BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Alberta & East Kootenay

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/03/1998

Brooks Lube & Alignment Ltd.

Find a Location

Phone: (403) 362-6441Fax: (403) 362-5860619 2 St West, BrooksAB T1R 1B5 Send email to Brooks Lube & Alignment Ltd.FacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/03/1998

BBB has determined that Brooks Lube & Alignment Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Brooks Lube & Alignment Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Brooks Lube & Alignment Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
01/26/2012Problems with Product / Service
05/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: I own a **** vehicle. I called Roadside assistance and they arranged a tow truck to tow my car to the dealership. The tow company told **** that they would have a truck to me within an hour. Roadside assistance notified the dealer my car was on its way.

I receive a phone call from the tow company. The guy was rude right from the beginning, dictating to me that I need to call the dealer, etc. and find out when my car is booked in and let him know. He said that his service manager should not have told **** that they would be here within the hour. I advised this person that all I need is a tow to the dealer, that my appointment time is of no consequence. I advised yet again that this was through Roadside assistance, and they would have made arrangements and that I had not booked an appointment because I didn't plan on my car not starting this morning. This person told me that if my car won't be worked on until tomorrow, there is no point in him coming to get my car today. He advised that often that is how this particular ford dealer operates. I again advised that all I need from him is a tow, and he told me he knows how the system works and urged me to comply with his requests. He then told me that **** roadside assistance was not told a truck would be here within an hour when he had JUST said that very thing to me! He stumbled over his words when I called him on his ****

After this conversation, I searched the tow company online and come to find out that this person is the owner of the company. I'm not sure what prompted this unsolicited outburst, but it definitely was not welcome on a morning when I was already having to deal with car troubles. Very poor people skills, very poor customer service.

Initial Business Response
Brooks Lube and Alignment received a call from ***** dispatch. Our service manager was under the inpression that we had a truck available. He responded that we could be there within an hour. As it turned out all our tow trucks were busy at the time and we could not respond to the call for 2 hours. As is our policy, we called the customer to let her know that we could do it but not within the hour. The customer replied that it was booked in by ***** within the hour. We could not get across that we would not be there in an hour, but could still have it towed before the dealership would be available to do her repairs. Customer phoned ****** ***** then dispatched another tow company to do the tow.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
The business' response is dishonest. It was the owner himself who I spoke to, and this is not even close to what he said to me. The man was rude, and barked orders at me from the beginning of the conversation. I find this response insulting.

Final Business Response
I told the customer that we would be two hours before a tow truck could get there and this was not acceptable to her so I don't feel that I need to apologize.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
The business owner is being outright dishonest to cover his appalling behaviour. I will be sure to let my friends and acquaintances know of my experience with this business.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

08/09/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair Services, Auto Services, Towing Companies, Lubricating Service-Automotive

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 20/04/1993Business started: 01/01/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alberta Motor Vehicle Industry Council
#303, 9945 - 50 Street
Edmonton, ABT6A 0L4
(877) 979-8100
http://www.amvic.org

BBB records show a license number of 178989 for this company, issued by Alberta Motor Vehicle Industry Council. Their web address is http://www.amvic.org.

Type: Alberta Motor Vehicles Industry Council

Contact Information
Principal: Doug Larson (Partner)
Business Category

Auto Repair Services, Auto Services, Towing Companies, Lubricating Service-Automotive

Industry Tips
Know the Facts about Auto Service Contracts
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Brooks Lube & Alignment Ltd.

619 2 St West

Brooks, AB T1R 1B5

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Brooks Lube & Alignment Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.