BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 15/03/2011

Calgary Transmission & Auto Repair Ltd.

Phone: (403) 276-4004

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service9
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
12/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company claimed they were installing a brand new part also that ive lost the core-charge (675+tx)

I later learned the part was not NEW as i was told it was going to be.

Then more after learned the old part was sent away back to the manufacturer resulting in a credit towards the shop from the manufacturer. Which i was charged for. I had to do my own investigating and time wasting since the shop itself was neglecting the service i asked for.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of the core charge (thats right plus tax) and a formal apology from the owner also explaining his actions... Just like when we were children having to explain our actions, i really wish to know why they felt like its okay to steal.

Business Response
Around Oct 10th, 2015 *** brought his 2007 Dodge truck with broken transfer case problem. Calgary Transmission checked and quoted him $3,150+oil and tax for removing and reinstalling the re manufactured transfer case from the dealers with 3 years 160,000 KMS manufactured warranty.

We did not charge Mr ******* any core charges up front or when he picked up the truck. *** ******* only paid whatever he was quoted before we started the job.

The core charges we paid to the dealers as a security that we got back. this was not a refund or anything else. We do not have any obligation to pay back to the customers.

We charge him what we quoted Mr ******* therefore no refund is due at all and no question of apology for anything from our side.




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
Calgary Transmission quoted me something, and in the end i didnt get the parts that i was quoted.
Calgary Transmission can play **** all they want. The fact of the matter is i was quoted this, a New transfercase, and a loss of a core charge. By the time i paid i received a re manufactured transfercase without my knowledge, and they returned my original transfercase to the manufacturer.
How it works is, if i lose my core charge the mechanic/shop always should give back the part, unless instructed by the customer (me), since the part is owned by the customer until forfeited.. and forced to take it home and to dispose of themselves. Since i didnt get my original part back its plain and simple they owe me the core charge on the part.
plain and simple.
please see attached image - the image is proof of refund of my part which should have gone back to me. regardless of what Calgary Transmission claims, they did not return my part. Rather they sent it back to the manufacturer for Calgary Transmission to keep the refund, and to never tell me about it..

so please, why does CT feel they deserve this and feel they have NO OBLIGATION to return the funds.
what world are we living in?

Final Business Response
As we said before we did not charge Mr. ******* any core deposit. We only charge what we quoted him (invoice is attached). *** paid that invoice with four different cards and $280 cash amounting total $3,332.70 as we had quoted

The refund invoice that he claimed does not belongs to him because we had deposited from our pocket initially. As evident please see invoice ( *******) from Varsity dated Oct XX-XXXX.

Calgary Transmission does not owe anything.

All supporting documents are attached.

08/11/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We sent our 2000 Pontiac Gran Prix to Extremline Auto who in turn had Calgary Transmission @ Auto repair Ltd. rebuild & R&I the transmission with an "upgraded valve body". The Transmission failed after 8,000 km and no warrantee of any kind was honoured. The report from "***" at the shop was that the car had been mistreated and moved from forward to reverse while in motion. Absolutely false!. This car is driven only in summer and is babied by the 57 year old lady driver.

Desired Settlement
We want either the transmission to be repaired under warrantee, or the repair costs re-imbursed to get it repaired an another shop.

Business Response
First, We have not worked for ****** ******** in the past at all. The car Mr ******** is talking about came from Xtremeline Automotive Services Ltd in *** 2013 (2 years and 2 months ago). The warranty was for one year.
Our warranty was expired on *** XX-XXXX.

No repair can be done under warranty or no money return will take place under our warranty policy.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
The transmission rebuild service performed lasted only 8000 km. This car was sublet to Calgary Transmission & Auto Repair by Xtremline Auto services, and the original "excuse" for the failed transmission was that it was "abused by shifting from reverse to drive without stopping the car", then they changed their story to be that it carries a 1-year unlimited warrantee" which had now lapsed. This near mint condition model year 2000 rare Pontiac GTP is babied and indoor stored only driven in nice weather. The car had 112,000 km on it when sent in for repair (avaerage of 7000km per year). It has never been driven hard, and when a transmission fails after only 8000km, it has nothing to do with length of time and everything to do with workmanship. This should clearly be covered under warrantee under these circumstances.

