BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Brazos Valley and Deep East Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2009

SPIRIT OF TEXAS BANK, SSB

Find a Location

Phone: (979) 846-8000Fax: (979) 846-1111625 University Dr E, College StationTX 77840-1803

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2009

BBB has determined that SPIRIT OF TEXAS BANK, SSB meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised SPIRIT OF TEXAS BANK, SSB's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/15/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: No response after multiple attempts to get an updated.
On 5/23/13 I requested an additional *** loan for working capital for my business. Since my original loan was through Spirit of Texas bank, I thought it would be good to keep all transactions through the same institution. In addition the franchise I'm with does a number of transactions with the bank and I wanted to support the relationship.
On 5/23 I spoke with the lending officer that help with the first loan. He assured me in an e-mail they would have no problem helping me with additional working capital. He advised he would need updated financials from me to start the process. I sent all requested info on 5/28. On 6/4 I spoke with the lender and he assured me this was a formality and it would take about 2-3 weeks to get through the process.
Prior to leaving on a trip, I reached out to the lender to ask about the status. He responded asking if I was able to send the documents requested, which I assured him I did and forwarded the e-mail with the documents again. Later that day he informed me that I would need to provide updated financial statement and a 12 month forecast for the business. Another delay that could have been request 2 weeks prior. I was able to send the information on 6/20 between out of town trips and requested confirmation of receipt. I received a reply that the information had been received.
On 6/28 I sent an e-mail requesting an update on the status of the loan request and to see if any additional information was needed. NO RESPONSE. I called and left a message on 7/2 with NO RESPONSE. I sent another e-mail on 7/5 with NO RESPONSE. On 7/8 I called the main number to see if the person was still with the bank? I was assured he was and at lunch, I was transferred to his assistant whom I worked with before. She said she would find out what was going on and get back with me, NO RESPONSE! I sent another e-mail on 7/10 to both the lender and the assistant, NO RESPONSE.

I have now wasted 3 weeks waiting for a response. If they would have simply called back and told me they couldn't help me, I could have been working with another lender. Now I'm 3 weeks of waiting and 6 weeks of wasted time, behind schedule to get capital my company needs. I am very surprised by the lack of professionalism and communication. If someone assures you they can help, then avoids communication, in my mind that is false advertising and misrepresentation of your company.
Unfortunately, after doing a little research it seems like this is standard operating procedure for Spirit of Texas Bank.

Initial Business Response: Business stated that he just got back into town. He has spoken to the customer and everything is resolved.

Final Consumer Response: I have never spoken with *****. He called and left a message on 7/23/13. The number he left to return the called was tried multiple times only to receive a recording that the number had been disconnected. I had no way of returning his call and could not readily find a good number for him. I was hoping he would call again, but apparently one try is good then he can assume everything is resolved. I have been in contact with the loan officer in the original complaint, but the issues of lack of communication still exist. Unfortunately this further proves the fact that Spirit of Texas Bank employees do NOT have the customers best interest in mind.

Final Business Response: I spoke with ********* last week. In his own words, he is satisfied with our resolution with respect to the BB compliant he filed.

When I spoke with the BBB on 7/31, *********s loan funding had not closed and therefore he responded it was not resolved. However, the loan closed on August 2 (after we got his required information) and the issue is resolved.

Thanks

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/05/1997Business started: 05/01/1988New Owner Date: 11/01/2008
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office Of Thrift Supervision
1700 G St., NW
Washington, DC20552
(800) 842-6929
http://www.ots.treas.gov

Federal Deposit Insurance Corp
2345 Grand Blvd Ste 100
Kansas City, MO64108-2609
(877) 275-3342
http://www.fdic.gov

Their web address is http://www.ots.treas.gov.

Type: Office Of Thrift Supervision

BBB records show a license number of 22327 for this company, issued by Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. Their web address is http://www.fdic.gov.

Type: Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1988, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Williamson Mr Dean Bass (President/CEO) J. Kevin Byrne (Senior Vice President/Compliance Officer)
Number of Employees

26

Business Category

Banks

Alternate Business Names
First Bank of Snook-College Station (former)
Industry Tips
BBBTips on Business Credit
BBBTips on Saving and Investing
Dont Get Taken to the Bank - Protect Your ATM and Debit Cards

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for SPIRIT OF TEXAS BANK, SSB

625 University Dr E

College Station, TX 77840-1803

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 625 University Dr E 

    College Station, TX 77840-1803

  • 9851 FM 2155 

    Snook, TX 77878

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Brazos Valley and Deep East Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*SPIRIT OF TEXAS BANK, SSB is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.