BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Brazos Valley and Deep East Texas

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/11/1996

STYLECRAFT BUILDERS INC

Phone: (979) 690-1222Fax: (979) 690-0348

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
08/28/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: Stylecraft did not complete fence work as agreed upon prior to my home closing.
1 - On 5.29.14, Stylecraft received an email from me with the 3 remaining items to be completed for documentation purposes on my home. The message is below:
Hello, Please find attached the outstanding items relating to XXXXX ****** *** Please sign and return to me prior to the closing tomorrow. This doesn't have to be in the closing paperwork tomorrow, but keeps our expectations in writing. Thanks for all your work! We are looking forward to our home in TX. Thanks,
(The attachment in the above email included item #3, "Add 2x8 or 10 bottom board of fence back edge to back edge, level with top of fence: use 2x4 backer to screw bottom board. 4' low area add bottom board ¾" holes for drainage. Make it neat.")
2 - Stylecraft replied to this list on 6.3.14 confirming the three remaining items to be completed. The message is below:
Good morning. As we spoke about yesterday the only items that are still currently remaining from the list we made on 5/29/14.

2.) Back yard fence solution
I closed on the home later that day on 6.3.14 with assurance this would be completed within 2 weeks of the close date.
3 - On 6.18.14, I have an email from Stylecraft confirming the fence work would be completed by 6.19. The email is below:
As for the fence I assure you it is on schedule they have it on for Thursday 6/19; But please understand that the fence company is extremely busy right now due to the recent storms we have had.
4 - on 7.16 I got an email stating Stylecraft would not do the fencework as agreed upon:
Stylecraft said they would not install the boards and they had lowered panels of my fence.
I am not aware if any panels were lowered at my house. I did not see them do the work and it was not work that I was expecting done. I was expecting a board added to the bottom of the fence. I informed Stylecraft I wanted the work that was documented on 5.29.14 to be done.
5 - on 7.17 Stylecraft looked at my back fence again. I told them they could make the addition to the front or back of the fence - whatever was easier for them. Stylecraft replied verbally it was up to their supervisor.
6- I have contacted them since then and they have stated they will not do the work in an email on 7.29. Their response on 7.29 is below:
*** *******

I apologize but as I stated in last email. It is not Stylecraft Builders policy nor instillation procedures to install the " 2x8 Rot Board". Again the rot board was your fathers suggestion and even back on the 5/29 email regarding the items remaining I stated fence solution. Even when your father wrote that on his list. I still stated "we will come up with a solution that works best for both parties". And it has been determined by Stylecraft builders upper management that we have met the fence installation requirements for both the company and the city of Woodway. If you would like we would be more than happy to provide you with our fence company's contact info. So that you could make arrangements with them directly to add items to your fence.

7 - I want my fence work done as agreed to before my home closing that was in writing.
Stylecraft Builders policy and installation procedures are outside the scope of what the written expectations were on 5.29.
I have nowhere in writing that "we will come up with a solution that works best for both parties." My expectations were what was written . . . "Add 2x8 or 10 bottom board of fence back edge to back edge, level with top of fence: use 2x4 backer to screw bottom board. 4' low area add bottom board ¾" holes for drainage. Make it neat." That was the expectation and that is what I want completed. I closed on that date with the expectation it would be completed as documented. I am the buyer - any supposed communication to my father that was verbal does not modify my expectations on the fence in writing. I want Stylecraft to fulfill their promises.

Initial Business Response: We are in receipt of the complaint from ***** *******, ******* , TX. We are aware of the issue have communicated that we did not wish to install a "rot" board along the bottom of his fence. The reason is that the fence is constructed consistently with our normal practice, and the same as other homes in the area. Furthermore, the fence was in place at the time of sale in its current state.

In no way are we refusing to completely remedy the problems he is experiencing, but we are having a dispute to the solution. We are attempting to reach a mutually agreeable solution, and desire to do so quickly.

