BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 13/12/2011

The Car Salon Restyling Ltd.

Phone: (403) 250-3722Fax: (403) 717-9014122 1725 32 Ave NE, CalgaryAB T2E 7C8 Send email to The Car Salon Restyling Ltd.FacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 13/12/2011

BBB has determined that The Car Salon Restyling Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised The Car Salon Restyling Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on The Car Salon Restyling Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/20/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

They have nude pictures on women on display in the public area. Specifically the reception of the shipping and receiving area. I spoke to the manager and he tells me that area is not for public but i was sent there. And when i went in i saw another customer in there too. This is a place of business and such inappropriate pictures are not accepted. Reception is never considered a private place because we have public people in there.

Desired Settlement
To apologize to me and to remove such pictures from there.

Business Response
The Car Salon Group of Companies received the above-referenced customer complaint and appreciates the opportunity to respond. Said Customer complains that she recently was offended by seeing one of our suppliers calendar depicting a topless woman. Our management would like to apologize for offense that may have been taken from viewing the calendar. Right or wrong these calendars are in most shops throughout North America. We would also like to state the "Reception area spoken of in the complaint is NOT in a public area. It is in our private parts room / shipping - receiving. It has clearly marked signage on the door "Employees Only all customers to report to the Showroom".

We do realize the customer was brought back into this area only, because we went above and beyond the service you would expect from any Automotive Shop. The reason for bringing said customer into this private area was, because she wanted an $89 tint "eyebrow" on the top of her windshield. She then was given 3 options 6", 8" or 10". The customer was then shown the sizing on her vehicle (demonstrated in our parking lot). She then wanted to see it on her car before purchase. We agreed & provided courteous customer service & brought her into our install bay via through the private area mentioned before.

Once again we extend our sincerest apologies & we will implement a new company policy to not bring customers into private areas even if it means losing the job.

02/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I brought my vehicle to The Car Salon to get fixed after a car accident, I dropped it off and had a rental car for 2 weeks, upon picked up my vehicle on Jan 18 I had noticed a piece off of the gear shifter was broken. I went back inside and asked if there was any notation about that piece being broken, and was told I would need to speak to the manager on Monday after they advised me multiple times they did not break it! I told him I didn't appreciate the attitude he had towards me, he said "Fine then have a nice day".
I waited till today and called there this morning and spoke with the Manager **** explained my experience he asked me to bring my vehicle by so he could have a look, I went in and had brought a whole bunch of parts that were left on the floor of my vehicle that I had put in a ziplock bag and asked why they were left there rolling around on the floor, **** (man at the counter)said they weren't left there, I advised him I had to clean up the parts after picking up my vehicle as tape and plastic pieces and nuts and bolts were left all around. After explaining again they were left on the floor **** told me not to argue with him that I would not win and said he would fix the problem and took the bag of parts and threw them in the garbage right in front of the manager, the manager grabbed the parts out of the garbage and put them back on the counter but said nothing to ****, some other person who worked there confirmed they were old parts that were taken off of the vehicle and forgotten about.
Then the manager **** came out looked at the piece that was broken, he said he moved my vehicle the day I dropped it off and he didn't notice it being broken, he took pictures and told me he would contact the dealership and get back to me.
He has since called me and told me that one of the guys noticed it and reported it to **** and now **** remembers that being brought to his attention and that if the replacement piece was a small amount they would just fix it for me but because the replacement piece is $400 they won't replace it as they have 2 people who say it was already broken.
I can guarantee it was not and I had my friend come with me to drop off the Jeep and he said as well it was not broken when I dropped it off.
I am beyond frustrated with how I have been treated with the customer service and the issue at hand.

Desired Settlement
I would like the broken part fixed as I know it was not like that when I dropped it off and I would also like a letter of apology for how I have been treated in the last couple days by them

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Romesh *** (GM)
Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****
In Response to the letter received by the Better Business Bureau:

The initial interaction with the customer which she has reported to you the BBB, occurred on a Saturday. The customer came in to the showroom and picked her vehicle up with no issue. Returning about two minutes after taking her vehicle, she began voicing her concern about a part being broken inside the vehicle.

On Saturday the customer was speaking to a Restyling / Tire & Auto service advisor who was not involved in the repair of her vehicle. So he calmly told her that she would have to hold off until Monday to speak with the Auto Body manager as he would know more and was involved with the vehicle.

Not accepting this answer she continued to be confrontational with the employee. After said employee repeated himself for a third time the Head Mechanic / Service Manager stepped in repeating the message that she would have to wait until Monday. Not liking this answer she retorted with "I don't like your attitude".

Following up on the incident on Monday the GM, Body Shop Manager, and Shop Supervisor went through the initial inspection, the repair technician had noticed the broken piece and had brought it up to ****'s attention upon bringing the vehicle into the shop.