Final Business Response
All we want to say the vehicle is out of warranty period. It can not be fixed under warranty. The work was done to Xtremline Auto Services in 2013. The warranty was over in May 2014

12/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On October 8, 2014 I had my 2001 Dodge diesel 3500 worked on by Calgary Transmission. They replaced the transmission with a rebuild and charged me $4000. On Dec 10th, 2014 I was driving the truck home from work when it started to vibrate. Upon inspection, I noticed the front drive shaft bolts had come loose from the transfer case. The transfer case had also come loose from the transmission. On Dec 11, 2014 I contacted Calgary Transmission and they had the vehicle towed to their shop. They also told me the vehicle would be repaired under warranty. On Dec 12th, I went to their shop after being called by Calgary Transmission. They stated it was not their workmanship and stated that it was due to a weak rear drive axle bearing. The rear drive shaft does connect to the transmission but it is balanced and steadied through a steady bearing and does not connect to the transfer case or front drive shaft. In talking to other mechanics at other shops they state the particular damage on my truck could not have happened due to a weak rear axle bearing. There is no doubt this damage was due to poor workmanship and I am inquiring on any recourse i may have.

Desired Settlement
Honour the warranty on the transmission. I would like Calgary Transmission to repair my 2001 Dodge 3500 transmission and drive shaft under the warranty included with the original $4000 repair.

Business Response
On October 8, 2014 Calgary Transmission had rebuilt transmission job on 2001 Dodge diesel 3500. We replaced the transmission with a rebuild one. On Dec 11, Mr ********* called us complaining about transmission and he towed the truck to our shop. Calgary Transmission checked the truck and found broken front drive shaft U joints and busted transfer case with it.

All the nuts and bolts were tight. Nothing was loose.
According to our warranty, Calgary transmission only warranty for transmission.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
After speaking with four other mechanic shops, all of which confirmed this is due to there workmanship all work should be covered under warranty. Calgary transmission and auto even told me it would be warrentied when I called to tell them what happened and that I'm bringing it back to their shop. I don't even believe they rebuilt the transmission properly, as the truck will not go into park or drive every time. If calgary transmission refuses to back up all their work I will take legal action agains them. I do not believe this is right what they are doing and they must be held accountable for their workmanship.

Final Business Response
As we said before we still have the truck at the shop. It has broken U joints, broken transfer case. No problem with with transmission at all.

Even BBB can come physically and look at the vehicle.

Again, As per our warranty we are only responsible for transmission workmanship.

Thank You

12/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My vehicle was towed there June 14th and needed the transmission rebuilt. When I picked up the vehicle I told that I will have to get a new engine oil cap, that they thought it was there on the first test drive but noticed it wasn't there on the second test drive. So they knowingly drove it without an oil cover on the engine spilling oil all over the place. They asked me if my speedometer was working previously, which it was, and that I will need to pick up a new one and they would install it for me. They said my power steering and water pumps where out of alignment and that they fixed a leak at the thermostat but they used the wrong silicon and it is still leaking. After my friend gave me a ride to a parts store to get the $6.00 part I drove the truck to ******* to check and change all my fluids. There they noticed my transmission fluid was overfull so I brought the back to the shop on June 20th to have them suck the overfill out and questioned them why my truck was running so rough now when I had just had it turned up from ****** ****** June 12 and why I was having issues finding the gears. They said the transmission fluid is supposed to be overfull for when you go around a corner the gears are still in fluid and that I have to give it time for my engine to get used to the rebuilt transmission. This sounded like ** to me so I dropped my truck off at ****** ***** on June 21st to inspect the work. They discovered a bolt missing on the belt housing, my coolant lines leaking, the transmission fluid overfilled past the fill line and the gear linkage not hooked up properly. ****** ****** had Dominion Transmission fix the transmission as that is what they specialize in. So I finally got to actually use my truck August 9th and that's when I noticed a transmission leak and had to bring it back to Calgary Transmission & Auto repair where the replaced the seal. The next trip I made with my truck I made it to Longview where I fueled up and was not able to restart my truck as the started torqued to hard it sheared off one bolt and tore a 1inch chunk out of my engine block. I also noticed that there was transmission fluid leaking from the new speedo cable. I spoke with **** and on September 11th he agreed to repair or replaced my engine on the shop. I verbally confirmed with him that he was willing to fix or replace the engine with no cost to me as I didn't want to go to pick up my truck and get a huge bill I couldn't afford to pay. He said I might need to buy him some cigars. So I asked him to send me an email confirmation regarding our conversation which I never got. I have called him twice a week to make arrangements to get my truck in for repair or replace the engine and he is either too busy to talk to me or the shop is too busy to fit me in. I feel they are liable as the starter should be removed when reinstalling the transmission or else realigned after the installation and that he did verbally agree to fix or replace my engine.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund from Calgary Transmission & Auto Repair so I can go get my truck fixed at a reliable shop.

