BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 26/01/2005


(403) 938-3160197 Stockton Ave, OkotoksAB T1S 1A7 Send email to CARSTAR OkotoksFacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 26/01/2005

BBB has determined that CARSTAR Okotoks meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised CARSTAR Okotoks' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on CARSTAR Okotoks

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/06/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

I had my drivers side door panel fixed through carcraft a few years ago, and have had issues with it ever since. I stopped in a few times throughout saying that my rear passenger windows, and my drivers side mirrow were having issues, and that I didn't believe they were reinstalled properly. I even pointed out that my lock button had been reinstalled upside down. My drivers mirror was hanging by a thin piece of plastic, and they brushed me off everytime saying it was wear and tear, and had nothing to do with the drivers side door repair. Recently I brought my car into ford to be looked at, after having a helicoptor engineer look at my mirror for me, and while trying the window buttons on the drivers side it would no longer go up. To his dismay he saw the rusted/ wrong bolt used to put the door back together, and the unprofessional workmanship on the mirrow and door panel. He managed to piece together my mirror so that it would not cause me any problems on my upcoming nine hour drive. Alas, the window would not go up, so I brought it to Ford, so I could make my trip up north. When I got the review from Ford, that the problems I was having with the windows were connected to the drivers side controls I was not happy. I realized that I was truly brushed off by ******** in Okotoks, for my lack of car knowledge. I have the review from Ford, but cannot afford the $737.30 to have the work done at this time, after paying $139.00 to have it checked out. I'm disheartened that it had to come to this, as I did go in to speak to them, not directly after having it in, but when I noticed the problems, in the spring/summer when I'd actually have cause to use the rear windows. Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement
I'd like to have them pay for Ford to fix my drivers door properly, including the window switch and mirror.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************
Repairs were done to ******'s vehicle in March 2010. At the time, the door shell was replaced. On this type of repair, only the sheet metal is changed and all other parts; mirror, wiring, handles are reused from the original shell. If there is something missed, that was accident related, we can go over it with insurance regarding a supplement.
If there is any issue with our repair, ****** should continue to stop and we will have a tech look at it. If she is not comfortable or feels she is not being treated appropriately, we would gladly have one of our other locations look into the repair as well.
At this point not sure what parts Ford wants to replace and whether they are worn out or damaged as a result of the accident.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
In response to ******** I would like to add that the reason for me making this complaint with the BBB is that I am tired of dealing with ******** in any way, and do not feel comfortable stopping in anymore as when I did my concerns were disregarded, and I was told that their was no way the problems I was having could have anything to do with my drivers side door, as it was the rear windows I was having problems with. I related to them that the switch in the drivers door was my concern but they proceeded to tell me that their was no way that could be so. I am upset on the premiss that they said this and when I finally had it looked at by Ford they are telling me that my problem is due to the drivers door switch. They want to replace the drivers door harness and window switch for a cost of $737.30. I also mentioned to ******** that I was concerned with the workmanship as my lock panel was inserted upside down and that my drivers mirror was loose. They told me they would do the work on the lock panel and to wait for a phone call to book an appointment. They did not call. The drivers mirror had no exterior damage but seems to have been taken apart improperly and is broken only from the interior. This should also be replaced. I stopped a couple times to discuss this and they told me that it had to be wear and tear, or some exterior cause. I don't feel I should have to deal with any other ******** locations, as I live in High River and shouldn't have to drive to Calgary to have the work done properly. I think ******** should have done more to look into my concerns initially, and I believe that the workmanship and lack of attention to detail is the cause that I am having these troubles with the vehicle. They were already paid by my insurance to fix the accident damage to my car, and should be held responsible for work done improperly and any damage they incurred while my car was in their care. Thank you.

Final Business Response
I have advised ***** ****** at ******** ******* that sometime ****** will stop by with her car, and he will look at her vehicle whenever she can stop by.


Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Shops, Auto Windshield and Glass Repair Shops, Auto Repair Services, Auto Detailers

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 03/11/1999Business started: 01/03/1989
Contact Information
Principal: Mark Kharfan (President)Customer Contact: Brian Grover (Vice President)
Business Category

Auto Body Shops, Auto Windshield and Glass Repair Shops, Auto Repair Services, Auto Detailers

Alternate Business Names
Carcraft Carstar Collision Service, Carcraft Bodyworks Ltd.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

CARSTAR Okotoks has received 3.68 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for CARSTAR Okotoks

197 Stockton Ave

Okotoks, AB T1S 1A7

To | From


1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*CARSTAR Okotoks is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Body Shops


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.