BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/06/2014

AAA Heating & Cooling Ltd.

(403) 819-2156View Additional Phone Numbers204 11420 27 St SE, CalgaryAB T2Z 3R6 Send email to AAA Heating & Cooling Ltd.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/06/2014

BBB has determined that AAA Heating & Cooling Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AAA Heating & Cooling Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on AAA Heating & Cooling Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
10/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
AAA Heating and Refrigeration
AAA heating and Cooling (XXXX)
Emergency Furnace Repair (XXXX)
Island Appliances
Climate Change YYC (XXXX)

Above I have listed the names of 5 companies **** ******* has owned in the past 10 years. He is currently operating under Climate Change. He replaced my furnace last year (XXXX) when he owned AAA Heating and Refrigeration. He was kind, pleasant and (I thought) did a great job installing my new furnace. This summer (XXXX) I developed a leak in my drainage pipe.

I called a plumber in and he told me that putting a hole in the sewage stack and placing the furnace condensation hose in there was illegal. I phoned **** and he told me he did this all the time. I called the city and was told this was not legal.

Through this conversation I also discovered that **** had not obtained a city permit. When I questioned **** he said he must have forgotten to get one. I told him I didn't even know I needed one and he said, "Oh, didn't I tell you?"

I am not sure how he 'forgot' to get a permit when that is the first thing that needs to be done. It took a week for him to finally pull a permit so that the city could inspect the furnace. It took 2 days to get him in to fix what was wrong.

**** I was told:
1) We do it all the time (hook the drainage into the sewer pipe) - given that this is illegal, he either does NOT do it all the time (it would not pass ************ or he does not pull permits to do his work.
2) I no longer work for that company (he OWNED that company). When I questioned him about this he said, "Oh, I worked for them and then I took it over." So he did own it.

He offered to clean all my ducts for free but, really, I don't trust him and I'd rather have the $800 it cost me to fix his error. I have asked for the $800 but he simply talks circles around me and offers the free duct cleaning.

Given the comments I have read online about **** from other unhappy customers I will question the validity of the BBB.

Desired Settlement
I would like $800 to cover the cost of the plumber that came and fixed his mistake.

Business Response
August 25, 2014
To Whom It *** Concern:
I feel bad after having read ********'s issue, I feel terrible that she had to endure all these troubles and associated costs.
However having read her complaint, I would like to address a couple of issues regarding this specific case.
Although I did service the furnace install I did not see the completion of the job, as I was occupied with service calls being that I was the service manager of the company.
From there we acknowledge that perhaps not everything was completed the way it should have been.
But ultimately that responsibility fell upon the shoulders of the install manager and owner.
When the issue was brought to my attention two months ago, I did my best to address the issue however ******** sees me as a direct extension of the former ownership.
Since we last worked with ******** I have left that company and started my own.
Unfortunately the similarity of business names and the fact that I was in a leadership role makes it understandable why ******** would link me to her past problems.
This is primarily one of the main reasons we have rebranded as Climate Change.
Wanting to rectify a negative experience that ******** has had with my former colleagues, I took it upon myself to fix her furnace issues.
My ultimate goal was to set things right and make her one of my own customers, but understanding what had happened to ******** in the past and her associating me to the negative experience she had. She wasn't able to trust me, even though I had physically done work to rectify the problem and pulled permits at my own cost.
We tried offering her free duct cleaning which can average out to about 500 dollars to offset her losses.
I'm still reluctant to let this experience taint the way she views my own company.
Ultimately I know ******** endured additional costs that I'm still prepared to resolve this issue directly with her, whether it means offering heating and cooling work or just financial compensation.
Sincerely

**** *******


Consumer Response
27/08/14
As per ****'s response, I have some concerns.

He says:
Although I did service the furnace install I did not see the completion of the job, as I was occupied with service calls being that I was the service manager of the company.

The fact is, he came back after it was installed and showed me the furnace and how it worked.
He also came back to install the humidifier and a different thermostat so I am not sure why he says he did not see the completion of the job. He did.

He says:
But ultimately that responsibility fell upon the shoulders of the install manager and owner.

When he came to install the furnace he told me he was the owner.
I have also found statements posted on the web stating that he is (at the time) the owner.
I am wondering why the company would publish a falsehood and why he would allow them to.

He says:
******** sees me as a direct extension of the former ownership.

Again, when he was installing the furnace he told me he was the owner. That would be why I saw him as such.

He says:
Unfortunately the similarity of business names and the fact that I was in a leadership role makes it understandable why ******** would link me to her past problems.

I am linking him to the problem because he did the installation.

He says:
She wasn't able to trust me, even though I had physically done work to rectify the problem and pulled permits at my own cost.

Pulling the permits were his responsibility in the first place. Of course it should be at his cost.

He says:
We tried offering her free duct cleaning which can average out to about 500 dollars to offset her losses.

First of all, I do not want him doing any more work in my house as I really don't trust him. Also, offering me something I don't want does nothing to rectify the problem.
He might as well offer me $500 worth of whale blubber. I don't want that either!

He says:
Ultimately I know ******** endured additional costs that I'm still prepared to resolve this issue directly with her, whether it means offering heating and cooling work or just financial compensation.

I would happily accept financial compensation if that is what he is offering.
I am out of the country until next week so I will call him and ask what financial compensation he is willing to give me.
I will contact you after I have dealt with Mr. ******** and let you know what he has offered.

********

08/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The principal of AAA is **** ********. He installed a new furnace in December. I have now determined that he did not obtain a permit from the City and obviously the furnace was not inspected. I have been advised that the furnace would not pass inspection and that there are installation deficiencies that are safety concerns. ******** does not respond to phone calls, emails or text messages.

