BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 14/03/2000

Mister Transmission Calgary

Phone: (403) 287-1547Fax: (403) 287-2756View Additional Phone Numbers5818 1A St SW, CalgaryAB T2H 0G1 Send email to Mister Transmission CalgaryView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 14/03/2000

BBB has determined that Mister Transmission Calgary meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mister Transmission Calgary's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Mister Transmission Calgary

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On the 3rd February 2014 we ordered and paid for a transmission component from Mister Transmission, when the order was received it was in a plain cardboard box, we opened the box and found that the component that had been sent was not required, and was not what we needed, the part was in a sealed pink plastic transparent bag. The part was never removed from the pink bag. The part was then placed back in the box and re sealed and then place in our returns area. our returns usually take between two and three weeks.

when the part was returned we were advised that Mister Transmission do not take back opened parts. It was stated at the time that we had only opened the outer package. Again mister Transmission said transmission parts opened could not be trusted because of possible contamination.

Further correspondence via email and telephone conversations then ensued, Mister Transmission said that had they sent the incorrect parts they would take that part back, that contrary to their so called no return policy, I was then advised that Mister Transmission would hold the part and if they themselves had a job come in that needed the part they would use the part and then pay us for the part, again they say they cannot trust parts already opened but are willing to use the part.

I also checked with the invoice sent to us and no where on that invoice is there any terms in relation to returns.

we have tried to resolve this issue but we are not getting anywhere with it.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking credit for the amount on invoice number XXXXX for the amount of $624.75

Business Response
The customer phoned me and wanted to order a Rebuilt Valve Body For a transmission belonging to a **** truck. They did not contact a **** dealer...they contacted us, a repair facility. I ordered the assembly from our parts supplier and sold it to the customer. They tried returning it approx a month later, package opened. Our supplier refused to accept the return because they would be unable to re-sell it. This is not a simple auto part. It is a very complex Valve Body assembly, and absolutely no transmission repair center would purchase and trust a Valve Body-AND warranty it to their customer if there was ANY suspicion that it had been previously used. I have available an email sent from ************ Industries (which I forwarded to the customer) that shows they refused the return.
If the customer mis-diagnosed their transmission and purchased a valve body, opened the packaging, returned it approx a month later, they cannot expect to return it. We are not ***** This is the nature of the transmission repair industry.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
Without prejudice

In response to the information provided by Mister Transmission;

At no point were we informed that Mister Transmission used an outside supplier and at no point were we informed that any part inspected not correct or correct would not be honored via a good returns policy. Mister Transmission does at no point indicate that they will not accept returns.
Mister Transmission states that they will not trust a part that has been or suspected as being used. Mister Transmission knows that this part was never installed and had not been removed from its clear pink plastic bag, Mister Transmission know that it was only the delivery packaging that was opened.
"Mister Transmission said that had they sent the incorrect parts they would take that part back, that contrary to their so called no return policy, I was then advised that Mister Transmission would hold the part and if they themselves had a job come in that needed the part they would use the part and then pay us for the part, again they say they cannot trust parts already opened but are willing to use the part ".
************'s refusal to take the part back is a matter between Mister Transmission and ************* and not us. It is our understanding that Mister Transmission quite clearly do not want to refund us and think this matter will just go away, IT WILL NOT.
After speaking with other transmission parts suppliers they indicate that returns are acceptable, to date we do not have the part we do not have our money paid for the part, and we are in status quo on this matter.
As stated in Mister Transmissions response "This is the nature of the transmission industry" there is nowhere documented that this is the case, and we have never come across this before.
Mister Transmission state that we did not contact Ford, we always use OEM parts when available we had contacted ************** and ************** to see if we could get the part needed only to be informed that this part was USA no stock and that it was not available.
We feel that we have tried to settle this amicably, but to no avail we seem to be left with only one option and that would be litigation which will include interest, court fees, and costs in case.

***** M ********* CPC, LL.B (Hons)
Commissioner for Oaths

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair Services, Transmission (Truck, Tractor, Etc) Companies, Truck Repair- Diesel, Truck Repair Shops, Tire Dealers, Tire Repair Shops, Auto Services, Auto Transmission Suppliers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/09/1988Business started: 01/01/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Kris Carlson (General Manager) Darrell Carlson (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Repair Services, Transmission (Truck, Tractor, Etc) Companies, Truck Repair- Diesel, Truck Repair Shops, Tire Dealers, Tire Repair Shops, Auto Services, Auto Transmission Suppliers

Alternate Business Names
Change Auto & Tire Centre

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mister Transmission Calgary has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mister Transmission Calgary

5818 1A St SW

Calgary, AB T2H 0G1

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5818 1A St SW 

    Calgary, AB T2H 0G1(403) 208-2433
    (403) 287-1547
    (403) 510-5690

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mister Transmission Calgary is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (403) 287-3400
  • (403) 208-2433 - Phone3
  • (403) 510-5690 - Phone2
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.