In communication with the customer yesterday 8/14, I left message today 8/15/14 and are awaiting for communication back to help resolve matter with fence gaps. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences the customer has experienced and hope we can resolve this issue to their satisfaction.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal: **** has been communicating well with me since the BBB complaint. Per our last conversation on Friday by phone, it sounds like Stylecraft will provide a solution that is agreeable to both parties (board along back bottom side of the fence). I wish to keep the BBB complaint open until the solution has been completed physically - not just in verbal discussions.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/26/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Guarantee or Warranty Complaint Issue

Complaint: I purchased a brand new home and my AC has gone out 6 times over 3 months.
I am requesting a replacement of my HVAC system in my home. I closed on October 15, 2013 and my heating and A/C worked correctly. I then went overseas January 8, 2014. I had someone come watch my house later that month. She had to make a call to have the heat looked at because the home was not heating up and the temperature was in the 50s inside the house, they said something was not connected to allow heat to come through. Although the heat worked from October until January when I left. I then returned home April 5, 2014. My A/C worked for about a week and it went out. I called to have it repaired, and the repair man said he had to order a valve that had broken. He fixed my A/C the same day and it worked fine. A few weeks later on May 18, my A/C went out AGAIN, and I had to call in a repair. He fixed it the same day as well. Then June 14th, my A/C went out for the 3rd time. This time the repairman had to call in the part (which was the SAME valve as the first time) and my A/C was not fixed until the 16th. I woke up on the 15th, and my home was 83 degrees inside, and stayed that way until it was repaired the following evening. On June 15th I made my initial request to Stylecraft and the contract company they chose for my A/C for a replacement. I also spoke to representatives from both companies during the following week regarding my replacement. I received an e-mail from **** ****** on June 27th, requesting a formal letter. I couldn't celebrate Father's Day in my home because my home was not livable. My A/C unit has not worked consecutively since April 5, when I returned and I believe I have a defective unit. I am requesting for it to be replaced with a brand new working unit. On page 29 and 30 of the Stylecraft manual, it says the homes are designed to stay within a certain temperature in respect to size and outside temperatures, but my home has not been built to this standard. I DO NOT trust that my current unit will last the term the company says it will if it hasn't worked consecutively as of yet, and the heat of the season has not arrived.

Initial Business Response: We are in receipt of the complaint from ******* ***** at **** ********** ******* , TX. We are aware of the issues she has had with her AC system through her claims and have responded to each in a timely fashion. We also are aware of her assertion that the system needs to be completely replaced.

In no way are we refusing to completely remedy the problems she is experiencing, but we are having trouble communicating with her on what needs to be replaced. The AC "system" includes many components and separate systems that are put together to provide the required conditioning of the air. Our AC contractor, CASA Mechanical, is willing to replace whatever components or separate systems needed.

In communication with the customer today, we believe we have come to resolution on what components should be replaced and will do so, performing a complete system evaluation in an effort to prevent future problems. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences the customer has experienced and hope this action resolves all issues.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal: Their subcontractor has not located the problem after 7 attempts, and they do not know what to replace. Therefore, if they cannot determine what IS wrong, then they need to replace the system. I was asked to tell them what I want replaced as if I am the professional. I just want my brand new home to meet the cooling standards StyleCraft put in their homebuyer manual. My AC went out again, July 27 and its August 2nd and the part has not been replaced. Yet and still they continue to tell me the system does not need to be replaced.

Final Business Response: Business states the contractor is in the house today making making replacements to satisfy the consumer.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/22/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Style craft has not held up there warranty on our house that I purchased on January 27 2012. After several mettings and conversation.
I purchased a house from style craft January 27 2012. We had a one year warranty we have had several meetings and conversations with the warranty. There where many things wrong with the house and we where told that they would get out to our house and get them fixed. And nothing ever happened. There are several major things wrong with our house that should have never been missed during construction. We have asked for copies of the inspections on our house and they have not provided them. We have had material sitting in our ditch for a month now that are supposed to be used for our driveway. We are at a lost of what to do to get our house is living shape.