Business Response
In response to ***** ******'s Complaint:
Please be advised that We, Calgary Transmissions & Auto Repair Ltd. rebuilt the transmission on June XX-XXXX for Ms ***** ******'s 1969 GMC truck. We removed, rebuilt, and reinstalled the transmission. Road test and leak check was done and there was no leak on the transmission before the truck was released however there was anti-freeze leaking at the thermostat on the engine. We informed Ms ****** about the leak. Calgary Transmissions & Auto Repair Ltd. fixed the leak on it at no charge.

We told her that speedo cable needs to be replace. She supplied the part and we replaced it at no charge. One day ***** brought the truck to the shop complaining about missing bilhousing bolt and leak. We lifted the truck up on the host. While she was there, we showed her there was no bolt missing anywhere and there was no leak. We checked the transmission fluid level in front of her and showed her the level was fine but she said "oh I do not know my mechanic told me that". The she drove the truck away.

After that she never brought the truck to the shop.

Please mote: Removing the transmission, we did not remove the starter or anything else on the engine. Calgary Transmissions & Auto Repair Ltd. just removed, rebuilt, and reinstalled the transmission only. If Ms ****** has any issue with the transmission, we will be more than happy to fix the transmission under warranty.

We have no liability to fix anything else on the truck under warranty or free of cost.

Should you have any other question, please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Best Regards
****** ****, Director
Calgary Transmission & auto Repair Ltd.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response from Calgary Transmission as they do not have their facts straight. I have all the appointments and details saved in my outlook Calendar and that the response is from the manager *** and not the owner **** ***** whom I have been dealing with. Also, **** ***** stated to me he would repair or replace my engine under the shop cost and he also said the same thing to my father when they had a phone conversation.

They also did not address the neglect when knowingly driving my truck without the oil cap and that my speedo cable did work prior to me dropping my truck off for work on my transmission. Please note that *** ****** is a witness to this statement from **** ***** as *** was there when I picked up my truck.

**** had let me know that my thermostat was leaking and that they repaired it for free. My issue is they used the wrong type of silicone and it is still leaking.

*** did not address is previous statement that the transmission fluid is supposed to be overfull for when you go around a corner the gears are still in fluid and that I have to give it time for my engine to get used to the rebuilt transmission. I have talked to ** and the fill line on the dip stick is to indicate full when your transmission is warm and it should not be overfilled. When my transmission was warm the transmission fluid was over the fill line by 2 inches. *** also did not acknowledge the seal replacement done by Calgary transmission August 8th. When I picked up my truck from that repair is when I noticed transmission fluid leaking from where the new speedo cable attaches to the transmission, I have submitted a photo of this.

I will respond that I receive a statement from Dominion Transmission regarding the bolt missing on the belt housing, which holds the transmissions to the motor, and that the coolant lines to my transmission where leaking and I was not aware that Dominion repaired those issues before returning my truck so when I brought my truck back to Calgary Transmission to install the new speedo cable and they hoisted it to check the other issues they were already repaired.

