BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/18/2007


Phone: (979) 731-1500Fax: (979) 731-14444556 Gloria Allen Dr, College StationTX 77845

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/18/2007

BBB has determined that ED PHILLIPS PLUMBING meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised ED PHILLIPS PLUMBING's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on ED PHILLIPS PLUMBING

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
06/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Water leak. The worker waited for city people to arrive and over charged me. Dug outside but never returned for filling them.
On Jan 30th, 2013 we called them about a water leak. The guy came, called city of ***************, waited for hours and charge me for the whole time. The actual work took less than an hour. Furthermore, promised that will return to back fill after inspection. Never did, still it was leaking after the service and I have to get another company to fill it paying them extra.

Desired Settlement
Definitely should not charge that amount for incomplete work. They should refund me.

Business Response:
Arrived at home and found that female adapter on the water meter was broken. Attempted to shut off the water but the curb stop on the city side of the meter was broken and would not shut it off. We called the city to come shut off water so we could make the repair. We had to wait for the city to arrive before we could make our repair. The tech from the city arrived and slowed the flow of the water enough for us to make the repair and stated that they would return the next day to finish making the repair that was on their side of the meter. Our repair took approximately 2 hours by the time we dug the hole made the required repairs and waited for the glue to dry so we could ensure that we had made the repair properly. Because the city had to return to make a repair in the same area as we did, they were to cover the hole because we did not know when they were going out to make the repair. The customer did not get charged for us to return and fill in the hole since the city had work to perform after us. We returned to the job on 02/22/13 because the homeowner thought the leak was not fixed because he high water bills. We sent a tech out and saw that the meter was spinning so we dug out the hole (which took 1.5 hours) and saw that the repair was not leaking. We then went into the home and checked all the water valves(this took another 30 minutes) and found that the homeowner had a toilet and a lavatory that were leaking causing his high water consumption. he was not charged for this visit even though it was different than the original work performed on 01/30/2013.

03/13/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Invoice ***** was ordered by owner of adjoining property *****. Multiple request have been made to Ed Phillips to correct this invoice.

Ed Phillips Plumbing was performing work to replace a corroded sewer line shared by property owners of unit ***** and unit *****. This scope of work has been invoices on invoice ***** in the amount of $7,544.

During the the replacement process, unit ***** experienced a backed up washing machine. The owner of ***** called Ed Phillips Plumbing and authorized Ed Phillips to repair the problem. Ed Phillips is invoicing the owner of ***** under invoice ***** in the amount of $300 and has put this bill into collection for failure to pay. Invoice date is Dec 5th, 2012, however, invoice was not emailed to owner of ***** until Dec 29, 2012. Date of service is unknown.

Desired Settlement
I have requested Ed Phillips to void this invoice and to invoice the owner of ***** directly.

Business Response: EPP received a call from the tenants of Unit ***** about their line backing up. Upon arrival to the home it was found that both units ***** and ***** were backing up. The main line, passed the area a repair, that services both units was cabled and hydro-jetted to remove the build up. This was all conveyed to consumer at the time of service and he understood that this was an additional problem that the 2 units shared. Invoice ***** states that the work was ordered on December 3, 2012 and completed on the same day, so I'm not sure why he does not know when the date of service was. This invoice, as well as invoice ***** was send to consumer on December 10, 2012. They have also been sent to him several times since then and he has yet make an attempt to pay them. The owner of Unit ***** has sent consumer the portion that was owed by him for the repairs. This portion was outlined by consumer himself. To date consumer owes EPP $8905 for invoices dating back to June 5, 2012. This has been turned over not only to collections, but also to our attorney. We also have documentation of all the correspondence with consumer if it is needed.