Desired Settlement
I want the deficiencies rectified and to have the furnace inspected and approved by the City.

Business Response
This is the first time I have heard of this issue this customer has never contacted our office in any way.
We will contact this person on Monday and repair any deficiencies that we can find,
Regards ****.

03/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contacted the company to fix my tenant's furnace on November 12. I was told the furnace was fixed and was charged $514.25. I did not receive an invoice on what was fixed. Six days later, my tenant told me the furnace is still broken. I contacted the company and was told it will be fixed. The company didn't send someone out until 10:17pm on November 19th. The issue was still not fixed. I contacted the company to try to resolve the issue and was hung up on twice. Given that my tenant had no heat, I contacted a second company to fix the furnace on November 20th. The issue was fixed and I was provided an invoice for $155.45. I am not satisfied with the initial company because I paid a lot of money and the furnace was not fixed, I did not receive an invoice for it, and there was a lack of professionalism received. I have tried to resolve this issue with the owner. He agreed to reimburse me $300. As of date, I still have not received the reimbursement or an invoice. My last communication with the owner was on December 31,2013. I have been trying to resolve this issue for 45 days. (I have documented each and every conversation I had with the company.)

Desired Settlement
I would like reimbursement of the $300 as agreed and an invoice of the services rendered. I am not asking for the full amount as they did come out to the property for service call.

Business Response
****** *** has obtained a total refund and this claim has been satisfied.

05/24/2013Billing / Collection Issues
11/26/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
01/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hello,

I asked Calgary Furnace repair to repair my furnace( which stopped working) at 1pm Dec. 1,2013. The technician found 2 small part should be replaced: one is ignator and another is Flame sensor. The technician charged me $265 for the ignator and $129 for the Flame sensor. The technician said the parts were worth the amount and they just made money by labour and serice not parts.I believed him at that time.

After the technician left, I checked on the website: the ignator is only $50-70, and the sensor is $20-30. I also verify the price with friends who know furnace repair.

What a huge difference!

The technician was lying and they did not do fail business.

So I compaint to you. I want the boss to repay me the unfair charge. I have the receipt.


******* **

Desired Settlement
I contacted the technician(**** ****** XXX-XXXXXXX) and the boss (**** *******,XXX-XXXXXXX) a few times asking for refund. The boss did not talk with me. The technician asked me to call their boss, he said his boss asked him to charge me so much, but now the technician did not answer my call too .

Business Response
I discussed the charges with **** ******* and learned that this was an after hours emergency call. After hours charges are always greater than normal and this was discussed with Mr. ********* they went out.I telephoned Mr. ** yesterday and reminded him that this was an after hours emergency call out. He wanted a full refund. I advised this was not possible, the after hours call was made and the work was done. I offered a refund of $100.00 but this was not satisfactory. Mr. ** wanted a full refund and an apology. I told him the best I could do was a refund of $150.00. He said that was not satisfactory. I told Mr. ** that is the best we could do and suggested he think it over and call me back in a couple of days.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she did not accept the response from the business.)
First I reaffirm the ***** and serious unfair trade practice **** ******* and **** ****** made:

1, In order to charge me extra part fee and labour, The technician replaced one part(Flame sensor) without judging it was good or bad.

2, Using cheating word(*****) to mislead me to accept his unfair offer(grossly exceeding price). Parts fee is 4-5 times of regular price, total charge is 3 times of regular price.

3, Based on the technician's word("my boss asked me to charge you so much"), indicate They had plotted the ***** before the technician entered my house and started the repairing.


From the company's above response, indicates they still have no honesty to solve my complaints, they are trying to make their ***** worse by ***** and groundless reasons.


1."After hours charges are always greater than normal and this was discussed with Mr. ********* they went out". You are still *****. I had never heard "After hours services or charge" and " greater than normal" when talking with **** ******* and **** ****** before, during and after the furnace repair. You made a different ***** phrase which was different form ****.

2.What is "after hours emergency call" ? I called you in the morning 11 am around and the repairing was doing at 1pm on a normal Sunday. How do you define" after hours emergency call" in your business? Your business is special?

3.You are self-contradiction : Now that you have reasons to charge "greater than normal", why did you want to refund me $150.

4.Another mistake you made: I never require full refund(both in writing and talking on the phone), I require to refund me $450 plus GST and apologizes in writing from **** ******* and the technician **** ******. The full charge is $702.5(before tax). That means I still want to pay a regular or better fee ($252.5, before tax) for your Sunday service and part.

Please response my questions to BBB, Do not try to bargain with me again, my requirement is final . now it is not a bargain problem, It is a ***** and a serious unfair trade practice. We are now in a mild complaints phase, but I keep my right to take further actions to pursue my fairness and justice.

09/18/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Equipment & Systems- Install/Repair, Heating Contractors, Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning Companies, Furnace Sales and Repair Services, Duct Cleaning Companies, Furnace Replacement, Furnace Repair, Air Conditioning Repair Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 16/01/2012Business started: 25/04/2008New Owner Date: 24/05/2013
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2013, AB

Business Management
Principal: Dean Fleming (Owner)Jose Saenz (Marketing Manager)
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Equipment & Systems- Install/Repair, Heating Contractors, Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning Companies, Furnace Sales and Repair Services, Duct Cleaning Companies, Furnace Replacement, Furnace Repair, Air Conditioning Repair Companies

Alternate Business Names
Climate Change Heating & Cooling
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 204 11420 27 St SE 

    Calgary, AB T2Z 3R6(587) 437-3308

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Alberta & East Kootenays. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AAA Heating & Cooling Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (587) 437-3308
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.