BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/02/2013

Southwest Auto Service (Headquarters)

Phone: (403) 228-4711Fax: (403) 228-47132703 14 St SW, CalgaryAB T2T 3V2 Send email to Southwest Auto ServiceFacebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/02/2013

BBB has determined that Southwest Auto Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Southwest Auto Service's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Southwest Auto Service

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had my car worked on at the end of December 2013. At the time, I had new spark plugs, wires and gasket valve covers installed. It's been brought to my attention that the gasket valve cover was not replaced properly and is still leaking. I emailed ***** ******** regarding this and he was extremely rude to me. Quote, "first off emails like that do not go over well. We DID replace the gasket. If it leaks it is covered under warranty. Lets be civil in comm please. Demanding things does not get oneself very far. Thx! If you want us to recheck this. simply phone and talk to me, then book apt and we will check it", and "The issue wasn't getting an email it was what and how you said it. If you would like service be polite! Don't demand it!". I simply indicated that the issue was not fixed and I wanted it rectified free of charge. Apparently, that is not appropriate in anyway, and the customer's needs are not their priority. Basically, they do not stand by their work, and are more concerned about receiving emails! I am extremely unhappy with the way this manager/owner responded to me. Whether I was being "demanding" or not, he is in the wrong here. I will never use this shop again, nor will I have them fix what they didn't fix originally as I no longer trust they have the customer in their best interest.

Desired Settlement
At this point, I would like to be refunded for the gasket valve cover replacement as it did not fix the leak they claimed it would. I am not interested in having them look at my vehicle again as they are not to be trusted to deliver quality work!

Business Response
In response to this complaint. the customer had sent us an email demanding repairs and stating we did not complete the repairs. no phone call. Here is a copy of her first email to me.
Hi *****,



I had my car worked on at your shop last month... new valve cover gasket, spark plugs and wires. Anyway, my friend (mechanic), is doing some work on it for me and the valve cover gasket is still leaking. I want it fixed, free of charge!!! That's what was supposed to be fixed by you guys and it's not. Let me know what we can arrange for this. It's though for me to leave my car at your shop during the week, but I I'll see what I can come up with because I want this fixed no exceptions!!!
(me)********... first off emails like that do not go over well. We DID replace the gasket. If it leaks it is covered under warranty. Lets be civil in comm please. Demanding things does not get oneself very far. Thx! If you want us to recheck this. simply phone and talk to me, then book apt and we will check it.
(her)Well pardon me for emailing you! You shouldn't make a big deal out of getting an email over a call, there's really no difference, and I'm nicer on emails. Anyway, I'll be in touch.
(me)The issue wasn't getting an email it was what and how you said it. If you would like service be polite! Don't demand it!
(her)Ummm, I wasn't even mean, and the customer is always right. So how about if you want business, you be respectful!! You can shove your business up your *** anyway now. I'll get my friend to fix my car since you guys are clearly rude! I will also being making it known that you're disrespectful as well. Regardless of what the customer demands or expects, you are to be accommodating, at the beginning especially. Getting defensive doesn't look good on you as a business owner/operator. Not sure if you own the shop or not, but you sure aren't very friendly!!
to bbb...We stand behind all of our work. We do expect people to be polite and we do not tolerate verbal abuse. We would gladly look at the leak and repair under warranty if needed. A simple call or email stating something like. ( I had my car serviced with u guys and it might still be leaking, could you please take a look?) thx

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair Services, Auto Lube & Oil, Auto Services, Inspection Stations, Auto Electricians

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 22/10/1999Business started: 22/10/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Kevin Scarrott
Business Category

Auto Repair Services, Auto Lube & Oil, Auto Services, Inspection Stations, Auto Electricians


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Southwest Auto Service has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Southwest Auto Service

2703 14 St SW

Calgary, AB T2T 3V2

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2703 14 St SW 

    Calgary, AB T2T 3V2(403) 228-4711

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Southwest Auto Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.