BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/08/1995

W & B Automotive Repair Ltd.

Phone: (403) 948-7247Fax: (403) 948-3119524 Centre Ave East, AirdrieAB T4B 1P9 Send email to W & B Automotive Repair Ltd.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/08/1995

BBB has determined that W & B Automotive Repair Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised W & B Automotive Repair Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on W & B Automotive Repair Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Thursday May 15th, 2014, I had my car towed to W&B Automotive because my car would not start. I was told they would be looking at my car on Friday. At 4 pm on Friday afternoon, I had not heard anything back from the mechanics. Thus, I called and spoke to a gentleman and he had told me they looked at my car and that he was trying to call around and find me a quote on how much it would cost to fix my car. He said the timing belt was broken and it bent the valves on my engine, but not sure how many valves were bent. He said they would have to look further into my car to see. He told me my car would likely need a new engine.

The weekend and half of the next week passed *** I had not heard from the mechanics. Thus, again, I called and spoke with someone on Friday May 23, to see what the status of my car was. He then told me again he spent the week looking for parts and said he had found a used engine up in Edmonton and it would cost somewhere between XXXX - XXXX dollars to fix. He told me my car is old and these things happen. I didn't want to leave my car in their yard for another weekend or week, so I had paid by credit card over the phone and arranged my car again to be towed back to my house.

I began to look around on where I could recycle my car because the mechanic shop had implied my car would need a lot of work and the work on the car would cost more than its worth.

On May 30th, I spoke with another mechanic about my situation and had him take a look at my car for a second opinion. He was confused as to why the first mechanic shop would have told me that valves were damaged because the way my engine was set up - there was very little chance that my valves would have been damaged due to a broken timing belt.

Once the mechanic took off the cover and looked at my belt, he saw that it was not broken the way the first mechanics described. It was still in one piece and on its gears - thus it never spun out of control and hit any valves or caused damage. The mechanic was able to replace my timing belt and had my car running in a few hours.

I went back to W&B Automotive on Monday June 2nd to ask them why they didn't properly look at my car and solve the problem - especially if only a belt needed to be changed.. not replace the engine. The mechanic was called in to the office, and he told me that he never physically looked at the belt - he took out a spark plug and used a camera to look down into my engine. Thus he never saw that it was broken to the point where it would have done damage to my engine. This just seems like it was an assumption they made instead of investigating the problem.

The labor description on my invoice says: Checked and timing belt broke and valves hit piston - will need cylinder rebuilt and inspect tops of piston to make sure of damage - likely will need another engine.

When I asked the mechanic why the invoice discussed the possibility of a new engine, and that my cylinder will need to be rebuilt, instead of just explaining I would need a new timing belt - the mechanic told me that it was a typo..

The man sitting at the desk told me that usually cars that have over XXXXXX km's just tend to break and need new engines. When I asked why he spent time looking for a replacement engine instead of being sure of what I needed and fixing my car - he just brought up how many km's I have on my car and that these things happen.

He failed to explain why they never fully looked at my car to be sure of the damage done, or why they didn't look for the correct parts that I need to have my car fixed. He never explained why I had to call THEM to find answers about my car, the only thing he said about it was he was looking for a new engine for me (which was never the correct solution for my problem). They kept my car for over a week, and didn't even diagnose it properly. Then I had to pay for more towing fee's, when in reality - I should have been able to drive it home from the shop if they would have just done their job.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back and for other people to be aware of the quality of their service. It isn't fair to be treated this way and mislead. As local, longtime family run and operated business - I am VERY disappointed in the quality of their service. They have wasted my time, energy and money all because they seem to have been too lazy to actually fix the problem.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@telusplanet.net
When we checked the car out the teeth on timing belt were stripped or belt broken, camshaft was not turning. When that happens on a no clearance Engine it usually bends valves. If you look in any timing belt book it tells you if no clearance or lots of clearance. In timing book 2.0l engine vin. code 3 that this engine application is an interference engine. Do not rotate camshaft or crankshaft, when timing belt is removed or engine damage occur. We pulled all spark plug & checked inside with ********* or Camera & seen inside #1 cylinder , where valves touched the the piston on the top which lead us to bent valves. So we did not go any further.We charged her only .5 per hr labor. We spoke to customer & told not to go further.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
Actually my engine is an non interference engine - thus no valves were bent. Further proof of that is my car is now running, after replacing the timing belt. I told you to not go any further because your shop indicated I would need a new engine. Your diagnosis was completely misleading and was not done properly. I didn't tow my car to your shop to be told and charged for what "usually" happens. Like anyone, I took my car to be fixed, not to have someone guess on what might have happened and tell me I need a new engine.

Final Business Response
First of all the reason we could not look @ the car for a week and a half, is we were booked solid. Why were booked solid is, we are a Repatable family Business. We do have Employees & sometimes their views are different. That Date May 15th Management was not available. As we can figure out somebody jumped to Conclution & didn't give the option to look further into the timing belt.We have talked to that person in question.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience, & will pay back the Labor charge. It's no use going on, who is right & who is wrong. We are not perfect, but we try our best to serve our customers to the best ability.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Services, Towing Companies, Auto Repair Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 24/01/1989Business started: 01/07/1983
Contact Information
Principal: Brigitte Laplante (Owner) Wayne Laplante (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Services, Towing Companies, Auto Repair Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for W & B Automotive Repair Ltd.

524 Centre Ave East

Airdrie, AB T4B 1P9

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 524 Centre Ave East 

    Airdrie, AB T4B 1P9(403) 948-7247

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*W & B Automotive Repair Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.