BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/02/1991

Eastside Kia

Phone: (403) 250-2502Fax: (403) 219-0379View Additional Phone Numbers2256 23 St NE, CalgaryAB T2E 8N3 Send email to Eastside KiaFacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/02/1991

BBB has determined that Eastside Kia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Eastside Kia's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Eastside Kia

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
12/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a new vehicle from this kia dealership at the end of july, with a remote 2 way starter included (this is on the bill of sale). When the vehicle was delivered, I was told that they did not have time to put the starter in yet, and that I would have to come back. When I had time to come back later in August, I dropped the car off only to be informed that the did not have a remote starter for this car, but that it would probably be available in September or August. As of today, November 11, a starter is still not available for this vehicle, and there is no timeline on when/if one will be available.

A remote starter was a must for me, and a condition of the sale, which is why it is on the bill of sale.

Desired Settlement
I would like a guaranteed date of when the remote starter will be available, and compensation for my troubles such as complimentary routine maintenance services from kia until the remote starter is installed. If this is not possible, a replacement vehicle of equal value which has a remote starter.

Business Response
The customer purchased a brand new model, of which the remote start accessory was not yet available. The accessory has finally become available, and we have had it installed. Because the customer had to wait so long, we have provided him two complimentary oil changes in a sign of good will. The customer is not quite satisfied and will continue to business at Eastside Kia.

09/04/2013Delivery Issues
01/09/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a Toyota Rav4 (used) vehicle from Eastside Kia Motors on November 26, 2014 and it is about this vehicle's price we agreed upon and the price they actually charged me, made me write this complaint.

I first saw this vehicle for sale at this dealership on Nov 5 and visited them the next day. Their asking price was 26,688 I sat with a salesman (whose name I've forgotten) and offered him $21,000 plus taxes and fees. He went to see his manager who did not approve.

The next day, Nov 7, a salesperson named ****** ******* gave me a call and asked me to come to the dealership and see him and that he will give me a good deal. I met him in the afternoon on Nov 8 and honestly told him that I badly needed a four-wheel drive car as I work as Security and had to go to different sites and it was not easy with my small car specially in winter ahead. After a long discussion he lowered his demand to $24,000 and I raised my offer to $23,000 but we could not reach a mutually acceptable price.

On Nov 13 on my way to work I see the vehicle still not sold and parked there, called Eastside Kia Motors and the reception transferred me to a salesperson named **** I asked him if it was the same vehicle. He confirmed and gave me his cell phone number and asked me to see him sometime we may reach a deal.

On Nov 15 I called him and told him that I'll see him tomorrow. The next day I went there along with a friend and found ****** in the front, told him that we were here for the same vehicle but had an appointment with **** and would like to see him. He didn't like it but told us to wait in the hallway and **** will come talk to you. After waiting for 25 minutes I called ****'s cell number and told him that we were waiting for him. He sounded like he didn't know about us but came to us immediately then went to manager's room and came back and told us to wait. After another 20 minutes wait received a call from home and had to leave urgently without meeting ****.

On Nov 21 receive a text message from another salesperson named ** saying that there was a sale event on Sat, on Sat Nov 22 I go see ** but could not close the deal as I told him that my offer of $23,000 was final.

On Nov 25 i talked to my friend **** **i about this vehicle and told him the whole story. He called Eastside Kia and talked to ****** who agreed on $23,000 base plus taxes and fees and gave appointment for 4:15 PM the next day. We both went there at the appointment time. ****** did some calculations and went inside to see the manager and came back after 20 minutes.

He told us that the total after adding AMVIC fee+admin fee+GST etc will be $25,388. We asked him to have a one-way remote starter installed then he said that with the remote the total price will be 25,500. We agreed at this price and told him that we'll pay $4,500 down and $21,000 financing.

He took us to the financing lady, I clearly told her that the total was $25,500 and we will pay $4,500 as down-payment and wanted a financing for $21,000. She confirmed these numbers.