Consumer Response: Hi here is a list of things of that we know need to be fixed

Driveway
Slopes toward the house
Major cracks
Separating and shifting
Grout in columns in the front entryway
Shower in master bathroom leaks around seal
electrical not hooked up right in breaker box
Plugs spark when you plug things in them
When the ac kicks on the lights dim
The vent fans in the bathrooms where never connected to vent outside so they have been blowing into the attic
The ac duct work is not installed properly
Three are open live wire boxes in the attic
Insulation is blown down around the fireplace
The flooring in uneven and bows in several places

And these are just the things that we know of and can see or came across we have had several meeting with style craft and they are aware of of these issues and said that they would be fixed and never did. We know that of the house was inspected that these issues would have been found. We are Afraid that there may be more electrical and structural issues that we can not see. Style craft will send the people out here that installed the items wrong in the 1st place and they don't care if its done right. They will set up a day and time and never come and then just show up like 2 weeks later an expect you to be home. We have had material sitting in our ditch for a month now waiting on the people to Come fix our driveway. We are so frustrated with the hole situation. We are at a lost of what to do. We would like for a full house inspection to be done to make sure that there are no huge issues that need to be fixed. And not by the same person they said that they said inspected it in the 1st place because I have called them and they could not locate a copy of the report for my house. And we started to go threw our paperwork and in our survey of our house that we where given at closing its not even our floor plan. We don't know what to do next so we where told to contact the bbb. Thanks so much for getting back with me pleas if you need anything else feel free to contact me.

Business Response: We are in reciept of the claim. I will meet with the involved persons on Monday, April 8 and respond formally by end of day Tuesday April 9.

We are eager to resolve the issues and will make every effort to do so.
thanks,

This letter should serve as our written response for complaint # *****.
Some of the items that are listed are ones that we have either addressed or attempted to address and other items are new complaints. It is our intention to reach an agreeable solution for both parties. We feel that the best way to do this is by scheduling an appointment with *****. At this meeting, we can come up with a complete list of items requested for repair. After the list is complete, Stylecraft Builders will either repair the item or provide an explanation as to why an item should not be warrantied. At this point, we will come up with a customer sign off sheet with the items to be addressed. After repairs are made, all parties will sign off to indicate the satisfactory completion of the tasks. Normally, we are able to make repairs within 30 days. At times, due to weather, material availability or other issues, repairs may take longer than 30 days.
Stylecraft Builders strives to provide excellent customer service to our homeowners and it is our intention to handle this matter fairly and swiftly. It is my understanding that a meeting with our Customer Service Mgr has already been arranged. If not, it will be within the next 24 hours.
Thanks,

First of all, thank you for taken the time to meet with us this past week to
discuss your concerns and items that need to be addressed. Based on our
conversation I have listed all items you have requested to be repaired. See
below:

Sections of the driveway have cracked and some areas are heaving :
Stylecraft-Builders has agreed to replace all sections that have been
damaged .

Drainage issue left side of driveway will be corrected. Will shoot the grade
with a laser to determine what corrections need to be made in order to
achieve proper drainage .

Per our agreement the columns located at the front entry will be repaired.
Instead of using mortar , caulk with sand will be used to fill in the cracks
between the stone & stone cap.

Interior:

Check for proper duct installation for bathroom exhaust fans
Check all wall outlets in kitchen area( Breakers tripping)
Check dedicated outlet for freezer in garage( not wired properly)
Check all electrical connections in breaker box for proper identification
and installation
Check all outside electrical outlets for proper wiring and installation
Contact ***** and have them reseal shower glass in master bathroom
Remove installation from around the flu pipe for fire place
Have ***** check HAVC unit for proper installation(
lights dim when compressor starts up) check for proper installation,
voltage, amps, install hard start kit if required or needed.