12/27/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Ed Philips stated he could repair gas leak at my gas meter for less than $300. I dug out and filled the dirt. He now trys to charge $432.
I called Ed Phillips to repair my gas leak on the down pipe at my gas meter. I told Ed I would dig and fill the hole to make it cheeper on me. Ed told me the charges would be less than $300. I told him that sounds like too much for putting in one 56 inch pipe. Ed explained that he charges $45 for the permit. I told him that was crazy when I can get the permit for $25. He stated that he could not work off a permit that I buy due to his liability insurance. He also stated that he could be out the very next day. I told him that I agreed to pay up to $300 just to get it done. Two of his workers (both very young guys)who appeared not to have very much experience showed up but took their time getting to the work area. The two workers checked the pipe and got their tools. The apprentice started pulling the old pipe while the younger guy stated putting a PSI tester together. After I told them the size & diameter of the pipe, he still put together the wrong size tester. After he put the tester on the pipe, he waited to see if the PSI held for 15 minutes. After that he said he had to go to the office and get the pipe he needed and thread the pipe. When I asked him why they did not bring it with them when I called and told them the correct diameter and size, he stated "I don't know". The workers left for over an hour and came back to check the PSI on the pipe once again. They put the new pipe on and said they had to do another test. When I asked them why he said they are required to it for the gas company so they can see the PSI. I asked them why they did not do it after rather than before and they said so they did not have to undo the work already done. I stated, if the test is not right this time you will have to redo it, so why would it matter. They look at me and said, yea your right. It doesn't make sense but we are told to do it this way. The whole time these inexperienced workers were out here, they kept having to go back and forth to the work truck to get tool and materials. They did no digging or filling of the hole. All they did was pull the old pipe, replace the pipe, test the pipes and retest the pipe. After they finished the two workers sat in the truck talking on the phone and then gave me an invoice without any prices or cost. Once the gas company gave them the okay, another worker came out and put the gas meter back on the pipe. He then gave me another invoice without any cost or prices. I am very upset that I was quoted a price less than $300 and then the cost is jacked up for the limited amount of work that was performed. Ed Phillips tells me his GPS shows the workers were at my residence for the amount of time I am being charged. I have tried to explain to him that you cannot charge customers by the time the trucks sits in the driveway. This is morally wrong. His workers did not work the whole time they were at my residence. They even left for over an hour. I dug a 4 foot hole and filled the hole. Even though his workers did not do more than an hours worth of work, I told Ed I would pay the $300 because I agreed to the work as long as it was no more than $300. I do not like the way he has treated me in this whole ordeal but I will stand by what I agreed to "$300" and no more. This was very unprofessional and very inexperienced workers. You do not leave a job site for over an hour and tell the customer that you had to go get a pipe when you office is only 10 minutes away. I agree to pay $300.

Desired Settlement
I will pay at most the $300 as agreed to over the phone. I will not pay a penny more. It took them over a week to get me the invoice of the charges. This is wrong. I should have been given the cost as soon as the job was done. These workers are not permitted to give the correct invoice. This is also wrong. I will not do business with them any more.

Business Response: Consumer called at 5:33pm on October 25, 2012. Ed spoke with him at this time about repairing a gas leak. He chose to wait until the morning to have the leak repaired so he did not have to pay overtime charges. We called first thing the next morning to get him on the schedule. It was at this time that he inquired about pricing. We explained to him that we do not give firm prices on gas leak repairs due to the fact that we have to test the whole gas line and there could be multiple issues. We only give a firm price for replacing the whole line. We informed him that it would be labor/materials plus a $45 permit fee. He kept on insisting on a price and Ed told him that they usually start at $250 and go up, but he could not give him a firm price due to all the unknowns with gas leaks. He decided that he did not want us to make the repair because we charged $45 for the permit and he could get it for $25. We explained to him that we could not do work under his permit per city and state law. The person/company pulling the permit has to be the one performing the work. After about 30 minutes he called back and stated that his wife convinced him to pay us the additional $20 for the permit to make the repair. Ed talked to him at this time and expressed his concerns about being paid after the work was completed since he was being so argumentative about everything. He assured Ed that he would pay his bill in full with no problems. He told Ed that he knew what had to be done to make the repair because he had dug the line up. Ed explained that there was more to it than just seeing how long the line was. He explained that we had to see what fittings were needed and make sure everything was done to the current city and state codes. We then sent 2 techs, one licensed plumber and one registered apprentice, to the job at 10:20am. When they arrived they were greeted at the truck by consumer. He showed the techs the problem area. The techs then put the yard line on test to ensure there were no other leaks and began removing the section that was known to be defective. After they removed the defective pipe and made sure there were no other leaks on the yard line they informed consumer that they had to go to the shop to cut and thread pipe to the size that was needed for the repair. If we would have gone by what consumer told us we would have brought the wrong size pipe. We were told by him that the pipe was 56" when in fact it was only 54". We actually save him money by coming out to inspect the pipe for our selves. (This type of material is not typically carried on the trucks unless you do a job that requires a lot of pipe cutting and threading.) They were gone from the job site for a little over an hour. Thirty two minutes of this was spent cutting and threading the pipe and the rest of the time was spent traveling to and from the jobsite (consumer lives in north Bryan and our shop is in south College Station) After the repair was made the techs put the line on test again. This had to be done to ensure that our repair was done properly and that it did not leak. We also had to leave it on test for the city to come inspect our work and give their "stamp of approval". The tech then wrote up his workorder and left it with the customer so he would have record of the work that was performed we could not leave an invoice because the job was not complete at this time. After he handed Mr. Lanham the workorder he went to his truck and called in for his next assignment. This was the only time that the tech sat in his truck and it was for less than 5 minutes. Around 3:45pm that same day a different tech was sent over to remove the gauge and reconnect the meter after the city had inspected the work. The original tech was not sent back because he was tied up on another job and we wanted to make sure consumer was able to get his gas turned back on for the weekend. Again the tech left consumer a workorder and not an invoice because the two needed to be combined to make one bill. After consumer received his bill he called to question the charges, he proceeded to tell Ed that he could have made the complete repair in 30 minutes himself and did not understand why it took us so long. Ed explained that there was no way it could have been done that quickly due to the city and state testing requirements. These take 30 minutes alone plus the set-up, repair, and tear down times. Consumer has said repeatedly that he would pay no more than $300, but he has yet to make any payment.

