BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Brazos Valley and Deep East Texas

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Hillcrest Ford, Lincoln, Hyundai, Inc

Phone: (936) 295-3784Fax: (936) 436-4331

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
09/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: service rep said fuel rails were busted and 500.00
to repair.
$500.00 fuel rails could not be found. he said he could get a another engine(XXXXX)miles with fuel rails and could replace for $4000.00. i said go ahead a day or so later he has problems

Initial Business Response: *** ******* was advised by **** ********* service advisor that parts for his 1992 **** truck with 265,741 miles were no longer available so to repair the vehicle they could replace the engine. Once the technician began working on the truck older parts would break making the cost of the repair to change.
The service advisor as well as *** ********* son advised him to purchase a new vehicle instead of repairing his because of how much money he would have to spend. *** ******* had a wrecker truck remove the vehicle from the premises and we were able to return the $4000 to the vendor it was purchased from.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/05/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: False or unsubstantiated claims in advertisement

Complaint: decievement and not returning my calls.
purchased 2004 isuzu months ago. was given carfax which stated car value was 9270..got home and found that muffler was just hanging on,body flaws were covered up was told i would receive a tank of gas at purch.car,then they denied they said it. has had severe problems since purchase,checked carfax myself and value is 4976.pd 8800.i call for resolvement, never recieve calls back.just the false carfax should be against the law.and covering flaws in paint, and muffler.

Business Response: Customer purchased 2004 Isuze Ascender May 5, 2012. The vechicle was sold "As-Is" with the exception of the customer asking for the RPM gauge and CD player be repaired (See We-Owe). Upon inspection the RPM gauge it was determined the repair was too expensive to incur the cost. We discussed this with the customer and told her we would replace the radio with a new unit but could not repair the RPM gauge. We also repaired an AC concern at no cost to customer which was not part of the original agreement. The sales price was agreed upon $7702 plus TTL. Customer returned shortly after purchase to buy an extended warranty but that sale was reversed because the customer said her father told her she did not need one.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/30/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: sales manager used deceptive sales practices after we drove 150 miles to get the truck.
On Thursday the 12th of July 2012 I drove from our home 150 miles away to purchase a truck from Hillcrest Ford. The truck was a 2011 silver Chevrolet dually which was to be sold to us at 43,500. We had already put a deposit for them to hold it of $500. We were at the dealership by 9:00 am. ***** was our salesman. We drove the truck and it had a shake to it so they put it back into the shop to fix it and found out that all of the tire rotation and inspection and alignment that was signed off on had never even been done. The sales manager ***** said that to really fix the problem we would need to purchase 2 tires at our cost of around $600. We said no that we had not even purchased the truck yet. As they were going on a test drive to see if the problem was fixed they said the check engine light came on. ***** said that we could buy it like that or leave it because they were losing money on it anyway. We had been there around 6 hours when we left to get something to eat they said they took the truck to a GM dealership to put it on their computer to analyze the problem. ***** came back and said that it was a "knock sensor" that would cost around $600 that we would have to pay for. He said we could drive off with the check engine light on, pay the money to have it fixed, or not buy it because once again he said they were losing money on the truck.We were there 10 hrs. and only saw the truck ONE time and did not even get to test drive it a second time. We were not going to buy a truck that was not operating properly. ***** said that it could go to 1/2 power when at anytime with that sensor being bad. I asked him," you want me to pay for parts on a truck that I haven't even bought yet?" He said "yes they were not going to spend one more cent on the truck. Take it or leave it" After all day we left it.
When we got home today we checked with our GM dealer here and they said that there was NO such knock sensor in that model truck. It did not exist!!! They used it as an excuse to discourage us from buying the truck.It was not our salesmans fault, it was the sales manager that agreed on the price and then tried to do everything he could so that we would walk away because he said they were losing money on the truck. So....I drove 300 miles round trip, me and my wife each lost a day of work, and were very disappointed and frustrated at the whole experience. Please get involved so this does not happen to some of their potential customers again. It was a very bad business practice!!!!