Everything listed is what we discussed . Please contact me by e-mail to
confirm your availability as to when we schedule repairs.

Thanks

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/12/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Home was not built to specs.
Home was not built to specs. Have many issues with the home that was not resolved. Have now a leaking roof that is not being attended to.

Consumer Response: Here is the list ***** starting with most recent of the leaking roof that was contacted on the 1st of the month. Spoke with ***** 2 days ago and was told that someone would show up Monday and Tuesday and no one has.

Roof leaking in the foyer, front room, above front door

Water leaking under the kitchen sink

Dishwasher does not dry dishes

Back door does not close properly has a gap at the top where light can be seen and air let in

#30 breaker flips every time we try to use the vacuum on left side of the house...Game room

Fan light in the living room goes off by itself..turn it off then on again and it will go out again

Baseboards in the living room show the cuts of the flooring..gaps corner right hand side

These are the things that still exists and there has been a lot that were attempted to be fixed. I feel for a brand new house that was just built the company would have better customer service than they do. We are told to contact vendors and sub contractors to handle it, and we have but I feel that a new house with a warranty should be handled from stylecraft.

Business Response: Please consider the following as our response to the referenced claim. I have attached email correspondence between the ***** and Stylecraft employees for your reference.

*****, our Central Texas Area Mgr, and I met with consumer May 4, after receiving complaints that our supervisor was not reacting to his claims that there were items left undone after closing at his home. I gave consumer an opportunity to give me a comprehensive list of items that he was dissatisfied with. We did so that day and I confirmed that list with him on May 8 (see email).

We wanted to dedicate ample time to spend addressing these items, and we mutually agreed to dedicate the time required to complete everything in mid June. ***** and the supervisor coordinated the work and felt they had completed the items during that week. ***** attempted to confirm the items were done to the customer's satisfaction with no success (see emails). Some of the items on the punch list sent to you are from that original list.

Below is John's account of those items as well as new items claimed at this time.

Here is the list ***** starting with most recent of the leaking roof that was contacted on the 1st of the month. "Spoke with ***** 2 days ago and was told that someone would show up Monday and Tuesday and no one has."

Roof leaking in the foyer, front room, above front door - we retrieved this item from our virus protection software on 10/5 after it was apparently sent on 10/1. We are today looking into issue to determine where water is coming from, it appears to be ridge vent. We intend to make correction and repair subsequent damage if any.
Water leaking under the kitchen sink -this item is from 5/4 list. Disposal was replaced twice in attempt to correct a leak that could not be demonstrated with us present. Assumed corrected since we could not get confirmation from homeowner.

Dishwasher does not dry dishes - from 5/4 list. We had ***** come out and inspected unit and found to be operating properly, ***** recommended that if unit continued to have issues to call them direct for further investigation. Again assumed corrected since no response received from homeowner.

Back door does not close properly has a gap at the top where light can be seen and air let in - from 5/4 list. Door was adjusted. Homeowner would not respond to confirm item done to satisfaction or not.

#30 breaker flips every time we try to use the vacuum on left side of the house...Game room -- new item, will investigate

Fan light in the living room goes off by itself..turn it off then on again and it will go out again - new item, will investigate

Baseboards in the living room show the cuts of the flooring..gaps corner right hand side -from 5/4 list, columns had been repaired to fix being out of square and no response was provided in return for acceptance of items being completed. "

In summary, we have and will continue to try to make the consumer satisfied with their home. Other than a claim to replace dead grass several months after closing, and subsequent to our meeting in May, we have not corresponded negatively about addressing claims. We are reacting to the most recent claims presently, and will re-assess the old items now being presented as dissatisfactory.

Thanks for your help in this matter. We desire it to be settled amicably and are attempting to do so. I think you will find our record with the BBB to be exceptionally good and we wish it to remain so.

Consumer response: Consumer advised that the business was there on Friday and took care of everything. Consumer states repairs are complete to his satisfaction.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.