BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Brazos Valley and Deep East Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2010

COUNTRY INN & SUITES (dba)

Phone: (979) 693-7777Fax: (979) 693-17001010 Southwest Pkwy E, College StationTX 77840-4148

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2010

BBB has determined that COUNTRY INN & SUITES (dba) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised COUNTRY INN & SUITES (dba)'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: I stayed at the County Inn and Suites in College Station on 08/17-08/19. On 08/18, I discovered items missing from hotel room.
I stayed at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, College Station, TX from 08/17-19/2013, and checked out on the 19th. I was moving my daughter to ********* on the 18th and left the hotel room at about 2:30 pm carrying my daughters clothes on a provided cart. My wife and other daughter were also with me. The cleaning lady had just knocked on the door for room cleaning. I had left my own items, and my wife's, and other daughter clothes and items in the room. I left an IPad 3 and HP Touchpad in the primary clothes drawer. I also left my college daughter's contact lenses on one of the cabinets. When we returned later that day, at about 7:30 pm, the tablets were gone and the room was clean, including the contact lenses and snacks in a grocery sack, and various tablet and phone chargers (which were kept with the tablets in the main dresser drawer). Everything in the closets (clothes and suit cases) appeared to be there and in order. I promptly informed the from desk, and the attendant lady ******* *****) verified that I was to check out the following day (08/19), but that the cleaning lady was operating from a list which showed I was checking out that day (08/18). There is a language barrier with the cleaning staff, as most are Spanish speaking. The room does have a posted notice quoting Hotel regulations that the hotel is not liable for certain actions including theft, except the hotel is not protected from negligence. My contention is that the hotel management was negligent in having an incorrect list which showed I was checking out on 08/18. Also, the cleaning staff may be poorly trained on what to do with encountered items left in the room. The bottom line is that two tablets, chargers, and $260 of contact lenses were either stolen, thrown away, or a combination and I believe hotel management's negligence greatly contributed to the theft or thrown away items.

I did file a police report.
Police Report #: XX-XXXXXX
Officer: ** ************

Initial Business Response: This was an unfortunate incident. We have fully cooperated with the law enforcement officers assigned to this case.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/08/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: CANCELLED RESERVATION
I was given "one" confirmation number when booking two rooms. I cancelled that reservation number online. They are saying I had to cancel both rooms. They charged me for one room. Both rooms were under one confirmation number.I received a cancellation number. I believe this is a scam. I have never had this happen in the past anywhere else.

Business' Initial Response
Consumer made two reservations. One was under her name and a second reservation was under *****. When Consumer cancelled her reservation online, she was given the option to cancel the other reservation, as well her own(being they were both under one confirmation number). Ms. Consumer cancelled her reservation only, but she forgot to cancel other reservation. Hotel don't have to credit her at all, but we try to help her and offer 50% credit on her credit card on March 3rd.
Thanks

Consumer's Final Response
I cancelled both rooms when I cancelled. I spoke with the corporate office of Country Inn and Suites. They agree that the cancellation screen is not user friendly. I am not the first customer to encounter this problem. I made one reservation with two rooms on it. They ask who is staying in the rooms. I gave the name of persons staying in rooms. I was paying for the entire booking. I did not make two reservations. They are not able to retrieve my exact cancellation, to see what went wrong. If ***** was turning people away, because of this one reservation, he could of called to see if there was a mix up. He could of then given the room to someone else. He is claiming that he lost money that night because of this one room. His hotel was fully booked. I think I truly am the one who has lost. Obviously ***** is not concerned with my loss.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hotels

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/01/2010Business started: 01/01/2004Business started locally: 05/22/2010
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
PO Box 12019
Austin, TX78711-2019
(800) 654-3463
http://www.window.state.tx.us/up

BBB records show a license number of 32034941693 for this company, issued by Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. Their web address is http://www.window.state.tx.us/up. The expiration date of this license is 05/15/2015. Registered Agent: APRS MANAGEMENT, LLC.

Type: Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1992, MN

Contact Information
Principal: Sandip Patel (General Manager)
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
APRS Ltd, Country Inn and Suites by Carlson
Industry Tips
BBB Warns of Deceptive Travel-Related Promotions
Getting the Best Hotel Rate
Vacation and Travel

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for COUNTRY INN & SUITES (dba)

1010 Southwest Pkwy E

College Station, TX 77840-4148

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1010 Southwest Pkwy E 

    College Station, TX 77840-4148(979) 693-7777

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Brazos Valley and Deep East Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*COUNTRY INN & SUITES (dba) is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.