

We value your patronage and do thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to your complaint. At any time, if you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX or *************************.


Best Regards,

**** *******
Fixed Operations Manager
Silverhill Acura

Industry Comparison| Chart

Car Dealerships, Auto Repair Services, Used Car Dealerships

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 20/04/1989Business started: 17/02/1987
Contact Information
Principal: Kent Alfaro (General Manager)Customer Contact: Marilyn Sheftel (Dealer Principal)
Business Category

Car Dealerships, Auto Repair Services, Used Car Dealerships

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Silverhill Acura

5728 Macleod Trail S

Calgary, AB T2H 0J6

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5728 Macleod Trail S 

    Calgary, AB T2H 0J6(403) 253-6060

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Silverhill Acura is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Car Dealerships

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.