Consumer Response: Most of the information give in their response is false and/or misleading. Ed gave me a price quote stating he would not go over a certain price. The evidence of this is as follows:Proof of the fact that Ed told me it would not go over $300 is that we (My wife and I) went to the ATM machine after talking to Ed and got out $300 at 8:07 PM on Oct. 25, 2012 in order to pay for the repair as soon as the work was complete. We have electronic proof of this.
Making statements that we did not discuss the cost until the next day is absolutely false. I was concerned about the extra charge for the permit, so why would I not discuss all the cost at the same time. Their story is not adding up. I told Ed I would dig and fill the hole to save them time and me some money. I never said I did not want them to do the work. I asked why so much for the permit when I could get the permit for $25. They said it was due to their insurance, not because of the city or state laws.
Ed never, ever expressed his concerns about being paid after the work was completed. This is absolutely false. My only concern was the over charge for the permit. I later found out that they never went and picked up the permit. Their office lady actually told me that the city has their credit card number on file and that they don't have to go in to get the permit. Nor did Ed ever go into any detail about the job or city and state codes.
Their detail of the techs work is also false. First the techs went back and forth a number of times to the truck to get the tools they needed because they never had the right tools and did not know what they were doing. The techs removed the bad section of the line first not the other way around and then put together the wrong testing guage device and had to rework the testing device before putting it on the pipe. I told him the correct size of the pipe to begin with. But he still put together the wrong tester. As for the measurement I gave them being incorrect, this is false. If they were to measure the old pipe like I did, they would see the measurement was correct. If they came out with a 56" pipe and had to cut an inch off each side it would have still threaded correctly if they knew their job. This only goes to prove they do not know what they are talking about. The threaded section of the pipe normally goes back two to two and one-half inches and would have worked if they wanted to cut an inch off each side.
They state that they did not carry the pipe or equipement to do this type of job but the repairman that came out to pull the tester and put the line back together told me he drives the truck with the materials to cut and thread the pipe. Therefore, they sent out the wrong crew to begin with. Basically, they sent out two young guys with very little training or experience.
As for the time the techs spent actaully working: They sat in the truck when they first arrived and did not get out until I came out to see what was going on. They also sat in the truck for a little bit before they left to get the pipe. The same occurred when they returned with the pipe. They did not get out until I came outside. When they finished their part of the work, the techs sat in the truck for a good bit of time and then handed me a sheet of paper (what they are calling a work order). They should have already had a work order before they started. Once the job is complete an invoice should have been handed to me with the cost of the work. I did not get an invoice until a week or more.
As for the work being done in 30 minutes due to city and state requirements, Ed never said such a thing. When I stated I could have had the job done in 30 minutes; He said, "then you must be better than me." And I responded probably so, because I use to do this kind of work.
However, they did get the job done. Therefore, I am willing to pay the $300 even though it is still higher than it should be. I agreed I would pay as long as the job did not cost more than $300. If Ed agrees to the $300 as paid in full then I am more than willing to pay the $300.

Business Response: Business stated, No we will not accept $300.00 as payment in full for the job.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Plumbers - Commercial

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 07/13/2006Business started: 06/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 East 41st St
Austin, TX 78765
(512) 936-5200

BBB records show a license number of 37443 for this company, issued by Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners. Their web address is The expiration date of this license is 04/30/2016. PHILLIPS, EDWARD C, Master Plumber License.

Type: Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Leigh Ann Phillips (President)
Contact Information
Ed Phillips (Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Plumbers, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Plumbers - Commercial

Products & Services

This company offers plumbing services for residential/commercial repair, remodeling, and new construction; sewer drain cleaning, video inspection, electronic leak detection, and hydro-jetting. Other services include gas, sewer, and water line repair/replacement, and water heater repair/replacement.

Alternate Business Names
J A Unlimited, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions


4556 Gloria Allen Dr

College Station, TX 77845

To | From


1 Locations

  • 4556 Gloria Allen Dr 

    College Station, TX 77845

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Brazos Valley and Deep East Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*ED PHILLIPS PLUMBING is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Plumbers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.