BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/08/1985

Alberta Home Services

Phone: (403) 299-0299Fax: (888) 876-08053343 44 Ave SE, CalgaryAB T2B 3K6 Send email to Alberta Home ServicesView Additional Web AddressesFacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Professional furnace and duct cleaning. Furnace inspections and repairs. Humidifier / air purifier installations.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/08/1985

BBB has determined that Alberta Home Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Alberta Home Services' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Alberta Home Services

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
01/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had two furnaces installed in 2010.Part of the contract gave me two free cleaning.I phoned on or about Oct. 12,2014 to request one of these cleaning.The company I had in 2010, changed the name from ************ Services to Ab.Home Services.At first I was told that ******* contracts were honored.However I was later told that they would not agree to any furnace cleaning. THis was mainly because the General Manager Ms. ****** ***** didn't have the authority to offer these to me.

Desired Settlement
Have my furnace system cleaned

Business Response
Please note that ****** did not change their business name. Alberta Home Services is a separate company that had no affiliation at the time of the furnace install at Mr. ********'s home on December 17, 2009. ******* Home Services is therefore, not under any obligation to comply with any commitments ****** made in 2009.

06/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Alberta Home Services replaced ********* thermostat for furnace in our residence April 4/2014, part was $475.86. Thermostat part was covered by warranty and Alberta Home Services advised that they would only pay $408.18 and that we should receive warranty cheque within two weeks. I have a dispute with the Company over the amount of refund and we have not received a cheque for any amount as yet, now May 2/2014.
The serviceman also took a cover from our furnace circuit board and has not returned it.
The Company Managers are not returning phone calls to settle these disputes.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a warranty rebate in the amount of $475.86 and also have our furnace circuit board cover returned.

Business Response
Alberta Home Services has decided to provide Ms. ****** a full refund on the part purchased, for $ 475.86.

Ms. ****** has received her refund the week of May 26, 2014.

At this time, Ms. ****** is satisfied.

Regards,
*** *****
CC Manager
Alberta Home Services
403.299.0288 x 2
***@albertahomeservices.com

05/23/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had bought a ******* for $69.00 which was to be towards $179.00 of furnace cleaning. When they produced the bill they only took the $69.00 off. My understanding was we were to get the full $179.00 off. When I called them they told me it was for carpet cleaning and other items. Not so on my copy. The manager hung up on me before. I have bought many *******s in the past and this is the only company that has not honored the coupon.

Desired Settlement
A refund of $110.00 from Alberta Furnace Co.

Business Response
With regards to our ******* offer, we outline in detail, what the service does include. It was stated as follows:
The Deal-
$69 for the cleaning of a mid-efficient furnace and 10 air-duct vents ($179 value)
Includes a replacement standard-size furnace air filter
This ******* also includes a $25 voucher towards carpet, furniture, or area rug cleaning.
We provided a service for $69, which is normally a cost of $179. We would not discount the service by $179, but you will be charged for additional services beyond the advertised service costs.
After reviewing your invoice, the technician charged everything in accordance to our advertising and extra service done in your home. Your invoice shows that we reduced the Deluxe Package to $99 and further applied a discount of $-30, so your prepayment of $-69 "zero's out the reduced $99 package.
As well you get other benefits such as a free filter and another $25 discount towards carpet cleaning services, hence your $179 value you paid $69 for, includes all of this.
Your cost of $373.47 is justified and at this time, a refund will not be issued.
Our ******* offer is not like others and recommend you read the fine print details before making a decision on any purchase.

07/22/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/16/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
05/16/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was given a flyer from the their furnace service technician for a humidifier for my furnace. I was told if I bought it today April 8/14 I would only have to pay $350.00 as it is $380.00 regularly. I agreed to the humidifier in the flyer. When the tech came to install the humidifier April 9/14 it was not the one on the flyer, I called to inquire about this and I was rudely spoken to by ****** firstly that that model is not an option for me unless I want to pay "a lot" more. I asked to speak to the general manager and she passed ** on. When he came on the phone he was rude and defensive from the start, I said do you know you are yelling at a 9 month pregnant woman who is due today, he replied what makes you any different than any other customer. A lot makes me different from your other customers. He said his technician ******* who gave me the flyer and sold me the humidifier is human and made a mistake. I got upset and my spouse (*** ***** took the phone and continued the disagreement with him. He first said his name was **** then he changed his mind and said it was ***. *** asked him for his last name and he wouldn't give it and hung up. *** called back and got the same ignorant non-professional behavior from him as I had. He finally gave his name *** ****** He refused to honour the product and offer that was sold. We cancelled the appointment as this is not a company I'm proud to say I paid money too nor that I have had in my home to do any work.

Desired Settlement
I would like the product in the flyer I was originally sold and installed correctly with no extra charge and an apology or I would like a full refund for the service I paid for that day.

Business Response
I have reviewed all the information pertaining to this customer's concerns and would like to apologize for any miscommunication on our part. The technician did make an error in pricing of that particular humidifier which is $549 installed. We will offer the customer $100 discount and can have it installed at her convenience. We look forward to resolving this and accommodating the customers concerns.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
After the way I was treated that day I do not accept their response or offer. I feel they are not rectifying the situation.I do not trust this company. Any company that employs people who speak to a nine month pregnant woman in that manner. I will gladly take my money and business elsewhere and will not recommend their company to anyone.

10/10/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
05/17/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Furnace Cleaning, Humidifier Suppliers, Heater Cleaning Repair Services, Air Duct Cleaners, Duct Cleaning Companies, Chimney Cleaning Companies, Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers, Heating Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/09/1991Business started: 01/01/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Grant Carlson (Executive Vice President) Bernie Poschwatta (President)
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Furnace Cleaning, Humidifier Suppliers, Heater Cleaning Repair Services, Air Duct Cleaners, Duct Cleaning Companies, Chimney Cleaning Companies, Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers, Heating Contractors

Products & Services

Furnace and duct cleaning.
Central vac, hot water tank, and dryer vent cleaning
Furnace inspections and repairs.
Humidifier installations.
Air purifier installations

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

Customer satisfaction guarantee.

Alternate Business Names
Fur-Max Professional Services

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

6 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Alberta Home Services

3343 44 Ave SE

Calgary, AB T2B 3K6

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3343 44 Ave SE 

    Calgary, AB T2B 3K6(403) 299-0299

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Alberta Home Services is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.