Business' Initial Response
Consumer and wife visited the dealership July 12 to look at the 2011 Silver Chevrolet dually they saw online for $43,500. Once they arrived they took it for a test drive at which time we were made aware that the truck had a shake to it so we put it in the service department to be repaired. Once in service we were informed to get rid of the shake the truck needed two new tires. Since we were not making a profit on the car ***** asked consumer to incur the price of the tires since it is our policy to sell pre-owned vehicles on an as is basis. On a second test drive the check engine light came on. At that time ***** sent the truck to ***** to diagnose the problem. The service advisor ***** called us to report it was a Nox sensor that needed to be replaced. (We have a service bill from ***** if we need to produce it.) We had already decided that we were not going to repair the sensor because we were already losing money on the truck so we offered consumer the opportunity to have it repaired at his cost. Consumer declined the repair so ***** told him he could buy the truck as is or choose not purchase the truck. Consumer declined and left.
At the time the price of the vehicle was agreed on we were not aware that the check engine light was on thus incurring an additional fee to the purchase of the truck. As for the Nox sensor it does exist as per *****.
We apologize for the inconvenience and offer a $100 gas card to help with the cost of the gas used for the trip.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/23/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
12/26/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: Three months after purchasing a used car with a warranty the engine failed due to the timing belt. Warranty from dealership, will not cover.
Purchase a used car ***** in August 2012, the car broke down in December 2012. Timing belt caused $2070 worth of damage that I have to pay out of my pocket, granted that I'm still making payments on the car and the warranty that I got with it. The car was $5000, I paid $3500 down and still owe $6000. I drove over a hundred miles to get this car for daughter (college student). My sales rep was ***** and I trusted his judgment, but I feel like I was giving a lemon. If I have to pay for the repairs on the engine, then I don't see any need for a warranty. I trade in a car for $1000, and $2500 cash down.
I contacted the dealership, spoke with *****, explained my issue and asked if there was any way of helping me with the cost of the repairs, he asked me to hold on, came back to tell me to contact the warranty, which I already did, and he said "NO". After trying to search for every possible way of finding a way to save money and get money to pay for the repair, I contacted my Leinholder *****. I explained to them my issue and they told me to contact the dearlership again, because this sounds like a lemon. Yet still, the dealership refuse to help. I'm a single mother and I found this car through my bank *****,unbelievable. My next step is to contact my bank and informed them of the issue at hand as well. They could at least help pay half of the cost. They day I find this car online through my bank, I was still on bed rest from having surgery, but I called them to see if they still had the car and they did. I contacted ***** to setup a schedule to check out the car for me first,but that didn't go to well after ***** called me to tell me other salesman and people are looking to buy the car. I asked a friend to drive me to Huntsville to check out the car and I got it, but not to turn around 3 mths later to pay out over $2000 to get it back up and running. My daughter had to quit her job, because of this and live away from her.

Business Response: After talking with the service technician at ***** in Ft. Worth TX the timing belt was not installed correctly which caused damage to the engine. According to ***** confirmed with them that she had the timing belt repaired. The repair was done by an unauthorized service repair shop and therefore voids the warranty.

Consumer Response: This is the first time I heard of the timing belt was installed incorrectly. Granted that my daughter made the attempt to have the timing belt repaired, the business specialized in this type of service. Techinically, there is no unauthorized service repair shop involve when it has been left as my responsibility to pay for the repair. The point of the matter is that I trusted Hillcrest's product and services and now they refuse to help me (customer) and stand behind the defected producted that I consumed from them.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

11/30/2011Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertised price not honored

Complaint: That in two different pages the same car was listed with the same price, but when we went to the dealership he said that it was a mistake.
That in two different web-pages the same truck was listed with the same price and everyhting, but when we went to the dealership he said it was a mistake. One of the pages was their own website and the other website was *****. Also the general manger treated us with no respect.

Business' Initial Response
The price of the vehicle was incorrect on the website due to employee input error. The general manager aplogiozed for the error and offered the customer a very good price on the vehicle but the customer refused. The was no helping the customer after the error was found by managment.

Consumer's Final Response
That's not true. The manager never offered good prices otherwise improperly treated us. The worst thing is to try to correct their mistakes with lies, but it is believed his lies liar. Otherwise if I have proof of two different web-sites that the alleged error appeared not to say misleading advertising fraud.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

10/19/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.