As an Autobody shop we are told by the claim form (Claim No: AXXXXXX) what we are replacing or fixing on each vehicle that comes in. The insurance adjustor that inspected the vehicle also had not put the part on the claim form as it was not seen by him or accident related. The damage to the vehicle was on the rear tail gate and bumper. Nothing in the vehicle was being fixed or changed. Nor were we changing anything in or near the gear shift column.

The Car Salon Autobody shop has called the insurance adjuster stating that the piece is broken and that the customer was stating that part was not broken when dropped off. Insurance Adjuster has informed us that the part will not be replaced by insurance and that the customer's designer hand bag and car stereo are other things not being fixed as part of the accident. The adjuster involved is willing to talk/speak if any more information is needed.

As far as the comment made about the part not being replaced due to the price, The Car Salon never indicated that we would replace the part. We simply inquired to the dealership about the availability and pricing of the part same as we do with any vehicle that comes through our doors. This was done for the customer's convenience, as we were told by the insurance company that they would not be covering the cost of the part.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
I am not happy with this response at all, conveniently the responses by the employee on that Saturday are left out making it look like it was me who was the rude one when in fact the guy that was there was actually about to come out and have a look before the other man stepped in unbelievable, the insurance adjustor had asked that The Car Salon check out the stereo as it wasn't working properly and to test out the 4x4 as it won't come out of 4x4 right away after the accident!
They would have had move it in and out of the shop which would require it to be driven, I was also advised that the car Salon drove it around to test out the 4x4, so either The Car Salon **** to the insurance adjuster that they looked into these issues as requested or they aren't telling the truth themselves, the stereo is right above the broken part and if it was being looked at it very easily could have been broken.
I find it funny that there was no notation left on any of the paperwork to begin with when the concern was first brought up but as soon as I bring up the subject **** the man who was unbelievably rude to me right in front of the manager remembers it, like I said before I have multiple people who will vouch for the fact it was not broken to start with.
The conversation I had with **** on the Monday when he told me not to worry he would get this all fixed up for me was admitting fault.
I do no accept their reply at all, it doesn't have all the facts included conveniently leaving out the parts where it shows their lack of customer service skills.

Final Business Response

To whom it may concern at the Better Business Bureau;

Situations like this can be difficult to resolve, for there is no sure way to determine exactly what happened to the damaged console shifter cover. Our technician who drove the vehicle into the shop noticed the damaged part and brought it to our production managers attention. Perhaps our production manager should have called the customer, however when working on older vehicles we consistently see worn or broken parts and accessories and usually there are no issues.
After speaking with the customer we have offered to pay half of the cost of the replacement part, $50.00, and install it for free. The customer did not accept. We feel we have been as fair as possible with this unfortunate event, however the customer did not agree to these terms. We have been trying to find a mutually acceptable solution to this situation, and are sorry the customer does not feel the same way. The offer will still stand if the customer changes their mind.


The Car Salon Management Team

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I explained to **** yesterday, I do not feel that I should be paying anything out of pocket for something that was not caused by myself, I have no problem saying that my vehcile was not perfect when it was brought in, but that does not excuse the fact that I should be picking up my vehicle with the repairs that were needed and nothing else broken, the fact that **** said in our conversation that the production manager has a bad memory should be enough to say that he can't be 100% counted on and isn't sure if the conversation he had with the tech.
They should just fix the issue that they caused and be done with the situation, I told him yesterday that there were many other issues with my vehicle that I could have complained about why would I chose something so small, I just want the wrongs righted here and be done with it.
**** is correct when he said during our conversation yesterday "maybe I should never have brought my vehicle to them in the first place" and he can be sure I never will again.
I do not accept that offer to take responsibility for half the problem when he can extend that olive branch farther and make the problem go away and fix what they broke.
I will not settle for anything less than having the piece fixed at no cost to myself and a letter of apology for the poor way that I was treated.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair and Painting Companies, Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims, Auto - Paint Protection, Auto Rust Proofing Shops, Glass-Auto, Plate, Window, Etc., Auto Repair & Service - Airbags, Auto Detailers, Alternators & Generators-Auto Repair, Window Tinting & Coating - Commercial

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 27/01/2003Business started: 10/09/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Thomsen (Owner / Manager)
Business Category

Auto Body Repair and Painting Companies, Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims, Auto - Paint Protection, Auto Rust Proofing Shops, Glass-Auto, Plate, Window, Etc., Auto Repair & Service - Airbags, Auto Detailers, Alternators & Generators-Auto Repair, Window Tinting & Coating - Commercial

Products & Services

This company offers the restyling of vehicles, including:
protection packages
power polishing
window tinting
remote starters
heated seats
vehicle graphics
vehicle signage
3m front end protection (film)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Car Salon Restyling Ltd. has received 3.68 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Car Salon Restyling Ltd.

122 1725 32 Ave NE

Calgary, AB T2E 7C8

To | From


1 Locations

  • 122 1725 32 Ave NE 

    Calgary, AB T2E 7C8(403) 250-3722

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Car Salon Restyling Ltd. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair and Painting Companies


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.