In closing I would like to say that I feel that they are responsible for the lack of quality of work done and that they have indicated more than once that they will repair or replace my engine under the shop cost.

Regards,

***** ******
69 GMC C10

Final Business Response
In response to ***** ******'s Complaint #2:

At first, *** (owner of Calgary Transmission) emailed Ms ****** to fix the transmission. Calgary Transmissions & Auto Repair Ltd. did fix the transmission as promised and gave warranty only on transmission work. Calgary Transmission and Auto Repair Ltd. have not given her any other warranty on anything else except transmission.

There are only two owners of Calgary Transmissions and Auto Repair Ltd.- **** **** and ****** ****.

If Ms ****** has any issue with the transmission, we will be more than happy to fix the transmission under warranty.

Should you have any other question, please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Best Regards
****** ****, Director/Owner
Calgary Transmission & auto Repair Ltd.

08/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I brought my XX XXXsl ******** to them 2 summers ago to rebuild my transmission, they tried after returning it after a month to me the gearing and rpms were way off so I brought it back to them and they determined they could no longer rebuild that transmission so they said they sent away to Detroit for a rebuilt transmission this took another 2 months they gave it back to me and there was a leak so I brought it back they said it was a seal that they fixed. Now the summer was over so I may have put 500km on new transmission and put it away for summer . They said that was a 1 year warranty on it. I drove it all next summer for about a total of maybe 1000km when the weather was nice it being a convertible , just 1 week ago I took it out I noticed the transmission was slipping and then it finally would not go into any drive gear only in reverse. I tried going in to talk to the guy at Calgary transmission and he gave me the run around so I had car towed to national transmission at XXX XXth st nw Calgary and there brook opened it up and said that it needed to be rebuilt. He said that he thought there's no way this could have been a rebuild that they prob just got an old transmission from an old 92 ******** and told me it was a rebuild . I now have ***** from national transmission rebuilding it and will never go back to calgary transmission again I would pay double before I went back there. They also somehow broke my key the spring in the switch part of my key and also some how got surface scratches on the fender when working on it , that need to be buffed out or wet sanded. That could cost me up to $500 or more . The key to order from ******** is over **** . They never gave me a proper warranty just one of there cards his name signed on back probably because I paid them cash approx ******** . ***** from national transmission said it would cost ******** or possible more or a little less.

Desired Settlement
It would be great if they covered half the cost to rebuild this transmission . But it's already being worked on and again I would never bring it back to them. At the least they should have an area for reviews on there site where people can warn other people .

Business Response
Please be advised that Mr ******* came to Calgary Transmission around end of May 2014 complaining about his car transmission. we told him to bring the car and warranty paper then we can have a look even though it was already out of warranty period. we give warranty for one year with unlimited kilometers. He drove his car two summers. We still co-operated and asked him to bring it in with warranty paper.
it does not matter what was the method of payment we do provide warranty on every vehicle we repair.
Mr ******* never came back to Calgary Transmission and took his car somewhere else. Even if he was in warranty period; the warranty is voided when customer take vehicle to someone else without showing us.
Thanks
****** ****,

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
They didn't even give me a warranty piece of paper, what they gave me was one of there cards with the date on it that the work was done. Maybe because i paid with cash. I received no paperwork what so ever.The point i am getting at is this was to be a rebuild and National Transmission says that this transmission as never been opened that they just put a used transmission in it from an old car from wreckers or something, For more information I can give you the number to National where ***** the manger can explain this.

Final Business Response
Please be advised again that we can not do anything if the vehicle is already out of warranty period and on top of that Mr ******* did not provide warranty papers.

Second, he already took his car somewhere else therefore warranty was voided right there even if he had warranty papers.

We respect our customers and give quality work but we have some company policies. we believe every business has those

Best regards
****** ****, Director

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair Services, Auto Services, Transmission (Truck, Tractor, Etc) Companies, Auto Transmission Suppliers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.