****** asked me to pay $2,500 of the down payment which I immediately did using my debit card. He told us to come pick up the car on Friday. Due to bad weather I could not manage to there on Friday instead I went there on Saturday, ****** had a lot of papers ready for me to sign which I did with the help of ****** as I didn't have my reader glasses on me. I drove the car home.

On Sunday while filing my copies of paperwork, I was shocked to see that instead of a total price of $25,500 they had charged me $27,385. Instantly I went to **** **i who found out that they had started with $25,500 sale price and added everything again which is definitely by mistake.

The next day, Monday Dec 1, **** and I go there and see ****** and very politely show him the error. ****** takes the paperwork and goes to see his manager, after a few minutes comes back and takes us to manager's office. The manager was emotionally charged and started yelling at us saying you think we are ***** and cheating. I politely tell him sir we did not say anything like that, we just say that there's a typo or a clerical mistake as the deal was done at $23,000 and after adding all taxes, fees, and cost of a remote starter the final total was $25,500. Instead, your staff has started from $25,500 and added everything again to make it $27,385. But he kept yelling at us and started threatening me that he will have my security license cancelled and will call Police which he did and when the Police came they just sat with them in their office and came out to tell us that we two are out of bound and when we tried to explain the Police just gave us a shut up call and asked to leave immediately and go to court.

I am 62 years old, a refugee in Canada, working in a security company could not afford a lawyer and courts expenses so just kept quiet until yesterday when someone told me of your organisation and that you may be of help.

Thank you very much for time and consideration.

****** ******

Desired Settlement
$27,385 - $25,500 = $1,885.
Also if they could tell me my fault that they humiliated me, pushed me and pushed a door at me.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
Eastside Kia is in disagreement with Mr. ****** regarding the events of his purchase.

1. His vehicle was purchased and negotiated as selling price plus fees and taxes, which is the way he presented his offer. At no time was an "all in price" discussed or implied. The final offer was agreed at $25,500 plus tax and fees. The payment he signed and initialed reflected this price.

2. When Mr. ****** picked up the vehicle, our business manager fully reviewed two documents which reconfirmed the price. She reviewed a completely itemized bill of sale which gave the total price of $23,385 to finance after his $4000 down payment. These numbers match his conditional sales agreement contract. Mr. ****** signed and initialed both of these documents.

3. Mr. ****** came to Eastside Kia on Monday Dec 1st. Several of my staff were witness to Mr. ****** being rude to my staff and pushed a member of my sales team. Both he and his friend made personal accusations and insults to Sales Manager. The police were called because Mr. ****** refused to leave. We issued to Mr. ****** a letter informing him that he is no longer allowed on the premises of Eastside Kia or he will be charged with trespassing.

4. On December 4th, our General Sales Manager contacted Mr. ******. As a sign of good will and customer service, he offered Mr. ****** $350 service or cash credit which Mr. ****** verbally agreed to. He did not show up at the agreed upon time to pick up the $350.00. Our GSM emailed him that we now consider this matter closed.

In light of the fact that Mr. ****** signed a Bill of Sale and Conditional Sales Agreement Contract that clearly outline the pricing, Eastside Kia will be making no refund to Mr. ******.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Car Dealerships, Hybrid Vehicle Dealers, Used Car Dealerships

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/02/1991Business started: 01/01/1990
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kelly Temple (General Manager) Jim McManus (President - Owner)
Business Category

Car Dealerships, Hybrid Vehicle Dealers, Used Car Dealerships

Alternate Business Names
Saturn Saab of Calgary NE
BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBBOnLine Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Eastside Kia

2256 23 St NE

Calgary, AB T2E 8N3

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2256 23 St NE 

    Calgary, AB T2E 8N3(403) 250-2502
    (403) 250-2716
    Fax: (403) 250-2722

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Eastside Kia is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (403) 250-2716 - Parts

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (403) 250-2722 - Service/Parts
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Car Dealerships

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.